Generating economic growth and prosperity – Project Categories

PDF Version

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

What is it?

Project categories have been established to determine where federal funding can be spent. Federal infrastructure investments through the 2014 New Building Canada Plan are focused on projects that contribute to Canada's economic growth and prosperity, while providing a more flexible suite of projects through the Gas Tax Fund component.

Why is it important?

Infrastructure needs vary from coast to coast to coast. In order to respond to different priorities across the country, the federal government is providing provinces, territories, municipalities and other partners (such as the private sector) with a wide range of categories to help them build infrastructure projects that support economic growth, job creation and productivity.

In addition, the renewed federal Gas Tax Fund provides municipalities with more flexibility than ever before to support local infrastructure priorities.

It is up to each province, territory and municipality to prioritize projects that are important in their regions.

The Government of Canada understands that Canada's infrastructure needs vary from region to region; one size does not fit all. Provinces, territories and municipalities are better positioned to prioritize projects in their communities. That is why the Government of Canada is providing flexibility to fund projects that are important in different regions of the country.

How does it work?

While all capital infrastructure categories that were eligible under 2007 Building Canada Plan are eligible under the New Building Canada Plan, there has been realignment. Categories under the Gas Tax Fund have been expanded, while categories under the 2014 New Building Canada Fund have been focused on those that have the greatest economic impact.

Categories under the National Infrastructure Component of the 2014 New Building Canada Fund are limited to those that provide the greatest economic impact:

  • Highways and major roads
  • Public transit
  • Rail infrastructure
  • Local and regional airports
  • Port infrastructure
  • Intelligent transportation systems (ITS)
  • Disaster mitigation infrastructure

Categories under the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component of the 2014 New Building Canada Fund provide flexibility to fund projects that are important in different regions of the country.

The eligible categories under the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component are:

  • Highways and roads
  • Public transit infrastructure
  • Disaster mitigation infrastructure
  • Connectivity and broadband
  • Innovation
  • Wastewater
  • Green energy
  • Drinking water
  • Solid waste management
  • Brownfield redevelopment
  • Local and regional airports
  • Short-line rail infrastructure
  • Short-sea shipping
  • Northern infrastructure (applies to Yukon, Nunavut and Northwest Territories only)
  • Passenger ferries services infrastructure
  • Culture
  • Recreation
  • Tourism
  • Civic assets and municipal buildings

The northern infrastructure category, which allows for a broader range of fixed capital assets for public use or benefit, is applicable for the three territories.

Date modified: