Canada's Core Public Infrastructure Survey

The Government of Canada recognizes that there is a need to support its public infrastructure investments with quality data that will guide evidence-based decision-making. There is a need for:

  • comprehensive, objective, and comparable data on the current condition and performance of Canada's core public infrastructure assets;
  • data to track issues and monitor progress; and
  • understanding asset management practices and capabilities to improve the impact of infrastructure investments.

To meet this need, Infrastructure Canada (INFC) and Statistics Canada worked together to develop Canada's Core Public Infrastructure (CCPI) survey. The CCPI survey provides a national snapshot of the stock, condition and performance of public infrastructure across Canada, and is the first national survey to examine core public infrastructure. The first iteration of the survey was launched by Statistics Canada in Summer 2017, receiving a positive response rate of over 90% from municipal, regional, provincial and territorial governments and Indigenous communities.

The second round of Canada’s Core Public Infrastructure survey was launched on November 4, 2019. The survey was sent to municipal, regional, Indigenous, provincial and territorial governments that own or lease public infrastructure, in order to collect data on the stock, condition, and performance of Canada’s core public infrastructure assets for reference year 2018. The survey will be open to respondents until February 21, 2020, with results available starting in spring 2020. Additional information on the survey can be found on Statistics Canada’s website.

The resulting reference year 2016 data tables are available for:

Each data table release is accompanied by an analytical release in Statistics Canada's The Daily.

For more information on the CCPI survey, including links to the survey questions, please visit Statistics Canada's Website.

Frequently Asked Questions:

What is the purpose of the CCPI survey?

The purpose of the CCPI survey is to generate statistical information on the stock, condition and performance of Canada's core public infrastructure assets. Canada's core public infrastructure is broken down into the following asset classes: roads, tunnels and bridges; potable water; wastewater; storm water; public transit; solid waste; culture, recreational and sports facilities; and social and affordable housing. The CCPI survey examines all of these classes, in addition to their asset management strategies. Data produced by this survey allows for analysis and comparisons of Canada's public infrastructure from a regional and asset perspective.

The data will be used to enhance understanding of the current stock and condition of Canada's core public infrastructure. The survey provides information that supports all levels of government to develop policies to improve Canada's core public infrastructure, and to monitor and report on the progress of these investments.

Who participated in the survey?

The survey respondents are primarily municipalities, as well as other asset holders, including regional, provincial and territorial governments, northern and Indigenous communities, public transit authorities and crown corporations.

How will the key findings be used?

The key findings of the survey can be used by various stakeholders to help make more informed decisions in the area of infrastructure investments across the country. Survey results report on the stock, condition and performance of Canada's core infrastructure assets. The program informs all levels of government when making strategic investment decisions in infrastructure, helping to sustain the quality of life Canadians are accustomed to and to continue to strengthen communities.

Will there be future rounds of the CCPI survey?

The second round of the survey is taking place between November 4, 2019, and February 21, 2020. Future rounds of the CCPI survey are anticipated to take place every two years.

Date modified:

Enquête sur les infrastructures publiques essentielles du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît qu'il est nécessaire d'appuyer ses investissements en ce qui a trait aux infrastructures publiques avec des données de qualité qui orienteront la prise de décision axée sur des preuves. Ce qui est nécessaire :

  • Des données exhaustives, objectives et comparables sur la condition actuelle et le rendement des actifs d'infrastructure publique essentielle du Canada;
  • Des données pour faire le suivi des problèmes et surveiller le progrès; et
  • La compréhension des pratiques et des capacités de gestion des actifs afin d'améliorer l'incidence des investissements dans l'infrastructure.

Afin de satisfaire ce besoin, Infrastructure Canada (INFC) et Statistique Canada ont travaillé ensemble pour élaborer l’enquête sur les infrastructures publiques essentielles du Canada (IPEC). L’enquête sur les IPEC fournit un portrait national du stock, de la condition et du rendement des infrastructures publiques dans l’ensemble du Canada; il s’agit de la toute première enquête qui examine les infrastructures publiques essentielles. La première ronde de l’enquête a été réalisée par Statistique Canada à l’été 2017. Elle a reçu un taux de réponse positive de plus que 90 % des administrations municipales et régionales, des gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux et des collectivités autochtones.

La deuxième ronde de l’enquête sur les infrastructures publiques essentielles du Canada a été lancée le 4 novembre 2019. L’enquête a été envoyée aux administrations municipales et régionales, aux collectivités autochtones et aux gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux qui qui possèdent ou louent des infrastructures publiques, afin de recueillir des données sur le stock, l’état et le rendement des infrastructures publiques essentielles du Canada pour l’année de référence 2018. Les répondants pourront participer à l’enquête jusqu’au 21 février 2020, et les résultats seront accessibles à compter du printemps 2020. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur l’enquête, visitez le site Web de Statistique Canada.

Les tableaux présentant les données de l’année de référence 2016 sont maintenant accessibles pour;

Chacun des tableaux de données qui feront l'objet d'une publication est accompagné d'un article analytique dans Le Quotidien de Statistique Canada.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements, sur l'enquête sur les IPEC, y compris des liens vers les questions de l'enquête, veuillez consulter le site Web de Statistique Canada.

Foire aux questions :

Quel est l'objet de l'enquête?

L’enquête sur les IPEC consiste à générer des renseignements statistiques sur le stock, la condition et le rendement des actifs en matière d’infrastructures publiques essentielles au Canada. Les infrastructures publiques essentielles du Canada sont réparties selon les classes d’actifs suivantes : les routes, les tunnels et les ponts; l’eau potable; les eaux usées; les eaux pluviales; le transport en commun; les installations culturelles, sportives et de loisirs; et le logement social et abordable. L’enquête sur les IPEC examine toutes ces classes, en plus de leurs stratégies de gestion des actifs. Les données produites par cette enquête permettent d’effectuer une analyse et des comparaisons des infrastructures publiques au Canada, du point de vue des régions et des actifs.

Les données serviront à approfondir notre compréhension du stock et de la condition actuelle des infrastructures publiques essentielles du Canada. L’enquête fournit des renseignements de base qui permettent à tous les ordres de gouvernement d’élaborer des politiques pour améliorer les infrastructures publiques essentielles, en plus de surveiller et de présenter un rapport sur le progrès de ces investissements.

Qui a participé à l'enquête?

Les principaux répondants à l’enquête sont les municipalités ainsi que d’autres détenteurs d’actifs, y compris les administrations régionales et les gouvernements provinciaux et territoriaux, les collectivités nordiques et autochtones, les services de transport en commun et les sociétés d’État.

De quelles façons les conclusions clés seront-elles utilisées?

Les conclusions clés de l’enquête peuvent être utilisées par divers intervenants afin de les aider à prendre des décisions plus éclairées dans le domaine des investissements dans l’infrastructure partout au pays. Les résultats de l’enquête portent sur le stock, l’a condition et le rendement des actifs des infrastructures publiques essentielles du Canada. Le programme oriente la prise de décisions stratégiques par tous les ordres de gouvernement au sujet des investissements dans les infrastructures, aidant ainsi à maintenir la qualité de vie à laquelle les Canadiens sont habitués et à renforcer les collectivités.

Y aura-t-il d'autres éditions de l'enquête sur les IPEC?

La deuxième ronde de l’enquête aura lieu entre le 4 novembre 2019 et le 21 février 2020. Les prochaines rondes de l’enquête sur les IPEC devraient avoir lieu tous les deux ans.

Date de modification :