City of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"One of the big focus areas for us, for residents, as well as tourists, is being able to dim the street lights so that we are able to see this natural beauty, the northern lights above us."

– Rebecca Alty, Mayor of Yellowknife

"We want to make Yellowknife into a cold weather testing centre for all kinds of new and innovative things and invite people to come here and look at what kind of technologies they can try."

– Craig Scott, Ecology North

Challenge Statement

Yellowknife will experience a rise in our community's social and environmental well-being by transforming the simple lamppost into a beacon for sustainability.

Summary

Our proposed concept is to make the lamppost a beacon for sustainability. The sustainability referenced in this challenge statement ranges from ecological to financial to social sustainability, which we will realize by incorporating a variety of technological innovations into the lampposts around our city to improve quality of life for our residents and visitors in several ways.

The first step will be creating a mesh network among our lampposts that allow them to communicate with each other and with a central location. From there, much like apps on a smart phone, a variety of innovative ideas could be incorporated into the lamppost to help us achieve our desired outcomes and to improve the sustainability of Yellowknife. These innovations will include smart lighting that can be motion activated or dimmed and brightened as needed, electric vehicle charging stations, data monitoring and collection, interactive tourism information, and Wi-Fi hotspots. This mesh network and technological innovations will help Yellowknife to become an innovative and adaptable Smart City with the ability to adapt with the times as technology advances.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The Smart Cities Challenge is a competition that calls on Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residents.

The Finalists - $5M Category: City of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Question: Tell us about your team and your community.

Chris Vaughn (Sustainability Projects Coordinator): Yellowknife is a commercial hub in the Northwest Territories. We're a population of about 20 thousand. We have a mining legacy and we have a strong tourism industry. It's a small-knit community, beautiful landscapes and we're trying to promote our tourism and also promote our community engagement through this project of smart city lampposts.

Question: Why did you enter the Challenge?

Chris Vaughn (Sustainability Projects Coordinator): We entered the challenge because we believe that innovation is going to be key to providing service delivery for the city. It's also a opportunity to solidify partners that we've been working with for the long run but to have a concrete product to work on that has many benefits for all. We just thought it was a great moment to jump on this.

Challenge Statement: Yellowknife will experience a rise in our community's social and environmental well being by transforming the simple lamppost into a beacon for sustainability.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Maxime Johnson. I'm a tech journalist from Montreal.

I became a jury member of the smart city challenge because I think municipalities can use technology to improve the life of their citizens, but only if it's done the right way and I wanted to help find those good ideas.

What I like about Yellowknife is the focus they have on smart lamppost. So smart lamppost is something that was offered by others but it was just one line of the proposal. Yellowknife took that line and really improved on it and really expanded on it. So, by doing their own design they will better suit their needs and the whole process will benefit the community. I think it was a strong proposal.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
City of Yellowknife, Northwest Territories

Population: 19,569

Focus Areas:

Economic OpportunityHealthy Living and Recreation

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« L'un des grands domaines d'intérêt pour nous, pour les résidents et pour les touristes est de pouvoir réduire l'intensité lumineuse de nos lampadaires afin que nous puissions contempler cette beauté naturelle que constituent les aurores boréales au-dessus de nous. »

– Rebecca Alty, mairesse de Yellowknife

« Nous voulons faire de Yellowknife un centre d'essais par temps froid pour toutes sortes de technologies nouvelles et novatrices, et nous voulons inviter les gens à venir ici afin qu'ils puissent faire l'expérience de ces technologies. »

– Craig Scott, Ecology North

Énoncé de défi

Yellowknife connaîtra une amélioration du bien-être social et environnemental de notre collectivité en transformant le simple lampadaire en un phare de la durabilité.

Résumé

Le concept que nous proposons est de faire d'un lampadaire un phare de la durabilité. La durabilité mentionnée dans cet énoncé de défi va de la durabilité écologique à la durabilité financière et sociale, ce que nous réaliserons en intégrant une variété d'innovations technologiques dans les lampadaires dans notre ville afin d'améliorer la qualité de vie de nos résidents et de nos visiteurs de plusieurs façons.

La première étape consistera à créer un réseau maillé entre nos lampadaires qui leur permettra de communiquer entre eux et avec un emplacement central. Par la suite, comme des applications sur un téléphone intelligent, une variété d'idées novatrices pourraient être incorporées dans les lampadaires pour nous aider à atteindre les résultats souhaités et à améliorer la durabilité de Yellowknife. Ces innovations comprendront un éclairage intelligent qui peut être activé par le mouvement ou atténué et intensifié au besoin, des bornes de recharge de véhicules électriques, la surveillance et la collecte de données, des informations touristiques interactives et des points d'accès Wi-Fi. Ce réseau maillé et les innovations technologiques aideront Yellowknife à devenir une ville intelligente novatrice et souple, capable de s'adapter aux progrès technologiques.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours qui demande aux collectivités canadiennes d'examiner de quelle façon les données et les technologies connectées peuvent obtenir des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

Les finalistes - Catégorie de 5 M$ : Ville de Yellowknife, Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Question : Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Chris Vaughn (Coordonnateur des projets de durabilité) : Yellowknife est une plaque tournante commerciale dans les Territoires du Nord Ouest. Nous avons une population d'environ 20 000. Nous avons un héritage minier et nous avons une solide industrie du tourisme. Il s'agit d'une collectivité tricotée serrée, qui comprend des paysages magnifiques et nous essayons de faire la promotion du tourisme et de la mobilisation de notre collectivité grâce à ce projet de lampadaires des villes intelligentes.

Question : Pourquoi avez-vous décidé de participer au Défi?

Chris Vaughn (Coordonnateur des projets de durabilité) : Nous avons participé au Défi parce que nous croyons que l'innovation sera la clé pour fournir un service de prestation pour la ville. Il s'agit aussi d'une occasion pour solidifier les partenariats que nous maintenons depuis longtemps, mais en ayant un produit concret sur lequel travailler qui a des avantages pour tous. Nous pensions qu'il s'agissait du moment parfait pour profiter de cette occasion.

Énoncé du Défi : Yellowknife connaîtra une augmentation du bien-être social et environnemental de sa collectivité grâce à la transformation d'un simple lampadaire en un phare de la durabilité.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Maxime Johnson. Je suis un journaliste techno de Montréal.

Je suis devenu membre du jury du « Défi des villes intelligentes », car je pense que les municipalités peuvent utiliser les technologies pour améliorer la vie de leurs citoyens, mais seulement si les choses sont faites de la bonne façon. Je voulais donc aider à trouver les bonnes idées.

Ce que j'ai aimé de la proposition de Yellowknife, c'est qu'elle met l'accent sur les lampadaires intelligents. D'autres collectivités avaient évoqué leur utilisation, mais ce n'était qu'une ligne de leur proposition. Les représentants de Yellowknife ont vraiment amélioré l'idée et l'ont poussée plus loin. En réalisant leur propre conception, ils vont mieux répondre à leurs propres besoins, et tout le processus va bénéficier à la collectivité. J'ai trouvé leur proposition solide.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Yellowknife (Territoires du Nord-Ouest)

Population : 19 569

Les secteurs prioritaires

Débouchés économiquesModes de vie sains et loisirs

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :