Overview

Active Transportation Fund banner

Update

Infrastructure Canada will be accepting applications for both the planning and capital funding streams of the Active Transportation Fund between January 27, 2022 and March 31, 2022 through the Applicant Portal. Applications for planning and capital projects from eligible Indigenous recipients will be accepted on an ongoing basis.

Active transportation refers to the movement of people or goods powered by human activity. Active transportation includes walking, cycling and the use of human-powered or hybrid mobility aids such as wheelchairs, scooters, e-bikes, rollerblades, snowshoes and cross-country skis, and more.

The first-ever Active Transportation Fund will provide $400 million over five years to support a modal shift away from cars and toward active transportation, in support of Canada's National Active Transportation Strategy. The Active Transportation Fund will invest in projects that build new and expanded networks of pathways, bike lanes, trails and pedestrian bridges, in addition to supporting active transportation planning and stakeholder engagement activities.

Active transportation provides tangible benefits to communities, shortening commute times for families, creating good middle-class jobs, growing the economy, promoting healthier lifestyles, cutting air and noise pollution, and reducing greenhouse gas emissions.

More specifically, the Active Transportation Fund seeks to:

Jobs & Growth icon

Improve community connections and promote social equity amongst vulnerable Canadians

Sustainable & Resilient icon

Make travel by active transportation easier, more convenient and enjoyable, and enhance user safety and security

Inclusive & Accessible icon

Encourage people to choose active transportation over personal vehicles (including supporting walking and cycling to access transit)

Jobs & Growth icon

Contribute to long-term, sustainable, inclusive economic growth, while setting the foundation for achieving a more inclusive Canada and net-zero climate emissions by 2050

Inclusive & Accessible icon

Support the Canadian economy through a reduction in congestion, the creation of jobs and enhanced access via active transportation modes to businesses

Vue d'ensemble

Bannière du Fonds pour le transport actif

Mise à jour

Infrastructure Canada acceptera les demandes pour les projets de planification et les projets d'immobilisations du Fonds pour le transport actif entre le 27 janvier 2022 et le 31 mars 2022 via le Portail des candidats. Les demandes pour les projets de planification et d'immobilisations des bénéficiaires autochtones admissibles seront acceptées de manière continue.

Le transport actif fait référence au mouvement des personnes ou des marchandises assuré par l'activité humaine. Le transport actif comprend la marche, la bicyclette et l'utilisation d'aides à la mobilité hybrides ou à propulsion humaine comme les fauteuils roulants, les cyclomoteurs, les vélos électriques, les patins à roues alignées, les raquettes et les skis de fond.

Le tout premier Fonds pour le transport actif fournira 400 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour favoriser un transfert modal de la voiture vers le transport actif, afin de soutenir la Stratégie nationale de transport actif du Canada. Le Fonds pour le transport actif investira dans des projets de construction de réseaux nouveaux et élargis de sentiers, de pistes cyclables, de sentiers et de passerelles pour piétons, en plus de soutenir la planification du transport actif et les activités de participation des intervenants.

Le transport actif apporte des avantages tangibles aux collectivités, en réduisant les temps de déplacement pour les familles, en créant de bons emplois de classe moyenne, en faisant croître l'économie, en promouvant des modes de vie plus sains, en réduisant la pollution atmosphérique et sonore, et en diminuant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Plus précisément, le Fonds pour le transport actif vise à :

Jobs & Growth icon

Améliorer les liens communautaires et promouvoir l'équité sociale parmi les Canadiens vulnérables

Sustainable & Resilient icon

Rendre les déplacements en transport actif plus faciles, plus pratiques et agréables, et améliorer la sécurité et la sûreté des utilisateurs

Inclusive & Accessible icon

Encourager les gens à préférer le transport actif aux véhicules personnels (notamment en favorisant la marche et le vélo pour accéder aux transports en commun)

Jobs & Growth icon

Contribuer à une croissance économique à long terme, durable et inclusive, tout en jetant les bases d'un Canada plus inclusif et de la carboneutralité d'ici 2050

Inclusive & Accessible icon

Soutenir l'économie canadienne en réduisant la congestion, en créant des emplois et en améliorant l'accès aux entreprises par des modes de transport actif