Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Pic River First Nation), Ontario

Final Proposal title

Executive Summary

"This is something that is going to help us … give our children the best shot in life. To give them the tools they need without forgetting where they've come from and without forgetting what being a Nishnaabe means to them. They are going to be able to walk with their identity intact and they are going to know that their community was behind that 100% in looking out for them in their future."

– Lisa Michano-Courchene, Education Director, Biigtigong Nishnaabeg

Challenge Statement

By means of active, cross-generational, technology-empowered, real-world participation in the intergenerational transfer of traditional Nishnaabe knowledge through the medium of our language, and the bilingual delivery of modern K-12 STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) knowledge, our community will transform our youth into better-educated, more employable, better-grounded, and more holistically Nishaabe people.

Summary

We are indigenously embracing the bilingual (Nishnaabemwin and English), K-12 STEM education of our youth. At the end of high school, our youth will have received more than 2,000 hours of mobile-enabled, online Nishnaabe-language immersion instruction in all of our core aadsookaanan (sacred stories). Additionally, our youth will be nearly-completely able to comprehend spoken Nishnaabemwin, will have attained a basic proficiency in coding and robotics, and will possess a strong foundation in mathematics and science. All STEM subject videos and courses will be available under a creative commons license, in both Nishnaabemwin and in English. All of this education will occur online with a strong real-world participation component built into the program. Our community's open source, mobile-enabled, eLearning platform facilitates the learning of the STEM subjects. And, our open source, mobile-enabled, eAcquisition platform facilitates the acquisition of our Nishnaabe language. The entire educational experience is tied together with our community's mobile-enabled meetup platform serving as a bridge between the digital, online world and the material, real world. Our youth are strongly encouraged and empowered to participate not only in online communities, but in the traditional Nishnaabe activities going on in the real-world community, as well.

The Finalist's Perspective

Read the transcript

The Smart Cities Challenge is a competition that calls on Canadian communities to explore how data and connected technology can achieve meaningful outcomes for residents.

The Finalists - $5M Category: Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Pic River First Nation), Ontario

Question: Tell us about your team and your community.

JoAnne Michano (Biigtigong Band Manager/CEO): We're a community that's a progressive community. We are a strategic community and always look at strategy and have long term vision and long term goals and we are about embracing our culture and our traditions and our ancient ways and looking at how do we do this in a modern world and the aligning of the modern and ancient world.

Question: Why did you enter the Challenge?

JoAnne Michano (Biigtigong Band Manager/CEO): We entered the challenge because we felt that the Smart Cities proposal and that whole process would give us an opportunity to one, save our language and the proposal also allowed us to take a look at STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) and our chief has had this vision for a long time. He has a strong belief in STEM and in the necessity of STEM for the youth, not only in our community but the youth across the world.

Challenge Statement: By means of active, cross generational, technology empowered, real world participation in the intergenerational transfer of traditional Nishnaabe knowledge through the medium of our language, and the bilingual delivery of modern K 12 STEM knowledge, our community will transform our youth into better educated, more employable, better grounded, and more holistically Nishnaabe people.

Join the conversation: #smartcitiesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

The Jury's Perspective

Read the transcript

My name is Leanne Bellegarde. I'm from the Peepeekisis First Nation, in the File Hills Qu'Appelle Tribal Council of Saskatchewan. It's in Treaty 4 Territory. I'm the director of strategic inclusion for Nutrien. My home is Saskatoon, Saskatchewan.

The opportunity to be a jury member for "Smart Cities Challenge" is really about inspiring the future of this country and challenging Canada to be that all it can be through empowering people and communities to do what they know and do best, serve their people with a view to the future.

I'm really excited to see the proposal of the Biigtigong Nishnaabeg Nation. This is an exciting proposal that is so much about the future of this country because it's about empowering and lifting the fastest growing, youngest demographic indigenous youth. This proposal is really about answering the call to education and employment, all too often areas where we're underrepresented due to undereducation and underemployment. This proposal is really also about empowering the Nishnaabeg ways of knowing and being in a modern-day take on e-learning. This proposal will create leaders of the future in science, technology, engineering, agriculture, and math. They will be able to take their rightful place in the economic participation of this country; one that all of our ancestors, as treaty partners and as sharers in this land, had envisioned hundreds of years ago. Finally, we will see it here, I hope, through the inspirational efforts of the Nishnaabeg.

Spotlight on Finalists cover page

Spotlight on Finalists:
Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Pic River First Nation), Ontario

Population: 443

Focus Areas:
Economic Opportunity Empowerment and Inclusion

Prize Category:

#smartcitiesCanada

Date modified:

Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Première Nation de Pic River) (Ontario)

Final Proposal title

Résumé

« C'est quelque chose qui va nous aider à donner à nos enfants la meilleure chance dans la vie. Leur donner les outils dont ils ont besoin, sans qu'ils oublient d'où ils viennent et ce que signifie pour eux être un Nishnaabe. Leur identité demeurera intacte et ils sauront que leur communauté les appuyait à 100 p. 100 quant à leur avenir. »

– Lisa Michano-Courchene, directrice de l'Éducation, Biigtigong Nishnaabeg

Énoncé de défi

Grâce à une participation active, intergénérationnelle, technologique et concrète au transfert intergénérationnel des connaissances traditionnelles nishnaabe au moyen de notre langue et grâce à la transmission bilingue des connaissances modernes en sciences, technologie, génie et mathématiques (STIM) de la maternelle à la 12e année, notre collectivité transformera ses jeunes en des personnes plus globalement Nishnaabe qui sont mieux instruites, plus employables et mieux ancrées.

Résumé

À notre manière, nous adoptons l'éducation bilingue (nishnaabemwin et anglais) de nos jeunes de la maternelle à la 12e année. À la fin du secondaire, nos jeunes auront reçu plus de 2 000 heures de cours d'immersion en langue nishnaabe en ligne grâce aux appareils mobiles, au sujet de l'ensemble de nos aadsookaananan (histoires sacrées). De plus, nos jeunes seront presque entièrement capables de comprendre le nishnaabemwin parlé, auront atteint une compétence de base en codage et en robotique, et posséderont de solides bases en mathématiques et en sciences. Toutes les vidéos et tous les cours de STIM seront disponibles sous une licence créative commune, à la fois en nishnaabemwin et en anglais. Toute cette éducation se fera en ligne avec une forte composante de participation en monde réel intégrée au programme. La plateforme d'apprentissage en ligne ouverte et mobile de notre collectivité facilite l'apprentissage des sujets liés aux STIM. De plus, notre plateforme ouverte et mobile facilite l'apprentissage de notre langue nishnaabe. Toute l'expérience éducative est liée à la plateforme de rencontre mobile de notre collectivité qui sert de pont entre le monde numérique en ligne, le monde matériel et le monde réel. Nos jeunes sont fortement encouragés et habilités à participer non seulement aux collectivités en ligne, mais aussi aux activités traditionnelles des Nishnaabe qui se déroulent dans la collectivité du monde réel.

Point de vue des finalistes

Lire la transcription

Le Défi des villes intelligentes est un concours qui demande aux collectivités canadiennes d'examiner de quelle façon les données et les technologies connectées peuvent obtenir des résultats significatifs pour les résidents.

Les finalistes - Catégorie de 5 M$ : Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Première Nation de Pic River), Ontario

Question : Parlez-nous de votre équipe et de votre collectivité

JoAnne Michano (Première dirigeante/gestionnaire de bande Biigtigong) : Nous sommes une collectivité qui est une collectivité tournée vers l'avenir. Nous sommes une collectivité stratégique et nous examinons toujours la stratégie tout en ayant une vision et des buts à long terme. Nous sommes fiers de valoriser notre culture, nos traditions et nos modes de vie anciens et nous essayons de découvrir comment faire cela dans un monde moderne afin d'harmoniser le monde moderne et le monde ancien.

Question : Pourquoi avez-vous décidé de participer au Défi?

JoAnne Michano (Première dirigeante/gestionnaire de bande Biigtigong) : Nous avons participé au concours parce que nous avons pensé que la proposition des villes intelligentes et tout ce processus nous donnerait l'occasion de sauver notre langue et de nous permettre d'en savoir plus sur les activités STIM (science, technologie, ingénierie et mathématique). Notre chef avait cette vision depuis longtemps. Il croit fortement aux activités STIM et à la nécessité des activités STIM pour les jeunes, pas seulement ceux de notre collectivité, mais pour tous les jeunes du monde entier.

Énoncé du Défi : Grâce à une participation active, intergénérationnelle, habilitée par la technologie et pratique pour le transfert intergénérationnel des connaissances traditionnelles Nishnaabe au moyen de notre langage, et à la prestation bilingue de connaissances modernes en STIM de la maternelle jusqu'à la 12e année, notre collectivité transformera ses jeunes en des personnes mieux éduquées, plus susceptibles de trouver un emploi, mieux ancrées et des personnes Nishnaabe plus globales.

Joignez-vous à la conversation : #villesintelligentesCanada

Infrastructure Canada

Point de vue du jury

Lire la transcription

Je m'appelle Leanne Bellegarde. Je suis originaire de la Première Nation de Peepeekisis, qui fait partie du Conseil tribal File Hills Qu'Appelle. Elle est située dans le territoire visé par le Traité no 4. Je suis directrice de l'inclusion stratégique chez Nutrien. Je vis à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan.

Le fait d'être membre du jury du « Défi des villes intelligentes » fournit vraiment une occasion d'inspirer l'avenir du pays et d'inciter le Canada à réaliser son plein potentiel en permettant aux collectivités de faire ce qu'elles savent faire et ce qu'elles font le mieux : servir leur population dans une perspective d'avenir.

Je suis très enthousiaste à l'idée de voir la proposition de la collectivité des Biigtigong Nishnaabeg. Cette proposition emballante améliorera l'avenir de notre pays, car elle vise à habiliter et à aider la population de jeunes Autochtones la moins âgée et à la croissance démographique la plus rapide. Cette proposition a vraiment pour but de répondre aux besoins en matière d'éducation et d'emploi, des domaines où nous sommes trop souvent sous-représentés en raison de la sous-éducation et du sous-emploi. La proposition vise également à donner aux Nishnaabeg les moyens d'acquérir des connaissances et d'entrer dans l'ère moderne en ce qui a trait à l'apprentissage en ligne. Elle créera de futurs leaders dans les domaines des sciences, des technologies, de l'ingénierie, de l'agriculture et des mathématiques. Les membres de cette collectivité pourront prendre la place qui leur revient dans l'économie de notre pays; la place que tous nos ancêtres, en tant que partenaires de traités qui ont partagé le territoire, avaient envisagée il y a des centaines d'années. J'espère que nous verrons enfin cela se réaliser ici grâce aux efforts inspirants des Nishnaabeg.

Les finalistes en vedette

Les finalistes en vedette :
Biigtigong Nishnaabeg (Première Nation de Pic River) (Ontario)

Population : 443

Les secteurs prioritaires

Débouchés économiques Autonomisation et inclusion

Catégorie de prix :

#villesintelligentesCanada

Date de modification :