Housing

As COVID-19 continues to have an unprecedented impact, the Government of Canada is taking strong action to help all Canadians, including rural Canadians, no matter where they live.

Regardless of where you live, access to affordable and attainable housing is important. While rural Canadians are more likely to own their own home (78 percent rural ownership compared to 68 percent nationally), there remains a housing access and affordability challenge in rural Canada.

There is often limited rental housing in rural areas, which restricts housing options for seasonal workers and newcomers. Twenty-four percent of rural Canadians, twice the national average, are not able to find the quality, affordable rental housing that they need, which underlines the need for significant improvement.

Rural housing markets also tend to be less dynamic than urban ones, with fewer incentives for developers, leaving them more vulnerable to economic instability.

National Housing Strategy

The Government of Canada has launched a first-ever National Housing Strategy, which is a $55-billion plan to improve housing affordability for Canadians. The National Housing Strategy aims to reduce or eliminate housing needs for at least 530,000 households, create 125,000 new affordable housing units, repair and renew more than 300,000 affordable units, reduceby 50 percent the number of chronically homeless shelter users, and ultimately change the face of housing in Canada.

The focus of the National Housing Strategy is to address the housing security needs of Canadians, including rural Canadians, with an emphasis on the most vulnerable populations such as seniors, Indigenous Peoples, or women and children fleeing domestic violence.

Visit National Housing Strategy for more information on the program and its progress.

National Housing Co-Investment Fund

The flagship initiative delivered by CMHC, the National Housing Co-Investment Fund (NHCF) provides low-cost loans and contributions to help build and renew affordable housing that meets the needs of Canadians. The NHCF addresses the smaller communities by offering flexibility to address the unique challenges faced by rural housing providers andcovers a broad range of housing needs, from shelters to affordable homeownership. It prioritizes projects that support partnerships between governments, non-profits, private sector, and others to make federal investments go further.

Visit National Housing Co-Investment Fund for more information on the program and its progress.

Rental Construction Financing Initiative

The Rental Construction Financing Initiative, provides low-cost loans to encourage the construction of rental housing across Canada and the First Time Home Buyer Incentive helps first-time home buyers no matter where they live.

Visit Rental Construction Financing Initiative for more information on the program and its progress.

Housing Supply Challenge

An innovative housing initiative also accessible to rural communities is the $300-million Housing Supply Challenge. This initiative will seek innovative ideas that will break down barriers to creating or renewing housing – ones that could address housing concerns raised by rural Canadians. The Housing Supply Challenge will invite municipalities and other stakeholder groups across Canada to propose new approaches to meet local needs, and provide the resources to develop new solutions to enhance housing supply and provide a platform to share these models with communities across Canada.

Visit Housing Supply Challenge for more information on the program and its progress.

Logement

Alors que la COVID-19 continue d'avoir un impact sans précédent, le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures énergiques pour aider tous les Canadiens, y compris les Canadiens des régions rurales, quel que soit l'endroit où ils vivent.

Peu importe votre lieu de résidence, l'accès à un logement abordable et accessible est important. Bien que les Canadiens des régions rurales soient plus susceptibles de posséder leur propre maison (78 % des propriétaires ruraux contre 68 % à l'échelle nationale), l'accès au logement et son prix restent un problème dans les régions rurales du Canada.

Le nombre de logements locatifs est souvent limité dans les régions rurales, ce qui limite les possibilités de logement pour les travailleurs saisonniers et les nouveaux arrivants. Vingt-quatre pour cent des Canadiens vivant en milieu rural, soit le double de la moyenne nationale, ne parviennent pas à trouver un logement locatif de qualité et abordable, ce qui montre qu'il est nécessaire d'apporter des améliorations importantes.

Le marché du logement dans les régions rurales a également tendance à être moins dynamique que celui des villes, les promoteurs étant moins motivés, ce qui les rend plus vulnérables à l'instabilité économique.

Stratégie nationale sur le logement

Le gouvernement du Canada a lancé la toute première Stratégie nationale sur le logement, un plan de 55 milliards de dollars visant à améliorer l'accessibilité au logement pour les Canadiens. La Stratégie nationale sur le logement vise à réduire les besoins en logement de 530 000 familles, à créer 125 000 nouveaux logements abordables, à réparer et à rénover plus de 300 000 logements abordables, à réduire de 50 % le nombre de sans-abri chroniques et, enfin, à changer le visage du logement au Canada.

La Stratégie nationale sur le logement vise également à répondre aux besoins de sécurité du logement des Canadiens, y compris des Canadiens des régions rurales, en mettant l'accent sur les populations les plus vulnérables, notamment les personnes âgées, les peuples autochtones ou les femmes et les enfants fuyant la violence familiale.

Visitez le site de la Stratégie nationale sur le logement pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Fonds national de co-investissement pour le logement

Le Fonds national de co-investissement pour le logement, un programme bien connu, comporte des dispositions qui font la promotion de la participation dans les petites collectivités et de la souplesse requise pour permettre aux fournisseurs de logements dans les régions rurales de relever les défis particuliers à leur région. Le Fonds couvre une vaste gamme de besoins en logement, des refuges aux propriétés abordables. Il vise en priorité les projets qui soutiennent les partenariats entre les gouvernements, les organismes sans but lucratif, le secteur privé et les autres intervenants, afin de rendre les investissements fédéraux encore plus efficaces.

Visitez le site du Fonds national de co-investissement pour le logement pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Initiative Financement de la construction de logements locatifs

L'initiative Financement de la construction de logements locatifs offre des prêts à faible coût pour encourager la construction de logements locatifs dans toutes les régions du Canada, et l'Incitatif à l'achat d'une première propriété aide les personnes qui achètent une première propriété, quel que soit leur lieu de résidence.

Visitez le site de l'Initiative Financement de la construction de logements locatifs pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Le défi d'offre de logement

Le Défi d'offre de logement, doté d'un budget de 300 millions de dollars, est une initiative novatrice en matière de logement, également accessible aux collectivités rurales. Cette initiative vise à trouver des idées novatrices qui permettront d'éliminer les obstacles à la création ou à la rénovation de logements, idées qui pourraient répondre aux préoccupations des Canadiens des régions rurales en matière de logement. Le Défi d'offre de logement invitera les municipalités et d'autres groupes d'intervenants du Canada à proposer de nouvelles approches pour répondre aux besoins locaux et à fournir les ressources nécessaires afin de trouver de nouvelles solutions pour améliorer l'offre de logements et offrir une plateforme visant à partager ces modèles avec les collectivités du Canada.

Visitez le site du Défi d'offre de logement pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.