Clean Water and Wastewater Fund
Program Overview

Purpose

The Clean Water and Wastewater Fund (CWWF) will provide short-term funding of $2 billion. The program targets projects that will contribute to the rehabilitation of both water treatment and distribution infrastructure and existing wastewater and storm water treatment systems; collection and conveyance infrastructure; and initiatives that improve asset management, system optimization, and planning for future upgrades to water and wastewater systems.

Program Overview

Governance

  • Canada will enter into Bilateral Agreements (BA) with provinces and territories to deliver the CWWF. The provinces and territories in turn, will enter into agreements with eligible ultimate recipients to manage projects.
  • Canada will retain the flexibility to enter into agreements with other types of recipients, if deemed necessary to allow funds to flow into the economy quickly.
  • An Oversight Committee (OC) co-chaired by federal and provincial/territorial officials will be established to report on project progress and program outcomes, monitor and mitigate risks, and audit and evaluation for each province and territory.

Project Identification and Approval

  • Provinces and territories will be responsible for identifying projects, in collaboration with municipalities, to be funded through the CWWF.
  • Provinces and territories will be required to submit a project list to Infrastructure Canada (INFC) for approval.
  • All proposed project must provide basic information, including the name of the municipality, title and description of the public infrastructure project, eligible investment category, financial information, planned start and end dates as well as identification of outcome the project will support. Please refer to Annex A - for a full list of eligible investment categories and related subcategories.

Eligible Recipient(s)

  • Eligible recipients include: provinces and territories; municipalities and other entities that provide water or wastewater services as designated by the provinces and territories or municipalities. Please refer to Annex B for complete list of eligible recipients.
Cost-Sharing, Stacking and Limits to Federal Participation

CWWF total federal funding from all sources can be up to 50% in provinces and up to 75% in territories of total eligible costs per project (see Annex C for details of eligible and ineligible costs). Funding recipients will continue to be bound by the stacking rules of other federal programs.

With regard to financial support that the First Nation receives from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), only funding received from the First Nations Infrastructure Fund or the First Nations Water and Wastewater Program would be counted towards the federal stacking limits for the CWWF.

Requests for Extensions under CWWF

Under the Clean Water and Wastewater Fund, provinces and territories receive an allocation, prioritize eligible projects and submit them for federal funding. Projects are required to be completed by March 31, 2018 in the provinces and March 31, 2019 in the territories unless an extension is granted by the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities. To receive an extension, project proponents must submit a request through their province or territory, which in turn is responsible for submitting those requests to Infrastructure Canada for federal approval. Extensions can be granted up to March 31, 2019 in the provinces and March 31, 2020 in the territories. Please note that any requests for an extension must be supported by a demonstrated need for the extension.

See below for provincial and territorial contact information for extension requests.

Alberta
Contact Person:
Primary – Barry Pape, Team Lead, Water/Wastewater and Grants, Alberta Transportation
Phone number: 1-780-415-1266
Email: barry.pape@gov.ab.ca
Secondary – Ajit Paramapathy, Director, Program Management & Grants, Alberta Transportation
Phone number: 1-780-422-7668
Email: ajit.paramapathy@gov.ab.ca

British Columbia
Contact Person: CWWF Program Lead, Local Government Infrastructure & Finance Branch, Ministry of Community, Sport and Cultural Development
Phone number: 1-250-387-4060
Email: infra@gov.bc.ca

Manitoba
Contact Person: Jenna Junkin
Phone number: 204-945-4074 or 1-800-268-4883
Email: infra@gov.mb.ca

New Brunswick
Contact Person: Director of Community Funding Branch, Environment and Local Government
Phone number: 1-506-457-4947
Email: CWWF-FEPTEU@gnb.ca

Newfoundland and Labrador
Contact Person: Ian Duffett, Municipal Affairs
Phone number: 1-709-729-3068
Email: ianduffett@gov.nl.ca

Northwest Territories
Contact Person: Department of Municipal and Community Affairs
Phone number: 1-867-767-9160, ext. 21012
Email: chris_hewitt@gov.nt.ca

Nova Scotia
Contact Person: Aileen Waller-Hebb
Phone number: 1-902-424-7414
Email: Aileen.Waller-Hebb@novascotia.ca

Nunavut
Contact Person: Linda Casson, Community Infrastructure Division, Community and Government Services
Phone number: 1-867-975-5336
Email: lcasson@gov.nu.ca

Ontario
Contact Person: Infrastructure Ontario
Phone number: 1-844-803-8856
Email: CWWF@infrastructureontario.ca

Prince Edward Island
Contact Person: Darlene Rhodenizer
Phone number: 1-902-368-6213
Email: dlrhodenizer@gov.pe.ca

Quebec
Department of Municipal Affairs, Land Occupancy and Public Security
10 Pierre-Olivier-Chauveau Street
Quebec City, Quebec G1R 4J3
Telephone : 418-691-2015
Fax: 418-643-7385
Email: communications@mamot.gouv.qc.ca

Saskatchewan
Contact Person: Municipal Infrastructure and Finance
Phone number: 1-306-787-1262
Email: infra@gov.sk.ca

Yukon
Contact Person: John McGovern, Department of Community Services
Phone number: 1-867-667-8954
Email: john.mcgovern@gov.yk.ca

Annex A – Overview of Eligible CWWF Investments

Eligible investment areas are targeted at meeting immediate clean water and waste water projects that will also foster economic growth and support a cleaner and healthier environment for communities. Eligible investments include:

  1. Capital projects for the rehabilitation of water treatment and distribution systems, and wastewater and storm water collection, conveyance and treatment systems;
  2. Separation of existing combined sewers and/or combined sewer overflow control;
  3. Initiatives that support system optimization and improved asset management including studies and pilot projects related to innovative and transformative technologies;
  4. Design and planning for upgrades to wastewater treatment infrastructure to meet federal regulatory requirements; and
  5. New construction projects, including the construction of naturalized systems for management and treatment of wastewater and storm water, if the projects will be completed within the program timeframe, subject to any additional flexibility that may be provided by the Minister on a case by case basis. Any unspent allocations would remain with the federal government.
Annex B – Eligible Recipients

The CWWF will be largely managed through funding agreements between Canada and each province and territory, which will be responsible for the administration of the programs and may further distribute funds to the eligible recipients for eligible projects. At the request of provinces or territories and at Canada’s discretion, or, in order to ensure flexibility to allow the full amount of funding to flow into the economy quickly, Canada may enter into agreements with the following eligible recipients:

  1. Organizations designated by a province or territory and agreed to by Canada,
  2. Municipal or regional governments established by or under a provincial or territorial statute, and
  3. Other entities providing water or wastewater services to communities, as designated by the provinces and territories.

Infrastructure projects in the provinces located partially or entirely on reserve, or on any Crown lands or lands set aside by the Crown that are designated to become reserve lands, may be considered for funding under the CWWF provided that the proponent demonstrates the project is aligned with objectives of the fund and has benefits that extend beyond the on-reserve community. Budget 2016 identified a separate allocation of green infrastructure funds for First Nations infrastructure on reserve, which will be administered by INAC through the First Nations Infrastructure Fund and the First Nations Water and Wastewater Program.

Annex C – Eligible and Ineligible Costs

Eligible Costs

For the CWWF, infrastructure is defined as publicly or privately owned tangible capital assets in Canada primarily for public use or benefit, as well as planning or feasibility studies to address infrastructure issues or due diligence.

Eligible costs are costs considered by INFC to be direct and necessary for the successful implementation of an eligible project, excluding those explicitly identified in as Ineligible Costs. Costs of Aboriginal consultation, and where appropriate, accommodation will be considered eligible.

Eligible costs can be incurred starting April 1, 2016, but can only be reimbursed by INFC subject to the signing of a funding agreement between INFC and the recipient and meeting the conditions outlined in Section 13 - Basis of Payments.

Where federal-provincial/territorial funding agreements are signed, provinces and territories may apply up to 1% of their funding allocation of each program towards program administration costs.

Ineligible Costs

Ineligible costs for the CWWF include the following:

  1. Costs incurred prior to April 1, 2016;
  2. Costs incurred after March 31, 2018 and March 31, 2019 for projects in the Territories. The Minister of Infrastructure and Communities may provide some flexibility regarding the deadline for incurring eligible costs should there be a demonstrated need;
  3. Costs incurred for cancelled projects;
  4. Land acquisition; leasing land, buildings and other facilities; leasing equipment other than equipment directly related to the construction of the project; real estate fees and related costs;
  5. Financing charges, legal fees, and loan interest payments (including those related to easements (e.g. surveys);
  6. Any goods and services costs which are received through donations or in kind;
  7. Provincial sales tax and Goods and Services tax/HST, for which the ultimate recipient is eligible for a rebate, and any other costs eligible for rebates; and
  8. Costs associated with operating expenses and regularly scheduled maintenance work.
Date modified:

Fonds pour l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées
Aperçu du programme

Objectif

Le Fonds pour l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées (FEPTEU) offrira un financement à court terme de 2 milliards de dollars. Le programme vise les projets qui contribueront à la remise en état des infrastructures de traitement et de distribution de l'eau, ainsi que des réseaux existants de traitement des eaux usées et des eaux pluviales, des infrastructures de collecte et de transport des eaux usées, et des initiatives qui amélioreront la gestion des biens, l'optimisation des systèmes, et la planification des améliorations à venir des infrastructures liées à l'eau et aux eaux usées.

Aperçu du programme

Gouvernance

  • Le Canada conclura des ententes bilatérales avec les provinces et les territoires pour la mise en œuvre du FEPTEU. Les provinces et les territoires concluront ensuite des ententes avec les bénéficiaires finaux pour assurer la gestion des projets.
  • Le Canada aura la possibilité de conclure des ententes avec d'autres types de bénéficiaires, au besoin, pour faire en sorte que les fonds soient rapidement injectés dans l'économie.
  • Un comité de surveillance, coprésidé par des représentants fédéraux et provinciaux/territoriaux, sera établi pour faire état des progrès accomplis dans le cadre des projets et de l'atteinte des résultats du programme, pour surveiller et atténuer les risques, et pour mener des vérifications et des évaluations pour chaque province et territoire.

Identification et approbation des projets

  • Les provinces et les territoires seront chargés, en collaboration avec les municipalités, d'identifier les projets qui seront financés aux termes du FEPTEU.
  • Les provinces et les territoires devront soumettre une liste de leurs projets à Infrastructure Canada (INFC) aux fins d'approbation.
  • Pour tous les projets proposés, on doit fournir des informations de base, comme le nom de la municipalité, le titre et la description du projet d'infrastructure publique, la catégorie d'investissement admissible, les données financières, les dates prévues de début et de fin du projet, et les résultats prévus du projet. Veuillez consulter l'Annexe A pour obtenir la liste complète des catégories d'investissement admissibles et des sous-catégories connexes.

Bénéficiaires admissibles

  • Les bénéficiaires admissibles comprennent les provinces et les territoires, les municipalités et les autres entités qui offrent des services liés à l'eau ou aux eaux usées, désignées par les provinces et les territoires ou par les municipalités. Veuillez consulter l'Annexe B pour obtenir la liste complète des bénéficiaires admissibles.
Partage des coûts, cumul et limites de la participation fédérale :

Le financement fédéral total aux termes du FEPTEU, provenant de toutes les sources, peut atteindre dans les provinces 50 % des coûts admissibles totaux pour chaque projet; et ce pourcentage peut atteindre 75 % dans les territoires (voir l'Annexe C pour obtenir des renseignements détaillés sur les coûts admissibles et non admissibles). Les bénéficiaires du financement continueront d'être assujettis aux règles sur le cumul dans le cadre des autres programmes fédéraux.

En ce qui concerne le soutien financier que les Premières Nations recevront d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), seul le financement reçu du Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières nations ou du Programme d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations compterait dans le calcul des limites du cumul fédéral pour le FEPTEU.

Demandes de prolongation dans le cadre du FEPTEU

Dans la cadre du Fonds pour l'eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées, les provinces et les territoires reçoivent une allocation, déterminent les priorités parmi les projets admissibles et soumettent ces derniers aux fins d'un financement fédéral. Les projets doivent être terminés au plus tard le 31 mars 2018 dans les provinces, et au plus tard le 31 mars 2019 dans les territoires, sauf si une prolongation est autorisée par le ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités. Pour obtenir une prolongation, les promoteurs des projets doivent soumettre une demande par l'entremise de leur province ou de leur territoire, qui doit ensuite soumettre les demandes de prolongation à Infrastructure Canada pour approbation fédérale. Les prolongations peuvent être accordées jusqu'au 31 mars 2019 dans les provinces, et jusqu'au 31 mars 2020 dans les territoires. Veuillez noter que toute demande de prolongation devra être accompagnée d'une justification du besoin manifeste d'une prolongation.

Voir ci-dessous pour les coordonnées des personnes-ressources pour les demandes relatives à la prolongation au calendrier des projets.

Alberta
Personne-ressource :
Principal – Barry Pape, chef d'équipe, Eau potable/eaux usées et subventions, ministère des Transports
Téléphone : 1-780-415-1266
Courriel : barry.pape@gov.ab.ca
Secondaire – Ajit Paramapathy, directeur, Gestion du programme et Subventions, ministère des Transports
Téléphone : 1-780-422-7668
Courriel : ajit.paramapathy@gov.ab.ca

Colombie-Britannique
Personne-ressource : directeur du programme FEPTEU, Direction des finances et l'infrastructure gouvernementale locale, ministère du Développement communautaire, sportif et culturel
Téléphone : 1-250-387-4060
Courriel : infra@gov.bc.ca

Île-du-Prince-Édouard
Personne-ressource : Darlene Rhodenizer
Téléphone : 1-902-368-6213
Courriel : dlrhodenizer@gov.pe.ca

Manitoba
Personne-ressource : Jenna Junkin
Téléphone : 204-945-4074 ou 1-800-268-4883
Courriel : infra@gov.mb.ca

Nouveau-Brunswick
Personne-ressource : Direction du financement communautaire, Environnement et Gouvernements locaux
Téléphone : 1-506-457-4947
Courriel : CWWF-FEPTEU@gnb.ca

Nouvelle-Écosse
Personne-ressource : Aileen Waller-Hebb
Téléphone : 1-902-424-7414
Courriel : Aileen.Waller-Hebb@novascotia.ca

Nunavut
Personne-ressource: Linda Casson, Division de l'infrastructure communautaire, ministère des Services gouvernementaux et communautaires
Téléphone : 1-867-975-5336
Courriel : lcasson@gov.nu.ca

Ontario
Personne-ressource : Infrastructure Ontario
Téléphone : 1-844-803-8856
Courriel : CWWF@infrastructureontario.ca

Québec
Ministère des Affaires municipales et de l'Occupation du territoire 10, rue Pierre-Olivier-Chauveau
Québec (Québec) G1R 4J3
Téléphone : 418 691-2015
Télécopieur : 418 643-7385
Courriel : communications@mamot.gouv.qc.ca

Saskatchewan
Personne-ressource : Infrastructure municipale et Finances
Téléphone : 1-306-787-1262
Courriel : infra@gov.sk.ca

Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador
Personne-ressource : Ian Duffett, ministère des Affaires municipales
Téléphone : 1-709-729-3068
Courriel : ianduffett@gov.nl.ca

Territoires du Nord-Ouest
Personne-ressource : ministère des Affaires municipales et communautaires
Téléphone : 1-867-767-9160, poste 21012
Courriel : chris_hewitt@gov.nt.ca

Yukon
Personne-ressource : John McGovern, ministère des Services communautaires
Téléphone : 1-867-667-8954
Courriel : john.mcgovern@gov.yk.ca

Annexe A – Aperçu des investissements admissibles dans le cadre du FEPTEU

Les investissements admissibles visent à répondre à des besoins immédiats grâce à des projets d'approvisionnement en eau et de traitement des eaux usées qui favoriseront également la croissance économique, tout en appuyant l'assainissement de l'environnement pour les collectivités. Les investissements admissibles comprennent les suivants :

  1. les projets d'immobilisations visant la remise en état des réseaux de traitement et de distribution de l'eau, ainsi que la collecte, le transport et le traitement des eaux usées et des eaux pluviales;
  2. la séparation d'égouts unitaires et/ou le contrôle des débordements d'égouts unitaires;
  3. les initiatives qui soutiennent l'optimisation des systèmes et l'amélioration de la gestion des biens, notamment les études et les projets pilotes liés aux technologies transformatrices et innovatrices;
  4. les travaux de conception et de planification pour la mise à niveau d'infrastructures de traitement des eaux usées requis pour satisfaire aux exigences réglementaires fédérales;
  5. les nouveaux projets de construction, y compris la construction de systèmes naturalisés pour la gestion et le traitement des eaux usées et des eaux pluviales, si ces projets peuvent être réalisés pendant la durée prévue du programme et sous réserve de certains assouplissements accordés par le ministre au cas par cas. Tous les fonds non dépensés reviendraient au gouvernement fédéral.
Annexe B – Bénéficiaires admissibles

Le FEPTEU sera géré en grande partie dans le cadre d'ententes de financement conclues entre le Canada et chaque province et territoire, qui seront responsables de l'administration des programmes et qui pourront distribuer des fonds à des bénéficiaires admissibles pour des projets admissibles. À la demande des provinces et des territoires et à la discrétion du Canada, ou pour avoir la possibilité d'injecter rapidement les fonds dans l'économie, le Canada pourrait conclure des ententes avec les bénéficiaires admissibles suivants :

  1. les organisations désignées par une province ou par un territoire, avec l'approbation du Canada;
  2. les administrations municipales ou régionales établies en vertu d'une loi provinciale ou territoriale;
  3. d'autres entités offrant des services liées à l'eau et aux eaux usées à des collectivités, et désignées par les provinces et les territoires.

Les projets d'infrastructure mis en œuvre dans des provinces et situés en partie ou en entier dans des réserves, sur des terres de la Couronne, ou sur des terres réservées par la Couronne en vue de devenir des réserves, pourraient être examinés en vue d'un financement du FEPTEU, pour autant que le promoteur démontre que le projet correspond aux objectifs du programme de financement et que ses avantages vont au-delà de la communauté située dans la réserve. Dans le budget de 2016, on a établi une affectation distincte de fonds pour les infrastructures vertes dans les réserves des Premières Nations. Ces fonds seront administrés par AANC aux termes du Fonds d'infrastructure pour les Premières nations et du Programme d'approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées des Premières Nations.

Annexe C – Coûts admissibles et non admissibles

Coûts admissibles :

Dans le cadre du FEPTEU, les infrastructures sont définies comme étant des immobilisations corporelles publiques ou privées situées au Canada et destinées principalement à l'usage ou au profit du public, ainsi que les études de planification ou de faisabilité visant la résolution des problèmes liés aux infrastructures ou la diligence raisonnable.

Les coûts admissibles sont ceux qui sont considérés comme des coûts directs et nécessaires à la mise en œuvre réussie d'un projet admissible, à l'exception des coûts qui sont clairement définis comme étant des coûts non admissibles. Les coûts des consultations des Autochtones, et le cas échéant, les coûts des locaux seront considérés comme des coûts admissibles.

Les coûts admissibles peuvent être engagés à compter du 1er avril 2016, mais pourront uniquement être remboursés par INFC après la signature d'une entente de financement entre INFC et le bénéficiaire, et sous réserve du respect des conditions décrites à la section 13 – Modalités de paiement.

Une fois que les ententes de financement fédéral-provincial/territorial auront été signées, les provinces et les territoires pourront utiliser jusqu'à 1 % des fonds reçus aux termes de chaque programme pour couvrir les coûts d'administration.

Coûts non admissibles :

Les coûts non admissibles dans le cadre du FEPTEU comprennent les suivants :

  1. Les coûts engagés avant le 1er avril 2016;
  2. Les coûts engagés après le 31 mars 2018, et le 31 mars 2019 pour les projets dans les territoires. Le ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités pourrait offrir une certaine souplesse en ce qui concerne la date d'échéance relative aux coûts admissibles engagés, si le besoin est démontré;
  3. Les coûts engagés pour des projets annulés;
  4. L'acquisition de terrains; la location de terrains, d'immeubles ou d'autres installations; la location d'équipement n'étant pas lié directement à la construction des infrastructures, les frais immobiliers et les coûts connexes;
  5. Le coût de financement, les frais juridiques et les versements d'intérêts sur les prêts (y compris ceux qui sont liés à des servitudes, telles que l'arpentage);
  6. Les coûts pour les biens et services reçus en dons ou en nature;
  7. Les taxes provinciales et la taxe sur les produits et services, pour lesquelles le bénéficiaire final est admissible à un crédit, et tous les autres frais visés par des crédits;
  8. Les coûts associés aux dépenses de fonctionnement et aux travaux de maintenance périodiques.
Date de modification :