Smart Cities Challenge


The Smart Cities Challenge is a pan-Canadian competition open to communities of all sizes, including municipalities, regional governments and Indigenous communities (First Nations, Métis and Inuit). The Challenge encourages communities to adopt a smart cities approach to improve the lives of their residents through innovation, data and connected technology.

The Prizes

One prize of up to $50 million open to all communities, regardless of population;

Two prizes of up to $10 million open to all communities with populations under 500,000 people; and

One prize of up to $5 million open to all communities with populations under 30,000 people.


The Finalists


Timeline of Smart Cities Challenge Process

Text description of image 1.

After launch, the application process began. The application submission deadline was April 24, 2018. The finalists were announced on June, 1 2018. This will be followed by a period to develop final proposals. The final proposal submission deadline is March 5, 2019. This will be followed by a period to select winners. The winners will be announced in Spring 2019. This will be followed by the implementation phase.


The Smart Cities Challenge application process closed on April 24, 2018. We received 130 eligible applications from communities across Canada. The Smart Cities Challenge Jury helped select 20 of those applications to move on to the Finalist stage of the competition. Each Finalist will receive $250,000 to help them develop their final proposal. Visit the Impact Canada Challenge Platform to see the Finalist communities and their applications.


Infrastructure Canada and Indigenous Services Canada are partnering on the Indigenous Homes Innovation Challenge.

The Challenge will fund creative community design and construction, promote traditional building techniques, provide training for Indigenous youth, and improve community well-being for First Nations, Inuit and Métis.

Indigenous communities continue to be eligible to compete for prizes in the current and future Smart Cities Challenge competitions.

Date modified:

Défi des villes intelligentes


Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours pancanadien ouvert aux collectivités de toutes tailles, y compris les municipalités, les administrations régionales et les collectivités autochtones (des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits). Le Défi vise à encourager les collectivités à adopter une approche axée sur les villes intelligentes pour améliorer la qualité de vie de leurs résidents grâce à l'innovation, aux données et aux technologies connectées.

Les prix

Un prix d'au plus 50 millions de dollars, ouvert à toutes les collectivités, quelle que soit leur nombre d'habitants;

Deux prix d'au plus 10 millions de dollars chacun, ouverts à toutes les collectivités dont la population est inférieure à 500 000 habitants;

Un prix d'au plus 5 millions de dollars, ouvert à toutes les collectivités dont la population est inférieure à 30 000 habitants.


Les finalistes


Échéancier du processus du Défi des villes intelligentes

Description textuelle de la Figure 1.

Le processus de la candidature commence après le lancement. La date limite du dépôt de candidature est le 24 avril 2018. Les finalistes seront annoncés à l'été 2018. Viendra ensuite une période pour préparer les propositions définitives. La date limite du dépôt de la proposition définitive sera à l'hiver 2017-2019. Par la suite, les gagnants seront sélectionnés. Les gagnants seront annoncés le 14 mai 2019, puis la phase de mise en œuvre sera lancée.


Le processus de candidature lié au Défi des villes intelligentes a pris fin le 24 avril 2018. Nous avons reçu 130 candidatures admissibles de collectivités partout au Canada. Le jury du Défi des villes intelligentes nous a aidés à choisir 20 de ces candidatures, et ces collectivités sont maintenant les finalistes de la compétition. Chaque finaliste recevra 250 000 $ pour l’aider à élaborer sa proposition définitive. Visitez la plateforme du Défi sur le site Web d'Impact Canada pour connaître le nom des collectivités finalistes et consulter leurs candidatures.


Infrastructure Canada et Services aux Autochtones Canada travaillent ensemble pour créer le Défi de l'innovation pour la construction de logements dans les communautés autochtones.

Le Défi visera à financer des conceptions et constructions communautaires créatives, à promouvoir les techniques de construction traditionnelles, à offrir de la formation à de jeunes autochtones et à améliorer le bien-être au sein des collectivités des Premières Nations, Inuits et Métis.

Les collectivités autochtones continuent d'être admissibles à participer aux compétitions du Défi des villes intelligentes en cours et ultérieures, afin de tenter d'y remporter un prix.

Date de modification :