Cost-Sharing:
Supporting more projects with every dollar

PDF Version (Size: 146.91 KB)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

What is it?

Cost-sharing leverages greater funding from other sources, including provinces, territories and municipalities. Through cost-sharing, the Government of Canada is able to increase the number of federally funded projects.

Why is it important?

Provinces, territories and municipalities own over 95 per cent of public infrastructure in Canada. The Government of Canada respects their jurisdiction over infrastructure. That being said, we understand the importance of investing in infrastructure that supports Canada's economic growth, job creation and long-term prosperity.

Through cost-sharing, the funding provided by the federal government towards infrastructure projects is matched by other partners, such as provinces, territories, municipalities or the private sector. This means that more projects can be funded across the country and that federal dollars are leveraged in the most cost-effective way for taxpayers.

There are three levels of government and the private sector who can contribute to infrastructure projects. The Government of Canada will continue to do its part by providing up to one-third of the funding for most projects.

How does it work?

Federal government cost-sharing works differently for projects in provinces than it does for projects in the territories.

Under the 2014 New Building Canada Fund, for projects located in the provinces, the maximum federal contribution from all sources will be up to one-third (33.33 per cent) of the total eligible costs of a project, with the following exceptions:

  • For projects in the highways and roads and disaster mitigation categories where the asset is provincially-owned, the maximum federal contribution from all sources will be up to 50 per cent of the total eligible costs.
  • For projects in the public transit category, the maximum federal contribution from all sources will be up to 50 per cent of the total eligible costs.
  • For projects where the recipient is from the for-profit private sector, the maximum federal contribution from all sources will be up to 25 per cent of the total eligible costs.

For projects located in the territories, the maximum federal contribution from all sources will be up to three-quarters (75 per cent) of the total eligible costs of a project, with the following exception:

  • For all projects where the recipient is from the for-profit private sector, the maximum federal contribution from all sources will be up to 25 per cent of the total eligible costs.
Date modified:

Partage des coûts :
Soutenir davantage de projets pour chaque dollar versé

Version PDF (147,76 Ko)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats suppléant, tels que PDF, PPT et fichiers ZIP, visitez la section d'aide sur les formats suppléant.

De quoi s'agit-il ?

Le partage des coûts permet d'obtenir une plus grande part de financement d'autres sources, notamment des provinces, des territoires et des municipalités. Grâce au partage des coûts, Le gouvernement du Canada est en mesure d'augmenter le nombre de projets recevant un financement fédéral.

Pourquoi est-il important ?

Les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités sont propriétaires de plus de 95 p. 100 de l'infrastructure au Canada. Le gouvernement du Canada respecte leur compétence en matière d'infrastructure. Ceci dit, nous comprenons qu'il est important d'investir dans l'infrastructure qui soutient la croissance économique du Canada, la création d'emplois et la prospérité à long terme.

Grâce au partage des coûts, le financement offert par le gouvernement fédéral pour des projets d'infrastructure sert de levier pour recueillir un financement égal de contrepartie de la part d'autres partenaires, comme les provinces, les territoires, les municipalités ou le secteur privé. Autrement dit, davantage de projets peuvent être financés à l'échelle du Canada et les dollars fédéraux deviennent ainsi plus efficaces sur le plan des coûts pour les contribuables.

Ainsi, trois paliers de gouvernement et le secteur privé peuvent contribuer à des projets d'infrastructure. Le gouvernement du Canada continuera à faire sa part en offrant jusqu'au tiers du financement de la plupart des projets.

Comment fonctionne-t-il ?

Le partage des coûts avec le gouvernement fédéral fonctionne différemment dans le cas des projets des provinces et des projets des territoires.

Dans le cadre du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014, dans le cas des projets situés dans les provinces, la contribution maximale fédérale de toutes provenances sera jusqu'au tiers (33,3 p. 100) du total des coûts admissibles d'un projet, sous réserve des exceptions suivantes :

  • Dans le cas des projets dans les catégories des autoroutes et atténuation des catastrophes qui appartiennent à la province, la contribution fédérale maximale de toutes provenances sera jusqu’à 50 p. 100 du total des coûts admissibles.
  • Dans le cas des tous les projets réalisés la catégorie du transport collectif, la contribution fédérale maximale de toutes provenances sera jusqu’à 50 p. 100 du total des coûts admissibles.
  • Dans le cas des projets dont le destinataire est issu du secteur privé à but lucratif, la contribution fédérale maximale de toutes provenances sera jusqu’à 25 p. 100 du total des coûts admissibles.

Dans le cas des projets réalisés dans les territoires, la contribution fédérale maximale de toutes provenances sera jusqu’à trois quarts (75 p. 100) du total des coûts admissibles d'un projet, sous réserve de l'exception suivante :

  • Dans le cas de tous les projets dont le destinataire est issu du secteur privé à but lucratif, la contribution fédérale maximale de toutes provenances sera jusqu’à 25 p. 100 du total des coûts admissibles.
Date de modification :