2014 New Building Canada Fund:
National Infrastructure Component

PDF Version (Size: 236.89 KB)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

What is it?

The $4-billion National Infrastructure Component (NIC) supports projects of national significance, that have broad public benefits, and that contribute to Canada's long-term economic growth and prosperity. The NIC is a merit-based application-driven program, and as such there are no pre-determined provincial or territorial allocations.

Why is it important?

The Government of Canada remains focused on what matters most to Canadians: job creation, economic growth and long-term prosperity. The NIC provides support for projects of national significance that have a strong impact on Canada's economic well-being, such as transportation and trade corridors.

How does it work?

To be considered nationally significant, projects must support one or more of the following objectives:

  • Generate positive economic activity;
  • Reduce potential economic disruptions or foregone economic activity;
  • Generate productivity gains for the Canadian economy; or,
  • Provide benefits that extend beyond the provinces or territories where the project would be located.

Eligible projects will be limited to those that provide the greatest economic impact under the following seven categories: highways and major roads, public transit, rail infrastructure, local and regional airports, port infrastructure, intelligent transportation systems (ITS), and disaster mitigation infrastructure.

There will be a "soft" threshold for a minimum project size of $100 million in total eligible costs. However, projects with costs below this threshold that can demonstrate national significance could be considered.

Eligible recipients are:

  • A province or territory, or a municipal or regional government established by or under provincial or territorial statute;
  • A band council within the meaning of section 2 of the Indian Act; or a government or authority established pursuant to a Self-Government Agreement or a Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement between Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada and an Aboriginal people of Canada, that has been approved, given effect and declared valid by federal legislation;
  • A public sector body that is established by or under provincial or territorial statute or by regulation or is wholly owned by a province, territory, municipal or regional government;
  • A private sector body, including for-profit organizations and not-for-profit organizations. In the case of for-profit organizations, they will need to be in partnership with one or more of the entities referred to above; and,
  • A Canada Port Authority, International Bridge and/or Tunnel Authority (unless a federal Crown Corporation) or U.S. federal and state-level transportation authorities.

Federal Cost-Sharing and Stacking

Generally speaking, projects will be federally cost-shared on a one-third basis. The maximum federal contribution is 50 per cent for provincially-owned highways and major roads and disaster mitigation projects, as well as public transit projects. The maximum contribution is 25 per cent for projects with for-profit private sector proponents.

For projects located in the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut, the federal government will fund up to 75 per cent of total eligible costs. For projects with a for-profit private sector proponent, however, the maximum would be 25 per cent. More information on cost-sharing and stacking.

How to apply?

The project submission process is currently open (i.e. without a deadline). To apply for funding, proponents must submit a detailed business case to Infrastructure Canada that demonstrates how the project meets funding objectives, as well as category specific outcomes and criteria.

Current calls for proposals

Infrastructure Canada is now accepting completed business cases for projects within all seven eligible categories:

  • Highways and major roads
  • Public transit
  • Rail infrastructure
  • Disaster mitigation
  • Local and regional airports
  • Port infrastructure
  • Intelligent Transportation Systems

Completed project business cases should be emailed to: nic-vin@infc.gc.ca

Service Standards

See Infrastructure Canada's service standards for the National Infrastructure Component.

Contact Us

For all questions, comments or more information on the New Building Canada Fund — National Infrastructure Component, please contact Infrastructure Canada at:

Email: info@infc.gc.ca
Telephone Infrastructure Canada: 613-948-1148
Toll Free Number: 1-877-250-7154
Mailing Address:
National Infrastructure Component Program
180 Kent Street, Suite 1100
Ottawa, ON  K1P 0B6

Date modified:

Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014 :
Volet Infrastructures nationales

Version PDF (241,50 Ko)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats suppléant, tels que PDF, PPT et fichiers ZIP, visitez la section d'aide sur les formats suppléant.

  • Guide de préparation des plans d'affaires, à l'intention des promoteurs de projets (VIN) (HTML du guide | PDF du guide (963,49 Ko) )

De quoi s'agit-il?

Le volet Infrastructures nationales (VIN) de 4 milliards de dollars soutient des projets d'importance nationale qui ont de grands avantages pour la population et contribuent à la croissance économique et à la prospérité à long terme du Canada. Le VIN est un programme axé sur les demandes et basé en fonction de leur mérite, ce qui signifie qu'il n'y a pas d'allocation provinciale ou territoriale prédéterminée.

Pourquoi est-il important?

Le gouvernement du Canada continue de mettre l'accent sur ce qui est le plus important pour les Canadiens : la création d'emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme. Le VIN soutient des projets d'importance nationale qui ont un grand impact sur le bien-être économique du Canada, tels que les transports et les corridors de commerce.

Comment fonctionne-t-il?

Pour être jugés d'importance nationale, les projets doivent appuyer un ou plusieurs des objectifs suivants :

  • Générer une activité économique positive;
  • Réduire les éventuelles perturbations économiques ou pertes au niveau des activités économiques;
  • Générer des gains de productivité pour l'économie canadienne; ou
  • Offrir des avantages qui s'étendent au-delà des provinces ou des territoires où le projet serait situé.

Les projets admissibles se limiteraient à ceux qui ont le plus grand impact économique dans le cadre des sept catégories suivantes : autoroutes et routes principales, transport en commun, infrastructures ferroviaires, aéroports locaux et régionaux, infrastructures des ports maritimes, systèmes de transport intelligents (STI) et infrastructures liées à l'atténuation des catastrophes.

Le total des coûts admissibles d'un projet devra dépasser le seuil « souple » de 100 millions de dollars fixé pour la taille minimale d'un projet. Cependant, les projets dont les coûts n'atteignent pas ce seuil pourraient être examinés s'il est démontré qu'ils sont d'importance nationale.

Les bénéficiaires admissibles sont :

  • Une province, un territoire ou une administration municipale ou régionale établie par une loi provinciale ou territoriale ou en vertu d'une telle législation;
  • Un conseil de bande au sens de l'article 2 de la Loi sur les Indiens; ou un gouvernement ou une autorité établi(e) en vertu d'une entente sur l'autonomie gouvernementale ou d'une entente sur la revendication territoriale globale conclue entre Sa Majesté la Reine du chef du Canada et un peuple autochtone du Canada, qui a été approuvée, qui a été mise en vigueur et qui est déclarée valide par la loi fédérale;
  • Un organisme du secteur public établi par une loi provinciale ou territoriale ou en vertu d'une telle législation, ou par un règlement, ou qui appartient entièrement à une province, à un territoire ou à une administration municipale ou régionale;
  • Un organisme du secteur privé, y compris une organisation à but lucratif et une organisation à but non lucratif. Dans le cas des organisations à but lucratif, celles-ci doivent former un partenariat avec une ou plusieurs des entités susmentionnées;
  • Une administration portuaire canadienne, une administration de pont international et/ou une administration de tunnels (à l'exception d'une société d'État fédérale) ou une administration de transport américaine au niveau national ou d'un État.

Partage des coûts et cumul des fonds fédéraux

En général, les projets seront financés en partie par le fédéral selon un partage des coûts de un tiers. La contribution fédérale maximale est de 50 pour cent pour les autoroutes et les routes principales ainsi que les projets d'atténuation des catastrophes appartenant à une province et pour les projets du transport en commun. La contribution maximale est de 25 pour cent pour les projets dont le promoteur est du secteur privé à but lucratif.

Pour les projets situés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le Yukon et le Nunavut, le gouvernement fédéral financera jusqu'à 75 pour cent du total des coûts admissibles. Toutefois, pour les projets dont le promoteur appartient au secteur privé à but lucratif, le financement fédéral maximal serait de 25 pour cent. Plus d'information sur le partage des coûts et le cumul.

Comment présenter une demande?

Le processus pour présenter un projet est présentement ouvert (c'est-à-dire sans échéance). Pour présenter une demande de financement, les promoteurs doivent soumettre à Infrastructure Canada un plan d'affaires détaillé qui démontre comment le projet atteint les objectifs du programme, ainsi que les critères et résultats propres à la catégorie concernée.

  • Guide de préparation des plans d'affaires, à l'intention des promoteurs de projets (VIN) (HTML du guide | PDF du guide (1,16 Mo) )

Appels de demandes en cours

Infrastructure Canada accepte maintenant les plans d'affaires complets pour des projets liés à l'une des sept catégories admissibles :

  • Autoroutes et routes principales
  • Transport en commun
  • Infrastructures ferroviaires
  • Infrastructures liées à l'atténuation des catastrophes
  • Aéroports locaux et régionaux
  • Infrastructures portuaires
  • Systèmes de transport intelligents

Veuillez envoyer votre plan d'affaires complet, par courriel, à l'adresse suivante : nic-vin@infc.gc.ca

Normes de service

Voir les normes de service d'Infrastructure Canada relatives au volet Infrastructures nationaux.

Communiquez avec nous

Pour toute question ou commentaire, ou pour obtenir davantage d'information sur le volet Infrastructures nationales du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada, veuillez communiquer avec Infrastructure Canada à :

Courriel: info@infc.gc.ca
Téléphone : 613-948-1148
Numéro sans frais : 1-877-250-7154
Adresse postale :
Programme du volet Infrastructures nationales
180, rue Kent, bureau 1100
Ottawa (Ontario) K1P 0B6

Date de modification :