City of Guelph and Wellington County, Ontario

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"The Smart Cities application is going to be a fantastic opportunity to catalyze entrepreneurial ingenuity in Guelph-Wellington."

– Kithio Mwanzia, President and CEO, Guelph Chamber of Commerce

"Our food future has the potential to be truly transformative. Data and technology can help enable Canadian innovation, but only if we have a clear vision for the future."

– final proposal

Challenge Statement

Guelph/Wellington will become Canada's first technology-enabled Circular Food Economy, reimagining an inclusive food-secure ecosystem that increases access to affordable, nutritious food by 50%, where "waste" becomes a resource, 50 new circular businesses and collaborations are created, and circular economic revenues are increased by 50%: 50x50x50 by 2025.

Summary

Food is a fundamental requirement of life on this planet. However, the basic structure of today's linear "take-make-dispose" food system is unsustainable — economically, socially and environmentally.

Guelph-Wellington aims to become Canada's first circular food economy, bringing our food system and communities back into healthy balance. Through our rural-urban partnership, we will enhance access to nutritious food, turn "waste" into valuable resources and create new economic opportunities.

Situated in the heart of Ontario's Innovation Corridor, Guelph/Wellington is a hub of food innovation and environmental sustainability, making us uniquely positioned to achieve this vision. Leveraging local expertise, big data and the latest technology, we will transform our food ecosystem into a connected "living lab" where researchers, social innovators, farmers, entrepreneurs and other community partners collaborate to solve complex food problems.

The Smart Cities Challenge is an important catalyst, enabling us to fund impactful circular food projects, create collaboration spaces, undertake baseline data mapping to guide programs and planning, create a suite of digital tools, and more.

Together, we will build the "Circular Food Community of the Future," creating positive quadruple bottom line outcomes — prosperity, planet, people and purpose — and share the roadmap with the communities across the country and around the world.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The smart cities challenge is a competition that called in Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residence.

On screen:

Smart Cities Challenge

Winning communities

School

The finalists

$10M category: City of Guelph and Wellington County, Ontario

Tell us about your team and your community

Cath Kennedy (Manager, Policy and Intergovernmental Relations, City of Guelph): we have a great team that encompasses both the university and the college, social entrepreneurs, innovators, researchers, academics, and we're all coming together to solve a big bold problem of how do we move from a linear system and the food distribution to a circular system where we can increase access to affordable nutritious food, how we can reduce waste as a resource and how can we increase circular businesses and jobs within our community.

On screen: Why did you enter the challenge?

Cath Kennedy (Manager, Policy and Intergovernmental Relations, City of Guelph): we applied to the challenge because we know that in the city of Guelph in the county of Wellington, food and food issues is in our DNA. So, we knew that the challenge that we needed to solve was around food and food security and food waste. And so we were able bring the community together in a very comprehensive way, to solve something that we've been working on for years, but we need to have a more concerted effort to solve this problem.

On screen: Challenge statement: Guelph/Wellington will become Canada's first technology-enabled Circular Food Economy, reimagining an inclusive food-secure ecosystem that increases access to affordable, nutritious food by 50%, where “waste” becomes a resource, 50 new circular businesses and collaborations are created, and circular economic revenues are increased by 50%: 50x50x50 by 2025.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesChallenge

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

Hi, I'm Lisa Holmes. I live in the town of Morinville, Alberta. I'm the vice president of corporate development for Northlands in Edmonton, and I'm the former mayor of Morinville and the former president of the Alberta Urban Municipalities Association.

As a former municipal politician, I knew the value the "Smart City Challenge" would bring to communities across Canada. The opportunity for our own municipalities and communities to be innovative and to be successful in bringing those ideas forward to the federal government to actually get implemented; it's just such a wonderful opportunity and I'm really excited for all of these proposals to not just be implemented in their own communities, but to be spread out across the country.

I was really really excited to see a community that focused on food. I work for the oldest agricultural society in Alberta and a lot of the mandate that we have is dealing with the issue of food security. The city of Guelph, they performed a proposal that was inspiring, it was innovative. They looked at food as a system and how they are able to take that system and really move it and break it into projects that could be meaningful.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
City of Guelph and Wellington County, Ontario

Population: 222,726

Focus Areas:

Empowerment and Inclusion Economic Opportunity

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Guelph et Wellington (Ontario)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« La candidature au Défi des villes intelligentes va être une occasion fantastique pour catalyser l'ingéniosité entrepreneuriale à Guelph-Wellington. »

– Kithio Mwanzia, président et chef de la direction, Chambre de commerce de Guelph

« Notre avenir alimentaire a le potentiel d'être vraiment transformateur. Les données et la technologie peuvent favoriser l'innovation au Canada, mais seulement si nous avons une vision claire de l'avenir. »

– proposition finale

Énoncé de défi

Guelph/Wellington deviendra la première économie alimentaire circulaire axée sur la technologie au Canada grâce à la réinvention d'un écosystème inclusif et sécuritaire qui augmente de 50 % l'accès à des aliments abordables et nutritifs, où les « déchets » deviennent une ressource, où 50 nouvelles entreprises circulaires et collaborations sont créées et où les revenus économiques circulaires sont augmentés de 50 % : 50x50x50 d'ici 2025.

Résumé

La nourriture est une exigence fondamentale de la vie sur cette planète. Cependant, la structure de base du système alimentaire linéaire « prendre-faire-mettre aux rebuts » d'aujourd'hui n'est pas durable sur le plan économique, social et écologique.

Guelph-Wellington vise à devenir la première économie alimentaire circulaire du Canada, ramenant notre système alimentaire et nos collectivités à un équilibre sain. Grâce à notre partenariat rural-urbain, nous améliorerons l'accès à des aliments nutritifs, transformerons les déchets en ressources précieuses et créerons de nouvelles possibilités économiques.

Situé au cœur du corridor d'innovation de l'Ontario, le comté de Guelph/Wellington est une plaque tournante de l'innovation alimentaire et de la durabilité environnementale, ce qui nous place dans une position unique pour réaliser cette vision. Grâce à l'expertise locale, aux grandes données et aux plus récentes technologies, nous transformerons notre écosystème alimentaire en un « laboratoire vivant » connecté où chercheurs, innovateurs sociaux, agriculteurs, entrepreneurs et autres partenaires communautaires collaborent pour résoudre des problèmes alimentaires complexes.

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un catalyseur important qui nous permettra de financer des projets alimentaires circulaires, de créer des espaces de collaboration, d'entreprendre la cartographie des données de base pour guider les programmes et la planification, de créer un ensemble d'outils numériques, et plus encore.

Ensemble, nous bâtirons la « collectivité alimentaire circulaire de l'avenir », générant des résultats positifs sur quatre fronts différents – prospérité, planète, personnes et objectifs – et nous partagerons notre feuille de route avec les collectivités partout au pays et dans le monde.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours dans le cadre duquel les collectivités canadiennes sont invitées à étudier la manière dont les données et les technologies connectées peuvent produire des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

À l'écran :

Défi des villes intelligentes

Collectivités gagnantes

École

Les finalistes de la catégorie de prix : 10 M$ : Guelph et Wellington (Ontario)

Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Cath Kennedy (gestionnaire, Politiques et relations intergouvernementales, Ville de Guelph) : Nous avons une excellente équipe qui est composée de représentants de l'université et du collège, d'entrepreneurs sociaux, d'innovateurs, de chercheurs et d'universitaires. Nous nous sommes réunis afin d'arriver à résoudre un grave problème, c'est-à-dire comment passer d'un système alimentaire linéaire à un système circulaire, qui nous permettra d'améliorer l'accès à des aliments nutritifs abordables, comment transformer les déchets en ressource et comment créer de nouveaux emplois et de nouvelles entreprises et collaborations circulaires au sein de la collectivité.

À l'écran : Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de relever le défi?

Cath Kennedy (gestionnaire, Politiques et relations intergouvernementales, Ville de Guelph) : Nous avons choisi de relever le défi parce que nous savons qu'à Guelph et dans le comté de Wellington, les aliments et les questions qui en découlent sont dans notre ADN. Par conséquent, nous savions que le défi qu'il nous fallait relever devait porter sur les aliments, la sécurité des aliments et les déchets alimentaires. Nous avons donc été en mesure de rallier les membres de la collectivité de façon très exhaustive afin de régler un problème sur lequel nous nous penchons depuis des années, mais nous devons déployer des efforts plus concertés pour y arriver.

À l'écran : Énoncé de défi : Guelph/Wellington deviendra la première économie alimentaire circulaire axée sur la technologie au Canada, réinventant un écosystème alimentaire inclusif et sécuritaire qui permettra d'accroître de 50 % l'accès à des aliments abordables et nutritifs, où les « déchets » deviendront une ressource, où 50 nouvelles entreprises et collaborations circulaires seront créées et où les revenus économiques circulaires augmenteront de 50 % : 50x50x50 d'ici 2025.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Bonjour, je suis Lisa Holmes. J'habite à Morinville, en Alberta. Je suis vice-présidente du développement corporatif chez Northlands à Edmonton, en plus d'avoir été mairesse de Morinville et présidente de l'Association des municipalités urbaines de l'Alberta.

En tant qu'ex-politicienne municipale, je connaissais la valeur que le « Défi des villes intelligentes » procurerait à des collectivités de partout au Canada. Il est merveilleux que nos propres municipalités et collectivités puissent innover et faire valoir leurs idées au gouvernement fédéral pour qu'elles se concrétisent. Je suis enthousiaste à l'idée que ces propositions soient non seulement mises en œuvre localement, mais aussi reprises ailleurs au pays.

J'ai été vraiment ravie de voir une collectivité mettre l'accent sur l'alimentation. Je travaille pour la plus vieille société agricole de l'Alberta, et une bonne partie de notre mandat porte sur la sécurité alimentaire. La collectivité de Guelph a présenté une proposition très inspirante et novatrice. Elle s'est penchée sur les aliments en tant que système, et la capacité de faire évoluer celui-ci et de le diviser en projets pourrait être utile.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Guelph et Wellington (Ontario)

Population : 222 726

Les secteurs prioritaires

Autonomisation et inclusion Débouchés économiques

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :