Economic Development

As COVID-19 continues to have an unprecedented impact, the Government of Canada is taking strong action to help all Canadians, including rural Canadians, no matter where they live.

Rural communities are crucial to the economic success of Canada, contributing 30 percent of the country's GDP. Sectors like mining, forestry, agriculture, fisheries, energy resource extraction, and electricity production are key contributors to the economies of rural communities. The rich natural resources and abundant agriculture sectors of rural communities have a long history as the foundation of the Canadian economy. These industries also support manufacturing, transportation, and tourism, and are increasingly investing in innovation and clean technologies.

Through various programs, the Government of Canada is supporting regional economies, businesses and organizations in rural communities.

The Regional Relief and Recovery Fund

Launched in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the $1 billion Regional Relief and Recovery Fund will help mitigate the financial pressure experienced by businesses and organizations to allow them to continue their operations, including paying their employees; and support projects by businesses, organizations and communities to prepare now for a successful recovery.

This initiative includes two components:

  • $675 million to support regional economies, businesses, organizations and communities in regions all across Canada;
  • $287 million to support the national network of Community Futures Development Corporations, which will specifically target small businesses and rural communities across the country.

This initiative is being implemented by Canada's six regional development agencies, which are familiar with their regions' economic realities and are often the first point of contact for people at the local level.

Visit Regional Relief and Recovery Fund for more information on the program and its progress.

Regional Economic Growth through Innovation

The Regional Economic Growth through Innovation program provides funding and tailored support in communities across Canada to help create the right environment to start and grow businesses, and create strong and dynamic local economies.

The Regional Economic Growth through Innovation program provides funding and tailored support in communities across Canada to help create the right environment to start and grow businesses, and create strong and dynamic local economies.

Visit Regional Economic Growth through Innovation program for more information on the program and its progress.

The Community Futures Program

The Community Futures Program funds 267 local community development offices across Canada that provide small business services to people living in rural communities. Each office delivers small business loans, tools, training and events for people wanting to start, expand, franchise or sell a business.

Visit Community Futures Program for more information on the program and its progress.

Strategic Partnerships Initiative

The Strategic Partnerships Initiative promotes partnerships between federal and non-federal groups in key economic areas in support of Indigenous communities. By supporting opportunities that may not be eligible for other federal funding, this initiative provides a way for federal partners to coordinate their efforts to fills gaps that might create a barrier to Indigenous involvement in economic opportunities.

This initiative is led by Indigenous Services Canada (ISC) and shared by a growing network of federal partners.

Visit Strategic Partnerships Initiative for more information on the program and its progress.

Support for Fish and Seafood Industry

Canada's fish and seafood sector is essential to the economies of coastal rural communities, and Canada's collective food security and economy.

The Department of Fisheries and Oceans has several funding programs and initiatives like the new Canadian Seafood Stabilization Fund to help the fish and seafood processing sector.

Support for this industry is also available for through Canada's fisheries funds, with programs such as the Atlantic Fisheries Fund and the Canadian Fish and Seafood Opportunities Fund.

Visit Department of Fisheries and Oceans for more information on these programs and their progress.

Trade Commissioner Service

Global Affairs Canada's Trade Commissioner Service works with small- and medium-sized enterprises, including those in rural areas, to identify and respond to market opportunities around the world, which is fostering a globally competitive rural business community.

Programs like CanExport SMEs provides funding up to $75,000 and personalized advice to help Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) break into new international markets.

Visit Trade Commissioner Service for more information on these programs and their progress.

Community Futures Pan West Network

Community Futures Pan West provides support to the network of 90 Community Futures organizations in British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba.  It supports and strengthens the efforts of Community Futures in the west by developing common approaches and initiatives, such as common marketing and training.  It also administers a three-year pilot project, the Rural Opportunities Fund. The Fund supports community economic development projects led by CFs that build resilient communities by:

  • attracting new immigrants and youth
  • supporting Indigenous businesses to thrive in their respective communities
  • facilitating the transition of rural business ownership to young entrepreneurs

In 2020, the Rural Opportunities Fund also provided funding for Community Futures to develop and implement local solutions to local community challenges related to COVID-19.

