Greater Victoria, British Columbia

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"Data has the power to transform our communities, but only when it is valued less as a commodity and more for its potential to improve citizens' lives. This is the driving ethos of our Smart South Island Inspiration Centre."

– Mike Palmer, Co-Chair SCC Data and Privacy Taskforce, Chief Information Officer, City of Victoria

"There is a desire and a collective belief that this is going to not just be a shelf project— that we are going to DO something."

– Erinn Pinkerton, President and CEO, BC Transit

Challenge Statement

"Freedom to move"

We will collaboratively create a multimodal transportation network that is convenient, green and affordable, which will boost South Islanders' mobility wellbeing score by at least 20%.

Summary

We wish to acknowledge we are on the traditional territory of the Coast Salish First Nations.

A Smart City is comprised of countless elements. It is challenging to decide which initiatives to pursue, and what to leave for later.

While our ambition was to work on initiatives on multiple fronts, we saw that as a recipe for mediocrity. We want to create something great, which other cities will emulate.

That's why we chose to go deep on transportation.

Greater Victoria is not a big city by population. It is, however, an important city strategically. Canada's 15th largest metropolitan area. A $5 billion high-tech sector. Located in one of the world's most progressive and innovative regions: The Pacific Northwest. A gateway to Asia. A place where forward-thinkers thrive. A place people visit and tell their friends.

We want Greater Victoria to showcase how mobility can be done right. How everybody should enjoy the freedom of mobility. How all points of friction can be eliminated between multiple modes of transit, even in a single trip. How big data, big ideas, and big thinkers can make a big difference in quality of life, while reducing the impact that cities have on the environment.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The smart cities challenge is a competition that called in Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residence.

On screen:

Smart Cities Challenge

Winning communities

School

The finalists

$10M category: Greater Victoria, British Columbia

Tell us about your team and your community

Emilie de Rosenroll (Founding CEO, South island Prosperity project): we’re an organization called the South Island Prosperity project. So, this is a partnership organization that brings together 10 of our 13 municipalities, 3 post-secondary institution, 5 first nation communities, 5 industry and businesses associations, 20 of the largest employers of the region and a really big partnership between private sector and public sector.

On screen: Why did you enter the challenge?

Emilie de Rosenroll (Founding CEO, South island Prosperity project): we entered the challenge because we wanted to find a solution that was collaborative and work for citizens. So, we wanted to be able to find a solution for transportation mobility which we think is an economic issue and environmental issue and a social issue.

On screen: Challenge statement: “Freedom to move”

We will collaboratively create a multimodal transportation network that is convenient, green and affordable, which will boost South Islanders’ mobility wellbeing score by at least 20%.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesChallenge

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Carol Anne Hilton. I am the CEO of the Indigenomics Institute.

I was inspired to be a juror for the "Smart Cities Challenge" because I see the importance of driving a future reality and the possibility to focus on solutions today that are scalable, inclusive and open are an important pathway to be able to do that.

What inspired me about the Greater Victoria application was the vision of the smart city approach to establish a multimodal transportation network with seamless mobility options and data integration with a focus on increasing mobility wellness in the region.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
Greater Victoria, British Columbia

Population: 367,770

Focus Areas:

Empowerment and InclusionMobility

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Grand Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Les données ont le pouvoir de transformer nos communautés, mais seulement lorsqu'elles sont moins valorisées en tant que marchandise et davantage en tant que moyen d'améliorer la vie des citoyens. C'est la philosophie de notre Smart South Island Inspiration Centre. »

– Mike Palmer, coprésident du Groupe de travail du CCN sur les données et la protection des renseignements personnels, chef de l’information, Victoria

« Il y a un désir et une croyance collective que ce ne sera pas seulement un projet qui sera mis de côté, mais que nous allons faire quelque chose. »

– Erinn Pinkerton, présidente et chef de la direction, BC Transit

Énoncé de défi

« Liberté de déplacement »

Nous créerons ensemble un réseau de transport multimodal qui est pratique, écologique et abordable, ce qui améliorera d'au moins 20 % le bien-être des habitants du sud de l'île sur le plan de la mobilité.

Résumé

Nous tenons à reconnaître que nous sommes sur le territoire traditionnel des Premières Nations Coast Salish.

Une ville intelligente est composée d'innombrables éléments. Il est difficile de décider des initiatives à poursuivre et de celles dont la mise en œuvre doit être repoussée.

Alors que notre but était de travailler sur des initiatives sur différents fronts, nous avons conclu qu'il s'agissait là d'une solution dont le résultat serait médiocre. Nous voulons créer quelque chose de grand, que d'autres villes imiteront.

C'est pourquoi nous avons choisi d'aller plus loin dans les transports.

Le Grand Victoria n'est pas une grande ville sur le plan de la population. Cependant, elle est une ville importante du point de vue stratégique et est la 15e plus grande région métropolitaine du Canada. Elle compte un secteur de haute technologie de 5 milliards de dollars et est située dans l'une des régions les plus progressistes et innovantes du monde : le nord-ouest du Pacifique; une porte d'entrée vers l'Asie; un endroit où les avant-gardistes prospèrent; un endroit que les gens viennent visiter et encouragent leurs amis à le faire.

Nous voulons que la région métropolitaine de Victoria illustre comment la mobilité peut se faire correctement, comment toute la population et tous les visiteurs doivent jouir de la liberté que procure la mobilité, comment tous les points de friction peuvent être éliminés entre plusieurs modes de transport, même lors d'un seul trajet, comment les grandes données, les grandes idées et les grands penseurs peuvent faire une grande différence dans la qualité de vie, tout en réduisant l'incidence qu'ont les villes sur l'environnement.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours dans le cadre duquel les collectivités canadiennes sont invitées à étudier la manière dont les données et les technologies connectées peuvent produire des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

À l'écran :

Défi des villes intelligentes

Collectivités gagnantes

École

Les finalistes de la catégorie de prix : 10 M$ : Grand Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)

Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Emilie de Rosenroll (PDG fondatrice, South Island Prosperity Project) : Notre organisation de partenariat, le South Island Prosperity Project, réunit 10 de nos municipalités sur 13, 3 établissements d'enseignement postsecondaire, 5 collectivités des Premières Nations, 5 associations industrielles et commerciales, 20 des principaux employeurs de la région et un très grand partenariat entre le secteur privé et le secteur public.

À l'écran : Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de relever le défi?

Emilie de Rosenroll (PDG fondatrice, South Island Prosperity Project) : Nous avons choisi de relever le défi parce que nous voulions trouver une solution de collaboration qui fonctionnerait pour les citoyens. Nous voulions trouver une solution en matière de mobilité du transport, qui, selon nous, constitue une question d'ordre économique, environnemental et social.

À l'écran : Énoncé de défi :« Liberté de mouvement »

Nous créerons, en collaboration, un réseau de transport multimodal pratique, écologique et abordable, qui augmentera la cote de mieux-être en matière de mobilité des insulaires de la côte sud d'au moins 20 %.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Carol Anne Hilton. Je suis PDG de l'Indigenomics Institute.

Je souhaitais faire partie du jury du « Défi des villes intelligentes » parce que je comprends l'importance de façonner la réalité de demain; et pour y arriver, il faut chercher dès aujourd'hui des solutions modulables, inclusives et ouvertes.

L'aspect de la proposition du groupe de Greater Victoria qui m'a inspirée, c'était l'idée d'établir un réseau de transport multimodal sans points de friction pour la mobilité et d'intégrer les données en mettant l'accent sur l'amélioration du bien-être lors des déplacements dans la région.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Grand Victoria (Colombie-Britannique)

Population : 367 770

Les secteurs prioritaires

Autonomisation et inclusionMobilité

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :