Town of The Pas, Opaskwayak Cree Nation, Rural Municipality of Kelsey, Manitoba

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"We are looking at innovative transportation in the region, innovative wearables, and part of what we are looking for in the smart cities concept is to be innovators and move this stuff to another level in the region."

– James Berscheid, City Councillor, Rural Municipality of Kelsey

"We've also done nutrient analysis testing on the produce grown within our smart farm and the nutrient analysis came back 4 to 7 times more nutritious than the grocery store vegetables."

– Stephanie Cook – LED Smart farm technician

"[Our] Smart Cities project and the concept … it's probably 10 to 15 years ahead of anything done in Canada, and we're proud to bring it here because it can be used throughout the entire country."

– Glen Ross, Executive Director Opaskwayak Cree Nation Health Authority

Challenge Statement

Our community will utilize LED Smart Farm technology to support local nutritious food growth and promote food security, create a smart phone distribution system and integrate wearable technology to achieve a 40% reduction in the number of imported vegetables and a 20% reduction in community diabetes rates by 2023.

Summary

Our challenge centres around food security and reversing the escalation of the occurrence rate of diabetes by leveraging the local LED Smart Farm technology. The Smart Farm produces fresh fruits and vegetables within weeks without the use of pesticides and with low impact on land resources. The quantity of food that can be produced is flexible and based on demand. The region will be able to depend on a stable, nutritious local food supply with a concurrent reduction in the requirement for long distance transportation resulting in fresher food, reduction of food waste and a reduction in the carbon footprint due to fewer long distance truck deliveries.

Food distribution will be aided through the development and use of a smart phone app and the use of electric vehicle and drone delivery technology. The health benefits realized from increased consumption of healthy foods will be monitored through data collection via wearable technology. Bio-metric data such as blood sugar levels, heart rate and blood pressure can be utilized for individual feedback or aggregated to support ongoing education and incentives to encourage continued lifestyle changes among the population of the region and for other communities who wish to adopt similar strategies.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The smart cities challenge is a competition that called in Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residence.

On screen: Smart Cities Challenge

Winning communities

School

The finalists - $10M category: Tri-council Region (Town of The Pas, Opaskwayak Cree Nation, Rural Municipality of Kelsey)

Tell us about your team and your community

Rose Neufeld (Proposal Coordinator, Tri-Council Region): hi, my name is Rose Neufeld. I work with the tri-council region in Manitoba. The tri-council region is made up of the Town of The Pas, Opaskwayak Cree Nation, Rural Municipality of Kelsey. They come together for purposes of mutual interest such as community security, economic development and of course the smart cities challenge.

On screen: Why did you enter the Challenge?

Rose Neufeld (Proposal Coordinator, Tri-Council Region): We entered the challenge because it seemed really interesting and also it was an opportunity to develop an existing resource, the vertical LED vertical farm. Being a northern community and north of the 53rd parallel, there is a the issues of food, food security and transportation as well the health issue associated with food is high rated of diabetes and so we wanted to come up with solutions for that and the smart cities challenge has given us a really great way to galvanize around problem solving.

On screen: Challenge statement: Our community will utilize LED smart Farm technology to support local nutritious food growth and promote food security, create a smart phone distribution system and integrate wearable technology to achieve a 40% reduction in the number of imported vegetables and a 20% reduction in community diabetes rates by 2023.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Brent Bellamy. I'm an architect and an advocate for city-building from Winnipeg, Manitoba. The opportunity to be part of the "Smart Cities Challenge" was really inspiring to me, because I wanted to be, I wanted to see how Canadians dream and I wanted to know, the opportunity to be able to see how, what people hope for their communities was something that really attracted me and it was a great opportunity to see how we, what we want Canada to be and our communities and our cities in particular, in the future.

The jury found the proposal from The Pas and OCN to be really inspiring because I think first of all it was a collaboration between a town in Manitoba and a First Nation community. We saw that collaboration to be something that is a model for Canada. We also felt that the access to food in Northern communities is something that is a challenge really from coast to coast, and if that can be solved, growing and distributing food in an effective way in these remote communities, if that issue can be solved, in an innovative way, I think we really felt like it was something that could transform the lives of Canadians in the North and across the country, because it is a country of a circle of isolated communities and it would transform the health of Canadians, many Canadians in the long term.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
Town of The Pas, Opaskwayak Cree Nation, Rural Municipality of Kelsey, Manitoba

Population: 10,827

Focus Areas:

Healthy Living and RecreationSafety and Security

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

The Pas, Nation crie d'Opaskwayak, et Kelsey (Manitoba)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Nous cherchons des moyens de transport novateurs pour la région, des appareils portables innovants, et une partie de ce que nous recherchons dans le concept des villes intelligentes, c'est de voir autrement et de faire passer ces choses à un autre niveau dans la région. »

– James Berscheid, conseiller municipal, municipalité rurale de Kelsey

« Nous avons également effectué des analyses nutritionnelles sur les légumes cultivés dans notre ferme intelligente, qui indiquent qu'ils sont de 4 à 7 fois plus nutritifs que ceux qu'on trouve dans les épiceries. »

– Stephanie Cook, technicienne, ferme intelligente DEL

« [Notre] projet de villes intelligentes et notre concept… ont probablement de 10 à 15 ans d'avance sur tout ce qui se fait ailleurs au Canada, et nous sommes fiers de les mettre en œuvre ici, parce qu'ils peuvent être utilisés partout au pays. »

– Glen Ross, directeur général, Autorité sanitaire de la nation crie d'Opaskwayak

Énoncé de défi

Notre collectivité utilisera la technologie de ferme intelligente DEL pour soutenir la culture locale d'aliments nutritifs et promouvoir la sécurité alimentaire, créer un système de distribution par téléphones intelligents et intégrer une technologie portable afin de réduire de 40 % le nombre de légumes importés et de 20 % le taux de diabète au sein de la collectivité d'ici 2023.

Résumé

Notre défi est centré sur la sécurité alimentaire et l'inversion de l'augmentation du taux d'incidence du diabète en tirant parti de la technologie à DEL intelligente pour les fermes locale. La technologie de fermes intelligentes produit des fruits et des légumes frais en quelques semaines sans l'utilisation de pesticides et avec une faible incidence sur les ressources foncières. La quantité de nourriture qui peut être produite est souple et basée sur la demande. Les gens de la région pourront se fier à un approvisionnement alimentaire local stable et nutritif, tout en réduisant les besoins de transport sur de longues distances, ce qui se traduira par des aliments plus frais, une réduction des déchets alimentaires et une réduction de l'empreinte carbone en raison de la diminution des livraisons par camion sur de longues distances.

La distribution de nourriture sera facilitée par le développement et l'utilisation d'une application de téléphone intelligent et l'utilisation d'un véhicule électrique et d'une technologie de livraison par drone. Les avantages pour la santé découlant d'une consommation accrue d'aliments sains feront l'objet d'une surveillance grâce à la collecte de données au moyen d'une technologie portable. Les données biométriques, telles que la glycémie, la fréquence cardiaque et la tension artérielle, peuvent être utilisées pour la rétroaction individuelle, ou encore agrégées pour appuyer l'éducation continue et les mesures incitatives visant à encourager les changements continus du mode de vie au sein de la population de la région et d'autres collectivités qui souhaitent adopter des stratégies similaires.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours dans le cadre duquel les collectivités canadiennes sont invitées à étudier la manière dont les données et les technologies connectées peuvent produire des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

À l'écran : Défi des villes intelligentes

Collectivités gagnantes

École

Les finalistes de la catégorie de prix : 10 M$ : Trois Conseils (Ville de The Pas, Nation crie d'Opaskwayak et municipalité rurale de Kelsey)

À l'écran : Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Rose Neufeld (coordonnatrice du projet, trois Conseils) : Bonjour, je m'appelle Rose Neufeld. Je travaille au sein du regroupement de trois Conseils, au Manitoba. Les trois Conseils sont la Ville de The Pas, la Nation crie d'Opaskwayak et la municipalité rurale de Kelsey. Ils se rassemblent pour les questions d'intérêt commun, comme la sécurité publique, le développement économique et, bien évidemment, le Défi des villes intelligentes.

À l'écran : Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de relever le défi?

Rose Neufeld (coordonnatrice du projet, trois Conseils) : Nous avons choisi de relever le défi, car il semblait très intéressant et il nous offrait l'occasion d'exploiter une ressource existante, la technologie de la ferme verticale DEL. Puisque nous sommes une collectivité du Nord, située au nord du 53e parallèle, nous sommes confrontés à des enjeux associés à la nourriture, à la sécurité alimentaire et au transport ainsi qu'au taux élevé de diabète, qui est le problème de santé associé à la nourriture. Nous voulions donc trouver des solutions, et le Défi des villes intelligentes nous a offert l'occasion idéale de stimuler la résolution de problèmes.

À l'écran : Énoncé de défi : Notre collectivité utilisera la technologie de ferme intelligente DEL pour soutenir la culture locale d'aliments nutritifs et promouvoir la sécurité alimentaire, créer un système de distribution par téléphones intelligents et intégrer une technologie portable afin de réduire de 40 % le nombre de légumes importés et de 20 % le taux de diabète au sein de la collectivité d'ici 2023.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Brent Bellamy. Je suis architecte et défenseur de l'importance du développement urbain. Je vis à Winnipeg, au Manitoba. Le fait de pouvoir participer au « Défi des villes intelligentes » a été très inspirant pour moi, car je souhaitais faire partie de cette initiative, je voulais savoir à quoi rêvent les Canadiens, et j'étais très attiré par la possibilité de connaître la forme et la nature des espérances qu'ont les gens à l'égard de leurs collectivités. C'était aussi une excellente occasion de connaître les visions d'avenir des Canadiens par rapport à leur pays, à leur collectivité et surtout, à leur ville.

Le jury a trouvé très inspirante la proposition présentée par Le Pas et l'OCN, je crois parce qu'elle était tout d'abord le fruit d'une collaboration entre une ville du Manitoba et une collectivité autochtone. À nos yeux, cette collaboration était une sorte de modèle pour le Canada. De plus, selon nous, l'accès à la nourriture pose vraiment problème dans l'ensemble des collectivités nordiques du pays; or s'il y a moyen de remédier à cela par la culture et la distribution efficaces d'aliments sur place, et que ce problème peut être réglé de façon novatrice, cela pourrait transformer les vies des Canadiens du Nord et des autres régions, car notre pays est composé de collectivités isolées, et cela transformerait la santé de nombreux Canadiens à long terme.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
The Pas, Nation crie d'Opaskwayak, et Kelsey (Manitoba)

Population : 10 827

Les secteurs prioritaires

Modes de vie sains et loisirsSécurité et sûreté

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :