City of Surrey and City of Vancouver, British Columbia

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"I live here with my wife and baby daughter and we have watched your little shuttle go back and forth and it makes us smile! You have my support for anything that moves people quietly, without pollution, slowly, safely, through our neighbourhood!"

– Darren, Vancouver resident commenting on the Electric Autonomous Shuttle demonstration

Challenge Statement

Surrey and Vancouver will implement Canada's first two collision-free multi-modal transportation corridors, leveraging autonomous vehicles and smart technologies to demonstrate the path to safer, healthier and more socially connected communities while reducing emissions, improving transportation efficiency and enhancing livability in the face of rapid growth and traffic congestion. #SmarterTogether

Summary

Surrey and Vancouver will implement Canada's first two collision-free multi-modal transportation corridors, taking an ambitious step toward improving our residents' quality of life by removing transportation safety risk, reducing greenhouse gas emissions, and increasing transportation efficiency.

We will provide a model for Canadian cities and will turn Canada into a global autonomous vehicle and smart mobility leader. To achieve this, our two collision-free corridors will be equipped with smart mobility solutions related to:

  • autonomous shuttles
  • smart mobility infrastructure
  • advanced data and analytics, and
  • enhanced user experience

The Surrey-Vancouver joint proposal is the result of an extensive, inclusive, and community-first engagement with our residents and an unprecedented collaboration between our two cities. Our journey together has involved rich conversations that have led to strong bonds and a new inter-city culture. We have learned and innovated together to propose a vision that will increase transportation safety, contribute to a greener environment, and build stronger communities.

We have become #SmarterTogether through the Smart Cities Challenge. Our collision-free multi-modal transportation corridors, enabled by smart city technology, represent a bold step in the move from incremental transportation safety improvements to exponential progress.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The smart cities challenge is a competition that called in Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residence.

On screen:

Smart Cities Challenge

Winning communities

School

The finalists

$50M category: City of Surrey and City of Vancouver, British Columbia

Tell us about your team and your community

Sean Simpson (Director, Information Technology, City of Surrey): Our community is in the city of Vancouver and in Surrey. One's at urban context, one's a suburban context. Both are very diverse, multicultural, city of Surrey were growing for over a thousand residents a month, we have a third of populations under 20. So, that makes us very unique, we have a very diverse team representing 2 cities and we have also extended that team with partners from the community in putting academia, another local stakeholders.

On screen: Why did you enter the challenge?

Sean Simpson (Director, Information Technology, City of Surrey): We entered this challenge to really provide a meaningful outcomes for our residents and our citizens to improve the quality of life and we heard from them that mobility was the most important thing to move forward with and for us the city of Surrey and in Vancouver, those 2 different mobility challenges not only considered moving people through quarter as faster but also getting them out of their cars and in the other modes of transportations; bicycles and public transportation. So, those were couple of more important reasons for us to move forward in this challenge.

On screen: Challenge statement: Surrey and Vancouver will implement Canada's first two collision-free multi-modal transportation corridors, leveraging autonomous vehicles and smart technologies to demonstrate the path to safer, healthier and more socially connected communities while reducing emissions, improving transportation efficiency and enhancing livability in the face of rapid growth and traffic congestion. #SmarterTogether

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesChallenge

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Carol Anne Hilton. I am the CEO of the Indigenomics Institute.

I was inspired to be a juror for the "Smart Cities Challenge" because I see the importance of driving a future reality and the possibility to focus on solutions today that are scalable, inclusive and open are an important pathway to be able to do that.

The Vancouver application delivered a forward thinking approach to focus on two concept transportation corridors that had the ability to look at collision-free multimodal approach that was scalable forward thinking and solutions driven.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
City of Surrey and City of Vancouver, British Columbia

Population: 1,149,373

Focus Areas:

Mobility Safety and Security

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Surrey et Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Je vis ici avec ma femme et ma petite fille et nous avons vu les allées et venues de votre petite navette et cela nous fait sourire! Vous avez mon soutien pour tout ce qui fait bouger les gens tranquillement, sans pollution, lentement, en toute sécurité, dans notre quartier! »

– Darren, résident de Vancouver commentant la démonstration de la navette électrique autonome

Énoncé de défi

Surrey et Vancouver mettront en œuvre les deux premiers corridors de transport multimodal sans collision au Canada en tirant parti de véhicules autonomes et de technologies intelligentes pour ouvrir la voie vers des collectivités plus sûres, plus saines et socialement mieux reliées tout en réduisant les émissions, en améliorant l'efficacité des transports et en améliorant la qualité de vie malgré la croissance rapide et la congestion routière. #SmarterTogether

Résumé

Surrey et Vancouver mettront en œuvre les deux premiers corridors de transport multimodal sans collision au Canada, ce qui représente un pas ambitieux vers l'amélioration de la qualité de vie de nos résidents en éliminant les risques liés à la sécurité des transports, en réduisant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre et en augmentant l'efficacité des transports.

Nous fournirons un modèle pour les villes canadiennes et ferons du Canada un chef de file mondial en matière de véhicules autonomes et de mobilité intelligente. Pour ce faire, nos deux couloirs sans collision seront équipés de solutions de mobilité intelligentes :

  • navettes autonomes
  • infrastructure de mobilité intelligente
  • données et analyses avancées, et
  • expérience utilisateur améliorée

La proposition conjointe des villes de Surrey et de Vancouver est le résultat d'un engagement étendu, inclusif et communautaire avec nos résidents et d'une collaboration sans précédent entre nos deux villes. Notre cheminement collaboratif a donné lieu à de riches conversations qui ont mené à des liens solides et à une nouvelle culture interurbaine. Nous avons appris et innové ensemble pour proposer une vision qui permettra d'accroître la sécurité des transports, de contribuer à un environnement plus écologique et de bâtir des collectivités plus fortes.

Nous sommes devenus « #SmarterTogether » (plus intelligents ensemble) grâce au Défi des villes intelligentes. Nos corridors de transport multimodaux sans collision, rendus possibles grâce à la technologie de ville intelligente, représentent une étape audacieuse dans le passage vers une amélioration progressive de la sécurité des transports à un progrès exponentiel.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours dans le cadre duquel les collectivités canadiennes sont invitées à étudier la manière dont les données et les technologies connectées peuvent produire des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

À l'écran :

Défi des villes intelligentes

Collectivités gagnantes

École

Les finalistes de la catégorie de prix : 50 M$ : Surrey et Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Sean Simpson (Directeur, Technologie de l'information, Ville de Surrey) : Nos collectivités sont les villes de Vancouver et de Surrey. L'une d'entre elles est en milieu urbain, l'autre est en milieu suburbain. Ces deux collectivités sont très diversifiées et multiculturelles. La population de Surrey connaît une croissance supérieure à mille résidents par mois et un tiers de ses citoyens sont âgés de moins de 20 ans. Par conséquent, notre situation est unique et nous avons formé une équipe diversifiée qui représente les deux villes. Nous avons aussi élargi notre équipe en y intégrant des partenaires du milieu universitaire et des intervenants locaux.

À l'écran : Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de relever le défi?

Sean Simpson (Directeur, Technologie de l'information, Ville de Surrey) : Nous avons choisi de relever ce défi afin d'obtenir des résultats significatifs pour nos résidents et d'améliorer leur qualité de vie. Selon nos résidents, la mobilité est l'aspect qu'il convient de privilégier à l'avenir. Les deux défis en matière de mobilité bien différents des villes de Surrey et de Vancouver ne consistent pas uniquement à accélérer les déplacements des personnes, mais également à inciter celles ci à moins utiliser leurs voitures afin d'opter pour un autre mode de transport, comme la bicyclette ou le transport en commun. Voilà quelques raisons primordiales qui nous ont incités à relever ce défi.

À l'écran : Énoncé de défi : Surrey et Vancouver mettront en œuvre les deux premiers corridors de transport canadiens multimodal sans collision, exploitant véhicules autonomes et technologies intelligentes, démontrant la route vers des communautés sécures, saines et socialement connectées tout en réduisant émissions, améliorant efficacité des transports et rehaussant habitabilité, face à croissance rapide et soutenue. « #SmarterTogether »

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Carol Anne Hilton. Je suis PDG de l'Indigenomics Institute.

Je souhaitais faire partie du jury du « Défi des villes intelligentes » parce que je comprends l'importance de façonner la réalité de demain; et pour y arriver, il faut chercher dès aujourd'hui des solutions modulables, inclusives et ouvertes.

La proposition de Vancouver était novatrice : mettre en œuvre deux corridors de transport avant-gardistes susceptibles de permettre des déplacements multimodaux sans collision. C'était une approche à la fois modulable, novatrice et axée sur les solutions.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Surrey et Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Population : 1 149 373

Les secteurs prioritaires

Mobilité Sécurité et sûreté

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :