2014: The 2014 New Building Canada Fund:
Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component
Small Communities Fund

PDF Version (Size: 189.02 KB)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

What is it?

The $10-billion Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component (PTIC) provides support for projects of national, local or regional significance. This includes the Small Communities Fund (PTICSCF) to provide $1 billion for projects in municipalities with fewer than 100,000 residents.

Why is it important?

Smaller communities will be able to build projects that deliver on local needs. Through the Small Communities Fund, the Government of Canada continues to provide dedicated funding for small communities. In addition, communities can use the Gas Tax Fund towards funding their infrastructure priorities.

How does it work?

To ensure that small communities receive funding opportunities, ten per cent (10%) of the PTIC allocation of each province, and a minimum of ten per cent (10%) of the PTIC allocation of each territory, will be set aside for the PTICSCF.

Infrastructure Canada will enter into funding agreements with the provinces and territories who will be responsible for identifying and proposing projects for consideration.

Projects funded through the PTICSCF must meet the following program objectives:

  • Economic growth;
  • A clean environment; and
  • Stronger communities.

Eligible recipients under the PTICSCF:

Eligible recipients are restricted to those whose projects are situated within or are for the benefit of, communities with a population of fewer than one hundred thousand people (100,000) as determined by Statistics Canada — Final 2011 Census.

The following are eligible recipients for the purposes of the PTICSCF:

  1. A municipal or regional government established by or under provincial or territorial statute;

  2. A provincial or territorial entity (e.g., a department, corporation or agency) that provides municipal-type infrastructure services to communities, as defined in provincial or territorial statute;

  3. A band council within the meaning of section 2 of the Indian Act; or a government or authority established pursuant to a Self-Government Agreement or a Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement between Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada and an Aboriginal people of Canada, that has been approved, given effect and declared valid by federal legislation;

  4. A public sector body that is established by or under provincial or territorial statute or by regulation or is wholly owned by a province, territory, municipal or regional government which provides municipal-type infrastructure services to communities; and

  5. A private sector body, including for-profit organizations and not-for-profit organizations, whose application is supported by a municipal or regional government referred to above. Such support could take the form of a resolution from the municipal or regional government council.

A proposal for an on-reserve* project must demonstrate project benefits extending beyond the reserve community (this applies to the provinces, not the territories).

[*]On-reserve means on-reserve lands, or on any Crown lands or lands set aside by the Crown that are designated to become reserve lands.

Eligible Categories under the PTICSCF:

  • Highways and roads
  • Public transit infrastructure
  • Disaster mitigation infrastructure
  • Connectivity and broadband
  • Innovation
  • Wastewater
  • Green energy
  • Drinking water
  • Solid waste management
  • Brownfield redevelopment
  • Local and regional airports
  • Short-line rail infrastructure
  • Short-sea shipping
  • Northern infrastructure (applies to Yukon, Nunavut and Northwest Territories only)
  • Passenger ferries services infrastructure
  • Culture
  • Recreation
  • Tourism
  • Civic assets and municipal buildings

More information on Sub-Category and expected outcomes and benefits.

Federal Cost-Sharing and Stacking

In the provinces, most projects will be federally cost-shared on a one-third basis. In the case of provincially-owned highways and major roads, as well as public transit projects, the maximum federal contribution to any single project will be up to 50 per cent. The maximum contribution is up to 25 per cent for projects with for-profit private sector proponents.

For projects located in the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut, the federal government will fund up to 75 per cent of total eligible costs. For projects with a for-profit private sector proponent, however, the cap would be up to 25 per cent. More information on cost-sharing and stacking.

How to apply?

Canada will enter into Funding Agreements (FA) with each province and territory for the implementation of the PTICSCF. In turn, provinces and territories will manage the project identification process in keeping with PTICSCF program parameters.

All proposed projects must provide basic information that includes the name of the municipality, title of the project, the eligible category and subcategory, a brief description of the project, financial information, project location as well as planned start and end dates.

If you are an eligible recipient and would like to have your project considered for funding under the PTIC, and to determine the process for submitting project proposals and deadlines, you are encouraged to contact your respective provincial or territorial ministry responsible for infrastructure as outlined below. You can also learn more about how the Small Communities Fund works by reading the Program Overview.

Service Standards

See Infrastructure Canada's service standards for the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component – Small Communities Fund.

Contact Information

  • British Columbia
    • Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure
  • Alberta
    • Ministry of Municipal Affairs
  • Saskatchewan
    • Ministry of Government Relations
  • Manitoba
    • Manitoba Municipal Government
  • Ontario
    • Ministry of Economic Development, Employment and Infrastructure
  • Quebec
    • Affaires municipales et Occupation du territoire
  • New Brunswick
    • Department of Environment and Local Government
  • Nova Scotia
    • Finance and Treasury Board
  • Prince Edward Island
    • Department of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal
  • Newfoundland and Labrador
    • Department of Transportation and Works
  • Yukon
    • Department of Community Services
  • Northwest Territories
    • Department of Municipal and Community Affairs
  • Nunavut
    • Community and Government Services

Infrastructure Canada contact information

General questions and comments on the PTIC program can be addressed to Infrastructure Canada:

Email: info@infc.gc.ca
Telephone Infrastructure Canada: 613-948-1148
Toll Free Number: 1-877-250-7154
Mailing Address:
Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component
180 Kent Street, Suite 1100
Ottawa, ON  K1P 0B6

Date modified:

2014 : Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014 :
Volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales
Fonds des petites collectivités

Version PDF (188,82 Ko)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats suppléant, tels que PDF, PPT et fichiers ZIP, visitez la section d'aide sur les formats suppléant.

De quoi s'agit-il ?

Le volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales (VIPT) de 10 milliards de dollars soutient des projets d'importance nationale, locale ou régionale. Il inclut le Fonds des petites collectivités (FPC–VIPT), qui fournit 1 milliard de dollars à des projets réalisés dans des municipalités de moins de 100 000 habitants.

Pourquoi est-il important ?

Les petites collectivités pourront réaliser des projets qui répondent aux besoins locaux. Grâce au Fonds des petites collectivités, le gouvernement du Canada continue de fournir du financement dédié aux petites collectivités. De plus, les collectivités peuvent utiliser le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence pour financer leurs priorités en matière d’infrastructure.

Comment fonctionne-il?

Pour faire en sorte que les petites collectivités aient des possibilités de financement, dix pour cent (10 %) de l'affectation de chaque province au titre du VIPT, et un minimum de dix pour cent (10%) de l'affectation de chaque territoire au titre du VIPT, sera réservé pour le FPC–VIPT.

Infrastructure Canada conclura des ententes de financement avec les provinces et les territoires, qui seront chargés d'identifier et de proposer des projets à examiner.

Les projets financés dans le cadre du FPC–VIPT doivent satisfaire aux objectifs suivants du programme :

  • croissance économique;
  • assainissement de l'environnement; et
  • renforcement des collectivités.

Bénéficiaires admissibles au titre du FPC–VIPT :

Les bénéficiaires admissibles se limitent à ceux dont les projets sont situés dans des collectivités comptant moins de cent mille (100 000) habitants, selon le recensement final de 2011 réalisé par Statistique Canada.

Les bénéficiaires admissibles aux termes du FPC–VIPT sont les suivants :

  1. Une administration municipale ou régionale établie en par une loi provinciale ou territoriale ou en vertu d'une telle loi;
  2. Une entité provinciale ou territoriale (ex. un ministère, une société ou un organisme) qui fournit des services d'infrastructure de type municipal aux collectivités, au sens de la loi provinciale ou territoriale;
  3. Un conseil de bande au sens de l'article 2 de la Loi sur les Indiens, ou un gouvernement ou une autorité établi en vertu d'une entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale ou d'une entente sur la revendication territoriale globale conclue entre Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada et un peuple autochtone du Canada, qui a été approuvée, mise en vigueur et déclarée valide par la loi fédérale;
  4. Un organisme du secteur public qui est établi par une loi provinciale ou territoriale ou en vertu d'une telle loi ou par un règlement, ou qui appartient entièrement à une province, à un territoire, à une administration municipale ou à une administration régionale qui fournit des services d'infrastructure de type municipal aux collectivités; et
  5. Un organisme du secteur privé, y compris une organisation à but lucratif ou une organisation à but non lucratif, dont la demande est soutenue par une administration municipale ou régionale susmentionnée. Ce soutien pourrait prendre la forme d'une résolution prise par le conseil de l'administration municipale ou régionale.

Une proposition concernant un projet situé dans une réserve* doit démontrer que les avantages du projet dépasseront la communauté de la réserve (cela s'applique aux provinces, et non aux territoires).

[*]Dans une réserve signifie sur les terres d'une réserve, ou sur des terres de la Couronne ou des terres que la Couronne a réservées en vue d'en faire des terres de réserve.

Catégories admissibles dans le cadre du FPC–VIPT :

  • Autoroutes et routes
  • Infrastructures de transport en commun
  • Infrastructures servant à l'atténuation des catastrophes
  • Infrastructures de connectivité et à large bande
  • Innovation
  • Eaux usées
  • Énergie verte
  • Eau potable
  • Gestion des déchets solides
  • Réaménagement de friches industrielles
  • Aéroports locaux et régionaux
  • Infrastructures de Transport ferroviaire sur courtes distances
  • Transport maritime sur courtes distances
  • Infrastructures du Nord (s'applique au Yukon, au Nunavut et aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest seulement)
  • Infrastructures liées aux services de traversiers pour passagers
  • Culture
  • Loisirs
  • Tourisme
  • Bâtiments et actifs municipaux

Plus d'information sur la sous-catégorie ainsi que sur les résultats et avantages attendus.

Partage des coûts et cumul des fonds fédéraux

Dans les provinces, la part assumée par le fédéral au titre du partage des coûts représentera un tiers des coûts pour la plupart des projets. Dans le cas des projets de transport en commun et des projets provinciaux visant des autoroutes et des grandes routes ou l’atténuation des catastrophes, la contribution fédérale maximale sera jusqu’à 50 pour cent. La contribution maximale est desera jusqu’à 25 pour cent pour les projets dont les promoteurs sont du secteur privé à but lucratif.

Pour les projets situés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, au Yukon et au Nunavut, le gouvernement fédéral financera jusqu'à 75 pour cent du total des coûts admissibles. Pour les projets dont le promoteur est du secteur privé à but lucratif, la limite sera toutefois jusqu’à 25 pour cent. Plus de renseignements sur le partage des coûts et le cumul.

Comment présenter une demande?

Le Canada conclura des ententes de financement (EF) avec chaque province et territoire pour la mise en œuvre du FPC–VIPT. Pour leur part, les provinces et les territoires géreront le processus d'identification des projets conformément aux paramètres de programme du FPC–VIPT.

Tous les projets proposés doivent fournir des renseignements de base, entre autres le nom de la municipalité, le titre du projet, la catégorie et la sous-catégorie admissibles, une brève description du projet, des renseignements financiers, l'emplacement du projet, ainsi que les dates de début et de fin des travaux prévues.

Si vous êtes un bénéficiaire admissible et que vous souhaitez que votre projet soit examiné en vue d'un financement au titre du VIPT, et pour connaître le processus pour présenter une proposition de projet et les échéanciers, on vous invite à communiquer avec votre ministère provincial ou territorial responsable des infrastructures, tel que désigné ci-dessous. Vous pouvez aussi en apprendre davantage sur le fonctionnement du Fonds pour les petites collectivités en lisant l'aperçu du programme.

Normes de service

Voir les normes de service d'Infrastructure Canada relatives au Fonds des petites collectivités du volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales.

Coordonnées

  • Colombie-Britannique
    • Ministère des Transports et de l'Infrastructure
  • Alberta
    • Ministère des Affaires municipales
  • Saskatchewan
    • Ministère des Relations gouvernementales
  • Manitoba
    • Administrations municipales du Manitoba
  • Ontario
    • Ministère du Développement économique, de l'Emploi et de l'infrastructure
  • Québec
    • Affaires municipales et Occupation du territoire
  • Nouveau-Brunswick
    • Ministère de l'Environnement et des Gouvernements locaux
  • Nouvelle-Écosse
    • Finances et Conseil du Trésor
  • Île-du-Prince-Édouard
    • Ministère des Transports et du Renouvellement de l'infrastructure
  • Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
    • Ministère des Transports et des Travaux publics
  • Yukon
    • Ministère des Services aux collectivités
  • Territoires du Nord-Ouest
    • Ministère des Affaires municipales et communautaires
  • Nunavut
    • Services communautaires et gouvernementaux

Coordonnées d'Infrastructure Canada

Les questions générales et les commentaires sur le programme VIPT peuvent être adressés à Infrastructure Canada :

Courriel : info@infc.gc.ca
Téléphone Infrastructure Canada : 613 948-1148
Numéro sans frais : 1-877-250-7154
Adresse postale : Programme volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales
180, rue Kent, bureau 1100
Ottawa (ON)  K1P 0B6

Date de modification :