2014 New Building Canada Fund:
National Infrastructure Component

This page has been archived on the Web

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (262.25 KB)

What is it?

The $4-billion National Infrastructure Component (NIC) supports projects of national significance, that have broad public benefits, and that contribute to Canada's long-term economic growth and prosperity. The NIC is a merit-based application-driven program, and as such there are no pre-determined provincial or territorial allocations.

Why is it important?

The Government of Canada remains focused on what matters most to Canadians: job creation, economic growth and long-term prosperity. The NIC provides support for projects of national significance that have a strong impact on Canada's economic well-being, such as transportation and trade corridors.

How does it work?

To be considered nationally significant, projects must support one or more of the following objectives:

  • Generate positive economic activity;
  • Reduce potential economic disruptions or foregone economic activity;
  • Generate productivity gains for the Canadian economy; or,
  • Provide benefits that extend beyond the provinces or territories where the project would be located.

Eligible projects will be limited to those that provide the greatest economic impact under the following seven categories: highways and major roads, public transit, rail infrastructure, local and regional airports, port infrastructure, intelligent transportation systems (ITS), and disaster mitigation infrastructure.

There will be a "soft" threshold for a minimum project size of $100 million in total eligible costs. However, projects with costs below this threshold that can demonstrate national significance could be considered.

Eligible recipients are:

  • A province or territory, or a municipal or regional government established by or under provincial or territorial statute;
  • A band council within the meaning of section 2 of the Indian Act; or a government or authority established pursuant to a Self-Government Agreement or a Comprehensive Land Claim Agreement between Her Majesty the Queen in right of Canada and an Aboriginal people of Canada, that has been approved, given effect and declared valid by federal legislation;
  • A public sector body that is established by or under provincial or territorial statute or by regulation or is wholly owned by a province, territory, municipal or regional government;
  • A private sector body, including for-profit organizations and not-for-profit organizations. In the case of for-profit organizations, they will need to be in partnership with one or more of the entities referred to above; and,
  • A Canada Port Authority, International Bridge and/or Tunnel Authority (unless a federal Crown Corporation) or U.S. federal and state-level transportation authorities.

Federal Cost-Sharing and Stacking

Generally speaking, projects will be federally cost-shared on a one-third basis. The maximum federal contribution is 50 per cent for provincially-owned highways and major roads and disaster mitigation projects, as well as public transit projects. The maximum contribution is 25 per cent for projects with for-profit private sector proponents.

For projects located in the Northwest Territories, Yukon and Nunavut, the federal government will fund up to 75 per cent of total eligible costs. For projects with a for-profit private sector proponent, however, the maximum would be 25 per cent. More information on cost-sharing and stacking.

How to apply?

At this time, Infrastructure Canada is no longer accepting additional applications under the 2014 NBCF –National Infrastructure Component (NIC).

Please note that the Provincial Territorial Infrastructure Component remains an available source of funds for project as part of the New Building Canada Fund until March 31, 2018.

The Government is currently engaging provinces, territories, municipal and Indigenous leaders, as well as global institutional investors and other stakeholders to identify the right mix of infrastructure funding programs to meet Canadians' needs and to position Canada's economy for the future.

Service Standards

See Infrastructure Canada's service standards for the National Infrastructure Component.

Contact Us

For all questions, comments or more information on the New Building Canada Fund — National Infrastructure Component, please contact Infrastructure Canada at:

Email: info@infc.gc.ca
Telephone Infrastructure Canada: 613-948-1148
Toll Free Number: 1-877-250-7154
Mailing Address:
National Infrastructure Component Program
180 Kent Street, Suite 1100
Ottawa, ON  K1P 0B6