Samuel De Champlain Bridge Corridor Project

The Champlain Bridge in Montreal is being replaced with a new bridge that will open to traffic, first with the northern corridor toward Montréal on June 24 followed by the southern corridor toward Brossard on July 1.

Through a public-private partnership (P3) with Signature on the Saint-Lawrence Group, the Government of Canada will ensure a secure and long-lasting quality structure at the best value for Canadian taxpayers. The project will create thousands of jobs and have a positive impact on the local, regional and national economies.

To see how this project is progressing and learn more about the actual construction, visit: www.nouveauchamplain.ca.

About the Project

The Samuel De Champlain Bridge Corridor project includes not only a new bridge crossing the St. Lawrence, but a new l’'Île-des-Sœurs Bridge and reconstruction and widening of the federal portion of Autoroute 15. The Île-des-Sœurs Bridge officially opened to traffic in both directions on November 12, 2018. The Samuel De Champlain Bridge will open to traffic, first with the northern corridor toward Montréal on June 24 followed by the southern corridor toward Brossard on July 1. The rest of the project will be complete in late 2019.

New Samuel De Champlain Bridge

Image of the new Samuel-de Champlain Bridge
Image of the new Samuel-de Champlain Bridge
Image of the new Samuel-de Champlain Bridge
 

About the existing Champlain Bridge

As one of the busiest crossings in Canada, the Champlain Bridge is a crucial corridor for the regional economy and for Canada as a whole. As many as 60 million vehicles and more than $20 billion in Canada-United States trade pass over the crossing annually.

The Champlain Bridge is one of three major Montréal bridges managed and maintained by the Government of Canada, along with the Jacques-Cartier Bridge and the federal portion of the Honoré-Mercier Bridge.

A new Champlain bridge is required to ensure the long-term security of its users and meet the evolving traffic demands in the region.

To learn more about the management and operation of federal bridges in Montreal, visit: www.jccbi.ca

Map showing the new Champlain Bridge
Larger image and text description of map for the St. Lawrence corridor

Note: For Internet Explorer 8 users, please ensure that you have a recent version of Adobe Flash Player installed. It can be downloaded from the Adobe Flash Player page.

Date modified:

Projet de corridor du pont Samuel-De Champlain

Le pont Champlain de Montréal a été remplacé par un nouveau pont qui a été ouvert à la circulation, d'abord par le corridor nord vers Montréal le 24 juin, puis par le corridor sud vers Brossard le 1er juillet.

Par l'entremise d'un partenariat public-privé (PPP) avec le Groupe Signature sur le Saint Laurent, le gouvernement du Canada a réalisé ce projet de classe mondiale en temps opportun tout en veillant à ce que ce soit une structure de qualité, sécuritaire et durable au meilleur prix pour les contribuables canadiens. Le projet a créé des milliers d'emplois et aura des retombées positives sur l'économie locale, régionale et nationale.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la construction, consultez le site : www.nouveauchamplain.ca.

À propos du projet

Le projet de corridor du nouveau pont Champlain comprend non seulement un nouveau pont au-dessus du Saint-Laurent, mais également un nouveau pont de L'Île-des-Sœurs et la reconstruction et l'élargissement de la partie fédérale de l'autoroute 15. Le pont de l'Île-des-Sœurs a été officiellement ouvert à la circulation dans les deux sens le 12 novembre 2018. Le pont Samuel-De Champlain a été ouvert à la circulation, d'abord par le corridor nord vers Montréal le 24 juin, puis par le corridor sud vers Brossard le 1er juillet; le reste du projet sera terminé à la fin de 2019.

Le nouveau pont Samuel-De Champlain

Image du nouveau pont Samuel-de Champlain
Image du nouveau pont Samuel-de Champlain
Image du nouveau pont Samuel-de Champlain
 

À propos de l’ancien pont Champlain

À titre de l'un des ponts les plus achalandés du Canada, l'ancien pont Champlain était un corridor crucial pour l'économie régionale et celle de tout le Canada. Annuellement, il servait à la circulation de 60 millions de véhicules et de plus de 20 milliards de dollars de marchandises entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

L'ancien pont Champlain était l'un des trois grands ponts de Montréal géré et entretenu par le gouvernement du Canada, tout comme le pont Jacques-Cartier et la partie fédérale du pont Honoré-Mercier.

Il est nécessaire de construire un nouveau pont pour assurer la sécurité à long terme de ses utilisateurs et répondre à l'augmentation de la circulation dans la région.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur la gestion et l'exploitation des ponts fédéraux de Montréal visitez : www.pjcci.ca.

Carte aérienne du projet de corridor du nouveau pont Champlain
Image élargie et description textuelle du carte aérienne du projet

Remarque : Si vous utilisez Internet Explorer 8, assurez-vous d'avoir une version récente d'Adobe Flash Player. Vous pouvez la télécharger à la page d'Adobe Flash Player.

Date de modification :