The Jury

Jury banner

The Smart Cities Challenge Jury is made up of diverse professionals who are accomplished and publicly recognized in fields related to smart cities, including urban planning, architecture, and policy innovation.

The Jury is responsible for evaluating the applications and final proposals and recommending finalists and winners to the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.

Brent Bellamy

Brent Bellamy

Brent Bellamy is an architect and Creative Director at Number TEN Architectural Group in Winnipeg. He is a board member of the Council for Canadian Urbanism and Chair of CentreVenture, the arm's length downtown development agency of Winnipeg.

Through social media, public speaking, professional mentorships and writing for the Winnipeg Free Press, Mr. Bellamy is a leading public advocate for design and city-building.

Leanne M. Bellegarde

Leanne M. Bellegarde, Q.C.

Leanne is Cree Assiniboine person from Treaty 4 territory and a member of the Peepeekisis First Nation.

After serving 8 years leading Diversity and Inclusion at Nutrien (formerly PotashCorp), where her priorities included mutually beneficial relationships with First Nations and Métis people for economic prosperity and gender inclusion, Leanne has resumed the practice of law on Asimakaniseekan Askiy Reserve in Saskatoon.

Ms. Bellegarde is a member of the Board of Directors for Sustainable Development Technology Canada, File Hilo's Qu'Appele Development Corporation, and the Saskatoon Public Schools Foundation.

Matthew Claudel

Matthew Claudel

Matthew Claudel is a designer, researcher and writer focused on the opportunities and challenges of urban innovation. He has been widely published in the fields of architecture, innovation science, technology and art, and co-authored two books: Open Source Architecture and The City of Tomorrow.

Mr. Claudel is the co-founder of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT)'s DesignX program where he serves as the Head of Civic Innovation.

Andrea Feunekes

Andrea Feunekes

Andrea Feunekes is the co-founder and CEO of Remsoft, a Fredericton-based software company that provides strategic and operational planning services to businesses to help improve their performance and productivity.

Ms. Feunekes main interests are data-driven, sustainable planning, and helping businesses to better manage their land assets, and ensuring their economic and environmental sustainability.

Carol Anne Hilton

Carol Anne Hilton

Carol Anne Hilton is a First Nations business leader focused on the building and development of local Indigenous economies. She is the founder and CEO of The Indigenomics Institute and the CEO of Transformation International.

Ms. Hilton is of Nuu chah nulth descent from the Hesquiaht Nation on Vancouver Island.

Ms. Hilton is also an advisor on the Advisory Council on Economic Growth.

Lisa Holmes

Lisa Holmes

Lisa Holmes is the former Mayor of Morinville, Alberta, has served as President of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association, and was a member of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities National Board of Directors.

Ms. Holmes is currently the Director of Government and Stakeholder Relations for Fire & Flower Inc.

Maxime Johnson

Maxime Johnson

Maxime Johnson is a freelance journalist who specializes in new technology observation and analysis.

He writes a column for L'actualité magazine and the Métro newspaper, in addition to working with several specialized media like Avenues.ca, Profession Santé and Protégez-Vous.

Kaviq Kaluraq

Kaviq Kaluraq

Kaviq Kaluraq is an instructor in the Nunavut Arctic College's Nunavut Teacher Education Program and a graduate student in the Master of Educational Studies Program at Trent University. Ms. Kaluraq is also a 2018-2019 Jane Glassco Northern Fellow of the Gordon Foundation. She is the Acting Chairperson of the Nunavut Impact Review Board (NIRB).

Ms. Kaluraq travels across Nunavut to teach for Arctic College, and travels for NIRB to engage with communities through the impact assessment process for various development projects.

Kourosh Rad

Kourosh Rad

Kourosh Rad is an urban planner with expertise in areas of placemaking, urban design and development. He is currently a Senior Planner, Urban Development Strategist with RAD Consulting in Halifax.

He has led multiple initiatives in other areas, including real estate R&D and cleantech. Mr. Rad received the 2017 Young Planner Award from Canadian Institution of Planners for his contribution to the field.

Stéphane Roche

Stéphane Roche

Stéphane Roche is an engineer and geographer. After 15 years as a professor of Geospatial Sciences at Laval University in Québec City, including 4 years as the Vice-Dean of Research for the University's Faculty of Forestry, Geography and Geomatics, he is currently the Director of Research and Academic Affairs at the Institut National de la Recherche Scientifique – INRS.

Mr. Roche's main interests are in social geolocation, open data and crowdsourcing, as well as spatial skills and reasoning for supporting urban intelligence in relation to smart cities.

Mark Romoff

Mark Romoff,
Chairperson

Mark Romoff is the President and Chief Executive Officer of the Canadian Council for Public-Private Partnerships, and the former founding President and CEO of the Ontario Centre of Excellence, Canada's leading innovation, technology commercialization and entrepreneurship development organization.

Mr. Romoff is a former senior Canadian diplomat who served in Nigeria, Mexico, Malaysia, Japan and the United States.

He sits on several boards and is currently Vice-Chair of the United Nations Economic Commission for Europe Working Party on Public-Private Partnerships.

Gabe Sawhney

Gabe Sawhney

Gabe Sawhney is a designer, creative technologist and innovation strategist. He uses design and technology to address creative, civic and business challenges.

Mr. Sawhney is the co-founder of Civic Tech Toronto and launched Code for Canada, where he is now Executive Director.

Maayan Ziv

Maayan Ziv

Maayan Ziv is an activist, a photographer and an entrepreneur. Living with Muscular Dystrophy, Ms. Ziv is an advocate for creating a more accessible world. From a young age, she challenged norms and worked within her community to increase awareness of disability issues and improve accessibility.

In 2015, Ms. Ziv founded AccessNow, a mobile app that maps the accessibility of places worldwide. She also sits on the boards of the Toronto Arts Council and the Centre for Independent Living in Toronto.

Date modified:

Le jury

Le jury

Le jury du Défi des villes intelligentes est composé de divers professionnels accomplis et publiquement reconnus dans des domaines liés aux villes intelligentes, notamment l'urbanisme, l'architecture et l'innovation en matière de politiques.

Le jury est chargé d'évaluer les candidatures et les propositions finales, et de recommander les finalistes et les gagnants au ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités.

Brent Bellamy

Brent Bellamy est architecte et directeur de création à la firme Number TEN Architectural Group à Winnipeg. Membre du Conseil canadien d'urbanisme et président de CentreVenture, agence indépendante responsable du développement du centre-ville de Winnipeg.

M. Bellamy est un grand défenseur de l'importance du design et du développement urbain dans l'intérêt du public. Il utilise les médias sociaux, écrit dans le journal local Winnipeg Free Press et donne des conférences et des séances de mentorat professionnel à ce sujet.

Leanne M. Bellegarde, Q.C.

Leanne est une Crie Assiniboine du territoire visé par le Traité no 4 et membre de la Première Nation de Peepeekisis.

Après avoir dirigé pendant huit ans le programme Diversité et Inclusion chez Nutrien (anciennement PotashCorp), où ses priorités comprenaient des relations mutuellement bénéfiques avec les Premières Nations et les Métis pour la prospérité économique et l'inclusion des femmes, Leanne a repris la pratique du droit dans la réserve Asimakaniseekan Askiy Reserve à Saskatoon.

Mme Bellegarde est membre du conseil d'administration de Technologies du développement durable Canada, de File Hilo's Qu'Appele Development Corporation et de la Saskatoon Public Schools Foundation.

Matthew Claudel

Matthew Claudel est un designer, un chercheur et un auteur qui accorde une grande importance aux possibilités et aux défis liés à l'innovation urbaine. Ses travaux dans les domaines de l'architecture, de la science de l'innovation, de la technologie et des arts ont été largement publiés, et il a écrit deux livres conjointement : Open Source Architecture et The City of Tomorrow.

Cofondateur du programme DesignX, du Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), M. Claudel dirige l'équipe Civic Innovation.

Andrea Feunekes

Andrea Feunekes est cofondatrice et PDG de Remsoft, société de logiciels de Fredericton qui offre des services de planification stratégique et opérationnelle aux entreprises pour les aider à améliorer leur rendement et leur productivité.

Mme Feunekes s'intéresse tout particulièrement à la planification durable axée sur les données. Elle aime aider les entreprises à gérer plus efficacement leurs biens fonciers et à assurer leur viabilité économique et environnementale.

Carol Anne Hilton

Carol Anne Hilton est une dirigeante d'entreprise des Premières Nations qui accorde une grande importance à la mise sur pied et au développement des économies autochtones locales. Elle est fondatrice et PDG du Indigenomics Institute et PDG de Transformation International.

D'origine Nuu-chah-nulth, Mme Hilton fait partie de la Première Nation Hesquiaht, de l'île de Vancouver.

Mme Hilton est aussi conseillère au Conseil consultatif en matière de croissance économique.

Lisa Holmes

Lisa Holmes est l'ancienne mairesse de Morinville, en Alberta. Elle a été présidente de l'Association des municipalités urbaines de l'Alberta et membre du conseil national d'administration de la Fédération canadienne des municipalités.

Mme Holmes est actuellement directrice des Relations gouvernementales et des Relations avec les intervenants chez Fire & Flower Inc.

Maxime Johnson

Maxime Johnson est un journaliste indépendant spécialisé dans l'observation et l'analyse des nouvelles technologies.

Il signe une chronique dans le magazine L'actualité et dans le journal Métro, en plus de collaborer régulièrement à plusieurs médias spécialisés comme Avenues.ca, Profession Santé et Protégez-Vous.

Kaviq Kaluraq

Kaviq Kaluraq est instructrice au programme de formation des enseignants du Collège de l'Arctique du Nunavut et étudiante diplômée à la maîtrise en études pédagogiques de l'Université Trent. Mme Kaluraq est également membre de 2018-2019 du Jane Glassco Northern Fellowship de la Fondation Gordon. Elle est présidente intérimaire de la Commission du Nunavut chargée de l'examen des répercussions (CNER).

Mme Kaluraq parcourt le Nunavut afin d'enseigner pour le Collège de l'Arctique, ainsi que de collaborer avec les collectivités, pour la CNER, dans le cadre du processus d'évaluation des répercussions de divers projets de développement.

Kourosh Rad

Kourosh Rad est un urbaniste qui possède une expertise dans les domaines de l'aménagement des espaces, du design urbain et du développement. Il est actuellement planificateur principal et stratège en développement urbain chez RAD Consulting à Halifax.

Il a dirigé de nombreuses initiatives dans d'autres domaines, dont la R-D immobilière et les technologies propres. M. Rad a reçu le Prix du jeune urbaniste 2017 de l'Institut canadien des urbanistes pour sa contribution dans ce domaine.

Stéphane Roche

Stéphane Roche est ingénieur et géographe. Après avoir été professeur de sciences géospatiales à l'Université Laval pendant 15 ans, dont quatre à titre de vice-doyen à la recherche au sein de la faculté de foresterie, de géographie et de géomatique, il est actuellement directeur de la recherche et des affaires académiques à l'Institut national de la recherche scientifique (INRS).

Les travaux de M. Roche portent principalement sur la géolocalisation sociale, les données ouvertes et l'externalisation ouverte (« crowdsourcing »), ainsi que sur les compétences spatiales et le raisonnement pour soutenir l'intelligence urbaine dans le contexte des villes intelligentes.

Mark Romoff,
Président de jury

Mark Romoff est président et chef de la direction du Conseil canadien pour les partenariats public-privé, ainsi qu'ancien président fondateur et PDG des Centres d'excellence de l'Ontario, une organisation qui fait figure de chef de file au Canada dans les domaines de l'innovation, de la commercialisation des technologies et du développement de l'entrepreneuriat.

M. Romoff est un ancien diplomate canadien de haut rang qui a servi au Nigéria, au Mexique, en Malaisie, au Japon et aux États-Unis.

Il siège à plusieurs conseils d'administration et est actuellement vice-président du Groupe de travail sur les partenariats public-privé de la Commission économique des Nations Unies pour l'Europe.

Gabe Sawhney

Gabe Sawhney possède de l'expérience à titre de designer, de technologue en création et de stratège de l'innovation. Il utilise le design et la technologie pour s'attaquer à différents défis d'ordre créatif, civique et commercial.

M. Sawhney est le cofondateur de Civic Tech Toronto et il a également lancé l'entreprise Code for Canada, où il est actuellement directeur général.

Maayan Ziv

Maayan Ziv est photographe, entrepreneure et activiste. Atteinte de dystrophie musculaire, elle milite pour la création d'un monde plus accessible. Depuis un jeune âge, elle remet en question les normes et travaille au sein de sa collectivité pour mieux faire connaître les difficultés que rencontrent les personnes handicapées et améliorer l'accessibilité.

En 2015, Mme Maayan a fondé AccessNow, une application mobile qui permet de connaître l'accessibilité d'endroits situés partout dans le monde. Elle est aussi membre des conseils d'administration du Toronto Arts Council et du Centre for Independent Living, à Toronto.

Date de modification :