Quebec City, Quebec

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"To improve the social fabric of our city, we have to understand it better."

– finalist video

"Our smart city is a living organism whose strength lies in its humanity, humility and dedication to correcting unacceptable disparities."

– finalist video

Challenge Statement

"THE SOCIAL INEQUALITIES IN HEALTH: UNDERSTANDING AND ENGAGING DIFFERENTLY"

To engage the community of Quebec City in a societal project centered on citizens' sustainable health and well-being using the collective intelligence and the deployment of digital tools that support decision-making and follow-ups.

Summary

Through the implementation of the project Social Inequalities: Understanding and Engaging Differently, the community of Quebec is committed to a societal project that focuses on sustainable health and citizens' well-being. This societal project will bring together the collective intelligence and the deployment of digital tools in support to decision-making and follow-ups.

Our proposal for the Smart Cities Challenge relies on a large study conducted by the Regional Direction of Public Health in 2012. The Study acknowledges the social inequalities in health as a major public health problem requiring a concerted action from all.

In Quebec, this fact calls for action and mobilization. The consultations directed by the City confirm that citizens are committed to promote projects with a positive impact on health.

We will leverage the knowledge of academic researchers, the commitment of institutional and business partners, the citizens experience, the wide potential of new technologies, and the expertise of the municipal staff, to initiate and launch an ambitious project in line with the innovative solutions implemented by the City of Quebec in the last decade.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The smart cities challenge is a competition that called in Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residence.

On screen:

Smart Cities Challenge

Winning communities

School

The finalists

$50M category: Quebec City, Quebec

Tell us about your team and your community

Frédéric Martel (IT Section Director, Quebec City): We're the Quebec City team. Quebec City is a city of 560,000 inhabitants located in the greater Quebec region, where there are 860,000 inhabitants. It is the second-largest city in the province of Quebec. It is the capital, and we are aiming for the $50 million prize.

On screen: Why did you enter the challenge?

Carole Artault-Noury (Head of the Information Resources Program, Information Technology Branch, Laval University): Quebec City is participating in the Smart Cities Challenge because, even though we are a city where people live well, we think we can live even better. The Université Laval and the Quebec City have the opportunity to work together, think the same way and share the same values. This project is also an extension of the opportunity we gave ourselves by creating Alliance Santé Québec, which enabled us to think together about the city's sustainable health and about a project called Puisard, which allows us to achieve sustainable health. Now, with the smart city, we are pushing the concept even further: in other words, we are starting from the concept and will set up specific initiatives in Quebec City. So, the objective is to have healthy people in a healthy city, improve the public's well-being in Quebec and make the Quebec City a city that will provide an even better life for future generations.

On screen: Challenge statement: "THE SOCIAL INEQUALITIES IN HEALTH: UNDERSTANDING AND ENGAGING DIFFERENTLY"

To engage the community of Quebec City in a societal project centered on citizens' sustainable health and well-being using the collective intelligence and the deployment of digital tools that support decision-making and follow-ups.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesChallenge

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Stéphane Roche. I am a professor at the Laval University Department of Geomatics and Vice-Dean for research at the University's Faculty of Forestry, Geography and Geomatics.

There are two reasons why I would like to be part of this jury. First, I believe that the issue smart cities and territories is one of the major issues Canada will be faced with, and therefore we need a truly active strategy and to meet this challenge. The second reason is that I have been working on these issues for a number of years; I am conducting research in the field of smart cities and to be able to have access to what cities across the country would like to develop in terms of innovations is a wealth of data – access to data that are truly interesting.

The project that Quebec City submitted is truly interesting and there are two reasons for this: the first is that the issue addressed through this project is spatial justice and well-being/coexistence, i.e. how we can develop a technological solution, sensors, data infrastructure that make it possible to better understand potential relationships between sustainable population health and the urban ecosystem, in terms of both its environmental dimension and its built dimension, the structure of life in particular.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
Quebec City, Quebec

Population: 542,550

Focus Areas:

Environmental Quality Healthy Living and Recreation

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Ville de Québec (Québec)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Pour améliorer le tissu social de notre ville, nous devons mieux le comprendre. »

– Vidéo du finaliste

« Notre ville intelligente est un organisme vivant dont la force réside dans son humanité, son humilité et sa volonté de corriger des disparités inacceptables. »

– Vidéo du finaliste

Énoncé de défi

« LES INÉGALITÉS SOCIALES EN SANTÉ : COMPRENDRE ET INTERVENIR AUTREMENT »

Engager la collectivité de la Ville de Québec dans un projet de société priorisant la santé durable et le bien-être des citoyens grâce à l'intelligence collective et au déploiement d'outils numériques d'aide à la décision et de suivis.

Résumé

Par la réalisation du projet Les inégalités sociales en santé : comprendre et intervenir autrement, la collectivité de Québec s'engage dans un projet de société priorisant la santé durable et le bien-être des citoyens grâce à l'intelligence collective et au déploiement d'outils numériques d'aide à la décision et de suivis.

Notre proposition pour le Défi des villes intelligentes repose sur une vaste étude réalisée par la Direction régionale de santé publique en 2012. On y démontre que les inégalités sociales de santé sont reconnues comme étant un problème de santé publique majeur, nécessitant une action concertée de tous les milieux.

À Québec, ce constat appelle à la mobilisation et à l'action. Les consultations menées par la Ville confirment que les citoyens reconnaissent l'importance de favoriser les projets ayant un impact positif sur la santé.

En misant sur le savoir des chercheurs universitaires, l'engagement des partenaires institutionnels et d'affaires, l'expérience des citoyens, l'immense potentiel des nouvelles technologies et l'expertise du personnel municipal, nous lancerons un projet ambitieux qui s'inscrit dans la lignée des mesures innovantes mises en place à la Ville de Québec dans la dernière décennie.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours dans le cadre duquel les collectivités canadiennes sont invitées à étudier la manière dont les données et les technologies connectées peuvent produire des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

À l'écran :

Défi des villes intelligentes

Collectivités gagnantes

École

Les finalistes de la catégorie de prix : 50 M$ : Ville de Québec (Québec)

Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Frédéric Martel (Directeur de section TI, Ville de Québec) : On présente ici la ville de Québec. La ville de Québec est une ville de 560 000 habitants dans la grande région du Québec, il y en a 860 000, c'est la deuxième ville en importance dans la province de Québec. Évidemment, c'est la capitale et on vise le prix de 50 millions.

À l'écran : Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de relever le défi?

Carole Artault-Noury (Chef de programme en ressources informationnelles, Direction des technologies de l'information, Université Laval) : Québec participe au défi des villes intelligentes parce que bien qu'on soit une ville où on vit bien, on pense qu'on peut vive encore mieux à Québec et on a la chance d'être ensemble, Université Laval et ville de Québec, à penser la même chose et à partager les mêmes valeurs, puis ce projet en fait c'est aussi l'extension d'une opportunité qu'on s'est donné en créant Alliance Santé Québec qui nous permettait de penser en territoire tous ensemble sous la santé durable et à un projet qui s'appelle Puisard qui nous permet de concrétiser la santé durable. Bien là, avec la ville intelligente, on pousse encore plus loin le concept, c'est-à-dire qu'on part du concept et on va positionner des éléments concrets sur le territoire de la ville de Québec. Donc, l'objectif c'est des personnes en santé sur un territoire en santé, améliorer le mieux-être de la population au Québec et faire de la ville du Québec, une ville où il fera encore mieux vivre pour les prochaines générations.

À l'écran : Énoncé de défi : « LES INÉGALITÉS SOCIALES EN SANTÉ : COMPRENDRE ET INTERVENIR AUTREMENT »

Engager la collectivité de la Ville de Québec dans un projet de société priorisant la santé durable et le bien-être des citoyens grâce à l'intelligence collective et au déploiement d'outils numériques d'aide à la décision et de suivis.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Stéphane Roche. Je suis professeur au département des sciences géomatiques à l'université Laval et vice-doyen à la recherche à la faculté de foresterie, de géographie et de géomatique.

Il y a deux raisons qui font que j'ai souhaité de faire partie de ce jury. La première, c'est que je crois que l'enjeu des villes et des territoires intelligents c'est un des enjeux majeurs auquel le Canada va être confronté et doit, dans ces termes-là, avoir une stratégie réellement active et c'est ce qui se passe à travers ce défi. La deuxième raison c'est que je travaille sur ces enjeux-là depuis un certain nombre d'années; je fais les recherches dans le domaine des villes intelligentes et pouvoir avoir accès à ce que les villes à travers le pays souhaitent développer en termes d'innovations c'est une masse de données – un accès à des données qui est vraiment intéressant.

Le projet que la ville de Québec a soumis est un projet vraiment intéressant et il y a deux raisons à cela : le premier c'est que l'enjeu qui est adressé à travers ce projet-là c'est celui de la justice spatiale et du bien-être/vivre-ensemble, c'est-à-dire comment on peut développer une solution technologique, des capteurs, une infrastructure de données qui va permettre de mieux comprendre les relations qui peuvent exister entre la santé durable des populations et l'écosystème urbain à la fois dans ses dimensions environnementales mais aussi dans ses dimensions bâtis, la structure de la vie en particulier.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Ville de Québec (Québec)

Population : 542 250

Les secteurs prioritaires

Qualité de l'environnementModes de vie sains et loisirs

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :