$50 Million Prize Category Winner

Winners announcement banner

City of Montréal, Quebec

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"Citizens most naturally identify themselves at the neighbourhood level when defining their reality. This is also the level at which they have the ability to change things."

– final proposal

"We want to make neighbourhoods more dynamic and inclusive, where mobility is a driver of social cohesion and collective action, and where vulnerable populations have better access to quality food."

– finalist video

Challenge Statement

The Montreal community is shaping an efficient and dynamic neighbourhood life by innovating mobility and access to food. Through a co-creation and citizen participation process, the accessibility of services and the well-being of Montrealers are increasing significantly.

Summary

The city of Montréal and 36 project owners and partners are committed to take action on systemic issues of urban life including mobility and access to food so that all Montrealers may enjoy a pleasant quality of life where their basic needs are met.

Technology will allow us offer Montrealers efficient and sustainable transportation alternatives, thus reducing automobile usage. As a result, neighbourhoods will become more enjoyable places, conducive to a rich and local way of life.

An improved public transportation offering associated with new and innovative forms of mobility (car sharing on-demand, autonomous vehicles, bike sharing, etc.) will reinforce the access to local services, most notably to food supply.

As a complement to the technological dimension, transversal projects in governance and citizen engagement will ensure the responsible deployment of technologies, given that they will be derived from collective decision-making, thus preventing abuse in terms of data collection and usage.

The combination of a participative and technological approach framed by innovative and agile governance will not only concretely improve the lives of Montrealers, but will bring about profound, sustainable change which may be applied to other contexts.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
Montréal, Quebec

Population: 1,704,694

Focus Areas:

Mobility Environmental Quality

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Gagnant du catégorie de prix de 50 M$

Felicitations!

Ville de Montréal (Québec)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Le quartier est l'échelle à laquelle les citoyens s'identifient le plus naturellement pour définir leur réalité. C'est aussi à cette échelle qu'ils ont la capacité de changer les choses. »

– proposition finale

« Nous voulons rendre les quartiers plus dynamiques et inclusifs, où la mobilité est un moteur de cohésion sociale et d'action collective et où les populations vulnérables ont un meilleur accès à une alimentation de qualité. »

– Vidéo du finaliste

Énoncé de défi

La collectivité montréalaise se façonne une vie de quartier efficiente et dynamique en innovant en matière de mobilité et d'accès à l'alimentation. Grâce à un processus de cocréation et de participation citoyenne, l'accessibilité aux services et le bien-être des Montréalais et Montréalaises augmentent de manière notable.

Résumé

La Ville de Montréal et 36 porteurs de projets et partenaires s'engagent à agir sur des enjeux systémiques de la vie urbaine au moyen d'actions en mobilité et en accès à l'alimentation pour donner à l'ensemble des Montréalais-es un cadre de vie agréable et leur permettant de répondre à leurs besoins de base.

Grâce aux technologies, il sera possible d'offrir des alternatives efficaces et durables au Montréalais-es pour leurs déplacements, réduisant l'utilisation de l'automobile. Cela aura comme impact de rendre les quartiers plus agréables et propices à une vie locale riche.

Une offre de transport en commun améliorée associée à de nouvelles formes de mobilités innovantes (auto-partage à la demande, véhicules autonomes, vélo partage, etc.) renforcera l'accès aux services de proximité, notamment en matière d'alimentation.

En complément de la dimension technologique, des projets transversaux en gouvernance et en engagement citoyen assureront un déploiement responsable des technologies, issus de décisions approuvées collectivement et évitant des dérives en matière de collecte et d'usage des données.

La combinaison d'une approche participative et technologique, encadrées par une gouvernance innovante et agile permettra non seulement d'améliorer concrètement la vie des Montréalais-es, mais amènera des changements en profondeur, durables et applicables à d'autres contextes.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Ville de Montréal (Québec)

Population : 1 704 694

Les secteurs prioritaires

Mobilité Qualité de l'environnement

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :