Cree Nation of Eastmain, Quebec

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"The NZE program is designed to encourage capacity building and a sense of community. By fostering a sense of pride in the community and Cree culture, our NZE program will become a model for Indigenous communities across Canada."

– Final proposal

Challenge Statement

"IMPROVING COMMUNITY WELL-BEING"

Our community will develop an affordable Net Zero Energy Housing Program, offering culturally appropriate designs, using smart technologies, innovative building techniques and alternative energy systems in order to address the housing shortage crisis, the poor-quality and costly construction of houses in Eastmain and Indigenous communities across Canada.

Summary

As our Challenge Statement says, the Cree Nation of Eastmain (CNE) is committed to improving the quality of life and the well-being of its members. As a remote Indigenous community, CNE, like other Indigenous communities across Canada, is faced with a critical housing shortage, compounded by poor quality and costly construction.

Housing is inarguably the foundation of a strong, healthy community without which communities struggle with various social, environmental and health issues. Through local consultations, CNE has determined that high construction costs combined with the high costs of home operation and maintenance, the result of inappropriate construction materials and techniques, are significant barriers to homeownership in Eastmain.

Smart technologies, sustainable building practices and alternative energy systems are the cornerstone of CNE's plan to develop, in collaboration with public and private sector stakeholders, an affordable, culturally-appropriate Net Zero Energy (NZE) housing program, for new and existing housing, to respond to its housing crisis. The NZE program is designed to encourage openness, transparency and transferability.

Through capacity-building, job creation and encouraging community participation, our NZE program will foster prosperity and a sense of pride in the community and in the culture, becoming a model for Indigenous communities across Canada.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The Smart Cities Challenge is a competition that calls on Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residents.

The Finalists - $5M Category: Cree Nation of Eastmain, Quebec

Question: Tell us about your team and your community.

Stanley Gilpin (Housing Director): Our community is one of the small communities within the Cree Nation of James Bay. It's a little over about 850.

Mark Tivnan (Director General): Our Smart Cities Challenge team has brought together academia, the private and public sector experts across Canada.

Question: Why did you enter the Challenge?

Mark Tivnan (Director General): We entered the Smart Cities Challenge not just for the challenge itself but also to challenge ourselves. We found the program criteria was in line, what we need to ensure a very structured approach to solve a major community issue that we have, which is housing and the experiences people have related to housing in the community.

William Semple (Architect, NORDEC Consulting and Design): It's a tremendous challenge to bring innovation to the North. It's a tremendous challenge to improve efficiency is the buildings. It's a tremendous challenge to address cost and all of these things and what was fascinating about this project in our discussions was how we're trying to bring all these different parts together. There's a need across the North to see some successful projects and there's a need to see some innovation.

Challenge Statement: "IMPROVING COMMUNITY WELL BEING" Our community will develop an affordable Net Zero Energy Housing Program, offering culturally appropriate designs, using smart technologies, innovative building techniques and alternative energy systems in order to address the housing shortage crisis, the poor quality and costly construction of houses in Eastmain and Indigenous communities across Canada.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Kourosh Rad. I'm an urban planner from Halifax, Nova Scotia.

It's very exciting to be part of an open and transparent challenge that will result in using the technology to improve the everyday life of the communities and community members. It's exciting to see so many communities coming forward with all kinds of different ideas and innovations that is well-founded within their communities. I was very interested to be part of the jury to discuss these applications and both learn from them and also help them shape the future of the final application.

The Cree of Eastmain, while they're a very small community, they have recognized that the issue of getting energy to a small community is not just about getting the resources there, but also tackling the issue of energy usage itself. They're looking at improving the life of their community members by building Net Zero buildings that will reduce use of energy. At the same time, they have recognized that it's important to monitor what they would do with the Net Zero developments that they're providing for the community and the data that's coming out of it would help them build a case for better, more sustainable building solutions that will tackle the issue of energy use, and not just look at the energy from a supply management perspective.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
Cree Nation of Eastmain, Quebec

Population: 866

Focus Areas:
Economic Opportunity Empowerment and Inclusion

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Nation Crie d'Eastmain (Québec)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« Le programme de logement à CENZ est conçu pour renforcer les capacités et le sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté. En favorisant un sentiment de fierté à l'égard de la communauté et de la culture crie, notre programme de logement à CENZ deviendra un modèle pour les communautés autochtones de tout le Canada. »

– Proposition définitive

Énoncé de défi

« Améliorer le bien-être communautaire »

Notre collectivité élaborera un programme de logement abordable à consommation énergétique nette zéro offrant des conceptions adaptées à la culture et utilisant des technologies intelligentes, des techniques de construction novatrices et des systèmes d'énergie de remplacement afin de remédier à la pénurie de logements, à la mauvaise qualité et au coût élevé de la construction de maisons à Eastmain et dans les collectivités autochtones partout au Canada.

