Building Canada - Modern Infrastructure for a Strong Canada - Building Canada: A New Approach

Building Canada: A New Approach

The tools of the Building Canada plan include a number of flexible initiatives and targeted programs that balance regional needs with national priorities. Sustained base funding will allow governments to plan for the longer-term and provide flexibility, while distributed program and nationally-targeted funding balance national, regional and local infrastructure priorities.

Base Funding for Municipalities

Over half of the funding under the Building Canada plan will be provided as base funding for municipalities. In total, over $17.6 billion over seven years will be provided through the Gas Tax Fund and the GST Rebate. This funding is stable, predictable, and flexible. It allows Canadian municipalities to plan for the longer-term, using a dedicated source of funds to address their ongoing infrastructure needs.

$33B Infrastructure Plan - 2007-2014

Program Amount
Municipal GST Rebate $5.8B
Gas Tax Fund $11.8B
Building Canada Fund $8.8B
Public-Private Partnerships Fund $1.25B
Gateways and Border Crossings Fund $2.1B
Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridor Initiative $1B
Provincial-Territorial Base Funding $2.275B
Total $33B

Gas Tax Fund

Budget 2007 extended the Gas Tax Fund (GTF) from 2010 to 2014 at $2 billion per year. As a result, over the next seven years, municipalities will receive $11.8 billion through this mechanism. Municipalities can pool, bank and borrow against this funding, providing significant additional financial flexibility. The GTF supports environmentally sustainable municipal infrastructure that contributes to cleaner air, cleaner water and reduced GHG emissions. Eligible categories of investment include public transit, water and wastewater infrastructure, community energy systems, the management of solid waste, and local roads and bridges that enhance sustainability outcomes. The GTF also provides funding to increase the capacity of communities to undertake long-term planning. Funding for planning capacity is complemented by a requirement for communities to develop Integrated Community Sustainability Plans (ICSPs), which are long-term plans aimed at improving sustainability outcomes in Canada's communities. To ensure accountability to Canadians, communities report on their use of the funds activities on an annual basis.

Goods and Services Tax Rebate

The GTF is complemented by the GST Rebate, which is a 100 percent rebate of the GST paid by municipalities. Over the next seven years, the maintenance of the increase in this rebate from 57 percent to 100 percent is expected to provide communities with over $5.8 billion in additional flexible funding to address their highest priorities, from new infrastructure assets to the maintenance and operation of existing public infrastructure and facilities. Municipalities are accountable directly to their municipal taxpayers in respect of this funding and separate reporting is not required by the Government of Canada.

Base Funding for Provinces and Territories

Building Canada also provides a total of $175 million to each province and territory for core infrastructure priorities. This represents an expenditure of $2.275 billion. This Provincial/Territorial Base Funding will support projects in all of the categories noted below under the Building Canada Fund (BCF), all Highway System infrastructure projects, and the safety-related rehabilitation of infrastructure in all BCF eligible categories. Federal funding will be cost-shared with provinces and territories to maximize investment by all orders of government but, similar to the GTF, federal funding will be provided up-front and does not have to be utilized in the year in which it was provided. This ensures additional financial flexibility to provinces and territories as part of Building Canada. All provinces and territories will benefit from this investment in modern public infrastructure, especially smaller jurisdictions, which generally have lower population densities.

Balancing Needs and Priorities

The Building Canada plan also includes three new national infrastructure programs. The Gateways and Border Crossings Fund and the Public-Private Partnerships Fund (P3s Fund) are targeted investment programs, focused on addressing specific national priorities. The third new program, the Building Canada Fund, is the new flagship infrastructure program of the Government of Canada. It complements the other funding programs by providing a balanced response to addressing local and regional infrastructure needs, while always advancing national priorities that are important to all Canadians.

Gateways and Border Crossings Fund

The National Policy Framework for Strategic Gateways and Trade Corridors will guide the development of a limited number of new gateway and corridor strategies and will help determine the projects to be funded by the Gateways and Border Crossings Fund. This $2.1 billion fund will focus on strategic trade corridors linking to international gateways. Eligible projects will include core National Highway System (NHS) facilities impacted by increased trade flows, inter-modal connectors and facilities, international bridges and tunnels, rail/road grade separations, short-line rail, short-sea shipping and intelligent transportation systems. At least $400 million from this fund will be devoted to the construction of an access road for the new Windsor-Detroit crossing—the busiest border point for Canada-United States trade— and one of the most significant commercial trade corridors in the world. Projects will be assessed on the basis of merit. Federal funding will be cost-shared to generate additional investment in this critical infrastructure.

The activities under the Gateways and Border Crossings Fund build on the Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridor Initiative, which was significantly enriched through the Building Canada plan. Investments from this $1 billion initiative are already producing results on policy, governance and operational issues, including strategic infrastructure projects to enhance marine, rail and road connections, and system capacity.

Public-Private Partnerships

Private capital and expertise can make a significant contribution to building infrastructure projects faster and at a lower cost to taxpayers. The private sector is also often better placed to assume many of the risks associated with the construction, financing, and operation of infrastructure projects. As a result, the use of public-private partnerships (P3s) around the world has been expanding rapidly, with many countries taking practical steps toward the development of programs aimed at fostering stronger P3 markets. While Canada has made some progress in the use of P3s with the development of some high profile projects (including the Confederation Bridge linking Prince Edward Island and New Brunswick, and the Canada Line transit project in British Columbia), when measured against comparable western jurisdictions such as the United Kingdom or Australia, Canada generally lags behind in the use of P3s. In fact, Canadian pension funds are often investing in public infrastructure projects in other countries as a result of a lack of P3 opportunities to be found within Canada.

The Government of Canada will take a leadership role in developing P3 opportunities within Canada through two initiatives. The first is the $1.25 billion Public Private Partnerships Fund. This program will support innovative projects that provide an alternative to traditional government infrastructure procurement. The P3 Fund will help expand infrastructure financing alternatives in Canada, provide incentives to attract investments from the private sector, and increase knowledge and expertise in alternative financing.

In addition, the Government of Canada is committing $25 million over five years to establish a federal P3 Office. The P3 Office will facilitate a broader use of P3s in Canadian infrastructure projects, including through the identification of P3 opportunities at the federal level. The Building Canada plan also encourages the development and use of P3 best practices by requiring that P3s be given consideration in larger infrastructure projects funded through the Gateways and Border Crossings Fund and by the Building Canada Fund. Specifically, all projects seeking $50 million or more in federal contributions will be required to assess and consider the viability of a P3 option.

Building Canada Fund

The Building Canada Fund (BCF) will total $8.8 billion over seven years. The BCF will focus on projects that deliver economic, environmental, and social benefits to all Canadians. The priority funding categories for the fund will be Core National Highway System (NHS) Routes, Drinking Water, Wastewater, Public Transit and Green Energy. Other eligible investment priority areas include environmental projects (Solid Waste Management), projects that support economic growth and development (Short-line Rail and Short-sea Shipping, Connectivity and Broadband, Tourism and Regional and Local Airports), as well as projects that contribute to the ongoing development of safe and strong communities (Disaster Mitigation, Culture, Sport, Local Roads and Bridges, and Brownfield Redevelopment). Funding will be used to support public infrastructure owned by provincial, territorial and municipal governments and entities, as well as private industry, in certain cases.

Funding will be allocated for projects in the various provinces and territories based on their population (as of the 2006 Census). The program will operate through two components: the Major Infrastructure Component (MIC) and the Communities Component. All projects will be cost shared, with the maximum federal contribution to any single project being 50 percent. However, generally speaking, municipal infrastructure projects will be cost-shared on a one-third basis. For projects where the asset is owned by a private entity, the maximum federal contribution will be 25 percent.

The MIC will target larger, strategic projects of national and regional significance. Under the MIC two-thirds of funding, on a national basis, will be directed to the above-mentioned National Priorities. Projects under the MIC will be selected on the basis of merit through a federal-provincial/territorial negotiation process and all projects will be required to meet criteria targeting environmental, economic and quality of life objectives—regardless of the category. Innovative technologies and partnerships will also be emphasized.

The Communities Component is focused on projects in communities with populations of less than 100,000. Projects will be selected through an application-based process and, like projects under the MIC, will be evaluated on the extent to which they meet environmental, economic and quality of life objectives. This will significantly help smaller communities address their infrastructure pressures and serve as a complementary instrument to GTF funding.

A New Approach

The Building Canada plan is about more than just funding. Through Building Canada, the Government of Canada will work with its partners to promote knowledge, research, best practices, long-term planning, and capacity building. Capital infrastructure funding will therefore be complemented by support for research, planning, and capacity building. Up to 1 percent of funding under the Major Infrastructure Component and the Communities Component of the Building Canada Fund in each jurisdiction can be used for cost-shared projects in these areas. In addition, a separate $45 million program to support research, planning and feasibility studies will be implemented at the national level. These investments will help support provinces, territories, communities and the Government of Canada, to increase the knowledge base available to support policy development and decision making. Better knowledge will help us reduce the cost of future infrastructure capital investments across Canada, and this is often one of the most cost effective ways of dealing with future infrastructure challenges.

In addition, the Building Canada plan will also create a new framework for different orders of government to come together to assess infrastructure needs and priorities on a regular basis and to plan investments to meet these needs. Through Framework Agreements signed with each province and territory, the Government of Canada will work in partnership to address infrastructure issues in a consistent and coherent manner, which takes into account long-term planning. As a result, not only will we address our immediate needs, but we will also ensure that we are looking towards our long term priorities and objectives in a coherent and systematic way.

Chantiers Canada - Une infrastructure moderne pour un Canada fort - Chantiers Canada : une nouvelle approche

Chantiers Canada : une nouvelle approche

Les outils du plan Chantiers Canada incluent un certain nombre d'initiatives souples et de programmes ciblés qui équilibrent les besoins nationaux et les priorités nationales. Un financement de base soutenu permettra aux gouvernements de planifier à plus long terme et leur donnera de la flexibilité, alors que le financement ciblé à l'échelle nationale et réparti entre les programmes permettra d'équilibrer les priorités nationales, régionales et locales en matière d'infrastructure.

Financement de base pour les municipalités

Plus de la moitié du financement aux termes du plan Chantiers Canada sera versé en tant que financement de base aux municipalités. Au total, plus de 17,6 milliards de dollars sur sept ans seront versés par l'entremise du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence (FTE) et du remboursement de la taxe sur les produits et services (TPS). Ce financement est stable, prévisible et flexible. Il permet aux municipalités canadiennes de planifier à plus long terme, en ayant accès à une source de fonds réservés pour répondre à leurs besoins continus en matière d'infrastructure.

Plan d'infrastructure de 33 G $ - 2007-2014

Programme Montant
Rabais municipal de la TPS 5,8 G $
Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence 11,8 G $
Fonds Chantiers Canada 8,8 G $
Fonds pour les partenariats public-privé 1,25 G $
Fonds pour les portes d'entrée et les passages frontaliers 2,1 G $
Initiative de la Porte et du Corridor de l'Asie-Pacifique 1,0 G $
Financement de base pour les provinces et territoires 2,275 G $
Total 33 G $

Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence

Dans le Budget 2007, le gouvernement a prolongé le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence (FTE) de 2010 à 2014 avec 2 milliards de dollars par année. Ainsi, au cours des sept prochaines années, les municipalités recevront 11,8 milliards de dollars par l'entremise de ce mécanisme. Les municipalités peuvent rassembler, conserver et emprunter ces fonds, ce qui assure une souplesse financière additionnelle accrue. Le FTE appuie l'infrastructure écologiquement viable qui contribue à l'assainissement de l'air et de l'eau et à la réduction des émissions de GES. Les catégories d'investissements admissibles comprennent le transport en commun, l'infrastructure d'assainissement de l'eau et de traitement des eaux usées, les systèmes énergétiques communautaires, la gestion des déchets solides, les routes et les ponts locaux qui favorisent la durabilité. Le FTE verse également des fonds pour accroître la capacité des collectivités d'entreprendre des projets à long terme. Le financement pour la capacité de planification est assorti d'une exigence voulant que les collectivités élaborent des Plans intégrés pour la durabilité de la collectivité, qui sont des plans à long terme visant à améliorer les résultats au chapitre de la durabilité dans les collectivités canadiennes. Afin de s'acquitter de leur obligation de rendre compte aux Canadiens, les communautés font rapport annuellement des activités pour lesquelles les fonds ont été utilisés.

Remboursement de la taxe sur les produits et services

Le FTE est complété par le Remboursement de la TPS, qui consiste au remboursement intégral de la TPS payée par les municipalités. Au cours des sept prochaines années, l'augmentation continue de ce remboursement, qui passera de 57 pour cent à 100 pour cent, devrait permettre aux communautés de disposer de plus de 5,8 milliards de dollars de financement flexible et additionnel leur permettant de s'occuper de leurs priorités les plus importantes, allant des nouvelles infrastructures à l'entretien et au fonctionnement de l'infrastructure publique et des installations en place. Les municipalités doivent rendre compte directement à leurs contribuables de l'utilisation de ce financement et le gouvernement du Canada n'exige pas de compte rendu distinct.

Financement de base pour les provinces et les territoires

Chantiers Canada accorde aussi 175 millions de dollars à toutes les provinces et à tous les territoires pour leurs principaux besoins prioritaires en matière d'infrastructure, ce qui représente un total de 2,275 milliards de dollars. Ces fonds permettront d'appuyer des projets dans toutes les catégories du Fonds Chantiers Canada (FCC) susmentionnées, de même que l'infrastructure du réseau routier et les travaux de réfection relatifs à la sécurité pour les infrastructures faisant partie de toutes les catégories admissibles du FCC. Le coût de ce financement fédéral est partagé avec les provinces et les territoires en vue de maximiser les investissements faits par tous les ordres de gouvernement. Toutefois, comme dans le cas du FTE, les fonds fédéraux seront attribués immédiatement et n'auront pas à être utilisés au cours de l'exercice lors duquel ils ont été fournis, ce qui assure une flexibilité financière supplémentaire pour les provinces et les territoires dans le cadre de Chantiers Canada. Toutes les provinces et tous les territoires bénéficieront de cet investissement dans l'infrastructure publique moderne, particulièrement les petites administrations, dont la densité de la population est plus faible.

Équilibrer les besoins et les capacités

Le plan Chantiers Canada inclut également trois nouveaux programmes nationaux d'infrastructure. Le Fonds pour les portes d'entrée et les passages frontaliers et le Fonds des partenariats publics-privés sont des programmes d'investissement ciblés, visant des priorités nationales spécifiques. Le troisième programme, le Fonds Chantiers Canada, est le nouveau programme d'infrastructure vedette du gouvernement du Canada. Il complète les autres programmes de financement en offrant une réponse équilibrée aux besoins locaux et régionaux d'infrastructure, tout en tenant compte des priorités nationales qui sont importantes pour tous les Canadiens.

Fonds pour les portes d'entrée et les passages frontaliers

Le Cadre de politique national sur les portes et les corridors commerciaux stratégiques orientera l'élaboration d'un nombre limité de nouvelles stratégies visant les portes et les corridors commerciaux et contribuera à déterminer les projets qui seront financés par le Fonds pour les portes d'entrée et les passages frontaliers. Ce fonds de 2,1 milliards de dollars mettra l'accent sur les corridors commerciaux stratégiques menant à des portes d'entrée internationales. Les projets admissibles incluront les installations du Réseau routier national (RRN) touchées par l'augmentation de la circulation des biens commerciaux, les routes de raccordement intermodales et les installations, les ponts et les tunnels internationaux, les voies ferrées/voies étagées, le transport ferroviaire et maritime sur de courtes distances et les systèmes de transport intelligent. Au moins 400 millions de dollars de ce fonds seront consacrés à la construction d'une route d'accès pour le nouveau passage frontalier Windsor-Détroit, le passage frontalier le plus achalandé pour le commerce entre le Canada et les États-Unis, et l'un des corridors commerciaux les plus importants au monde. Les projets seront évalués en fonction du mérite. Le financement fédéral sera à coûts partagés pour générer des investissements additionnels dans cette infrastructure cruciale.

Les activités s'inscrivant dans le Fonds pour les portes d'entrée et les passages frontaliers s'appuient sur l'Initiative de la Porte et du Corridor de l'Asie-Pacifique, qui a été considérablement enrichie par l'entremise du plan Chantiers Canada. Les investissements effectués aux termes de cette initiative de 1 milliard de dollars entraînent déjà des résultats sur les plans des politiques, de la gouvernance et des questions opérationnelles, en particulier les projets d'infrastructure stratégique visant à améliorer les liens entre les transports maritimes, ferroviaires et routiers, ainsi que les capacités des systèmes.

Partenariats public-privé

Les capitaux privés et le savoir-faire peuvent contribuer dans une large mesure à la réalisation des projets d'infrastructure plus rapidement et à moindre coût pour les contribuables. Le secteur privé est aussi souvent mieux placé pour assumer bon nombre des risques associés à la construction, au financement et au fonctionnement des projets d'infrastructure. En conséquence, le recours aux partenariats publics-privé (P3) à l'échelle internationale a augmenté rapidement, et de nombreux pays prennent des mesures concrètes pour élaborer des programmes visant à favoriser des marchés P3 plus forts. Même si le Canada a fait des progrès dans l'utilisation de P3 pour élaborer certains projets très en vue (y compris le pont de la Confédération reliant l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et le Nouveau-Brunswick, et le projet de transport en commun Canada Line en Colombie-Britannique), lorsqu'on le mesure à des pays occidentaux comparables comme le Royaume-Uni ou l'Australie, le Canada tire généralement de l'arrière pour ce qui est du recours aux P3. De fait, les caisses de retraite canadiennes investissent souvent dans des projets d'infrastructure publique dans d'autres pays en raison d'un manque d'occasions de P3 au Canada.

Le gouvernement du Canada assumera un rôle de leadership en développant des occasions de P3 au Canada par l'entremise de deux initiatives. La première est le Fonds des partenariats publics-privé de 1,25 milliard de dollars. Ce programme appuiera des projets innovateurs qui offrent une alternative aux marchés publics traditionnels en matière d'infrastructure. Le Fonds des partenariats publics-privé contribuera à élargir les solutions de rechange au financement de l'infrastructure au Canada, offrira des incitatifs pour attirer les investissements du secteur privé, et permettra d'accroître les connaissances et l'expertise relativement aux autres solutions de financement.

De plus, le gouvernement du Canada s'engage à verser 25 millions de dollars sur 5 ans pour établir un Bureau des partenariats publics-privé. Le Bureau P3 facilitera le recours aux P3 pour les projets d'infrastructure canadiens, notamment en relevant les possibilités de P3 au palier fédéral. Le plan Chantiers Canada favorise également le développement et l'utilisation de pratiques exemplaires relativement aux P3 en exigeant qu'on envisage d'utiliser les P3 dans les projets d'infrastructure de plus grande envergure financés par l'entremise du Fonds pour les portes d'entrée et les passages frontaliers et du Fonds Chantiers Canada, comme mentionné précédemment. Spécifiquement, tous les projets sollicitant des contributions fédérales de 50 millions de dollars ou plus seront tenus d'évaluer et d'envisager la viabilité d'une option axée sur les P3.

Fonds Chantiers Canada

Le Fonds Chantiers Canada (FCC) totalisera 8,8 milliards de dollars sur 7 ans. Le FCC ciblera des projets qui entraîneront des avantages économiques, environnementaux et sociaux pour tous les Canadiens. Les catégories de financement prioritaires du fonds seront les routes du Réseau routier national (RRN), l'eau potable, les eaux usées, le transport en commun et l'énergie verte. Les autres secteurs prioritaires d'investissement admissible incluent les projets environnementaux (gestion des déchets solides), des projets qui soutiennent la croissance et le développement économique (lignes ferroviaires sur courtes distances, transport maritime à courte distance, les infrastructure de connectivité et large bande, le tourisme et les aéroports régionaux et locaux), ainsi que des projets qui contribuent au développement soutenu de communautés sécuritaires et dynamiques (atténuation des effets des catastrophes, culture, sport, et routes locales). Le financement servira à soutenir l'infrastructure publique appartenant aux entités et aux gouvernements provinciaux, territoriaux et aux administrations municipales, ainsi qu'à l'industrie privée, dans certains cas.

Des fonds seront accordés pour des projets dans les provinces et les territoires en fonction de leur population (selon le recensement de 2006). Le programme sera mis en œuvre par l'entremise de deux volets : le volet Grandes infrastructures et le volet Collectivités. Tous les projets seront à frais partagés et la contribution fédérale maximale accordée à un projet représentera 50 pour cent. Toutefois, dans l'ensemble, les projets touchant l'infrastructure municipale seront à frais partagés dans une proportion d'un tiers. Dans le cas des projets où le bien appartient à une entité privée, la contribution fédérale maximale sera de 25 pour cent.

Le volet Grandes infrastructures ciblera des projets stratégiques de plus grande envergure, d'importance nationale et régionale. Dans le cadre de ce volet, les deux tiers du financement, à l'échelle nationale, iront aux priorités nationales. Les projets s'inscrivant dans ce volet seront choisis en fonction du mérite dans le cadre d'un processus de négociation fédéral-provincial/territorial, et tous les projets devront répondre à des critères ciblant des objectifs environnementaux, économiques et relatifs à la qualité de vie, indépendamment de la catégorie. On mettra aussi l'accent sur les technologies innovatrices et les partenariats.

Le volet Collectivités concerne les projets mis en œuvre dans les collectivités dont la population est inférieure à 100 000 habitants. Les projets seront choisis par l'entremise d'un processus fondé sur des demandes et, à l'instar des projets du volet Grandes infrastructures, seront évalués en fonction de la mesure dans laquelle ils répondent aux objectifs environnementaux, économiques et relatifs à la qualité de vie. Ce volet aidera les petites collectivités à mieux répondre aux pressions en matière d'infrastructure, et servira de financement complémentaire au FTE.

Une nouvelle approche

Le plan Chantiers Canada vise plus que le simple financement. Par son entremise, le gouvernement du Canada collaborera avec ses partenaires pour promouvoir la recherche, les pratiques exemplaires, la planification à long terme et le renforcement de la capacité. Par conséquent, le financement des immobilisations sera complété par l'appui à la recherche, la planification et le renforcement de la capacité. Jusqu'à 1 pour cent du financement versé aux termes du volet Grandes infrastructures et du volet Collectivités du Fonds Chantiers Canada, dans chaque province et territoire, peut être utilisé pour des projets à coûts partagés à ce chapitre. En outre, un programme distinct de 45 millions de dollars pour appuyer les études de recherche, de planification et de faisabilité sera mis en œuvre au niveau national. Ces investissements contribueront à soutenir les provinces, les territoires, les collectivités et le gouvernement du Canada pour accroître la base de connaissances disponibles pour sous-tendre l'élaboration de politiques et la prise de décisions. De meilleures connaissances nous aideront à réduire le coût des investissements futurs dans l'infrastructure au Canada, ce qui est souvent l'une des façons les plus rentables de relever les défis futurs en matière d'infrastructure.

En outre, le plan Chantiers Canada créera également un nouveau cadre pour que les différents gouvernements se réunissent régulièrement pour évaluer les besoins et les priorités au chapitre de l'infrastructure, et pour prévoir des investissements afin de répondre à ces besoins. Par l'entremise d'ententes cadres conclues avec chaque province et chaque territoire, le gouvernement du Canada travaillera en partenariat pour répondre aux enjeux relatifs à l'infrastructure de façon uniforme et cohérente, qui tient compte de la planification à long terme. Par conséquent, non seulement tiendrons-nous compte de nos besoins immédiats, mais nous tiendrons également compte de nos priorités et objectifs à long terme de manière systématique et cohérente.