The Federal Gas Tax Fund:
Permanent and predictable funding for municipalities

PDF Version (Size: 161.10 KB)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

What is it?

As part of the New Building Canada Plan, the renewed federal Gas Tax Fund (GTF) provides predictable, long-term, stable funding for Canadian municipalities to help them build and revitalize their local public infrastructure while creating jobs and long term prosperity.

Why is it important?

Each year, the federal GTF assists municipalities by providing funding for local infrastructure projects. From coast to coast to coast, the federal GTF is making a difference in all communities across Canada. Every year, municipalities benefit from the financial support and flexibility of the federal GTF. To date, $13 billion has been invested in municipalities through the federal Gas Tax Fund, with close to $22 billion to flow over the next 10 years. Municipalities now have even more ways in which they can put their GTF funding to work in their communities.

How does it work?

The federal GTF program was originally designed to provide municipalities with $5 billion in predictable funding over five years. However, our Government has made significant improvements to the GTF. It has been extended, doubled from $1 billion to $2 billion annually, and legislated as a permanent source of federal infrastructure funding for municipalities. As announced in Economic Action Plan 2013, the renewed federal GTF is being indexed at two per cent per year, to be applied in $100 million increments, which means that it will grow by $1.8 billion over the next decade.

Funding is provided up front, twice-a-year, to provinces and territories, who in turn flow this funding to their municipalities to support local infrastructure priorities. Municipalities can pool, bank and borrow against this funding, providing significant financial flexibility.

Communities are able to use the renewed GTF towards a wide range of projects, which means they have more flexibility than ever in the types of projects they fund. Communities are able to use the federal GTF towards:

  • public transit
  • wastewater infrastructure
  • drinking water
  • solid waste management
  • community energy systems
  • local roads and bridges
  • capacity building
  • highways
  • local and regional airports
  • short-line rail
  • short-sea shipping
  • disaster mitigation
  • broadband and connectivity
  • brownfield redevelopment
  • culture
  • tourism
  • sport
  • recreation

Under the renewed GTF, allocations to provinces and territories over the first five years of the NBCP (2014-2019) are based on Census 2011 data, as follows:

Jurisdiction GTF Allocation
Newfoundland and Labrador $155,298,305
Prince Edward Island $78,000,000
Nova Scotia $276,775,682
New Brunswick $225,275,924
Quebec $2,382,738,448
Ontario $3,873,734,778
Manitoba $340,447,890
Saskatchewan $292,707,395
Alberta $1,084,982,788
British Columbia $1,317,039,837
Yukon $78,000,000
Northwest Territories $78,000,000
Nunavut $78,000,000
First Nations $138,998,953
Canada $10,400,000,000

Specific allocations to municipalities are determined through federal-provincial-territorial GTF agreements. Allocations for 2019-2024 will be based on Census 2016 data.

Le Fonds fédéral de la taxe sur l'essence :
Un financement permanent et prévisible pour les municipalités

Version PDF (282,78 Ko)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats suppléant, tels que PDF, PPT et fichiers ZIP, visitez la section d'aide sur les formats suppléant.

De quoi s'agit-il ?

Dans le cadre du Nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada, le renouvellement du Fonds fédéral de la taxe sur l'essence (FTE) procure aux municipalités canadiennes un financement stable, prévisible, à long terme, pour les aider à bâtir et à revitaliser leur infrastructure publique locale, tout en créant des emplois et en favorisant la prospérité à long terme.

Pourquoi est-il important ?

Tous les ans, le FTE fédéral aide les municipalités en leur procurant un financement destiné à des projets locaux d'infrastructure. Aux quatre coins du Canda, le FTE fédéral fait une différence dans toutes les communautés canadiennes. Tous les ans, les municipalités profitent du soutien financier et de la souplesse du FTE fédéral. Jusqu'à maintenant, 13 milliards de dollars ont été investis dans les municipalités à partir du Fonds fédéral de la taxe sur l'essence, et près de 22 milliards de dollars le seront au cours des 10 prochaines années. Les municipalités disposent désormais de plus de moyens d'utiliser à bon escient l'argent du FTE dans leurs communautés.

Comment fonctionne-t-il ?

Le programme fédéral du FTE était conçu à l'origine pour procurer aux municipalités 5 milliards de dollars en financement prévisible sur cinq ans. Toutefois, notre gouvernement a nettement bonifié le FTE. Il l'a prolongé, il l'a doublé, ce qui l'a fait passer de 1 milliard de dollars à 2 milliards de dollars par an, et il a légiféré pour en faire une source récurrente de financement fédéral de l'infrastructure pour les municipalités. Comme l'annonçait le Plan d'action économique 2013, le FTE fédéral renouvelé est en train d'être indexé à raison de deux p. 100 par an, par tranche de 100 millions de dollars, ce qui signifie qu'il augmentera de 1,8 milliard de dollars au cours de la prochaine décennie.

L'argent est versé directement, deux fois par an, aux provinces et aux territoires, qui à leur tour le versent à leurs municipalités pour soutenir des priorités en matière d'infrastructure locale. Les municipalités peuvent réunir ces fonds, les mettre en banque ou s'en servir comme garantie d'emprunt, ce qui leur donne une grande marge de manœuvre financière.

Les communautés peuvent se servir du FTE renouvelé pour des projets plus divers, ce qui signifie qu'elles bénéficient d'encore plus de souplesse quant aux types de projets pouvant être financés. Les collectivités peuvent utiliser les fonds du FTE pour des projets dans les catégories suivantes :

  • le transport en commun
  • le traitement des eaux usées
  • l'eau potable
  • la gestion des déchets solides
  • les systèmes communautaires de production d'énergie
  • les routes et les ponts locaux
  • renforcement des capacités
  • les grandes routes
  • les aéroports locaux et régionaux
  • le transport ferroviaire sur courtes distances
  • le transport maritime sur courtes distances
  • l'atténuation des catastrophes
  • la connectivité et la large bande
  • le réaménagement des friches industrielles
  • la culture
  • le tourisme
  • le sport
  • les loisirs

Conformément aux modalités de renouvellement du FTE, les montants affectés aux provinces et aux territoires au cours des cinq premières années du NPCC (2014-2019) ont été calculés d'après les données du recensement de 2011, comme suit :

Administration publique Affectation au titre du FTE
Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador 155 298 305 $
Île-du-Prince-Édouard 78 000 000 $
Nouvelle-Écosse 276 775 682 $
Nouveau-Brunswick 225 275 924 $
Québec 2 382 738 448 $
Ontario 3 873 734 778 $
Manitoba 340 447 890 $
Saskatchewan 292 707 395 $
Alberta 1 084 982 788 $
Colombie-Britannique 1 317 039 837 $
Yukon 78 000 000 $
Territoires du Nord-Ouest 78 000 000 $
Nunavut 78 000 000 $
Premières Nations 138 998 953 $
Canada 10 400 000 000 $

Les montants spécifiquement affectés aux municipalités sont déterminés dans les ententes fédérales-provinciales-territoriales du FTE. Les montants pour 2019-2024 seront calculés d'après les données du recensement de 2016.