Visit Community Futures Pan West for more information on the program and its progress.

Women's Enterprise Initiative (WEI)

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) established the Women's Enterprise Initiative (WEI) to help women entrepreneurs start, scale up and grow their businesses. There is a Women's Enterprise Initiative organization in each of the 4 western provinces. These non-profit organizations provide a variety of unique products for women entrepreneurs, including:

  • loans
  • training
  • networking opportunities
  • business advisory services
  • referrals to complementary services

The WEI organizations help women entrepreneurs to take their businesses to the next level! Contact the WEI organization in your province.

Visit Women's Enterprise Initiative for more information on the program and its progress.

Francophone Economic Development Organizations (FEDO) & Economic Development Initiative (EDI)

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) established the Francophone Economic Development Organizations (FEDOs) to enhance the vitality of Official Language Minority Communities (OLMCs) and support in their economic development. FEDOs provide a wide range of services to Francophone businesses and communities, including:

  • training
  • mentoring
  • networking
  • marketing advice
  • business and community economic development

The Economic Development Initiative (EDI) provides financial support to community economic development projects that encourage economic diversification, business development, innovation, partnerships and increased support for small- and medium-sized enterprises in OLMCs. This program is being delivered as a pilot project through the FEDO.

Visit Francophone Economic Development Organizations for more information on the program and its progress.

Entrepreneurs with Disabilities (EDP) Program

Western Canadians who have a disability can access a network of business professionals and a world of resources through Western Economic Diversification Canada's Entrepreneurs with Disabilities Program (EDP). The EDP provides:

  • mentoring
  • business information
  • training and development
  • one-on-one counseling services

Visit Entrepreneurs with Disabilities Program for more information on the program and its progress.

Indigenous Business Development Services (IBDS)

The Indigenous Business Development Services (IBDS) provides early stage entrepreneurship support for new and existing Indigenous entrepreneurs and networks. It engages with Indigenous communities and other business development organizations to promote collaboration and sharing of best practices and services.

Visit Indigenous Business Development Services for more information on the program and its progress.

Small Business Services Canada (SBS Canada)/ formerly CBN's

Small Business Services Canada is the one-stop shop for starting and growing your small business. Four centres across Western Canada provide immediate, accurate and up-to-date information, advisory services and training to entrepreneurs:

  • The Business InfoCentre in Manitoba
  • Square One: Saskatchewan's Business Resource Centre in Saskatchewan
  • The Business Link in Alberta
  • Small Business BC in British Columbia

Visit Small Business Services Canada for more information on the program and its progress.

Développement économique

Alors que la COVID-19 continue d'avoir un impact sans précédent, le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures énergiques pour aider tous les Canadiens, y compris les Canadiens des régions rurales, quel que soit l'endroit où ils vivent.

Les collectivités rurales sont essentielles à la réussite économique du Canada, puisqu'elles fournissent 30 % du PIB du pays. Des secteurs tels que l'exploitation minière, la sylviculture, l'agriculture, la pêche, l'extraction des ressources énergétiques et la production d'électricité sont les principaux contributeurs à l'économie des collectivités rurales. La richesse des ressources naturelles et l'abondance du secteur agricole des collectivités rurales constituent depuis longtemps le fondement de l'économie canadienne. Ces industries soutiennent également l'industrie manufacturière, les transports et le tourisme, et investissent de plus en plus dans l'innovation et les technologies propres.

Grâce à divers programmes, le gouvernement du Canada soutient les économies régionales, les entreprises et les organisations des collectivités rurales.

Fonds d'aide et de relance régionale

Lancé en réponse à la pandémie de COVID-19, le Fonds d'aide et de relance régionale d'un milliard de dollars contribuera à atténuer la pression financière subie par les entreprises et les organisations pour leur permettre de poursuivre leurs activités, y compris la rémunération de leurs employés, et à soutenir les projets des entreprises, des organisations et des collectivités pour leur permettre de se préparer dès maintenant à une relance réussie.

L'initiative comprend deux volets :

  • 675 millions de dollars pour soutenir les économies régionales, les entreprises, les organisations et les collectivités dans toutes les régions du Canada;
  • 287 millions de dollars pour soutenir le réseau national des Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités, qui ciblera en particulier les petites entreprises et les collectivités rurales de tout le pays.

Cette initiative est mise en œuvre par les six organismes de développement régional du Canada, qui connaissent bien les réalités économiques de leurs régions et sont souvent le premier point de contact pour les gens à l'échelle locale.

Visitez le site du Fonds d'aide et de relance régionale pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Croissance économique régionale par l'innovation

Le programme Croissance économique régionale par l'innovation offre du financement et un soutien personnalisé dans les collectivités de tout le Canada afin de les aider à créer un environnement propice au démarrage et à la croissance des entreprises, et à créer des économies locales fortes et dynamiques.

Visitez le site du programme Croissance économique régionale par l'innovation pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Le Programme de développement des collectivités

Le Programme de développement des collectivités finance 267 bureaux locaux de développement des collectivités dans tout le Canada qui fournissent des services aux petites entreprises des collectivités rurales. Chaque bureau propose des prêts aux petites entreprises, des outils, des formations et des événements pour les personnes souhaitant créer, développer, franchiser ou vendre une entreprise.

Visitez le site du Programme de développement des collectivités pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques

L'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques encourage les partenariats entre les groupes fédéraux et non fédéraux dans des domaines économiques clés afin de soutenir les communautés autochtones. En soutenant des possibilités qui peuvent ne pas être admissibles à d'autres financements fédéraux, cette initiative permet aux partenaires fédéraux de coordonner leurs efforts pour combler les lacunes qui pourraient créer un obstacle à la participation des autochtones aux débouchés économiques.

Cette initiative est dirigée par Services aux Autochtones Canada (SAC) et partagée par un réseau croissant de partenaires fédéraux.

Visitez le site de l'Initiative sur les partenariats stratégiques pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Soutien à l'industrie de la pêche et des produits de la mer

Le secteur canadien du poisson et des produits de la mer est essentiel à l'économie des collectivités rurales côtières, ainsi qu'à la sécurité alimentaire et à l'économie collective du Canada.

Le ministère des Pêches et des Océans dispose de plusieurs programmes et initiatives de financement, comme le nouveau Fonds canadien de stabilisation des produits de la mer, pour aider le secteur de la transformation du poisson et des fruits de mer.

Cette industrie peut également bénéficier d'un soutien des fonds canadiens pour les pêches, avec des programmes tels que le Fonds des pêches de l'Atlantique et le Fonds canadien d'initiatives en matière de poissons et de fruits de mer.

Visitez le site du ministère des Pêches et des Océans pour en savoir plus sur ces programmes et leur mise en œuvre.

Service des délégués commerciaux

Le Service des délégués commerciaux d'Affaires mondiales Canada travaille avec les petites et moyennes entreprises, y compris celles des régions rurales, afin d'identifier les possibilités de marché dans le monde et d'y répondre, ce qui favorise l'émergence d'un milieu d'affaires rural compétitif à l'échelle mondiale.

Des programmes comme CanExport PME offrent un financement pouvant atteindre 75 000 $ et des conseils personnalisés pour aider les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) canadiennes à percer sur de nouveaux marchés internationaux.

Visitez le site du Service des délégués commerciaux pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Community Futures Pan West Network

Community Futures Pan West apporte son soutien au réseau de 90 organisations de développement des collectivités en Colombie-Britannique, en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba. Le réseau soutient et renforce les efforts des Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités dans l'Ouest en développant des approches et des initiatives communes, telles que le marketing et la formation communs. Il administre également un projet pilote de trois ans, le Fonds des possibilités rurales. Le Fonds soutient les projets de développement économique communautaire dirigés par les SADC qui renforcent la résilience des collectivités en faisant ce qui suit :

  • attirer les nouveaux immigrants et les jeunes
  • soutenir les entreprises autochtones pour qu'elles prospèrent dans leurs communautés respectives
  • faciliter la transition de la propriété des entreprises rurales aux jeunes entrepreneurs.

En 2020, le Fonds des possibilités rurales a également fourni un financement aux Sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités afin de développer et de mettre en œuvre des solutions locales aux défis des collectivités locales liés à la COVID-19.

Visitez le site du Community Futures Pan West Network pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

L'Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs (IFE)

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) a mis sur pied l'Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs (IFE) afin d'aider les femmes entrepreneurs à démarrer, à développer et à faire croître leur entreprise. Il existe une organisation de l'Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs dans chacune des quatre provinces de l'Ouest. Ces organismes à but non lucratif offrent une variété de produits uniques aux femmes entrepreneurs, notamment :

  • des prêts;
  • de la formation;
  • des possibilités de réseautage;
  • des services consultatifs aux entreprises;
  • une orientation vers des services complémentaires.

Les organisations de l'IFE aident les femmes entrepreneurs à faire passer leurs entreprises au niveau supérieur! Communiquez avec l'organisme de l'IFE de votre province.

Visitez le site de l'Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Organisations francophones à vocation économique (OFVE) et Initiative de développement économique (IDE)

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) a créé les Organisations francophones à vocation économique (OFVE) pour favoriser l'épanouissement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) et les soutenir dans leur développement économique. Les OFVE offrent une vaste gamme de services aux entreprises et aux collectivités francophones, notamment :

  • formation
  • mentorat
  • réseautage
  • conseils sur le marketing
  • développement des affaires et développement économique communautaire

L'Initiative de développement économique (IDE) offre un soutien financier aux projets de développement économique communautaire qui favorisent la diversification économique, le développement des entreprises, l'innovation, les partenariats et un soutien accru aux petites et moyennes entreprises des CLOSM. Ce programme est offert à titre de projet pilote par l'entremise des OFVE.

Visitez le site des Organisations francophones à vocation économique pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Programme d'aide aux entrepreneurs ayant une incapacité (PAEI)

Les Canadiens de l'Ouest qui ont une incapacité peuvent accéder à un réseau de professionnels des affaires et à un monde de ressources grâce au Programme d'aide aux entrepreneurs ayant une incapacité (PAEI) de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada. Le PAEI offre :

  • mentorat
  • renseignements commerciaux
  • formation et perfectionnement
  • services consultatifs personnalisés

Visitez le site du Programme d'aide aux entrepreneurs ayant une incapacité pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Services de développement des entreprises autochtones (SDEA)

Les Services de développement des entreprises autochtones (SDEA) offrent un soutien à l'entrepreneuriat en phase de démarrage aux entrepreneurs et aux réseaux autochtones, nouveaux ou existants. Les Services collaborent avec les communautés autochtones et d'autres organisations de développement des entreprises afin de promouvoir la collaboration et le partage des meilleures pratiques et des services.

Visitez le site des Services de développement des entreprises autochtones pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.

Services aux petites entreprises Canada (SBS Canada)/auparavant REC

Services aux petites entreprises Canada est le guichet unique pour le démarrage et la croissance de votre petite entreprise. Quatre centres répartis dans l'Ouest canadien fournissent aux entrepreneurs des informations, des services de conseil et des formations immédiates, précises et actualisées :

  • l'InfoCentre d'affaires au Manitoba
  • Square One : le centre de ressources pour les entreprises en Saskatchewan
  • Liaison Entreprise en Alberta
  • Small Business BC en Colombie-Britannique

Visitez le site des Services aux petites entreprises Canada pour en savoir plus sur le programme et sa mise en œuvre.