Infrastructure Canada and the Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative

Federal Board Members

  • Sevaun Palvetzian (December 2016-November 2019)
  • Janet Rieksts-Alderman (December 2016-November 2019)
  • Mazyar Mortazavi (January 2017-December 2019)
  • Jeanhy Shim (June 2017-June 2020)

The Minister of Infrastructure and Communities is responsible for federal matters relating to the Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative.

The Initiative is revitalizing the Toronto waterfront through investments in both traditional city-building infrastructure, such as local transportation and sewers, and more contemporary urban development, including parks, green spaces, recreation facilities and the redevelopment of underutilized post-industrial areas.

These investments are expected to result in social and economic benefits for the Toronto region as well as contribute to Canada's continued success in the global economy.

Federal funding has been allocated primarily towards:

  • Planning, design, and construction of parks, green spaces, and other public spaces;
  • Investments in urban infrastructure, strategic land acquisitions, and recreational facilities.

Photos and renderings of the Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Initiative projects

Waterfront Toronto

Waterfront Toronto has a 25-year mandate and $30-billion long-term plan to transform 800 hectares of brownfield lands on Toronto's waterfront into beautiful, accessible and sustainable mixed-use communities and dynamic public spaces – one of the largest infrastructure projects in North America.

Waterfront Toronto (formerly Toronto Waterfront Revitalization Corporation) was established in 2001 as a not-for-profit corporation following the commitment of $500 million each by the Government of Canada, the Province of Ontario, and the City of Toronto toward the Initiative. All three levels of government are represented on its board of Directors and the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities is responsible for appointing federal members.

On October 17, 2017, the governments of Canada and Ontario and the City of Toronto announced infrastructure funding for the $1.25 billion Port Lands Flood Protection and Enabling Infrastructure project. This project will provide critical flood protection to southeastern portions of downtown Toronto, transforming the area from underutilized, industrialized lands into public and green space. The work will also see upgrades made to critical infrastructure including roads, bridges, and water systems. More information on this transformative project can be found at www.portlandsto.ca.

This builds on the announcement on September 14, 2016, for the Cherry Street Stormwater and Lakefilling project, funded through the Clean Water and Wastewater Fund. This stand-alone project is advancing independently within the broader initiative, and will improve storm water conveyance, stabilize the shoreline under flood conditions and enhance aquatic habitat.

Follow Waterfront Toronto on social media:


Canada's Sugar Beach

Canada's Sugar Beach

Sherbourne Common

Sherbourne Common

Simcoe Wave Deck

Simcoe Wave Deck

Corktown Common

Corktown Common

Date modified:

Infrastructure Canada et l'Initiative de revitalisation du secteur riverain de Toronto

Membres fédéraux du conseil d'administrationFootnote1

  • Sevaun Palvetzian (décembre 2016-novembre 2019)
  • Janet Rieksts-Alderman (décembre 2016-novembre 2019)
  • Mazyar Mortazavi (janvier 2017-décembre 2019)
  • Jeanhy Shim (juin 2017-juin 2020)

Le ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités est responsable des questions fédérales relatives à l'Initiative de revitalisation du secteur riverain de Toronto.

L'Initiative vise à redynamiser le secteur riverain de Toronto par le biais d'investissements tant dans les infrastructures urbaines traditionnelles, telles que le transport local et les égouts, que dans des infrastructures plus contemporaines, ce qui comprend des parcs, des espaces verts, des installations touristiques et la revitalisation des secteurs postindustriels sous-utilisés.

Ces investissements devraient entraîner des avantages socioéconomiques dans la région de Toronto, tout en contribuant au succès continu du Canada dans l'économie internationale.

Le financement fédéral a été principalement affecté aux éléments suivants :

  • La planification, la conception et la construction de parcs, d'espaces verts et d'autres espaces publics;
  • Les investissements dans les infrastructures publiques, l'acquisition de terrains stratégiques et les installations récréatives.

Photos et concepts des projets de l'Initiative de revitalisation du secteur riverain de TorontoFootnote1

Waterfront Toronto

On a confié à Waterfront TorontoFootnote1 un mandat de 25 ans, et la société a établi un plan à long terme de 30 milliards de dollars visant la transformation de 800 hectares de terrains contaminés, dans le secteur riverain de TorontoFootnote1, en magnifiques collectivités accessibles, durables et polyvalentes, ainsi qu'en espaces publics dynamiques. Il s'agit de l'un des projets d'infrastructure les plus importants en Amérique du Nord.

Waterfront Toronto (une société anciennement connue sous le nom la Société de revitalisation du secteur riverain de Toronto) a été établie en 2001 à titre de société sans but lucratif à la suite de l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada, de la province de l'Ontario et de la Ville de Toronto à verser 500 millions de dollars chacun dans le cadre de l'Initiative. Les trois ordres de gouvernement sont représentés au conseil d'administration de la société, et le ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités est responsable de la nomination des membres fédéraux.

Le 17 octobre 2017, les gouvernements du Canada et de l’Ontario ainsi que la Ville de Toronto ont annoncé l’octroi d’un financement d’infrastructure de 1,25 milliard de dollars pour le projet de protection des terrains portuaires contre les inondations et d’infrastructures habilitantes. Ce projet fournira une protection essentielle contre les inondations dans les secteurs du sud‑est du centre-ville de Toronto, en transformant les terrains sous-utilisés et industrialisés en espaces publics et verts. Les travaux comprennent aussi des améliorations aux infrastructures essentielles telles que les routes, les ponts et les réseaux d’aqueduc. De plus amples renseignements sur ce projet de transformation sont disponibles au www.portlandsto.ca.

Ceci fait suite à l’annonce du 14 septembre 2016 concernant le projet visant les eaux pluviales et le remblayage du lac sur la rue Cherry, financé dans le cadre du Fonds pour l’eau potable et le traitement des eaux usées. Ce projet distinct, qui est mis en œuvre indépendamment de la vaste initiative, améliorera l’acheminement des eaux pluviales, stabilisera le rivage en cas d’inondation et améliorera l’habitat aquatique.

Suivez Waterfront Toronto dans les médias sociaux :


Plage Sugar du Canada

Plage Sugar du Canada

Sherbourne Common

Sherbourne Common

Simcoe Wave Deck

Simcoe Wave Deck

Corktown Common

Corktown Common


Remarques

Remarque 1

Disponible en anglais seulement.

Date de modification :