Air Quality Monitoring Stations - Monthly Results

As part of the Environmental Assessment for the new Champlain Bridge corridor project, which included consultations with local residents, Infrastructure Canada committed to monitoring and reporting on air quality during the construction of the bridge. The air quality monitoring program is for particle pollution as this was determined to be the main area of concern based on the planned construction activities.

Île-des-Soeurs

Air quality sampling station on Île-des-Soeurs

Monthly Results

As of April 1st 2017, based on Environment and Climate Change Canada recommendations, only concentrations of Total Particulate Matter (PMtot) and Particulate Matter with a diameter of 2.5µm or less (PM2.5) will be monitored at both the île des Soeurs and Brossard air quality monitoring stations.

Île-des-Sœurs

2017

How do I read the monthly results?

The monthly results provide the concentration of each monitored pollutant in the air, for every day of the month, for the intervals at which they are recorded.

All pollutants are measured continuously, but reported using multiple time intervals, dependant on the pollutant. Any time the concentration of a pollutant in the air exceeds the stated threshold (acceptable maximum concentration), it is marked with an asterix (*).

In the excerpt below from the January 2016 report for Île-des-Sœurs, you can see that on January 8, the threshold for fine particulate matter was exceeded for a 3 hour period by 4 micrograms per cubic metre.

Sample table description to explain Air Quality Monitoring Stations - Monthly Results

What happens when an air quality threshold is exceeded?

The private partner, Signature on the St. Lawrence Group, is informed immediately when an air particle threshold is exceeded and they have 30 minutes from the time they are advised to address the source of the pollution. Depending on the situation, this could involve immediately stopping the activity causing the pollution or using water or another approved substance to reduce the amount of particles in the air. If the situation is not adequately addressed, the private partner is subject to a financial penalty. The amount of the penalty depends on the length of time the threshold is exceeded as set out in the Project Agreement.

Where is this monitoring happening?

An air monitoring station has been installed on the Île des Sœurs to collect air quality data during the construction of the bridge and for a period following the opening of the new corridor to traffic.  In addition to the Île des Sœurs station, a second air monitoring station is also collecting data from Brossard, beginning in spring 2016.

Why is it needed?

This continuous monitoring is to ensure that the requirements related to air quality set out in the Project Agreement are respected by the private partner, Signature on the St. Lawrence Group (SSL). If air particle pollution exceeds allowable limits an alert is sent to SSL who is required to take immediate action to identify the source of the pollution, and address it using appropriate mitigation measures, if located on the worksite.

What is Particle Pollution?

Particle pollution (also called particulate matter or PM) is a mixture of solid particles and liquid droplets found in the air. Larger particles from sources such as dust, dirt or smoke may be visible while particles from other chemical sources are microscopic. See Environment Canada's website for additional information.

How is Particle Pollution measured?

The data gathered by the monitoring stations is measured against specific thresholds based on current municipal and provincial legislation and other references. Measurements are taken constantly and reported over durations of one, three, eight and 24 hours. The concentration of particle pollution in the air is measured in micrograms per cubic metre (µg/m3). One microgram is equivalent to one millionth of a gram.

Additional Air Quality Monitoring

As part of the INFC's commitment to minimizing the project's impact on the overall environment,  the stations also collect data on the level of Criteria Air Contaminants and related pollutants  (also known as gaseous pollutants) in the air which are known to cause air quality issues including smog.

Since these pollutants are not part of  INFC's monitoring program, there is no alert system; however, the data is collected for documentation and follow-up purposes and to provide baseline data to help evaluate the impact of the project (once open to traffic) on overall air quality in the region.

Specific thresholds for these pollutants are based on current municipal and provincial legislation. Measurements are taken constantly and reported over durations of four minutes, one hour, eight hours and 24 hours. The concentration of gaseous pollutants is measured in parts per billion (ppb).

Other Frequently Asked Questions

Other frequently asked questions related to air quality can be found here

Date modified:

Station de surveillance de la qualité de l'air – résultats mensuels

Dans le cadre de l'évaluation environnementale visant le projet de corridor du nouveau pont Champlain, qui comprenait des consultations avec les résidants, Infrastructure Canada s'est engagé à surveiller la qualité de l'air et à présenter des rapports à ce sujet pendant la construction du pont. Le programme de surveillance de la qualité de l'air observe la pollution par les particules, considérée comme principale source d'inquiétude en fonction des activités de construction planifiée.

Île-des-Soeurs

Le station d'échantillonnage sur l'Île-des-Sœurs

Résultats mensuels

À compter du 1er avril 2017, basé sur les recommandations d'Environnement et Changement climatiques Canada, seules les concentrations de Matières Particulaires Totales (PMtot) et de Matières Particulaires dont le diamètre est égal ou inférieur à 2.5µm (PM2.5) seront relevées aux stations de suivi de la qualité de l'air de l'Île-des-Sœurs et de Brossard.

Île-des-Sœurs

2017

Comment lire les résultats mensuels?

Les résultats mensuels fournissent la concentration de chacun des polluants mesurés dans l'air pour chaque jour du mois, pour les intervalles à l'intérieur desquels ils ont été enregistrés.

Chaque fois qu'une concentration de polluant dans l'air excède les seuils établis (concentration maximale acceptable), celle-ci porte la marque d'un astérisque (*).

Dans l'extrait plus bas du rapport de janvier 2016 pour l'Île-des-Sœurs, vous pouvez voir que le 8 janvier, le seuil de particules fines a été dépassé pour une période de trois heures par quatre microgrammes par mètre cube.

Description d'un exemple de tableau pour expliquer Résultats mensuels – Stations de surveillance de la qualité de l'air

Qu'advient-il si un dépassement des seuils est détecté par une station?

Le partenaire privé, le groupe Signature sur le Saint-Laurent, est informé immédiatement lorsque le seuil de particules dans l'air est dépassé et ils ont 30 minutes à partir de ce moment pour éliminer la source de pollution. Selon la situation, cela peut comprendre l'arrêt immédiat de l'activité causant la pollution ou utiliser de l'eau ou une autre substance pour réduire la quantité de particules dans l'air. Si la situation n'est pas gérée adéquatement, le partenaire privé peut faire l'objet de sanctions financières. La valeur de cette pénalité dépend de la durée du dépassement du seuil tel que décrit dans l'entente de projet.

Où a lieu cette surveillance?

Une station de surveillance de la qualité de l'air a été installée sur l'Île-des-Sœurs afin de recueillir des données sur la qualité de l'air pendant la construction du pont et pour une certaine période qui suivra l'ouverture du nouveau corridor à la circulation routière. En plus de la station de l'Île-des-Sœurs, une autre station de surveillance de la qualité de l'air, située à Brossard, recueille également des données à compter du printemps 2016.

Pourquoi est-ce nécessaire?

Cette surveillance continue vise à garantir que le partenaire privé, le Groupe Signature sur le Saint-Laurent (SSL), satisfait aux exigences établies dans l'entente de projet. Si la pollution par les particules dans l'air excède les limites permises, une alerte est envoyée à SSL, qui doit prendre des mesures immédiates pour identifier la source de la pollution et la gérer en utilisant des mesures d'atténuation appropriées si la source se trouve sur le chantier.

Qu'est-ce que la pollution par les particules?

La pollution par les particules (également appelées particules fines) est un mélange de particules solides et de gouttelettes de liquide présentes dans l'air. Les particules les plus grosses, provenant de sources telles que la poussière, la saleté ou la fumée, peuvent être visibles, tandis que les particules provenant d'autres sources chimiques sont microscopiques. Visitez le site Web d'Environnement Canada pour en savoir plus.

Comment mesure-t-on la pollution par les particules?

Les données recueillies par les stations de surveillance sont comparées à des seuils spécifiques basés sur les lois municipales et provinciales actuelles et à d';autres références. Les mesures sont prises en continu et rapportées sur des durées d'une heure, trois heures, huit heures et vingt-quatre heures. La concentration de pollution par les particules dans l';air se mesure en microgrammes par mètre cube (µg/m3). Un microgramme équivaut un millionnième de gramme.

Surveillance supplémentaire de la qualité de l'air

Dans le cadre de l'engagement d'INFC de minimiser les impacts du projet sur l'environnement général, les stations recueillent aussi des données sur les niveaux des principaux contaminants atmosphériques et polluants connexes (aussi connus sous le nom de polluants gazeux) dans l'air, qui sont reconnus pour causer les problèmes de qualité de l'air tels que le smog.

Puisque les principaux contaminants atmosphériques et polluants connexes ne sont pas visés par le programme de surveillance, aucune alerte n'est prévue pour ces éléments. Aux fins de documentation et de suivi, les concentrations de ces éléments sont mesurées pour évaluer éventuellement l'impact du projet (une fois que le corridor sera ouvert à la circulation) sur la qualité de l'air en général dans la région.

Les seuils spécifiques visant les principaux contaminants atmosphériques sont basés sur les lois municipales et provinciales actuelles. Les mesures sont prises sur une base continue et rapportées sur des durées de quatre minutes, une heure, huit heures et vingt-quatre heures. La concentration des polluants gazeux est mesurée en parties par milliard (ppb).

D'autres foire aux questions

D'autres foire aux questions concernant la qualité de l'air peuvent être trouvés ici.

Date de modification :