Résumé

Comme le mentionne notre énoncé de défi, la Nation Crie d'Eastmain (NCE) s'est engagée à améliorer la qualité de vie et le bien-être de ses membres. En tant que collectivité autochtone éloignée, la NCE, comme d'autres collectivités autochtones du Canada, est confrontée à une grave pénurie de logements, aggravée par une construction de mauvaise qualité et coûteuse.

Le logement est indubitablement le fondement d'une collectivité forte et en bonne santé, sans lequel il y aurait divers problèmes sociaux, environnementaux et de santé. Grâce à des consultations locales, la NCE a déterminé que les coûts de construction élevés combinés aux coûts élevés de l'exploitation et de l'entretien des maisons, qui sont attribuables aux matériaux et aux techniques de construction inadéquats, constituent des obstacles importants à la propriété individuelle à Eastmain.

Les technologies intelligentes, les pratiques de construction durable et les systèmes énergétiques alternatifs sont la pierre angulaire du plan de la NCE visant à développer, en collaboration avec les acteurs publics et privés, un programme de logements à consommation énergétique nette zéro (CENZ) abordable et culturellement adapté aux logements neufs et existants pour répondre à sa crise du logement. Le programme CENZ est conçu pour encourager l'ouverture, la transparence et la transférabilité.

Grâce au renforcement des capacités, à la création d'emplois et à la promotion de la participation communautaire, notre programme CENZ favorisera la prospérité et un sentiment de fierté dans la collectivité, en devenant ainsi un modèle pour les collectivités autochtones du Canada.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours qui demande aux collectivités canadiennes d'examiner de quelle façon les données et les technologies connectées peuvent obtenir des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

Les finalistes - Catégorie de 5 M$ : Nation Crie d'Eastmain, Québec

Question : Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité.

Stanley Gilpin (Directeur du logement) : Notre collectivité est l'une des plus petites collectivités de la Nation crie de la Baie James. Elle est composée d'un peu plus de 850 personnes.

Mark Tivnan (Directeur général) : Notre équipe du Défi des villes intelligentes a rassemblé des universitaires, des experts du secteur privé et public de partout au Canada.

Question : Pourquoi avez-vous participé au Défi?

Nous n'avons pas seulement participé au Défi des villes intelligentes pour le défi, il s'agissait aussi de nous mettre au défi nous-mêmes. Selon nous le critère du programme était en ligne avec ce que nous avions besoin pour assurer une approche très structurée pour résoudre un problème communautaire majeur que nous avions, qui est le logement et les expériences vécues par les gens en ce qui a trait au logement dans la collectivité.

William Semple (Architecte, NORDEC Consulting and Design) : Il est très difficile d'encourager l'innovation dans le Nord. Il s'agit d'un défi énorme pour améliorer l'efficacité des immeubles. Il faut s'occuper des coûts et de toutes les choses de ce genre et ce qui était fascinant à propos de ce projet dans nos discussions était la façon dont nous avons essayé de rassembler différentes parties ensemble. Il est nécessaire dans le Nord de voir des projets qui ont du succès et d'y apporter une certaine innovation.

Énoncé du Défi : « AMÉLIORER LE BIEN-ÊTRE COMMUNAUTAIRE » Notre collectivité élaborera un programme de logement abordable à consommation énergétique nette zéro, ayant une conception culturellement appropriée, utilisant des technologies intelligentes, des techniques de construction novatrices et des systèmes d'énergie de remplacement afin de tenir compte du manque de logement, de la mauvaise qualité et des coûts de construction des maisons dans Eastmain et dans les collectivités autochtones partout au Canada.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Kourosh Rad. Je suis un urbaniste de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse.

C'est très excitant de participer à un défi ouvert et transparent qui débouchera sur l'utilisation de technologies visant à améliorer la vie quotidienne des collectivités et des personnes qui les composent. Il est passionnant de voir autant de collectivités présenter toutes sortes d'idées et d'innovations qui sont très pertinentes pour elles. Je souhaitais beaucoup faire partie du jury pour discuter des propositions soumises et tant en tirer des leçons qu'aider les collectivités à élaborer leur proposition finale.

La Nation Crie d'Eastmain a reconnu que, pour approvisionner en énergie une petite collectivité comme elle, il ne suffit pas d'y acheminer les ressources : il faut aussi s'attaquer à la consommation d'énergie en tant que telle. Elle souhaite améliorer la vie de ses membres en construisant des bâtiments à consommation énergétique nette zéro qui réduiront l'utilisation d'énergie. Parallèlement à cela, elle a reconnu l'importance de faire un suivi de l'utilisation de ces bâtiments qu'elle fournit à la collectivité, et les données ainsi obtenues l'aideront à promouvoir des solutions de construction plus judicieuses et durables qui s'attaqueront au problème de la consommation d'énergie au lieu de simplement considérer l'énergie du point de vue de la gestion de l'approvisionnement.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Nation Crie d'Eastmain (Québec)

Population : 866

Les secteurs prioritaires

Débouchés économiques Autonomisation et inclusion

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :