Tourism

As COVID-19 continues to have an unprecedented impact, the Government of Canada is taking strong action to help all Canadians, including rural Canadians, no matter where they live.

Tourism is a growing industry with high potential that is already supporting 1.8 million jobs. In fact, 56 percent of tourism jobs are in rural areas.

Rural enterprises have built-in advantages based on their locations and natural attributes, and there is a growing interest in developing new opportunities in eco-tourism, food-based tourism, and authentic Indigenous experiences.

Creating Middle Class Jobs: A Federal Tourism Growth Strategy

Creating Middle Class Jobs: A Federal Tourism Growth Strategy is a new federal strategy that will unleash the potential of tourism to drive economic growth and job creation in all regions of the country. All communities have something to offer and can be tourism destinations in their own right. The Strategy offers an innovative approach to government-industry collaboration, new funding for product development and a new way of investing in tourism.

Visit Creating Middle Class Jobs: A Federal Tourism Growth Strategy for more information on the Strategy and its progress.

Destination Canada

Destination Canada, a Crown corporation of the Government of Canada, produces research and provides marketing support for rural tourism. For example, the Canadian Signature Experiences program highlights some of the country's most innovative products for international and domestic visitors. Currently, over 200 Canadian Signature Experiences are being featured, many of them in rural communities.

Visit Destination Canada for more information on the program and its progress.

Tourism Investment Groups

The Government is supporting the Tourism Investment Groups to encourage investment in rural tourism. These activities will serve to grow and diversify rural economies in practical ways that build on local attributes and opportunities.

Visit Tourism Investment Groups for more information on the program and its progress.

Tourisme

Alors que la COVID-19 continue d'avoir un impact sans précédent, le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures énergiques pour aider tous les Canadiens, y compris les Canadiens des régions rurales, quel que soit l'endroit où ils vivent.

Le tourisme, qui est une industrie en pleine croissance et à fort potentiel, soutient déjà 1,8 million d'emplois. En fait, 56 % des emplois touristiques se trouvent dans les régions rurales.

Les entreprises rurales jouissent d'avantages intrinsèques, compte tenu de leur environnement et de leurs attraits naturels. La création de nouvelles possibilités d'affaires dans l'écotourisme, le tourisme basé sur l'alimentation et les expériences authentiques en milieu autochtone suscitent également un intérêt croissant.

Créer des emplois pour la classe moyenne : Une stratégie fédérale pour la croissance du tourisme

Créer des emplois pour la classe moyenne : Une stratégie fédérale pour la croissance du tourisme est la nouvelle stratégie fédéralequi permettra de libérer le potentiel du tourisme afin de stimuler la croissance économique et la création d'emplois dans toutes les régions du pays. Toutes les collectivités ont quelque chose à offrir et peuvent être des destinations touristiques à part entière. La stratégie propose une approche innovante de la collaboration entre le gouvernement et l'industrie, de nouveaux financements pour le développement de produits et une nouvelle façon d'investir dans le tourisme.

Visitez le site Créer des emplois pour la classe moyenne : Une stratégie fédérale pour la croissance du tourisme pour en savoir plus sur la stratégie et sa mise en œuvre.

Destination Canada

Destination Canada, une société d'État du gouvernement du Canada, produit des recherches et fournit un soutien marketing pour le tourisme rural. Par exemple, le programme des expériences canadiennes distinctives met en valeur certains des produits les plus innovants du pays pour les visiteurs internationaux et nationaux. À l'heure actuelle, on met en valeur plus de 200 expériences canadiennes distinctives, dont un grand nombre sont offertes dans des collectivités rurales.

Visitez le site de Destination Canada pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Groupes d'investissement en matière de tourisme

Le gouvernement soutient les Groupes d'investissement en matière de tourisme afin d'encourager les investissements dans le tourisme rural. Ces activités serviront à développer et à diversifier les économies rurales de manière pratique en s'appuyant sur les caractéristiques et les possibilités locales.

Visitez le site des Groupes d'investissement en matière de tourisme pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.