Building Canada Fund - Funding Categories

The Building Canada Fund focuses on projects that deliver economic, environmental and community benefits to Canadians.

A Stronger Economy

A strong economy is essential to maintaining Canada's competitiveness and long-term prosperity. Building Canada is helping build a stronger Canadian economy by investing in infrastructure projects that contribute to increased trade, efficient movement of goods and people, and economic growth.

Infrastructure projects that support economic growth fall into the following categories:

A Cleaner Environment

Building Canada is funding infrastructure projects that contribute to cleaner air, water and land. After all, a healthy and sustainable environment is fundamental to the health and prosperity of Canadians.

Infrastructure projects that support a cleaner environment fall into the following categories:

Strong and Prosperous Communities

Building Canada promotes strong and prosperous communities by investing in critical infrastructure. Strong, modern infrastructure positively impacts life in Canadian communities, making them healthy, prosperous and safe. Better public transit and roads keep Canadians on the move, treatment plants supply clean water to keep families healthy, and cultural and recreational facilities contribute to vibrant communities.

Infrastructure projects that contribute to strong and prosperous communities fall into the following categories:

In addition to capital infrastructure investments, Building Canada funds collaborative projects such as long-term plans, joint knowledge and research projects, feasibility studies, and capacity-building endeavours.

Fonds Chantiers Canada – Catégories de financement

Le Fonds Chantiers Canada soutient des projets qui procurent des avantages économiques, environnementaux et communautaires aux Canadiens.

Une économie plus forte

Une économie forte est essentielle pour maintenir la compétitivité et la prospérité à long terme du Canada. Chantiers Canada vise à solidifier l'économie canadienne grâce à des investissements dans des projets d'infrastructure qui contribuent à une intensification du commerce, à la circulation fluide des gens et des marchandises et à la croissance économique.

Les projets d'infrastructure qui appuient la croissance économique relèvent des catégories suivantes :

Un environnement plus sain

Chantiers Canada finance des projets d'infrastructure qui contribuent à l'assainissement de l'air, de l'eau et du sol. Après tout, la santé et la prospérité des Canadiens reposent en grande partie sur un environnement sain et durable.

Les projets d'infrastructure qui soutiennent un environnement plus sain relèvent des catégories suivantes :

Des collectivités fortes et prospères

Chantiers Canada favorise des collectivités fortes et prospères en investissant dans les infrastructures de base. Les infrastructures solides et modernes ont des répercussions positives sur les collectivités canadiennes, puisqu'elles contribuent à leur santé, à leur prospérité et à leur sécurité. De meilleurs réseaux de transport public et de meilleures routes permettent aux Canadiens de se déplacer, les usines de traitement modernes approvisionnent les familles en eau potable saine et les installations culturelles et récréatives contribuent au dynamisme des collectivités.

Les projets d'infrastructure qui contribuent à la prospérité des collectivités relèvent des catégories suivantes :

En plus d'investir dans des infrastructures, Chantiers Canada finance des projets collaboratifs, comme des plans à long terme, des projets mixtes de recherche et de transmission des connaissances, des études de faisabilité et des initiatives visant à renforcer les capacités.