Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, Quebec

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"Akwasasne is truly a smart community and ready to take on the task of ensuring that our next seven generations are reconnected with our traditional food, our people, our culture and our health"

– Finalist video

Challenge Statement

Decrease the rate of new cases of diabetes per year in Akwesasne to the Canadian average (0.5%; 5.9/1,000) by improving community wellness using traditional approaches encompassing holistic Indigenous practices, improved access to community services and health diagnostics.

Summary

The scourge of diabetes falls heavily on Aboriginal people around the world. In Canada, the rate of diabetes for Indigenous people is 3 times that of other Canadians. The Mohawk Council of Akwesasne will use the Smart Cities Challenge to decrease the rate of new cases of diabetes, and provide a framework for similar communities.

Drawing on holistic Indigenous practices focussed on protecting and restoring the natural world, our program will integrate modern health diagnostics, improved diet and food security, access to health services and physical fitness as ways to reduce the risk and prevalence of diabetes diagnoses.

Smart technologies in the form of electric vehicles, smart greenhouses and an integrating mobile/websystem will be key tools in achieving positive change in lifestyle, education and accessibility issues at the root of problem.

Akwesasne community members will share personal scoring on measures related to the areas of focus publicly but anonymously, so that the community's digital scorecard is transparent and a shared challenge. Software will seamlessly organize reporting, communication with health professionals, scheduling clinical access, food delivery and the education of risk reduction. Traditional practices will renew our Mind, Body and Spirit, while digital technology will help overcome our geographic challenges.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The Smart Cities Challenge is a competition that calls on Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residents.

The Finalists - $5M Category: Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, Quebec

Question: Tell us about your team and your community.

Rhonda Adams (Information Services Manager): My name is Rhonda Adams, I'm here with the Smart Akwesasne team from the Mohawk Council of Akwesasne. Our community is located between Canada and the US at the point where the two provinces of Ontario and Quebec meet.

Question: Why did you enter the Challenge?

Rhonda Adams (Information Services Manager): We entered the challenge so that we could provide better services to our community within our health department and just try to make life easier within our community. Make things more accessible.

Challenge Statement: Decrease the rate of new cases of diabetes per year in Akwesasne to the Canadian average (0.5%; 5.9/1,000) by improving community wellness using traditional approaches encompassing holistic Indigenous practices, improved access to community services and health diagnostics.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Carol Anne Hilton. I am the CEO of the Indigenomics Institute.

I was inspired to be a juror for the “Smart Cities Challenge" because I see the importance of driving a future reality and the possibility to focus on solutions today that are scalable, inclusive and open are an important pathway to be able to do that.

So, in looking at the Akwesasne application, what inspired me as a juror about this application was that it was a strong solutions application that focused on driving community health solutions that included both a traditional focus as well as technology application, with a focus on well-being.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
Mohawk Council of Akwesasne, Quebec

Population: 12,315

Focus Areas:

Healthy Living and Recreation Mobility

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Conseil des Mohawks d'Akwesasne (Québec)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Akwasasne est une communauté intelligente et prête à veiller à ce que nos sept prochaines générations renouent avec nos aliments traditionnels, notre peuple, notre culture et la santé. »

– Vidéo du finaliste

Énoncé de défi

Diminuer le nombre de nouveaux cas de diabète par année à Akwesasne afin d'atteindre la moyenne canadienne (0,5 %; 5,9/1 000) en améliorant le mieux-être de la collectivité à l'aide d'approches traditionnelles comprenant des pratiques holistiques autochtones, un meilleur accès aux services communautaires et des diagnostics de santé.

Résumé

Le fléau du diabète pèse lourdement sur les peuples autochtones du monde entier. Au Canada, le taux de diabète chez les Autochtones est trois fois plus élevé que chez les autres Canadiens. Le Conseil mohawk d'Akwesasne utilisera le Défi des villes intelligentes pour réduire le taux de nouveaux cas de diabète et fournir un cadre pour des collectivités similaires.

S'inspirant des pratiques autochtones holistiques axées sur la protection et la restauration du monde naturel, notre programme intégrera les diagnostics de santé modernes, l'amélioration de l'alimentation et de la sécurité alimentaire, l'accès aux services de santé et la condition physique comme moyens de réduire le risque et la prévalence des diagnostics de diabète.

Les technologies intelligentes sous la forme de véhicules électriques, de serres intelligentes et d'un système mobile/Web intégrateur seront des outils clés pour entraîner des changements positifs dans le mode de vie, l'éducation et les questions d'accessibilité à la source du problème.

Les membres de la collectivité d'Akwesasne partageront leurs notes personnelles sur les mesures liées aux domaines d'intérêt public, mais de façon anonyme, afin que la carte de pointage numérique de la collectivité soit transparente et qu'elle constitue un défi commun. Le logiciel organisera de façon transparente les rapports, la communication avec les professionnels de la santé, la planification de l'accès clinique, la livraison des aliments et l'éducation à la réduction des risques. Les pratiques traditionnelles renouvelleront notre esprit, notre corps et notre esprit, tandis que la technologie numérique nous aidera à surmonter nos défis géographiques.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours qui demande aux collectivités canadiennes d'examiner de quelle façon les données et les technologies connectées peuvent obtenir des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

Les finalistes - Catégorie de 5 M$ : Conseil des Mohawks d'Akwesasne, Québec

Question : Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Rhonda Adams (Gestionnaire des services d'information) : Mon nom est Rhonda Adams, je suis ici avec l'équipe Smart Akwesasne du Conseil des Mohawks d'Akwesasne. Notre collectivité est située entre le Canada et les É.-U. au point où l'Ontario et le Québec se rencontrent.

Question : Pourquoi avez-vous décidé de participer au Défi?

Rhonda Adams (Gestionnaire des services d'information) : Nous avons participé au Défi pour que nous puissions mieux desservir notre collectivité dans notre département de santé et juste pour essayer de faciliter la vie au sein de notre collectivité. Rendre les choses plus accessibles.

Énoncé du Défi : Diminuer le nombre de nouveaux cas de diabète par année à Akwesasne pour atteindre la moyenne canadienne (0,5 %; 5,9/1 000) en améliorant le mieux-être de la collectivité à l'aide d'approches traditionnelles, dont des pratiques holistiques autochtones, ainsi qu'un meilleur accès aux services communautaires et aux diagnostics.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Carol Anne Hilton. Je suis PDG de l'Indigenomics Institute.

Je souhaitais faire partie du jury du « Défi des villes intelligentes » parce que je comprends l'importance de façonner la réalité de demain; et pour y arriver, il faut chercher dès aujourd'hui des solutions modulables, inclusives et ouvertes.

En examinant la proposition d'Akwesasne, j'ai été inspirée par ses solutions robustes : des solutions de santé communautaire comprenant à la fois une approche traditionnelle et un volet lié à l'application des technologies en vue de favoriser le bien-être.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Conseil des Mohawks d'Akwesasne (Québec)

Population : 12 315

Les secteurs prioritaires

Modes de vie sains et loisirs Mobilité

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :