Climate-Resilient Buildings and Core Public Infrastructure Initiative

On this page

Canada's climate is changing from historical conditions, reflecting a global increase in temperature over the last century. Impacts of climate change are affecting many aspects of daily life. Canada's buildings and public infrastructure systems (such as bridges, roads, water and wastewater systems, energy transmission and transit) are guided by codes and standards that have largely been developed based on historical data. In many cases, this has resulted in assets that have not been designed to withstand the extreme weather events we are currently seeing, let alone the future impacts of climate change. The growing risk of building and infrastructure failure, as well as the associated hazards to the well-being of Canadians, creates an increasing need to adapt and build resilience.

This means enabling our infrastructure and communities to be prepared for climate risks like floods, wildfires, droughts, and extreme weather events, including vulnerable regions like Indigenous, northern, coastal, and remote communities. Considering climate change and extreme events in long-lived infrastructure investments, including retrofits and upgrades, and investing in traditional and natural infrastructure solutions can help communities build resilience, reduce disaster risks, and save costs over the long term.

About the Climate-Resilient Buildings and Core Public Infrastructure Initiative

With $42.5 million in financial support from Infrastructure Canada, and in support of the Pan-Canadian Framework on Clean Growth and Climate Change, since 2016 the National Research Council Canada (NRC) has undertaken ground-breaking work to integrate climate resilience into building and infrastructure design, guides, and codes.

The NRC is uniquely positioned to undertake this forward-looking project. Leveraging internationally recognized research capabilities and facilities, the NRC has expertise in infrastructure and building science. On site, it can test and monitor a wide array of infrastructure systems, including wastewater systems, building façade and roof resiliency, and bridge design. Additionally, the NRC is able to conduct ocean coastal and river engineering and fire research.

This five year initiative is intended to develop capacity in Canada's construction industries to adapt to the increasing demands on our built infrastructure attributed to climate change. It is driving innovation and providing partners with the science-based knowledge and tools they need to make sound decisions about how to design, operate, and maintain their infrastructure assets. This supports Infrastructure Canada's commitment to outcome-based programming. The work undertaken by the NRC will contribute to an infrastructure landscape that can keep Canadian communities safer from extreme weather and the effects of climate change.

Projects

The NRC's work plan includes projects divided by climate impacts and by types of assets or systems.

NRC is in the final year of this five year initiative. Milestones to date include:

Climatic Data and Loads

In collaboration with partners including Environment and Climate Change Canada, Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium, and RWDI, the CRBCPI partners have:

  • Developed future-looking climate data, including temperature, precipitation and wind data, based on over 660 locations across Canada to be used by building and infrastructure codes and standards.
    • This data will be implemented in the 2025 Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code (CHBDC), and will be submitted for consideration by the committees of National Building Code (NBC) for its 2025 edition.

Canadian Electrical Code

  • Proposed 50 changes to the Canadian Electrical Code to increase resiliency and reliability of electricity in the context of climate change and extreme weather events.

Flooding

  • Currently developing standalone national guidelines with provisions for the design of buildings to address natural hazards, including flooding, by 2021. Code change requests that are partially based on these guidelines will be submitted for consideration in the 2025 edition of the NBC. The previous edition, NBC 2015, did not address flooding.
    • According to an economic assessment by SPA Risk and the Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction, flood resilience guidelines will have an 11:1 benefit-cost ratio and will help Canada avoid $2.7 billion in losses annually.
  • Developed best practices for flood risk reduction in residential communities: "Weathering the Storm", in conjunction with the Intact Centre and the Standards Council of Canada.
  • Developing national guidelines for urban storm drainage to evaluate life cycle costs – including financial, social, legal and environmental implications – and the long-term benefits of flood-risk-reduction infrastructure.
  • Created two new standards related to the Construction of Bioretention Systems (W200 and W201) that will minimize the risk of community flooding and surface water degradation caused by changes in rainfall patterns.
  • Established a technical committee to review and advise on the development of guidelines for conducting coastal flood hazard and risk assessments that will incorporate rising sea levels and other risks to improve building design.
  • Partnered with academic institutions to develop technology and research methods to increase infrastructure resilience to extreme weather.
  • Developing guidelines for buildings with buoyant foundations that can help communities at high risk of flooding based on ongoing research at the University of Waterloo.
  • For a more detailed overview of ongoing work on flooding, see below.

Wildland Urban Interface (WUI) Fires

  • Currently developing standalone national guidelines with provisions for the design of buildings to address natural hazards, including wildfires, by 2021. Code change requests that are partially based on these guidelines will be submitted for consideration in the 2025 edition of the NBC. The previous edition, NBC 2015, did not address wildfire.
    • According to an economic assessment by SPA Risk and the Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction, WUI guidelines will have a 6:1 benefit-cost ratio and will help Canada avoid $900 million in losses annually.

Buildings

  • Rewrote the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) Guideline on Durability of Building (CSA S478) – a previously optional guideline – as a standard, which allows for durability to be regulated.
  • Developed a new standard with the CSA Group on Performance Requirements for Climate Resilience of Low Slope Membrane Roofing Systems (CSA 123.26) in order to address wind-related climate risk associated with this roof type.
  • Developing guidance for new and existing buildings to ensure safe indoor conditions during heat waves based on ongoing research in collaboration with Concordia University.

Bridges

  • Released the 2019 Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code (CHBDC), which features provisions related to climate change, sustainability and resilience and fully updated historical data.
    • In Ontario alone, the new code has the potential to influence 175 projects per year. The previous bridge code had been based in part on 1970s climate data.
  • Continuing to improve guidelines for bridge durability based on results from the NRC's newly developed world-leading wind tunnel facility where the impact of climate change and extreme weather (including ice, wind and rain) on bridge cables is being tested.
  • Developing guidance for climate adaptation of existing bridges based on ongoing research in collaboration with the University of Ottawa, Ryerson University and the University of Toronto.

Water/Wastewater

  • Developed a new standard in collaboration with the CSA Group on Climate Change Adaptation for Wastewater Treatment Plants (S900.1) to increase the resiliency of water treatment plants and improve reliability of services during extreme weather events.

Roads

  • Currently developing guidance to improve climate resilience of existing roads and to guide cost-effective maintenance and rehabilitation decisions.
  • Currently conducting a field trial of pervious concrete pavement as a strategy for reducing rain runoff loads.

Transit

  • Conducting research and developing guidance pertaining to transit systems, where few standards currently exist. To enable climate change adaptation of transit systems, subway tunnels and trains in Toronto have been equipped with instrumentation that collects data. The Toronto Metro subway system is now the most instrumented system in the world and is being used to conduct research and develop guidance on overheating in public transit.
  • Developing guidelines to improve safety and passenger comfort of rail travel in cold weather based on research of rail stress dynamics and freezing and thawing cycles being completed at the Via Rail Test Site.

Technical Guide for Adaptable Housing for First Nations

  • Developing technical guidance for adaptable housing for remote/Indigenous communities in collaboration with the First Nations Building Officers Association (FNBOA).

Codes and Guide Development

In addition to the work supporting codes provisions and guidelines outlined above, the Initiative has established an oversight committee of federal departments to ensure the results are relevant, and complement related endeavours. The committee discusses the emerging results, provides direction and serves to exchange and make links to federal departments' priorities related to the Initiative, and the work of projects' technical committees.

Where available, the project is engaged with existing committees and governance structures to deliver the project outcomes. Technical committees have been established to guide research and the development of guidelines in the areas of: climatic data and loads; flood-resistant buildings; coastal flood risk assessment; wildland-urban interface design; and roof systems and building materials.

Collaborations

Over 150 collaborators contributed to the success of CRBCPI including provincial, territorial and municipal government departments; national and international experts from engineering consulting firms; industry; academia; non-profit organizations; and the climate science community.

Flooding-related activities under the CRBCPI

Climatic Design Data

  • CRBCPI is generating future climatic design data incorporating the effects of climate change for potential use by the Building Code and Canadian Highway Bridge Design Code (CHBDC).
  • Climatic design data including precipitation, temperature and wind are being generated for different global warming scenarios. Flooding-related data includes: Intensity-Duration-Frequency (IDF) curves used in the design of stormwater and flooding infrastructure, Annual Maximum one-day rain and maximum 15-min rain used in the design of roof drainage

Guidance and standards

Updates to existing codes and standards and creation of new standards:

  • CRBCPI has triggered a discussion by the Canadian Commission on Building and Fire Codes on the role of the National Building Code in addressing flooding, and is preparing code change requests related to flooding for consideration (see Guidelines for Flood-Resistant Buildings below)
  • 50 proposals for changes to the Canadian Electrical Code to increase resilience to climate change and extreme weather events were developed with CSA, including 29 proposals related to flooding. The proposals for change have been submitted to the CEC committees for their consideration.
  • A new standard was developed in collaboration with CSA on the Climate Change Adaptation for Wastewater Treatment Plants (S900.1).
  • Two new standards related to the Construction of Bioretention Systems (W200 and W201) were developed with CSA. These new standards minimize the risk of community flooding and surface water degradation from changes in rainfall patterns and extreme rainfall due to climate change.
  • The ULC Standard relating to powered backwater valves was updated to address issues related to power loss and backup power supply and to address the increased risk and frequency of flooding.
  • Updated two suites of standards related to fuel storage tanks, both above ground and below ground, to increase resilience to flooding and prevent tank damage and pollutant spills in flooded areas.

Developing new Guidance:

  • Best practices for flood risk reduction in existing residential communities "Weathering the Storm" was developed in conjunction with Intact Centre and Standards Council of Canada (SCC). SCC is now funding the development of a CSA standard based on this document.
  • A new CSA Z800 Guideline on basement flood protection and risk reduction was developed. To complement this work, NRC in partnership with ICLR developed a practical guidance document entitled "Practical Guidance for Private-Side Drainage Systems to Reduce Basement Flood Risk".
  • A contract is in place with Coulbourne Consulting to develop structural provisions for the design of new buildings to flood-related loads, and guidance to improve the flood resistance of existing buildings. The Coulbourne Consulting team had a lead role in developing similar guidance for the US including ASCE-7 (Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and other Structures) and ASCE-24 (Flood-Resistant Design and Construction). A Technical Committee and a Steering Committee on flood-resistant buildings have been established to oversee the development of these guidelines. Flooding data is being gathered for a number of locations in Canada to support this effort.
  • Two national workshops were held in 2018 to identify priorities for urban storm drainage. As a result, comprehensive national guidelines are now being developed on how to evaluate life-cycle costs and long-term benefits of flood-risk-reduction infrastructure, including financial (direct and indirect), social, legal and environmental implications, and considering uncertain future climate.
  • A technical committee was established to review and advise the development of new guidelines for conducting coastal flood hazard and risk assessments (incorporating sea level rise and other climate change effects) in Canada to support design of buildings and core public infrastructure. These guidelines are nearing completion.
  • NRC is working in partnership with the University of Ottawa to undertake Research and development of guidance for the design of bridge piers to resist the impacts of river ice, flooding loads, and debris.
  • The University of Waterloo is developing guidelines for the design of buoyant foundations. One prototype foundation has been built and the durability of different technologies under winter conditions was explored. An existing building will be retrofit with a buoyant foundation this spring.

Links to related work

Initiative sur les immeubles résilients aux changements climatiques et les infrastructures publiques de base

Sur cette page

Le climat du Canada change par rapport aux données historiques; ces changements correspondent à une augmentation mondiale de la température au cours du dernier siècle. Les changements climatiques touchent de nombreux aspects de la vie quotidienne. La construction des bâtiments et des infrastructures publiques du Canada (comme les ponts, les routes, les réseaux d'aqueduc et d'égout, le transport de l'énergie, le transport en commun) se fonde sur des codes et des normes qui ont été élaborés en grande partie à partir de données historiques. Dans bien des cas, cela s'est traduit par des infrastructures qui n'ont pas été conçues pour faire face aux phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes que nous observons actuellement, sans parler des impacts à venir des changements climatiques. Le risque de défectuosités des bâtiments et des infrastructures augmente, tout comme les menaces liées au bien-être des Canadiens. Cette situation nous oblige à nous adapter et à développer une résilience aux changements climatiques.

Nous devons ainsi nous assurer que nos infrastructures et nos collectivités sont mieux préparées contre les risques d'inondation, de sécheresse et de feux de forêt, notamment dans les communautés vulnérables comme les collectivités autochtones, nordiques, côtières et isolées. La prise en compte des changements climatiques et des événements extrêmes dans les investissements à long terme visant les infrastructures, compris les projets de rénovation et de modernisation, ainsi que l'investissement dans des solutions d'adaptation traditionnelles et naturelles, peuvent aider les collectivités à renforcer leur résilience, à réduire les risques de catastrophe et à économiser des coûts à long terme.

Au sujet de l'Initiative sur les immeubles résilients aux changements climatiques et les infrastructures publiques de base

Grâce à une aide financière de 42,5 millions de dollars d'Infrastructure Canada venant appuyer le Cadre pancanadien sur la croissance propre et les changements climatiques, depuis 2016, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC) a entrepris des travaux novateurs pour intégrer la résilience climatique dans la conception, les guides et les codes des bâtiments et des infrastructures.

Le CNRC est particulièrement bien placé pour entreprendre ce projet d'avenir. En effet, tirant parti de ses capacités et de ses installations de recherche reconnues à l'échelle internationale, le CNRC possède une expertise en infrastructure et en science du bâtiment. Sur place, les agents du CNRC peuvent mettre à l'essai et surveiller une vaste gamme de systèmes d'infrastructure, y compris les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées, la résilience des façades et des toits des bâtiments, et la conception des ponts. De plus, le CNRC est en mesure de mener des recherches sur l'ingénierie côtière et fluviale et sur les incendies

Cette initiative sur cinq ans vise à renforcer la capacité de l'industrie canadienne de la construction de s'adapter aux pressions croissantes exercées par les changements climatiques sur les infrastructures bâties. Elle stimule l'innovation et fournit aux partenaires les connaissances et les outils scientifiques dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions éclairées sur la façon de concevoir, d'exploiter et d'entretenir leurs infrastructures. Cela appuie l'engagement d'Infrastructure Canada à l'égard des programmes axés sur les résultats. Les travaux entrepris par le CNRC contribueront à l'établissement d'infrastructures qui permettront aux collectivités canadiennes de mieux se protéger des effets des changements climatiques et des conditions météorologiques extrêmes.

Projets

Le plan de travail du CNRC comprend des projets divisés par impact climatique et par type de biens ou de systèmes.

Le CNRC en est à la dernière année de cette initiative de cinq ans. Voici les importantes étapes atteintes jusqu'à maintenant :

Données climatiques et charges

En collaboration avec des partenaires comme Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, le Pacific Climate Impacts Consortium et RWDI, les partenaires de l'IRCCIPB ont :

  • Développement de données climatiques prospectives, notamment des données sur la température, les précipitations et les vents, basées sur plus de 660 endroits au Canada, qui seront utilisées dans les codes et les normes de construction et d'infrastructure.
    • Ces données seront mises en œuvre dans le Code canadien sur le calcul des ponts routiers (CHBDC) de 2025, et seront soumises à l'examen des comités du Code national du bâtiment (CNB) pour son édition de 2025

Inondations

  • On élabore actuellement des lignes directrices nationales autonomes comportant des dispositions relatives à la conception des bâtiments pour faire face aux risques naturels, y compris les inondations, d'ici 2021. Les demandes de modification des codes qui sont partiellement basées sur ces lignes directrices seront soumises pour examen dans l'édition 2025 du CNB. L'édition précédente, le CNB 2015, ne traitait pas des inondations.
    • Selon une évaluation économique réalisée par SPA Risk et l'Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction, les lignes directrices sur la résilience aux inondations auront un rapport coûts-avantages de 11:1 et aideront le Canada à éviter 2,7 milliards de dollars de pertes par année.
  • On a élaboré des pratiques exemplaires pour la réduction des risques d'inondation dans les collectivités résidentielles : « Traverser la tempête », en collaboration avec le Centre Intact et le Conseil canadien des normes.
  • On a élaboré des lignes directrices nationales pour le drainage des eaux pluviales urbaines afin d'évaluer les coûts au cours du cycle de vie – y compris les répercussions financières, sociales, juridiques et environnementales – et les avantages à long terme des infrastructures de réduction des risques d'inondation.
  • On a créé deux nouvelles normes relatives à la construction de systèmes de biorétention (W200 et W201) qui réduiront au minimum les risques d'inondation dans les collectivités et de dégradation des eaux de surface en raison de la modification du régime des précipitations.
  • On a créé un comité technique chargé d'examiner et d'orienter l'élaboration de lignes directrices pour la réalisation d'évaluations des menaces et des risques d'inondation côtière qui tiendront compte de l'élévation du niveau de la mer et d'autres risques afin d'améliorer la conception des bâtiments.
  • On a conclu des partenariats avec des établissements universitaires pour développer des technologies et des méthodes de recherche visant à accroître la résilience des infrastructures aux conditions climatiques extrêmes.
  • On a élaboré des lignes directrices pour les bâtiments à fondations flottantes qui peuvent aider les collectivités à haut risque d'inondation, sur la base des recherches en cours à l'université de Waterloo.
  • Pour un aperçu plus détaillé des travaux en cours sur les inondations, voir ci-dessous.

Incendies en milieu périurbain

  • On élabore actuellement des lignes directrices nationales autonomes comportant des dispositions relatives à la conception des bâtiments pour faire face aux risques naturels, y compris les incendies, d'ici 2021. Les demandes de modification des codes qui sont partiellement basées sur ces lignes directrices seront soumises pour examen dans l'édition 2025 du CNB. L'édition précédente, le CNB 2015, ne traitait pas des incendies de forêt.
    • Selon une évaluation économique réalisée par SPA Risk et l'Institute for Catastrophic Loss Reduction, les directives WUI auront un rapport coûts-avantages de 6:1 et aideront le Canada à éviter 900 millions de dollars de pertes par année.

Bâtiments

  • On a reformulé la directive de l'Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA) sur la durabilité des bâtiments (CSA S478) – une directive auparavant facultative – en tant que norme, ce qui permet de réglementer la durabilité.
  • On a élaboré une nouvelle norme avec le groupe CSA sur les exigences de performance pour la résilience climatique des systèmes de toiture à membrane à faible pente (CSA 123.26) afin d'aborder le risque climatique lié au vent associé à ce type de toiture.
  • On a élaboré des lignes directrices pour les bâtiments neufs et existants afin de garantir des conditions intérieures sûres pendant les vagues de chaleur, sur la base de recherches en cours en collaboration avec l'Université Concordia.

Ponts

  • On a publié le Code canadien sur le calcul des ponts routiers 2019 (CHBDC), qui comporte des dispositions relatives au changement climatique, à la durabilité et à la résilience, ainsi que des données historiques entièrement mises à jour.
    • Uniquement en Ontario, le nouveau code peut influencer 175 projets par an. Les précédents codes de conception des ponts étaient basés en partie sur les données climatiques des années 1970.
  • On a poursuivi l'amélioration des directives relatives à la durabilité des ponts sur la base des résultats obtenus dans la nouvelle soufflerie de pointe du CNRC, où sont testés les effets des changements climatiques et des conditions météorologiques extrêmes (notamment la glace, le vent et la pluie) sur les câbles des ponts.
  • On a élaboré des orientations pour l'adaptation au climat des ponts existants en fonction des recherches en cours en collaboration avec l'Université d'Ottawa, l'Université Ryerson et l'Université de Toronto.

Eau/eaux usées

  • On a élaboré une nouvelle norme en collaboration avec le groupe CSA sur l'adaptation aux changements climatiques pour les stations d'épuration des eaux usées (S900.1) afin d'accroître la résilience des stations d'épuration et d'améliorer la fiabilité des services lors d'événements météorologiques extrêmes.

Routes

  • On élabore actuellement des orientations visant à améliorer la résilience climatique des routes existantes et à orienter les décisions en matière d'entretien et de réhabilitation rentables.
  • On procède actuellement à l'essai sur le terrain d'une chaussée en béton perméable comme stratégie de réduction des charges de ruissellement des eaux de pluie.

Transports en commun

  • On mène des recherches et on élabore des orientations concernant les réseaux de transport en commun, pour lesquels il existe actuellement peu de normes. Pour permettre l'adaptation des réseaux de transport en commun aux changements climatiques, les tunnels du métro et les trains de Toronto ont été équipés d'instruments qui recueillent des données. Le métro de Toronto, désormais le réseau le plus outillé au monde, est utilisé pour mener des recherches et élaborer des recommandations sur la surchauffe dans les transports en commun.
  • On élabore des lignes directrices visant à améliorer la sécurité et le confort des voyageurs par temps froid, en fonction des recherches sur la dynamique des contraintes ferroviaires et les cycles de gel et de dégel effectuées sur le site d'essai de Via Rail.

Guide technique sur l'adaptation des logements pour les Premières nations

  • On élabore des orientations techniques concernant des logements adaptables pour les communautés éloignées/autochtones, en collaboration avec l'Association nationale des agents du bâtiment des Premières nations (ANABPN).

Élaboration de codes et de guides

En plus des travaux à l'appui des dispositions des codes et des lignes directrices décrites ci-dessus, l'Initiative a permis de mettre sur pied un comité de surveillance composé de ministères fédéraux; ce comité a pour mandat de s'assurer que les résultats sont pertinents et complètent les efforts connexes. Les membres du comité discutent des résultats émergents, offrent une orientation et établissent des liens avec les priorités des ministères fédéraux liées à l'Initiative et aux travaux des comités techniques des projets.

Lorsque cela est possible, les responsables de l'Initiative font appel aux comités et aux structures de gouvernance existants pour obtenir les résultats escomptés. Des comités techniques ont été créés pour orienter la recherche et l'élaboration de lignes directrices dans les domaines suivants : données climatiques et charges; bâtiments résistants aux inondations; évaluation des risques d'inondation côtière; conception de l'interface en milieu périurbain; et systèmes de toiture et matériaux de construction.

Collaborations

Plus de 150 collaborateurs ont contribué au succès de l'IRCCIPB, notamment des ministères provinciaux et territoriaux et des organisations municipales, des experts nationaux et internationaux issus de sociétés de génie-conseil, de l'industrie, du secteur universitaire, d'organisations à but non lucratif et du milieu de la climatologie.

Les activités liées aux inondations menées dans le cadre de l'IRCCIPB

Données climatiques de calcul

  • L'Initiative sur les immeubles résilients aux changements climatiques et les infrastructures publiques de base (IRCCIPB) génère des données de calcul liées au climat futur qui tiennent compte des effets des changements climatiques, en vue de leur éventuelle utilisation dans le Code national du bâtiment et le Code canadien sur le calcul des ponts routiers.
  • Les données climatiques de calcul se rapportent aux précipitations, à la température et aux vents, et elles sont produites pour différents scénarios de réchauffement climatique. Les données relatives aux inondations comprennent : les courbes intensité-durée‑fréquence, utilisées dans la conception des réseaux d'évacuation des eaux pluviales et des infrastructures de protection contre les inondations; les chutes de pluie maximales annuelles de 1 jour et de 15 minutes, utilisées dans la conception des réseaux d'évacuation des eaux de toit.

Directives et normes

Mise à jour des normes et des codes existants et création de nouvelles normes :

  • Dans le cadre de l'initiative BIPBRCC, la Commission canadienne des codes du bâtiment et de prévention des incendies a lancé une discussion sur le rôle du Code national du bâtiment dans la protection contre les inondations, et des demandes de modification aux codes relatives aux inondations sont élaborées aux fins d'examen (se reporter aux lignes directrices relatives aux bâtiments résistants aux inondations ci‑après).
  • 50 modifications au Code canadien de l'électricité (CCE) ont été proposées pour accroître la résilience face aux changements climatiques et aux phénomènes météorologiques extrêmes, en collaboration avec l'Association canadienne de normalisation (CSA); 29 de ces propositions étaient liées aux inondations. Les modifications proposées ont été présentées aux comités du CCE aux fins d'examen.
  • Une nouvelle norme sur l'adaptation aux changements climatiques pour les stations de traitement des eaux usées (S900.1) a été élaborée en collaboration avec la CSA.
  • Deux nouvelles normes relatives à la construction de systèmes de biorétention (W200 et W201) ont été élaborées en collaboration avec la CSA. Ces nouvelles normes réduisent au minimum le risque d'inondation dans les collectivités ainsi que la dégradation de l'eau de surface causée par des changements dans la configuration des pluies et par les pluies diluviennes découlant des changements climatiques.
  • La norme ULC relative aux clapets antiretour électriques a été mise à jour afin de tenir compte des problèmes liés aux pannes de courant et à l'alimentation électrique de secours ainsi que de l'accroissement du risque et de la fréquence des inondations.
  • Deux séries de normes visant les réservoirs de combustible hors sol et souterrains ont été mises à jour afin d'accroître la résistance des réservoirs aux inondations et de prévenir les dommages et les déversements de polluants dans les zones inondées.

Élaboration de nouvelles directives :

  • Des pratiques exemplaires en matière de réduction du risque d'inondation dans les zones résidentielles existantes, décrites dans le rapport intitulé « Surmonter la tempête », ont été élaborées conjointement avec le Centre Intact et le Conseil canadien des normes (CCN). Le CCN finance maintenant l'élaboration d'une norme CSA fondée sur ce document.
  • De nouvelles lignes directrices sur la protection des sous-sols contre les inondations et la réduction des risques (CSA Z800) ont été élaborées. En complément de ces travaux, le Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC), en partenariat avec l'Institut de prévention des sinistres catastrophiques, a élaboré un document d'orientation qui fournit des directives pratiques concernant les réseaux privés d'évacuation des eaux pour réduire le risque d'inondation dans les sous‑sols.
  • Un contrat a été conclu avec Coulbourne Consulting pour élaborer des dispositions sur le calcul des structures pour la conception de nouveaux bâtiments résistants aux charges attribuables aux inondations et des directives pour améliorer la résistance aux inondations des bâtiments existants. L'équipe de Coulbourne Consulting a joué un rôle de premier plan dans l'élaboration de directives similaires pour les États‑Unis, notamment la norme ASCE‑7, « Minimum Design Loads and Associated Criteria for Buildings and other Structures », et la norme ASCE‑24, « Flood-Resistant Design and Construction ». Un comité technique et un comité directeur sur les bâtiments résistants aux inondations ont été mis sur pied afin de veiller à l'élaboration de ces lignes directrices. Des données sur les inondations sont recueillies pour de nombreuses localités canadiennes, en appui à ces travaux.
  • En 2018, deux ateliers nationaux ont été tenus en vue de déterminer les priorités relatives à l'évacuation des eaux pluviales en milieu urbain. Ces ateliers ont donné lieu à l'élaboration de lignes directrices nationales exhaustives sur l'évaluation des coûts du cycle de vie et des avantages à long terme des infrastructures qui réduisent le risque d'inondation, compte tenu des répercussions financières (directes et indirectes), sociales, juridiques et environnementales et de l'incertitude quant aux conditions climatiques futures.
  • Un comité technique a été établi pour examiner et orienter l'élaboration de nouvelles lignes directrices visant l'évaluation des dangers et des risques liés aux inondations côtières au Canada (compte tenu de l'élévation du niveau de la mer et d'autres effets des changements climatiques), l'objectif étant d'appuyer la conception des bâtiments et des infrastructures publiques de base. Ces lignes directrices seront bientôt achevées.
  • Le CNRC travaille en partenariat avec l'Université d'Ottawa pour entreprendre des travaux de recherche et développement visant à élaborer des directives sur la conception de piles de pont résistantes aux impacts de la glace fluviale, des charges attribuables aux inondations et des débris.
  • L'Université de Waterloo élabore des lignes directrices visant la conception de fondations flottantes. Un prototype de fondation a été construit, et la durabilité de diverses technologies dans des conditions hivernales a été explorée. Une fondation flottante sera ajoutée à un bâtiment existant ce printemps.

Liens vers des travaux connexes