New Champlain Bridge - Frequently Asked Questions

Scope of the new Champlain Bridge Corridor project

What is the scope of the project?

The main components of the project include the new Champlain Bridge, including the Autoroute 10 approach; a new île-des-Soeurs Bridge, in addition to the highway on île-des-Soeurs; and reconstruction and widening of the federal portion of Autoroute 15.

More information on project scope

What is not included in the scope of the project?

The private partner will not be responsible for the deconstruction of the existing Champlain Bridge or the Ice Control Structure (the Estacade).

Will public transit be integrated into the corridor project?

The project includes a dedicated two-lane transit corridor capable of accommodating a either buses or a light rail transit system.

As public transit falls under provincial jurisdiction, the Government of Canada is working with Quebec to integrate transit onto the new bridge.

What will happen to the existing Champlain bridge?

The demolition of the existing Champlain Bridge will proceed once the new Champlain Bridge has been built.

Did the Government of Canada expropriate homes to make way for this project?

To allow for the construction of the new Champlain Bridge Corridor, the Government of Canada had to acquire 14 residential (9 single-family dwellings, 1 triplex and 1 building comprised of 4 condos), commercial and public properties. All the residential properties were acquired through mutual agreements, and not expropriation. Everyone affected have found new homes and the properties, located on Rue May in Verdun, were demolished in November 2015 to allow for work to begin on the widening of autoroute 15.

Project costs

How much will the corridor project cost and how will you pay for it?

On June 19, 2015, the Government of Canada announced that the total cost of the project would be $4.239 billion.

From this amount, the project agreement between the Government of Canada and the Signature on the St. Lawrence Group, valued at $3.977 billion, covers the construction period, which will end in fall 2019, as well as a 30-year operation period.

The project agreement includes the design, construction, financing, operation, maintenance and rehabilitation of the corridor, which includes the new Champlain Bridge, the new île-des-Sœurs Bridge and the reconstruction and widening of the federal portion of Highway 15.

Visit the Project Agreement Section for more information on the cost breakdown.

Will the removal of tolls increase the total cost of the project?

No. The cost of the project will not increase as a result of the government's decision not to charge a toll.

The government's contract with SSL never included toll revenue. The revenue generated by the toll would have been handed over to the Government of Canada.

Procurement process

What procurement model did the government use?

A public-private partnership (PPP) procurement model was used as it provides the best value for the project.

On April 15, 2015, the Government of Canada announced the selection of Signature on the Saint-Lawrence Group as the preferred proponent for the project and this decision was confirmed on June 19, 2015 with the finalization of the project agreement.

Visit the Project Agreement Section Section for more information on the procurement process.

Visit PPP Canada's website for more information about public-private partnerships.

How did you ensure integrity of the procurement process?

The Government of Canada implemented an open, fair and competitive and transparent contracting process based on a commercially accepted approach and Public Services and Procurement Canada's (PSPC) smart procurement principles.

In addition, all proponents were required to comply with PSPC's Integrity Regime.

Bridge design

What will the new bridge look like?

Thanks to an innovative and collaborative design process involving both the local and international design community, the new Champlain Bridge will have a unique visual identity that:

  • contributes positively to its status as the primary gateway to Montréal,
  • reflects the community's unique characteristics, and;
  • ensures its integration into the existing landscape.

The new bridge has a three-corridor design, including two three-lane corridors for vehicular traffic and a two-lane transit corridor capable of accommodating a either buses or a light rail transit system. The new bridge will also include a multi-use path for pedestrians and cyclists.

Visit the architectural quality section to learn more about the process to determine the design of the bridge.

Visit our photo gallery to see pictures of the bridge design.

Environment

How will you make sure that the environment is protected during construction?

An environmental assessment was done and more than 200 environmental mitigation measures were identified. These mitigation measures are being implemented during construction of the project.

Visit the Your Environment section to learn more.

Could the Champlain Bridge have been routed differently to avoid the LeBer archaeological site? How are you planning to preserve the site?

Infrastructure Canada examined options to avoid the LeBer archaeological site. In consultation with the City of Montreal, it was determined that the optimal route for the new bridge would have to pass over the LeBer site in order to maintain traffic flow on René-Lévesque Boulevard.

Infrastructure Canada did everything possible to preserve the site even before Signature on the St. Lawrence was selected, including burying and covering vestiges of the archaeological site with a protective material, and conducting an archaeological survey on the site. Following the archaeological survey, a portion of the foundation of the LeBer estate was removed from the site and given to the City of Montreal. In addition, all artifacts found during the survey have been returned to the City and may be exhibited so that people can learn more about the LeBer site and the history of Montreal during the French regime. A 3D survey of the site was also conducted and could be used for an interpretation of the LeBer farm.

Air Quality

Where are the monitoring stations located?

The Île-des-Soeurs station is located on private property near the Bell complex, between Pointe-Nord Boulevard and the ramp to Highway 10.

The Brossard station is located in Voltaire Park, immediately north of the ramp to Highway 10 East.

Why are the air quality sampling stations operated by Infrastructure Canada, rather than the private partner, Signature on the St. Lawrence Group?

Infrastructure Canada made the commitment to install an air quality monitoring station based on concerns raised by the public about air quality. The public requested that a new air quality sampling station be established on Île des Sœurs, in the centre of the new Champlain Bridge corridor. Infrastructure Canada followed through on this request from the public, and also installed a station in Brossard in collaboration with Environment Canada.

This monitoring is in addition to the air quality monitoring activities that the Signature on the St. Lawrence Group is undertaking on the worksite to ensure that it meets its obligations.

Who manages the stations and analyzes the data?

Consulair-Airparif, a company under contract with Infrastructure Canada, is responsible for operating the Île-des-Soeurs station and analyzing its data, for a minimum of six years. Environment Canada, which works in collaboration with Infrastructure Canada, is also involved in the quality control of data captured by this station.

Environment Canada is responsible for operating the Brossard station and analyzing its data. This station will be in place for the duration of the new Champlain Bridge construction work only.

The results show that ozone (O3) thresholds are often exceeded. Is this something that local residents should be concerned about? Are the elevated ozone levels a direct result of the construction on the new bridge?

Although ozone and the other gaseous pollutants are not part of the formal air quality monitoring program this data is being collected and monitored to assess the overall impact of the project on air quality and to inform analysis of air quality in the general region during post construction monitoring.

Work on the new Champlain bridge construction site is not likely to have a marked impact on the local ozone levels; high concentrations of ozone (a major component of urban smog) can mainly be attribute to the high volume of motor vehicle traffic in the metropolitan area.

The results for ozone and other gaseous pollutants from the Île-des-Sœurs and Brossard stations can be expected to be similar to those recorded by other Montreal stations during the same time periods.

It should also be noted that the thresholds used at our monitoring stations are very aggressive, compared to thresholds routinely used for measuring ozone elsewhere in the country.

Facts about the existing Champlain Bridge

What is the importance of the Champlain Bridge corridor?

The Champlain Bridge is one of the busiest bridges in Canada. It is important for local residents and commuters. The bridge also allows for $20 billion worth of Canada-United States trade per year.

Traffic and Trade, per year

All vehicles: Approximately 50 million
Buses: 200,000
Transit users: 11 million (on an average week day, 66% of users are commuters) 
International trade: $20 billion

Who owns the existing Champlain Bridge?

The Champlain Bridge, as well as the federal portions of Autoroute 15 and the Bonaventure Expressway, were built by the National Harbours Board, a former federal institution. The Jacques Cartier and Champlain Bridges Incorporated (JCCBI) is responsible for managing, operating and maintaining the Champlain Bridge and the Bonaventure expressway on behalf of the federal government. JCCBI is also responsible for the Champlain Bridge Ice Control Structure, the Jacques Cartier Bridge, the federally owned portion of the Honoré-Mercier Bridge and the Melocheville Tunnel.

Why is the Champlain Bridge being replaced?

Built in 1962, the Champlain Bridge was not designed to handle today's high volume of traffic. The use of de-icing salt has also contributed to corrosion and the degradation of concrete.

While current investments will keep the Champlain Bridge safe until it is replaced in 2018, a new crossing is required for the long term.

Several studies and reports were used to make the decision to build a new bridge.

In particular, the Pre-feasibility Study Concerning the Replacement of the Existing Champlain Bridge provided advice and information on whether replacing the bridge was the best option. The study examined bridge and tunnel options, and evaluated transportation needs, traffic demands, environmental aspects, implementation modes and financial considerations.

Date modified:

Nouveau pont Champlain - Foire aux questions

Portée du projet de corridor du nouveau pont Champlain

Quelle est la portée du projet?

Les principales composantes du projet de corridor sont le nouveau pont Champlain, y compris les approches de l'autoroute 10; un nouveau pont de l'île des Sœurs et de l'autoroute de l'île des Sœurs; et la reconstruction et élargissement de l'autoroute 15.

Plus d'information au sujet de la portée du projet

Qu'est-ce qui n'est pas inclus dans la portée du projet?

Le partenaire privé ne sera pas chargé de la démolition du pont Champlain actuel, et de l'Estacade (ouvrage de protection contre les glaces).

Prévoit-on intégrer le transport en commun dans le projet de corridor?

Le projet inclut un corridor de deux voies dédiées au transport en commun que pourront emprunter des autobus ou un système de train léger.

Bien que le transport en commun soit de compétence provinciale, le gouvernement du Canada collabore avec le Québec en vue d'intégrer le transport en commun au nouveau pont.

Qu'arrivera-t-il au pont actuel?

La démolition du pont Champlain actuel aura lieu après la construction du corridor du nouveau pont pour le Saint-Laurent.

Le gouvernement du Canada a-t-il exproprié les propriétaires de maisons pour permettre ce projet?

Pour rendre possible la construction du corridor du nouveau pont Champlain, le gouvernement du Canada a dû acquérir 14 constructions résidentielles (9 habitations unifamiliales, 1 triplex et 1 immeuble de 4 condos), ainsi que des propriétés commerciales et publiques. Toutes les propriétés résidentielles ont été acquises dans le cadre d'ententes mutuelles, et non par expropriation. Toutes les personnes touchées ont trouvé un nouveau logement, et les propriétés situées rue May, à Verdun, ont été démolies en novembre 2015 afin de permettre le début des travaux d'élargissement de l'autoroute 15.

Coûts du projet

Combien vont coûter les travaux pour le corridor du nouveau pont? Comment prévoyez-vous assumer ces coûts?

Le 19 juin 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé que le coût total du projet s'élèverait à 4,239 milliard de dollars.

De ce montant, l'entente estimée à 3,977 milliards de dollars conclue entre le gouvernement du Canada et le groupe Signature sur le Saint-Laurent couvre la période de construction, qui se terminera à l'automne 2019, ainsi qu'une période d'exploitation de 30 ans.

L'entente relative au projet comprend la conception, la construction, le financement, l'exploitation, l'entretien et les travaux de réfection du corridor, ce qui inclut le nouveau pont Champlain, le pont de L'île-des-Sœurs, ainsi que la reconstruction et l'élargissement de la partie de l'autoroute 15 appartenant au Fédéral.

Pour plus d'information, consultez la partie de l'entente relative au projet portant sur la répartition des coûts.

La suppression du péage augmentera-t-elle le coût total du projet?

Non. Le coût du projet n'augmentera pas à la suite à l'engagement du gouvernement de ne pas imposer de péage.

Le contrat du gouvernement avec Signature sure le Saint-Laurent n'a jamais inclus les revenus de péage. Les revenus générés par le péage auraient été versés au gouvernement du Canada.

Processus d'approvisionnement

Quel modèle d'approvisionnement utilisera le gouvernement?

On a décidé d'avoir recours à un modèle d'approvisionnement en partenariat public-privé (PPP) afin de veiller à obtenir le meilleur rapport qualité-prix.

Le 15 avril 2015, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé que le groupe Signature sur le Saint-Laurent avait été sélectionné comme promoteur préféré pour le projet, et cette décision a été confirmée le 19 juin 2015 lors de la finalisation de l'entente relative au projet.

Pour de plus amples informations, consultez la partie de l'entente relative au projet portant sur le processus d'approvisionnement.

Pour plus d'information sur les partenariats public-privé, consultez le site Web de PPP Canada.

Comment avez-vous assuré l'intégrité du processus d'approvisionnement?

Le gouvernement du Canada a instauré un processus de passation de contrats ouvert, équitable et transparent qui repose sur une approche d'approvisionnement acceptable d'un point de vue commercial et sur les principes d'approvisionnement de Services publics et Approvisionnement Canada (SPAC).

De plus, les soumissionnaires sont tenus de respecter les exigences d'intégrité de SPAC.

Conception du pont

Quelle allure aura le nouveau pont?

Grâce à un processus de conception novateur et collaboratif impliquant les acteurs de la conception tant au niveau local qu'international, le nouveau pont Champlain aura une identité visuelle unique qui

  • contribue favorablement à sa situation de porte d'entrée principale de Montréal,
  • reflète les caractéristiques uniques de la collectivité, et
  • assure son intégration dans le paysage actuel.

Le nouveau pont a une conception en trois corridors, dont deux corridors de trois voies pour la circulation automobile et un corridor à deux voies pour le transport en commun qui pourra accueillir des autobus ou système léger sur rail. Le nouveau pont comprendra également une piste multifonctionnelle destinée aux piétons et aux cyclistes.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur le processus ayant mené à la conception du pont, rendez vous dans la section portant sur la qualité architecturale.

Visitez notre galerie d'images pour voir des photos de la conception du pont.

Environnement

Que ferez-vous pour garantir la protection de l'environnement pendant la construction?

Une évaluation environnementale a été fait et plus de 200 mesures d'atténuation environnementales ont été identifiés. Ces mesures d'atténuation sont mises en œuvre lors de la construction du projet.Visitez la section Votre environnement pour en apprendre davantage.

Le tracé du pont Champlain aurait-il pu passer ailleurs pour éviter le site archéologique LeBer? Que comptez-vous faire pour le préserver?

Infrastructure Canada s'est penché sur d'autres options afin d'éviter le site archéologique LeBer. En concertation avec la Ville de Montréal, il a été déterminé que le tracé optimal du nouveau pont devait passer au-dessus du site LeBer afin de maintenir la fluidité de la circulation sur le boulevard René-Lévesque.

Infrastructure Canada a pris toutes les mesures pour préserver le site avant même la sélection de Signature sur le Saint-Laurent : les vestiges du site archéologique ont été recouverts d'un matériel de protection et ont été enterrés, et des fouilles ont été effectuées sur le site en question. Suivant la fouille archéologique, une portion des fondations du domaine LeBer ont été retirées du site, et ont été remises à la Ville de Montréal. De plus, la collection d'artéfacts trouvée lors des fouilles sera retournée à la Ville et pourra faire l'objet d'expositions qui permettront aux citoyens d'en apprendre davantage sur le site LeBer et sur l'histoire de Montréal lors du régime français. Aussi dans le cadre du mandat d'archéologie, un relevé 3D du site a été réalisé et pourrait être utilisé pour effectuer une interprétation de la ferme LeBer.

Qualité de l'air

Où sont situé les deux stations précisément?

La station d'échantillonnage à L'Île-des-Soeurs est installée sur un terrain privé près du complexe Bell, entre le boulevard de la Pointe-Nord et les bretelles de l'autoroute 10.

La station à Brossard est installée dans le parc Voltaire, immédiatement au nord de la bretelle de l'Autoroute 10 est.

Pourquoi est-ce Infrastructure Canada et non la partenaire privé, Signature sur la St. Laurent, qui opère les stations d'échantillonnage de la qualité de l'air?

INFC met en place cette station suite à l'engagement pris face aux préoccupations du public sur la qualité de l'air. En effet, durant les périodes de commentaires de l'évaluation environnementale (2012 et 2013), le public a suggéré la mise en place d'une nouvelle station d'échantillonnage de la qualité de l'air sur l'île des Sœurs, soit au cœur du corridor du NPSL.

INFC a non seulement acquiescé à cette demande du public mais a aussi procéder, avec la collaboration d'Environnement Canada, à l'installation d'une station à Brossard.

SSL n'est pas pour autant déchargé de sa responsabilité d'effectuer de la surveillance de la qualité de l'air durant ses travaux. SSL effectue donc aussi une surveillance de la qualité de l'air, complémentaire à celle effectuée par INFC.

Qu'advient-il si un dépassement des seuils est détecté par une station?

Une fois le dépassement confirmé et validé, des sanctions financières peuvent s'appliquer. Lors d'un dépassement, le PP est immédiatement informé et il a un délai prédéfini, soit 30 minutes, pour éliminer la source du dépassement.  Si le dépassement continue, une pénalité financière sera appliquée. La valeur de cette pénalité dépend de la durée du dépassement.

Environnement Canada est responsable de l'opération et de l'analyse des données de la station à Brossard. Cette station ne sera en place que pour la durée des activités de construction du nouveau pont Champlain.

Faits du pont Champlain actuel

Quelle est l'importance du corridor du pont Champlain?

Le pont Champlain est l'un des ponts les plus achalandés au Canada. Il a une grande importance pour les habitants de la région et pour ceux qui s'en servent pour leurs déplacements quotidiens. En outre, il fait partie d'un important corridor de commerce entre le Canada et les états-Unis

Circulation et échanges commerciaux, par année

Tous les véhicules : Environ 50 millions
Autobus : 200 000
Utilisateurs du transport en commun : 11 millions (en semaine, 66 % des utilisateurs sont des navetteurs)
Commerce international : 20 milliards de dollars

Qui est le propriétaire du pont Champlain?

Le pont Champlain, tout comme les sections fédérales de l'autoroute 15 et de l'autoroute Bonaventure, a été construit par le Conseil des ports nationaux, une ancienne institution fédérale. La société Les ponts Jacques Cartier et Champlain Incorporée (PJCCI) est responsable de gérer, d'exploiter et d'entretenir le pont Champlain et de l'autoroute Bonaventure au nom du gouvernement fédéral. PJCCI assume en outre la responsabilité de l'estacade du pont Champlain, du pont Jacques-Cartier, de la section fédérale du pont Honoré-Mercier et du tunnel de Melocheville.

Construit en 1962, le pont Champlain n'a pas été conçu pour accueillir le nombre de véhicules qui l'empruntent aujourd'hui. De plus, l'épandage de sel de voirie a contribué à la corrosion du pont et à la dégradation du béton. Le problème avec le pont Champlain actuel est sa conception d'origine. Son tablier fait partie de la structure même du pont et est un élément clé de sa solidité.

Même si les investissements actuels maintiendront la sécurité du Pont Champlain jusqu'à son remplacement en 2018, un nouveau passage est nécessaire à long terme.

Plusieurs études et rapports ont pesé dans la décision de construire un nouveau pont.

L'étude de préfaisabilité portant sur le remplacement de l'actuel pont Champlain, en particulier, a fourni des conseils et des renseignements pour déterminer si le remplacement du pont était la meilleure option. L'étude examine différentes options quant à l'aménagement d'un pont ou d'un tunnel. Elle évalue les besoins en transport et en circulation, les aspects environnementaux, les modalités de réalisation et les considérations financières.

Date de modification :