Infrastructure

As COVID-19 continues to have an unprecedented impact, the Government of Canada is taking strong action to help all Canadians, including rural Canadians, no matter where they live.

Strong and modern infrastructure is an essential building block for Canada's competitiveness and the long-term prosperity of Canadians, whether they live in large cities or small communities.

The Investing in Canada plan

The Government of Canada is providing significant investments in infrastructure through the Investing in Canada plan's Rural and Northern Communities' Infrastructure stream and initiatives such as the National Trade Corridors Fund.

These investments are, on average, creating 100,000 jobs each year for Canadians, attracting talent and investment, supporting innovation, addressing climate change and its impacts, and increasing opportunities for all Canadians while strengthening communities across the country.

The Investing in Canada plan is investing over $180 billion in funding across the country, in five priority areas:

  • Rural and northern communities' infrastructure;
  • Public transit infrastructure;
  • Green infrastructure;
  • Social infrastructure; and
  • Trade and transportation infrastructure.

In recognition of rural financial constraints, the Rural and Northern Communities Infrastructure stream provides very favourable cost-share provisions for small communities. Where the province provides 33%, and the federal government provides 50%, municipalities will only have to provide 17% of eligible costs. If the municipality is under 5000, the federal share can go up to 60% and the municipality would only have to cover 7% of eligible costs.

As with all streams, Indigenous recipients can access additional funding from any applicable federal source to a maximum federal contribution of 100% from all sources.

Visit Investing in Canada plan for more information on the program and its progress.

Municipal Asset Management Program (MAMP)

Delivered by the Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM), the Municipal Asset Management Program (MAMP) is an eight year, $110 million program that will help Canadian municipalities including rural communities make informed infrastructure investment decisions based on sound asset management practices. The MAMP was launched in February 2017 and is scheduled to end in 2024-2025.

Visit Municipal Asset Management Program for more information on the program and its progress.

Infrastructure

Alors que la COVID-19 continue d'avoir un impact sans précédent, le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures énergiques pour aider tous les Canadiens, y compris les Canadiens des régions rurales, quel que soit l'endroit où ils vivent.

Une infrastructure solide et moderne constitue une composante essentielle de la compétitivité du Canada et de la prospérité à long terme des Canadiens, qu'ils habitent dans les grandes villes ou dans les petites collectivités.

Plan Investir dans le Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada investit des sommes importantes dans l'infrastructure au moyen du volet Infrastructures des collectivités rurales et nordiques du plan Investir dans le Canada et d'initiatives comme le Fonds national des corridors commerciaux.

En moyenne, ces investissements créent chaque année 100 000 emplois pour les Canadiens, attirent des talents et des investissements, appuient l'innovation, s'attaquent aux changements climatiques et à leurs répercussions, et augmentent les possibilités pour tous les Canadiens, tout en renforçant les collectivités partout au pays.

Par le biais du plan Investir dans le Canada, plus de 180 milliards de dollars sont investis au Canada dans les cinq domaines suivants :

  • les infrastructures des collectivités rurales et nordiques;
  • les infrastructures de transport public;
  • les infrastructures vertes;
  • les infrastructures sociales;
  • les infrastructures de commerce et de transport.

Compte tenu des contraintes financières des régions rurales, le volet Infrastructure des collectivités rurales et nordiques prévoit des dispositions de partage des coûts très favorables pour les petites collectivités. Si la province fournit 33 % et le gouvernement fédéral 50 %, les municipalités ne devront fournir que 17 % des coûts admissibles. Si la population de la municipalité est inférieure à 5 000 habitants, la part fédérale peut atteindre jusqu'à 60 % et la municipalité ne devra couvrir que 7 % des coûts admissibles.

Comme pour tous les volets, les bénéficiaires autochtones peuvent obtenir un financement supplémentaire provenant des sources fédérales applicables, jusqu'à concurrence d'une contribution fédérale maximale de 100 % pour toutes les sources.

Visitez le site du plan Investir dans le Canada pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Programme de gestion des actifs municipaux (PGAM)

Le Programme de gestion des actifs municipaux mis en œuvre par la Fédération canadienne des municipalités (FCM), est un programme de 110 millions de dollars sur huit ans qui aidera les municipalités canadiennes, y compris les collectivités rurales, à prendre des décisions éclairées en matière d'investissements dans les infrastructures, en se fondant sur des pratiques saines de gestion des actifs. Ce programme été lancé en février 2017 et devrait prendre fin en 2024-2025.

Visitez le site du Programme de gestion des actifs municipaux pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.