City of Edmonton, Alberta

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"Connected cities have inclusive and innovative spirits that challenge the status quo and overcome barriers collaboratively."

– Final proposal

Challenge Statement

Edmonton will lead the transformation of Canadian healthcare using an unprecedented municipal approach by focusing on leveraging relationships, health data and innovative technologies to provide a personalized health connection and experience as unique as the health of every Edmontonian.

Summary

A Smart City is first and foremost a Healthy City.

Recognizing urbanization and the increasing role residents' health affects and is affected by City services, the City of Edmonton proposes that municipal-level intervention is necessary. The City of Edmonton is facilitating the creation of a Healthy City Ecosystem (a partnership of government, industry, academia and residents) to work collaboratively to provide integrated, community-based health support. Addressing social determinants of health, such as connectedness, loneliness and sense of belonging is an innovative, transformational approach, shifting the focus from treating symptoms to one of prevention.

A smart cities approach will enable the creation of a single Health Data Repository, connecting disparate datasets from the stakeholders and the data collected by new technologies, ensuring anonymity and integration to facilitate assessment, analytics and data mining. Residents will access the new municipal health support through a digital tool and devices, allowing them to identify and access additional services, relationships and technologies to improve their individual health and connectedness.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The smart cities challenge is a competition that called in Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residence.

On screen:

Smart Cities Challenge

Winning communities

School

The finalists

$50M category: City of Edmonton, Alberta

Tell us about your team and your community

Soumya Ghosh (Director of Digital Enablement, Open City and Technology, City of Edmonton): We're the smart cities challenge team from the city of Edmonton. Our challenge statement focuses on improving the health of Canadians using an unprecedented municipal approach. We are really looking to through data and analytics, improve the social determinants of health which will in terms have an impact on the health of residents.

On screen: Why did you enter the challenge?

Soumya Ghosh (Director of Digital Enablement, Open City and Technology, City of Edmonton): When we reached out to our residents, we took those engagements as part of our smart city program even before the challenge was announced. It was a problem that we've always wanted to solve and we always wanted to improve the health of residents. The challenge kind of acted as a capitalist to make things quicker.

On screen: Challenge statement: Edmonton will lead the transformation of Canadian healthcare using an unprecedented municipal approach by focusing on leveraging relationships, health data and innovative technologies to provide a personalized health connection and experience as unique as the health of every Edmontonian.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesChallenge

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

So my name is Gabe Sawhney. I'm the executive director of Code for Canada, which is a non-profit. I grew up in Windsor, but I'm based in Toronto.

I put my name in to be a jury member for the "Smart Cities Challenge" because I was really excited about being part of a process that's going to help set our expectations for what smart cities are, especially for them to not be defined by technologies that we want to try to implement and instead have them be really grounded in residents' needs, and for them to be judged based on their ability to deliver positive outcomes for residents, and for residents to be a really important part of the process.

So the city of Edmonton put forward a very exciting and ambitious proposal about health, about the health of residents, and about using data and collaborating to help improve the health of residents. What the jury found exciting about this proposal was that it's very ambitious and that it's using a data-driven approach to improving the health of residents in a way that can only be accomplished through partnership with different levels of government, with a wide range of community agencies and community groups. Building those kinds of partnerships, and those kinds of data-sharing agreements, and addressing all of the privacy and data governance issues are all very complicated and that's what makes this a very ambitious project, but one that will be enormously useful to other communities in Canada.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
City of Edmonton, Alberta

Population: 932,546

Focus Areas:

Empowerment and InclusionHealthy Living and Recreation

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Edmonton (Alberta)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Les villes connectées ont des esprits inclusifs et innovateurs qui remettent en question le statu quo et surmontent les obstacles en collaboration. »

– Proposition définitive

Énoncé de défi

Edmonton sera le leader de la transformation des soins de santé au Canada grâce à une approche municipale sans précédent qui mettra l'accent sur les relations, les données sur la santé et les technologies novatrices afin d'offrir un lien et une expérience personnalisés en matière de santé aussi uniques que la santé de chaque habitant d'Edmonton.

Résumé

Une ville intelligente est d'abord et avant tout une ville saine.

Reconnaissant le fait que l'urbanisation et le rôle croissant que joue la santé des résidents sur les services municipaux et vice-versa, la ville d'Edmonton propose qu'une intervention au niveau municipal est nécessaire. La ville d'Edmonton facilite la création d'un écosystème de ville saine (un partenariat entre le gouvernement, l'industrie, le milieu universitaire et les résidents) pour travailler en collaboration afin d'offrir un soutien intégré et communautaire en matière de santé.

S'attaquer aux déterminants sociaux de la santé, comme la connectivité, la solitude et le sentiment d'appartenance, est une approche novatrice et transformationnelle qui met l'accent sur la prévention plutôt que sur le traitement des symptômes.

Une approche de ville intelligente permettra la création d'un dépôt de données sur la santé unique, reliant des ensembles de données disparates provenant des intervenants et les données recueillies grâce aux nouvelles technologies, assurant l'anonymat et l'intégration pour faciliter l'évaluation, l'analyse et l'exploration des données. Les résidents auront accès au nouveau soutien municipal en matière de santé au moyen d'un outil et d'appareils numériques, ce qui leur permettra de trouver d'autres services, relations et technologies et d'y avoir accès pour améliorer leur santé individuelle et leur connectivité.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours dans le cadre duquel les collectivités canadiennes sont invitées à étudier la manière dont les données et les technologies connectées peuvent produire des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

À l'écran :

Défi des villes intelligentes

Collectivités gagnantes

École

Les finalistes de la catégorie de prix : 50 M$ : Edmonton (Alberta)

Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

Soumya Ghosh (Directeur, Habilitation numérique, Ville ouverte et Technologie, Ville d'Edmonton) : Nous sommes l'équipe qui est responsable du projet du Défi des villes intelligentes à Edmonton. Dans notre énoncé de défi, nous mentionnons que nous souhaitons améliorer la santé des Canadiens à l'aide d'une approche municipale sans précédent. Grâce aux données et aux analyses, nous désirons améliorer les déterminants sociaux de la santé afin que cela procure ensuite des bienfaits pour la santé de nos citoyens.

À l'écran : Pourquoi avez-vous choisi de relever le défi?

Soumya Ghosh (Directeur, Habilitation numérique, Ville ouverte et Technologie, Ville d'Edmonton) : Lorsque nous avons noué le dialogue avec nos citoyens, nous avons pris ces engagements dans le cadre de notre programme de ville intelligente, même avant que le défi soit annoncé. Nous avons toujours voulu résoudre ce problème et améliorer la santé de nos citoyens. Le Défi nous a donné l'élan d'entamer nos travaux plus rapidement.

À l'écran : Énoncé de défi : Edmonton dirigera la transformation du système de soins de santé canadien à l'aide d'une approche municipale sans précédent qui repose sur les relations, les données sur la santé et des technologies novatrices pour offrir des services de santé personnalisés et une expérience aussi unique que la santé de chaque habitant d'Edmonton.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Gabe Sawhney et je suis directeur général de l'organisme à but non lucratif Code for Canada. J'ai grandi à Windsor, mais j'habite à Toronto.

Je me suis porté volontaire pour faire partie du jury du « Défi des villes intelligentes » parce que j'étais très enthousiaste à l'idée de participer à un processus qui allait contribuer à établir nos attentes quant à la nature des villes intelligentes. Et surtout, plutôt qu'elles soient définies par les technologies que nous voulons essayer de mettre en place, je voulais que les technologies soient vraiment basées sur les besoins des résidents et jugées selon leur capacité d'engendrer des retombées positives pour eux, et je tenais également à ce que les résidents fassent pleinement partie du processus.

La Ville d'Edmonton a fait une proposition très intéressante et ambitieuse pour améliorer la santé des résidents en misant sur l'utilisation des données et la collaboration. Le jury a accueilli cette proposition avec enthousiasme, car elle est très ambitieuse et utilise une approche axée sur les données, qui peut seulement être mise en œuvre au moyen de partenariats avec divers ordres de gouvernement ainsi qu'avec un large éventail d'organismes et de groupes communautaires. C'est une tâche très complexe d'établir ce genre de partenariats et d'ententes sur l'échange de données de même que de régler toutes les questions soulevées par la protection des renseignements personnels et la gouvernance des données. C'est ce qui rend ce projet très ambitieux, mais il sera extrêmement bénéfique pour d'autres collectivités canadiennes.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Edmonton (Alberta)

Population : 932 546

Les secteurs prioritaires

Autonomisation et inclusionModes de vie sains et loisirs

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :