$10 Million Prize Category Winner

Winners announcement banner

City of Guelph and Wellington County, Ontario

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"The Smart Cities application is going to be a fantastic opportunity to catalyze entrepreneurial ingenuity in Guelph-Wellington."

– Kithio Mwanzia, President and CEO, Guelph Chamber of Commerce

"Our food future has the potential to be truly transformative. Data and technology can help enable Canadian innovation, but only if we have a clear vision for the future."

– final proposal

Challenge Statement

Guelph/Wellington will become Canada's first technology-enabled Circular Food Economy, reimagining an inclusive food-secure ecosystem that increases access to affordable, nutritious food by 50%, where "waste" becomes a resource, 50 new circular businesses and collaborations are created, and circular economic revenues are increased by 50%: 50x50x50 by 2025.

Summary

Food is a fundamental requirement of life on this planet. However, the basic structure of today's linear "take-make-dispose" food system is unsustainable — economically, socially and environmentally.

Guelph-Wellington aims to become Canada's first circular food economy, bringing our food system and communities back into healthy balance. Through our rural-urban partnership, we will enhance access to nutritious food, turn "waste" into valuable resources and create new economic opportunities.

Situated in the heart of Ontario's Innovation Corridor, Guelph/Wellington is a hub of food innovation and environmental sustainability, making us uniquely positioned to achieve this vision. Leveraging local expertise, big data and the latest technology, we will transform our food ecosystem into a connected "living lab" where researchers, social innovators, farmers, entrepreneurs and other community partners collaborate to solve complex food problems.

The Smart Cities Challenge is an important catalyst, enabling us to fund impactful circular food projects, create collaboration spaces, undertake baseline data mapping to guide programs and planning, create a suite of digital tools, and more.

Together, we will build the "Circular Food Community of the Future," creating positive quadruple bottom line outcomes — prosperity, planet, people and purpose — and share the roadmap with the communities across the country and around the world.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
City of Guelph and Wellington County, Ontario

Population: 222,726

Focus Areas:

Empowerment and Inclusion Economic Opportunity

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Gagnant du catégorie de prix de 10 M$

Felicitations!

Ville de Guelph et comté de Wellington (Ontario)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« La candidature au Défi des villes intelligentes va être une occasion fantastique pour catalyser l'ingéniosité entrepreneuriale à Guelph-Wellington. »

– Kithio Mwanzia, président et chef de la direction, Chambre de commerce de Guelph

« Notre avenir alimentaire a le potentiel d'être vraiment transformateur. Les données et la technologie peuvent favoriser l'innovation au Canada, mais seulement si nous avons une vision claire de l'avenir. »

– proposition finale

Énoncé de défi

Guelph/Wellington deviendra la première économie alimentaire circulaire axée sur la technologie au Canada grâce à la réinvention d'un écosystème inclusif et sécuritaire qui augmente de 50 % l'accès à des aliments abordables et nutritifs, où les « déchets » deviennent une ressource, où 50 nouvelles entreprises circulaires et collaborations sont créées et où les revenus économiques circulaires sont augmentés de 50 % : 50x50x50 d'ici 2025.

Résumé

La nourriture est une exigence fondamentale de la vie sur cette planète. Cependant, la structure de base du système alimentaire linéaire « prendre-faire-mettre aux rebuts » d'aujourd'hui n'est pas durable sur le plan économique, social et écologique.

Guelph-Wellington vise à devenir la première économie alimentaire circulaire du Canada, ramenant notre système alimentaire et nos collectivités à un équilibre sain. Grâce à notre partenariat rural-urbain, nous améliorerons l'accès à des aliments nutritifs, transformerons les déchets en ressources précieuses et créerons de nouvelles possibilités économiques.

Situé au cœur du corridor d'innovation de l'Ontario, le comté de Guelph/Wellington est une plaque tournante de l'innovation alimentaire et de la durabilité environnementale, ce qui nous place dans une position unique pour réaliser cette vision. Grâce à l'expertise locale, aux grandes données et aux plus récentes technologies, nous transformerons notre écosystème alimentaire en un « laboratoire vivant » connecté où chercheurs, innovateurs sociaux, agriculteurs, entrepreneurs et autres partenaires communautaires collaborent pour résoudre des problèmes alimentaires complexes.

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un catalyseur important qui nous permettra de financer des projets alimentaires circulaires, de créer des espaces de collaboration, d'entreprendre la cartographie des données de base pour guider les programmes et la planification, de créer un ensemble d'outils numériques, et plus encore.

Ensemble, nous bâtirons la « collectivité alimentaire circulaire de l'avenir », générant des résultats positifs sur quatre fronts différents – prospérité, planète, personnes et objectifs – et nous partagerons notre feuille de route avec les collectivités partout au pays et dans le monde.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Guelph et Wellington (Ontario)

Population : 222 726

Les secteurs prioritaires

Autonomisation et inclusion Débouchés économiques

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :