2014 New Building Canada Fund:
Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component
National and Regional Projects

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (218.11 KB)

What is it?

The $10-billion Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component (PTIC) provides funding to support infrastructure projects of national, regional and local significance that contribute to objectives related to economic growth, a clean environment and stronger communities. To support a wide range of infrastructure needs, the PTIC is divided into two sub-components:

  • National and Regional Projects (PTICNRP): includes $9 billion for projects that are nationally and regionally significant, and are predominantly medium- and large scale in nature; and
  • Small Communities Fund (PTICSCF): $1 billion for projects in communities with fewer than 100,000 residents through the Small Communities Fund (PTICSCF). The PTICSCF ensures that small communities can benefit from significant funding supporting economic prosperity.

Why is it important?

The PTIC is an allocation-based program that recognizes and supports the important role that provinces, territories, and municipalities play in helping to build Canada's public infrastructure. Through the $9-billion PTIC-NRP, the Government of Canada will support medium to large scale infrastructure projects across 19 categories of investment that will encourage job creation, and economic growth. These infrastructure investments will allow people and goods to move more freely, increase the potential for innovation and economic development, improve the environment and support stronger, safer communities.

How does it work?

Over the duration of the 10-year 2014 New Building Canada Fund, each province and territory will receive a base amount of $250 million plus a per capita allocation based on the Statistics Canada Final 2011 Census. Provinces and territories are required to prioritize projects for all outstanding NBCF-PTIC funding allocations by April 1, 2018. Eligible projects will be for the construction, renewal, rehabilitation or material enhancement of infrastructure for public use or benefit and must fall under one of the following categories:

  • Highways and roads
  • Public transit infrastructure
  • Disaster mitigation infrastructure
  • Connectivity and broadband
  • Innovation
  • Wastewater
  • Green energy
  • Drinking water
  • Solid waste management
  • Brownfield redevelopment
  • Local and regional airports
  • Short-line rail infrastructure
  • Short-sea shipping
  • Northern infrastructure (applies to Yukon, Nunavut and Northwest Territories only)
  • Passenger ferries services infrastructure
  • Culture
  • Recreation
  • Tourism
  • Civic assets and municipal buildings

Eligible recipients under the PTICNRP are:

  1. A province or territory, or a municipal or regional government established by or under provincial or territorial statute;
  2. A band council within the meaning of section 2 of the Indian Act; or a government or authority established pursuant to a Self-Government Agreement or a Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement between Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada and an Aboriginal people of Canada, that has been approved, given effect and declared valid by federal legislation;
  3. A public sector body that is established by or under provincial or territorial statute or by regulation or is wholly owned by a province, territory, municipal or regional government;
  4. A public or not-for-profit institution that is directly or indirectly authorized, under the terms of provincial, territorial or federal statute, or Royal Charter, to deliver post-secondary courses or programs that lead to recognized and transferable post-secondary credentials, or a public or not-for-profit Aboriginal-controlled post-secondary institution; and
  5. A private sector body, including for-profit organizations and not-for-profit organizations. In the case of for-profit organizations, they will need to be in partnership with one or more of the entities referred to above.

Federal entities, including federal Crown Corporations, are not eligible recipients.

A proposal for an on-reserveFootnote 1 project must demonstrate project benefits extending beyond the reserve community (this applies to the provinces, not the territories).

Federal Cost-Sharing and Stacking

Generally speaking, projects will be federally cost-shared on a one-third basis. The maximum federal contribution for public transit projects, and, for highways and major roads and disaster mitigation projects where the asset is provincially-owned is up to 50 per cent. The maximum contribution is up to 25 per cent for projects with for-profit private sector proponents.

For projects located in the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut, the federal government will fund up to 75 per cent of total eligible costs. For projects with a for-profit private sector proponent, however, the cap would be up to 25 per cent. More information on cost-sharing and stacking.

How to apply?

If you are an eligible recipient and would like to have your project considered for funding under the PTICNRP, you are encouraged to contact your provincial or territorial ministry responsible for infrastructure to determine the process for submitting business cases and deadlines.

A Business Case Guide is available to assist in the development of business cases. Business cases under the PTICNRP will only be accepted for projects that have been identified by provincial and territorial partners, and that are deemed eligible under the program terms and conditions.

Service Standards

See Infrastructure Canada's service standards for the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component – National and Regional Projects.

Contact Information

  • British Columbia
    • Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Alberta
    • Alberta Infrastructure
  • Saskatchewan
    • Ministry of Highways and Infrastructure
  • Manitoba
    • Manitoba Municipal Government
  • Ontario
    • Ministry of Infrastructure
  • Quebec
    • Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor — Sous-secrétariat aux infrastructures publiques
  • New Brunswick
    • Regional Development Corporation
  • Nova Scotia
    • Finance and Treasury Board
  • Prince Edward Island
    • Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
    • Department of Transportation and Works
  • Yukon
    • Department of Community Services
  • Northwest Territories
    • Department of Municipal and Community Affairs
  • Nunavut
    • Community and Government Services

Infrastructure Canada contact information

General questions and comments on the PTIC program can be addressed to Infrastructure Canada:

Email: info@infc.gc.ca
Telephone Infrastructure Canada: 613-948-1148
Toll Free Number: 1-877-250-7154
Mailing Address:
Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component
180 Kent Street, Suite 1100
Ottawa, ON  K1P 0B6