Investing in Canada plan programs delivered through Infrastructure Canada

NEW! To explore Investing in Canada projects in your community, click here.

map image

Overview


Infrastructure Canada's progress on Budget 2016 Programs

Of the $14.4 billion in total new funding made available through Budget 2016, $2 billion over three years was made available through Infrastructure Canada's Clean Water and Wastewater Fund (CWWF) to provide communities with more reliable water and wastewater systems. Through the Public Transit Infrastructure Fund, Budget 2016, also made immediate investments of $3.4 billion over three years, to upgrade and improve public transit systems across Canada.

On April 22, 2016, Minister Amarjeet Sohi wrote to his provincial and territorial counterparts to open the negotiations towards the signature of bilateral agreements for both of these programs (see the letters here). In the following months, the Government of Canada worked closely with all provinces and territories to sign bilateral agreements. In the following months, the Government of Canada worked closely with all provinces and territories to sign bilateral agreements and funding is now flowing to Canadian communities. Please see the Progress tracker for more information about these investments.

Infrastructure Canada's progress on Budget 2017 Programs

Of the $81.2 billion in total new funding committed through Budget 2017, $33 billion funding will be delivered through bilateral agreements between Infrastructure Canada and each of the provinces and territories. This federal investment includes four funding streams to be delivered over the next decade:

$20.1 billion for public transit;

The Public Transit funding stream will provide a total of $20.1 billion to invest in the construction, expansion, and improvement of public transit infrastructure, including active transportation projects—such as new bike and pedestrian pathways—that connect to public transit hubs. These kinds of investments provide a range of benefits, from reducing air pollution to improving commutes.

Funding for public transit is being allocated according to a formula based on ridership (70%) and population (30%). This blended formula balances demands on existing systems, while providing support for expected population growth. Within each jurisdiction, funding will be further allocated to existing public transit systems based solely on their respective ridership, with some flexibility possible to address regional requirements.

$9.2 billion for green infrastructure;

Reflecting the wide range of infrastructure needs that fall within this category, the Green Infrastructure funding stream is divided into three sub-streams:

  • Climate Change Mitigation—supporting projects such as cleaner energy generation, cleaner transportation initiatives and others that will reduce greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions;
  • Adaptation, Resilience and Disaster Mitigation—helping to make communities more resilient by investing in projects that enable them to better withstand and mitigate the impacts of climate change; and
  • Environmental Quality—building healthier communities through investments in clean, safe drinking water, sewage treatment, and reducing or remediating soil and air pollutants. 

Under the Green Infrastructure stream, each province and territory receives a base amount of $200 million, with the remaining funds allocated according to population, using 2016 Statistics Canada Census data.

$1.3 billion for community, culture and recreation infrastructure;

Recognizing the role that engaged, active citizens play in assuring the strength of our communities, the Community, Culture and Recreation Infrastructure stream will provide funding for infrastructure projects that improve social inclusion and civic engagement. These investments will include, for example, new, expanded or renewed community hubs and centres, cultural and recreational installations and facilities.

The Community, Culture and Recreation Infrastructure stream provides a base amount of $25 million for each province and territory, ensuring smaller jurisdictions receive meaningful funding. The remainder of the funds available under this stream will be allocated on a per capita basis, using 2016 Statistics Canada Census data.

$2.4 billion for wide-ranging infrastructure needs in rural and northern communities.

The Rural and Northern Communities Infrastructure stream will invest $2 billion to support the unique and wide-ranging infrastructure priorities of small, rural and remote communities, from community facilities and local roads to cleaner energy systems and access to high-speed internet.

In addition, the $400 million Arctic Energy Fund, will be delivered under this stream. This Fund will support energy security in communities in the North, including Indigenous communities, by investing in upgrades to existing fossil fuel-based energy systems, as well as supplementing or replacing these systems with renewable energy options—improving energy reliability and efficiency as well as reducing pollution.

Under the Rural and Northern Communities Infrastructure Stream, a base amount of $75 million will go to each province, and $150 million to each territory, with the remaining funding allocated on a per capita basis, according to the populations of communities under 30,000 in each jurisdiction.

The Arctic Energy Fund will be distributed among the three territories—$175 million each to the Northwest Territories and Nunavut, with $50 million allocated to Yukon.

Allocations by Province and Territory
 

PUBLIC TRANSIT
Based on a ridership (70%) and per capita (30%) formula

GREEN
Based on a $200 million base amount and a per capita formula

COMMUNITY, CULTURE & RECREATION
Based on a $25 million base amount and a per capita formula

RURAL AND NORTHERN COMMUNITIES
Base amount of $75 million to each province, and $150 million to each territory and a per capita basis formula according to the populations of communities under 30,000 in each jurisdiction.This includes $400 million Arctic Energy Fund in the territories

TOTAL ALLOCATION

Newfoundland & Labrador

$109,071,324

$302,364,807

 $39,768,539

$104,638,175

$555,842,846

Prince Edward Island

$27,063,775

$228,147,387

$29,060,925

$82,705,236

$366,977,323

Nova Scotia

$289,589,324

$381,914,606

$51,245,475

$105,743,756

$828,493,161

New Brunswick

$165,202,662

$347,151,232

$46,230,038

$114,633,636

$673,217,569

Québec *

$5,182,392,771

$1,808,076,797

$257,003,028

$288,465,324

$7,535,937,919

Ontario **

$8,340,401,116

$2,848,855,330

$407,159,893

$250,067,117

$11,846,483,456

Manitoba ***

$546,139,840

$451,790,568

$61,326,732

$112,819,014

$1,172,076,153

Saskatchewan

$307,871,025

$416,334,673

$56,211,382

$115,905,927

$896,323,008

Alberta

$2,096,548,228

$1,001,082,871

$140,575,109

$159,650,831

$3,397,857,038

British Columbia ***

$2,691,101,894

$1,115,494,721

$157,081,719

$166,001,827

$4,129,680,161

Yukon

$9,944,170

$207,065,850

$26,019,416

$202,587,865

$445,617,300

Northwest Territories

$8,344,774

$208,230,295

$26,187,414

$328,014,343

$570,776,826

Nunavut

$6,067,664

$207,079,637

 $26,021,405

$327,592,915

$566,761,621

TOTAL

$19,779,738,568

$9,523,588,774

$1,323,891,073

$2,358,825,966

$32,986,044,381

* Allocation amounts for Quebec include $1.283 billion that could be used for Montreal's light rail network (Réseau électrique métropolitain).
** Allocation amounts for Ontario include over $1.091 billion for Ottawa Light Rail Phase 2 and $384.2 million for Port Lands Flood Protection and Enabling Infrastructure project.
*** Allocation amounts for British Columbia and Manitoba include $212.3 million for Lions Gate Wastewater Treatment Plant (BC) and $247.5 million for Lake Manitoba/Lake St. Martin Outlet Channel flood mitigation (MB) announced in Budget 2016.
The difference between the totals of provincial and territorial allocations and the numbers for each stream in the above text is due to the removal of federal administration costs prior to allocation to each province and territory. Administration costs for each province and territory will come from their allocations in the chart above.


Cost Sharing

Under the integrated bilateral agreements, Canada will invest up to:

  • 40% of municipal* and not-for-profit projects in the provinces;
  • 50% of provincial* projects;
  • 75% for projects in the territories and for projects with Indigenous partners;
  • 25% of for-profit private sector projects (except in the Community, Culture and Recreation Stream, where for-profit private sector projects are not eligible).

Provinces will have to cost-share on municipal projects at a minimum of 33.33% of eligible costs.

* For public transit, Canada will provide up to 50% for rehabilitation projects and up to 40% for new public transit construction and expansion projects.
* For projects under the Rural and Northern Communities stream, Canada will invest up to 50% for provincial, municipal and not-for-profit projects, and up to 60% for municipal projects in the provinces where the municipalities have a population of less than 5,000.

Climate Lens

There are important links between public infrastructure and climate change, which is why climate change mitigation and adaptation needs to be considered in the investment decision-making process. Infrastructure Canada's 2018 Bilateral Agreements with provinces and territories include a requirement to apply a Climate Lens assessment for certain projects. It also applies to all Disaster Mitigation and Adaptation Fund projects and any winning proposals dealing with mitigation and adaptation under the Smart Cities Challenge. To assist project proponents, Infrastructure Canada has developed a guidance document found here: Climate Lens General Guidance to support carrying out these assessments. In addition, Environment and Climate Change Canada's Canadian Centre for Climate Services can provide guidance and resources to be used for making climate-smart decisions when planning for the future.

Community Employment Benefits

Infrastructure Canada's 2018 Bilateral Agreements with provinces and territories include a requirement to consider how under-represented groups can benefit from infrastructure projects, with the goal of building more inclusive communities. Benefits to the community such as training and job opportunities, as well as procurement opportunities are possible through public infrastructure projects. This requirement also applies to the Disaster Mitigation and Adaptation Fund projects and the Smart Cities Challenge. To assist project proponents, Infrastructure Canada has developed a guidance document found here: Community Employment Benefits General Guidance.

Provinces and Territories

Information about the agreements with each province and territory can be found below.

Date modified:

Programmes relevant du plan Investir dans le Canada mis en œuvre par Infrastructure Canada

NOUVEAU! Pour explorer les projets Investir dans le Canada au sein de votre collectivité, cliquez ici.

image du map

Aperçu


Progrès réalisés concernant les investissements du Budget 2016 d'Infrastructure Canada

Des 14,4 milliards de dollars en nouveau financement rendus disponibles dans le Budget 2016, 2 milliards de dollars sur trois ans ont été offerts grâce au Fonds pour l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées d'Infrastructure Canada afin de fournir aux collectivités des systèmes d'eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées fiables. Par l'entremise du Fonds pour l'infrastructure de transport en commun, le Budget de 2016 a mis l'accent sur des investissements immédiats de 3,4 milliards de dollars sur trois ans afin de rénover et d'améliorer les réseaux de transport en commun partout au Canada.

Le 22 avril 2016, le ministre Amarjeet Sohi a écrit à ses homologues provinciaux et territoriaux pour entamer les négociations en vue de la signature d'ententes bilatérales pour ces deux programmes (consulter les lettres ici). Au cours des mois qui ont suivi, le gouvernement du Canada a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires pour signer les ententes bilatérales. Dans les mois qui ont suivi, le gouvernement du Canada a collaboré étroitement avec l'ensemble des provinces et des territoires pour signer des ententes bilatérales, et le financement est actuellement versé aux collectivités canadiennes. Veuillez voir le système de suivi du progrès pour de plus amples renseignements sur ces investissements.

Progrès réalisés concernant les investissements du Budget 2017 d'Infrastructure Canada

Des 81,2 milliards de dollars en nouveau financement engagés au moyen du Budget 2017, 33 milliards de dollars de financement seront mis en œuvre au moyen d'ententes bilatérales entre Infrastructure Canada et chaque province et territoire. Cet investissement fédéral comporte quatre volets de financement mis en œuvre tout au long de la prochaine décennie :

20,1 milliards de dollars pour le transport en commun;

Le volet Transport en commun fournira un total de 20,1 milliards de dollars à investir dans la construction, l'expansion et l'amélioration des infrastructures de transport en commun, y compris dans des projets de transport actif — comme de nouveaux sentiers pour piétons et cyclistes — connectés à des points importants des réseaux de transport en commun. Ce type d'investissements entraîne tout un éventail d'avantages, en permettant entre autres de diminuer la pollution atmosphérique et de réduire le temps des trajets pour se rendre au travail et en revenir.

Le financement destiné aux infrastructures de transport en commun est alloué en fonction d'une formule basée sur le nombre d'usagers (70 %) et sur la population (30 %). Cette formule mixte assure l'équilibre entre les demandes relatives aux réseaux existants et le soutien accordé en prévision de la croissance démographique. Dans l'enveloppe totale de chaque administration, le financement sera alloué aux réseaux de transport en commun existants exclusivement sur la base de leur nombre d'usagers, avec une certaine souplesse accordée pour répondre aux besoins régionaux.

9,2 milliards de dollars pour les infrastructures vertes;

Pour refléter la vaste gamme de besoins en matière d'infrastructure qui entrent dans cette catégorie, le volet de financement Infrastructures vertes se divise en trois sous-volets :

  • Atténuation des changements climatiques — pour appuyer des projets de production d'énergie plus propre, des initiatives de transport plus propre ainsi que d'autres projets permettant de réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre (GES);
  • Adaptation, résilience et atténuation des catastrophes — pour aider les collectivités à devenir plus résilientes en investissant dans des projets qui leur permettent de mieux résister aux impacts du changement climatique et d'atténuer ces impacts;
  • Qualité de l'environnement — pour bâtir des collectivités plus saines en investissant dans des infrastructures favorisant l'accès à une eau potable propre et sécuritaire, le traitement des eaux usées et la réduction de la pollution du sol et de l'air.

Dans le cadre du volet Infrastructures vertes, chaque province et territoire reçoit un montant de base de 200 millions de dollars, et les fonds restants sont alloués au prorata de la population, selon les données du recensement de 2016 de Statistique Canada.

1,3 milliard de dollars pour les infrastructures communautaires, culturelles et récréatives;

Reconnaissant que les citoyens engagés et actifs jouent un grand rôle dans le renforcement de nos collectivités, on fournira du financement au titre du volet Infrastructures communautaires, culturelles et récréatives à des projets qui améliorent l'inclusion sociale et l'engagement des citoyens. Ces investissements permettront par exemple de construire de nouveaux établissements ou installations communautaires, culturels et récréatifs ou des installations polyvalentes, ou encore d'agrandir ou de moderniser des installations existantes.

Le volet Infrastructures communautaires, culturelles et récréatives fournit un montant de base de 25 millions de dollars à chaque province et territoire, de manière à ce que les petites administrations reçoivent un financement significatif. Le reste du financement au titre de ce volet sera alloué au prorata de la population, selon les données du recensement de 2016 de Statistique Canada.

2,4 milliards de dollars pour le large éventail de besoins en matière d'infrastructure des collectivités rurales et nordiques.

Le volet des Infrastructures des collectivités rurales et nordiques consiste en un financement de 2 milliards de dollars afin de soutenir les priorités uniques et variées des petites collectivités rurales et éloignées en matière d'infrastructure, qu'il s'agisse d'installations communautaires, de routes locales, de systèmes énergétiques moins polluants ou d'accès Internet haute vitesse.

Cela comprend le Fonds pour l'énergie dans l'Arctique, d'une valeur de 400 millions de dollars, qui sera mis en œuvre dans le cadre de ce volet. Ce Fonds soutiendra la sécurité énergétique dans les collectivités du Nord, y compris les collectivités autochtones, en permettant d'améliorer les systèmes énergétiques qui fonctionnent avec des carburants fossiles, et de créer des options de complément ou de remplacement de ces systèmes par d'autres qui fonctionnent avec des énergies renouvelables. Cela aidera à améliorer la fiabilité et l'efficacité énergétique et à réduire la pollution.

Dans le cadre du volet Infrastructures des collectivités rurales et nordiques, un montant de base de 75 millions de dollars sera alloué à chaque province et de 150 millions de dollars à chaque territoire; le reste du financement sera alloué au prorata de la population dans les collectivités comptant moins de 30 000 habitants.

Le Fonds pour l'énergie dans l'Arctique sera réparti entre les trois territoires. Les Territoires du Nord Ouest et le Nunavut recevront chacun 175 millions de dollars, tandis que le Yukon recevra 50 millions de dollars.

Affectations par province et territoire
 

TRANSPORT EN COMMUN
Calculées en fonction d'une formule basée sur le nombre d'usagers (pour 70 %) et sur le nombre de résidents (pour 30 %)

INFRASTRUCTURES VERTES
Calculées en additionnant un montant de base de 200 millions de dollars et un montant établi par une formule au prorata de la population

INFRASTRUCTURES COMMUNAUTAIRES, CULTURELLES ET RÉCRÉATIVES
Calculées en additionnant un montant de base de 25 millions de dollars et un montant établi par une formule au prorata de la population

COLLECTIVITÉS RURALES ET NORDIQUES
Un montant de base de 75 millions de dollars pour chaque province et de 150 millions de dollars pour chaque territoire, auquel on ajoute un montant établi selon une formule basée sur la population des collectivités de moins de 30 000 habitants de chaque administration. Cela comprend le Fonds pour l'énergie dans l'Arctique, d'une valeur de 400 millions de dollars dans les territoires

AFFECTATIONS TOTALES

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador

109 071 324 $

302 364 807 $

39 768 539 $

104 638 175 $

555 842 846 $

Île-du-Prince-Édouard

27 063 775 $

228 147 387 $

29 060 925 $

82 705 236 $

366 977 323 $

Nouvelle-Écosse

289 589 324 $

381 914 606 $

51 245 475 $

105 743 756 $

828 493 161 $

Nouveau-Brunswick

165 202 662 $

347 151 232 $

46 230 038 $

114 633 636 $

673 217 569 $

Québec *

5 182 392 771 $

1 808 076 797 $

257 003 028 $

288 465 324 $

7 535 937 919 $

Ontario **

8 340 401 116 $

2 848 855 330 $

407 159 893 $

250 067 117 $

11 846 483 456 $

Manitoba ***

546 139 840 $

451 790 568 $

61 326 732 $

112 819 014 $

1 172 076 153 $

Saskatchewan

307 871 025 $

416 334 673 $

56 211 382 $

115 905 927 $

896 323 008 $

Alberta

2 096 548 228 $

1 001 082 871 $

140 575 109 $

159 650 831 $

3 397 857 038 $

Colombie-Britannique ***

2 691 101 894 $

1 115 494 721 $

157 081 719 $

166 001 827 $

4 129 680 161 $

Yukon

9 944 170 $

207 065 850 $

26 019 416 $

202 587 865 $

445 617 300 $

Territoires du Nord-Ouest

8 344 774 $

208 230 295 $

26 187 414 $

328 014 343 $

570 776 826 $

Nunavut

6 067 664 $

207 079 637 $

26 021 405 $

327 592 915 $

566 761 621 $

TOTAL

19 779 738 568 $

9 523 588 774 $

1 323 891 073 $

2 358 825 966 $

32 986 044 381 $

* Les allocations attribuées au Québec incluent un montant de 1,283 milliard de dollars qui pourrait être utilisé pour le réseau de train léger de Montréal (Réseau électrique métropolitain).
** Les allocations attribuées à l'Ontario incluent un montant de plus de 1,091 milliard de dollars pour le projet de la phase 2 du train léger d'Ottawa et un montant de 384,2 millions de dollars pour le projet de protection des terrains portuaires contre les inondations et d'infrastructures d'appui.
*** Les allocations attribuées à la Colombie-Britannique et au Manitoba incluent un montant de 212,3 millions de dollars pour la station de traitement des eaux usées Lions Gate (C.-B.) et un montant de 247,5 millions de dollars pour le projet des canaux de sortie du lac Manitoba et du lac Saint-Martin pour atténuer les inondations, conformément à ce qui a été annoncé dans le Budget 2016.
La différence entre les totaux des allocations provinciales et territoriales et les chiffres pour chaque volet dans le texte ci-dessus est attribuable à l'élimination des coûts d'administration fédéraux avant l'affectation à chaque province et à chaque territoire. Les coûts d'administration pour chaque province et chaque territoire viendront de leurs allocations indiquées dans le tableau ci-dessus.


Partage des coûts en vert des ententes bilatérales

En vertu des ententes bilatérales, le Canada investira jusqu'à :

  • 40 % des coûts des projets municipaux* et des projets des organismes sans but lucratif situés dans les provinces;
  • 50 % des coûts des projets provinciaux*;
  • 75 % des coûts des projets situés dans les territoires et des projets réalisés avec des partenaires autochtones;
  • 25 % des coûts des projets d'organismes du secteur privé à but lucratif (sauf au titre du volet Infrastructures communautaires, culturelles et récréatives, car les projets d'organismes du secteur privé à but lucratif ne sont alors pas admissibles).

Les provinces devront assumer au moins 33,33 % des coûts admissibles relatifs aux projets municipaux.

* Pour le transport en commun, le Canada assumera jusqu'à 50 % des coûts des projets de remise en état et jusqu'à 40 % des coûts des projets de construction de nouvelles infrastructures de transport en commun et des projets d'expansion relatifs au transport en commun.
*Pour les projets réalisés dans le cadre du volet Infrastructures des collectivités rurales et nordiques, le Canada assumera jusqu'à 50 % des coûts des projets provinciaux, municipaux et des organismes sans but lucratif, et jusqu'à 60% des coûts des projets municipaux situés dans les provinces, lorsque la population des municipalités est inférieure à 5000 résidents.

Optique des changements climatiques

Il existe des liens importants entre les infrastructures publiques et les changements climatiques. C'est la raison pour laquelle l'atténuation des changements climatiques et l'adaptation à ces derniers doivent être prises en compte lors du processus de prise de décisions concernant les investissements. Les ententes bilatérales de 2018 d'Infrastructure Canada conclues avec les provinces et les territoires comprennent une exigence concernant l'évaluation de l'Optique des changements climatiques pour certains projets. Cette évaluation s'applique également à tous les projets liés au Fonds d'atténuation et d'adaptation en matière de catastrophes et certaines candidatures retenues dans le cadre du Défi des villes intelligentes. Infrastructure Canada a rédigé un document de référence, les lignes directrices générales pour l'Optique des changements climatiques, pour aider les promoteurs de projets à effectuer ces évaluations. De plus, le Centre canadien des services climatiques d'Environnement et Changement Climatique Canada peut vous donner des conseils et des ressources pour vous aider à mettre à profit ces connaissances afin de prendre des décisions éclairées sur le plan climatique lorsque vous planifiez votre avenir.

Vous trouverez de plus amples renseignements sur l'Optique des changements climatiques dans la page Foire aux questions. La brochure de l'Optique des changements climatiques fournit également de plus amples renseignements sur les principes et les exigences de l'Évaluation de la résilience aux changements climatiques et de l'Évaluation de l'atténuation des GES liés aux changements climatiques.

Avantages communautaires en matière d'emploi

Les ententes bilatérales de 2018 d'Infrastructure Canada avec les provinces et les territoires comprennent une exigence d'examiner comment les groupes sous-représentés peuvent tirer des avantages des projets d'infrastructure, l'objectif étant de bâtir des collectivités plus inclusives. Les projets d'infrastructures publiques peuvent procurer des avantages à la collectivité, comme des possibilités de formation et d'emploi ainsi que des possibilités d'approvisionnement. Cette exigence s'applique également à tous les projets liés au Fonds d'atténuation et d'adaptation en matière de catastrophes et au Défi des villes intelligentes. Pour aider les promoteurs de projet, Infrastructure Canada a élaboré un document d'orientation que vous trouverez ici : Lignes directrices générales sur les avantages communautaires en matière d'emploi.

Provinces et territoires

L'information concernant les ententes conclues avec chaque province et chaque territoire figure plus bas :

Date de modification :