Parkland, Brazeau, Lac Ste Anne and Yellowhead Counties, Alberta

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"We aim to transform how rural Canada uses and accesses Information Communications Infrastructure for the common good. We hope to lever the benefits of connected technologies to improve rural lives, rural economies and rural environments … True to the intention of the Smart Cities Challenge, we are focussed on delivering value that can be adopted nationwide"

– final proposal

Challenge Statement

Our agricultural community will revitalize and grow through the connection of people to the land and food while attracting citizens to share in its prosperous, innovative and resilient way of life.

Summary

This proposal has a lofty goal. The applicants seek to increase the prosperity and safety of rural communities – farm and rural residential alike – through the full use of integrated data and connected technologies. Increased rural prosperity will support more people living on farms and in rural areas. This will require greater technology adoption, proper decision support tools and market linkage between rural/farm areas and urban Canada and beyond.

The proposal seeks to build more prosperous market and knowledge links with urban Canada and beyond. Data-driven discussions will bring farmers closer to people's kitchen tables and address misconceptions about how our food is produced. We will improve the safety and security in rural areas by reducing accidents between large machinery, and improve regional security through technology adoption.

Overall, these initiatives seek to create a more prosperous and safe way of life in rural Canada. In turn, a growing population is anticipated; a greater interest in living a rural lifestyle will prompt more young people to move into farming, and incent greater inter-generational farm transfer.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The smart cities challenge is a competition that called in Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residence.

On screen:

Smart Cities Challenge

Winning communities

School

The finalists

$10M category: Parkland, Brazeau, Lac Ste Anne and Yellowhead Counties, Alberta

Tell us about your team and your community

Barb Scully (Connected Communities Program Manager): we're right outside of Edmonton, all four communities are adjacent to each other so for Parkland County which is ours we have a population density of 13 people per square kilometer and all four communities have a commitment to agriculture in their communities.

On screen: Why did you enter the challenge?

Barb Scully (Connected Communities Program Manager): We entered the smart cities challenge because there's a lot of really amazing things going on in agriculture, but not necessarily in our region and if they are in our region, they're in small pockets. So, if we could find ways to capture that and increase the innovation and a track pack or knowledge workforce and do some row retention especially on the youth or for youth attraction getting into agriculture.

On screen: Challenge statement: Our agricultural community will revitalize and grow through the connection of people to the land and food while attracting citizens to share in its prosperous, innovative and resilient way of life.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesChallenge

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Leanne Bellegarde. I'm from the Peepeekisis First Nation, in the File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council of Saskatchewan. It's in Treaty 4 Territory. I'm the director of strategic inclusion for Nutrien. My home is Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

The opportunity to be a jury member for "Smart Cities Challenge" is really about inspiring the future of this country and challenging Canada to be that all it can be through empowering people and communities to do what they know and do best, serve their people with a view to the future.

The Parkland "Smart Cities Challenge" is inspiring. The history of Canada is really built largely on the settlement of this land, particularly in the west for agricultural purposes and economy. And for Parkland and its proposal, it is, once again, about looking at the stewardship of the land, the food it produces, and how it nurtures us all. Through innovative technologies, they will capture data that is not only about farming innovation, sustainable land practices, but also about encouraging the future of farming through generational continuation of farming through families, not just large corporations, though those certainly play a role. They've certainly thought strategically not only about being economically viable, the consolidation of land realities, climate change, automation of farming practices, but they've also thought about the sense of community and the safety for all, because in the west it's still a geographic reality that the dispersion of farming means we're not always as close as a short walk to knock on our neighbour's door. There are other challenges and risks inherent in being dispersed through farming communities, and I hope that Parkland, through the use of the technologies and innovations it has set out, will create a broader sense of community inclusive of all of those in rural western Canada and will inspire all of Canada to enhance that sense of community as well as continue to grow food and sustain us all.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
Parkland, Brazeau, Lac Ste Anne and Yellowhead Counties, Alberta

Population: 61,762

Focus Areas:

Empowerment and Inclusion Economic Opportunity

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Parkland, Brazeau, Lac Ste Anne et Yellowhead (Alberta)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Nous visons à transformer la façon dont le Canada rural utilise et accède à l'infrastructure de communication de l'information pour le bien commun. Nous espérons tirer parti des avantages des technologies connectées pour améliorer la vie rurale, les économies rurales et les environnements ruraux... Fidèles à l'intention du Défi des villes intelligentes, nous nous concentrons sur la création de valeur qui peut être adoptée à l'échelle nationale. »

– proposition finale

Énoncé de défi

Notre collectivité agricole se revitalisera et prendra de l'expansion grâce à la connexion des gens avec la terre et l'alimentation, en plus d'inciter les citoyens à partager son mode de vie prospère, novateur et résilient.

Résumé

Cette proposition a un noble objectif. Les candidats cherchent à accroître la prospérité et la sécurité des collectivités rurales – à la ferme comme dans les régions rurales – en utilisant pleinement les données intégrées et les technologies connectées. L'accroissement de la prospérité rurale soutiendra un plus grand nombre de personnes vivant sur les fermes et dans les régions rurales. Cela exigera une meilleure adoption de la technologie, d'outils d'aide à la prise de décision appropriés et de liens avec le marché entre les régions rurales/agricoles et les régions urbaines du Canada et au-delà.

La proposition vise à établir des liens plus prospères en matière de marché et de connaissances avec le Canada urbain et au-delà. Des discussions axées sur les données rapprocheront les agriculteurs des cuisines des gens et dissiperont les idées fausses sur la façon dont nos aliments sont produits. Nous améliorerons la sécurité et la sûreté dans les zones rurales en réduisant les accidents liés aux grosses machines, et nous améliorerons la sécurité régionale par l'adoption de technologies.

Dans l'ensemble, ces initiatives visent à créer un mode de vie plus prospère et plus sécuritaire dans les régions rurales du Canada. En retour, on s'attend à ce que la population augmente; un plus grand intérêt à vivre en milieu rural incitera plus de jeunes à se lancer dans l'agriculture et générera un plus grand transfert intergénérationnel de la ferme.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours dans le cadre duquel les collectivités canadiennes sont invitées à étudier la manière dont les données et les technologies connectées peuvent produire des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

À l'écran :

Défi des villes intelligentes

Collectivités gagnantes

École

Les finalistes de la catégorie de prix : 10 M$ : Les comtés de Parkland, Brazeau, Lac Ste Anne et Yellowhead (Alberta)

Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Barb Scully (gestionnaire, Programme des collectivités connectées) : Nous sommes situés immédiatement à l'extérieur d'Edmonton et les quatre collectivités sont adjacentes. Dans le comté de Parkland, la densité de la population est de 13 personnes par kilomètre carré. Les quatre collectivités sont résolument en faveur de l'agriculture.

À l'écran : Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de relever le défi?

Barb Scully (gestionnaire, Programme des collectivités connectées) : Nous avons choisi de relever le Défi des villes intelligentes, car des gens accomplissent des choses vraiment incroyables dans le domaine de l'agriculture, mais cela n'a pas nécessairement lieu dans notre région. Si notre région compte certains de ces agriculteurs, ils sont bien peu. Nous aimerons donc intégrer cela au sein de nos collectivités, en plus de trouver des solutions pour accroître l'innovation, posséder une main-d'œuvre instruite et maintenir ou attirer particulièrement les jeunes dans le domaine de l'agriculture.

À l'écran : Énoncé de défi :Notre collectivité agricole sera revitalisée et connaîtra une croissance grâce à l'établissement d'un lien entre les personnes, la terre et l'alimentation, tout en encourageant les citoyens à partager cette façon de vivre prospère, novatrice et résistante.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Leanne Bellegarde. Je suis originaire de la Première Nation de Peepeekisis, qui fait partie du Conseil tribal File Hills Qu'Appelle, situé dans le territoire visé par le Traité no 4. Je suis directrice de l'inclusion stratégique chez Nutrien. Je vis à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan.

Le fait d'être membre du jury du « Défi des villes intelligentes » fournit vraiment une occasion d'inspirer l'avenir du pays et d'inciter le Canada à réaliser son plein potentiel en permettant aux collectivités de faire ce qu'elles savent faire et ce qu'elles font le mieux : servir leur population dans une perspective d'avenir.

La proposition présentée par Parkland dans le cadre du « Défi des villes intelligentes » est inspirante. L'histoire du Canada repose en grande partie sur la colonisation de ce territoire, particulièrement dans l'Ouest, à des fins agricoles et économiques. Et dans sa demande, Parkland propose, encore une fois, de se pencher sur l'intendance du territoire, sur la nourriture qu'il produit et sur la façon dont il nous nourrit tous. Grâce à des technologies novatrices, on recueillera des données sur l'innovation agricole et les pratiques agricoles durables, en plus d'encourager l'agriculture de demain grâce au maintien des activités agricoles de génération en génération à l'intérieur des familles, et pas seulement par les grandes entreprises, bien que celles-ci jouent certainement un rôle. Non seulement les représentants ont fait preuve de réflexion stratégique en ce qui a trait à la viabilité économique, à la mise en commun des réalités relatives aux terres, aux changements climatiques et à l'automatisation des pratiques agricoles, mais ils ont aussi réfléchi à la sécurité pour tous et au sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté, car dans l'Ouest, l'éloignement entre les exploitations agricoles fait en sorte que la porte du voisin ne se trouve pas toujours à quelques minutes de marche. Il existe d'autres défis et risques inhérents à cet éloignement dans les collectivités agricoles, et j'espère que Parkland, grâce à l'utilisation des technologies et des innovations qu'elle a abordées, renforcera le sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté d'une façon qui inclura tous les habitants ruraux de l'Ouest canadien et inspirera l'ensemble du pays à accroître ce sentiment ainsi qu'à continuer de cultiver des aliments et d'assurer notre subsistance commune.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Parkland, Brazeau, Lac Ste Anne et Yellowhead (Alberta)

Population : 61 762

Les secteurs prioritaires

Autonomisation et inclusion Débouchés économiques

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :