Infrastructure Canada and the Windsor-Detroit Bridge Authority

The Windsor-Detroit Bridge Authority (WDBA) was created in 2012 to manage the procurement process for the design, construction, operation and maintenance of the new bridge between Windsor, Ontario and Detroit, Michigan through a public-private partnership (P3). The WDBA will select the private partner and manage the project agreement.

The WDBA is also responsible for project oversight during construction and operation of the new crossing. As the operator of the new bridge, the WDBA will set and collect all tolls.

Governance

The WDBA is a not-for-profit Crown corporation that reports to Parliament through the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities. As such, the WDBA is wholly owned by the Government of Canada but is structured like a private company and operates independently from government.

The WDBA is led by a President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) and governed by a board of directors who are responsible for overseeing the business activities and other affairs of the WDBA. The board is comprised of up to five members, including the President/CEO. The WDBA Board positions are appointed by the Governor in Council on the recommendation of the Minister of Infrastructure and Communities.

Government of Canada's Role

Infrastructure Canada is responsible for providing overall project oversight and due diligence to ensure the project continues to comply with government direction and with the 2012 Canada-Michigan Crossing Agreement. In addition, Infrastructure Canada is responsible for finalizing the acquisition of properties in Windsor required for the project.

Other Canadian federal bodies involved in the project include Transport Canada, Canada Border Services Agency, and Canadian Food Inspection Agency. Their roles are outlined in greater detail in WDBA's Corporate Plan, Section 2.5.

About the Gordie Howe International Bridge project

The Gordie Howe International Bridge project is the largest and most ambitious bi-national border infrastructure project along the Canada-United States border.

It will provide for the safe, efficient and secure movement of people and goods across the Canada-U.S. border in the Detroit River area to support the economies of Ontario, Michigan, Canada and the United States.

Cable Stayed Bridge Conceptual Illustration

Cable-Stayed Bridge Conceptual Illustration

Suspension Bridge Conceptual Illustration

Suspension Bridge Conceptual Illustration

The new six-lane bridge across the Detroit River between Windsor, Ontario and Detroit, Michigan is a component of a new highway-to-highway transportation system that also includes associated border inspection plazas and connections to the freeway systems in Ontario and Michigan. This project will provide an essential additional crossing option at one of the busiest Canada-U.S. commercial border crossings.

Bridge/Plazas Rendering

Once complete, the new bridge will provide additional capacity to increase trade and to encourage investment between Canada and the United States and help to create thousands of jobs and opportunities on both sides of the border. The new bridge will also provide system connectivity, improved border processing and capacity.

Follow WDBA on social media:

Date modified:

Infrastructure Canada et l'Autorité du pont Windsor-Détroit (APWD)

L'Autorité du pont Windsor-Détroit (APWD) a été créée en 2012 pour gère le processus d'approvisionnement visant la conception, la construction, l'exploitation et l'entretien du nouveau pont entre Windsor (Ontario) et Detroit (Michigan), dans le cadre d'un partenariat public-privé. L'APWD choisira un partenaire privé et gérera l'entente de projet.

L'APWD sera également chargée de surveiller le projet au cours des travaux de construction et dans le cadre de l'exploitation du nouveau passage. En tant qu'exploitant du nouveau pont, l'APWD fixera et percevra les droits de péage.

Gouvernance

L'APWD est une société d'État sans but lucratif qui relève du Parlement par l'entremise du ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités. Par conséquent, l'APWD est entièrement détenue par le gouvernement du Canada, mais elle est structurée comme une entreprise privée et fonctionne indépendamment du gouvernement.

L'APWD est dirigée par un président-directeur général (PDG) et régie par un conseil d'administration chargé de surveiller les activités opérationnelles et les autres activités de l'APWD. Le conseil d'administration est composé d'au plus neuf membres, y compris le président-directeur général. Les membres du conseil d'administration de l'APWD sont nommés par le gouverneur en conseil, à la suite d'une recommandation par le ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités.

Le rôle du gouvernement du Canada

Infrastructure Canada est chargé d'assurer la surveillance générale du projet et d'exercer une diligence raisonnable pour garantir que le projet continue de respecter l'orientation du gouvernement et les dispositions de l'entente de 2012 sur le passage entre le Canada et le Michigan. De plus, Infrastructure Canada est chargé de finaliser l'acquisition des propriétés à Windsor qui sont requises pour la mise en œuvre du projet.

Les autres organisations fédérales canadiennes qui participent au projet sont notamment Transports Canada, l'Agence des services frontaliers du Canada et l'Agence canadienne d'inspection des aliments. Les rôles de ces organisations sont décrits en détail à la section 2.5 du Plan organisationnel de l'APWD.

Au sujet du projet du pont international Gordie-Howe

Le projet du pont international Gordie-Howe est le projet binational d'infrastructure frontalière le plus vaste et le plus ambitieux le long de la frontière entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Le projet facilitera les déplacements sécuritaires et efficaces, des deux côtés de la frontière, des personnes et des biens dans la région de la rivière Detroit afin de soutenir les économies de l'Ontario, du Michigan, du Canada et des États-Unis.

Illustration conceptuelle du pont haubané

Illustration conceptuelle du pont haubané

Illustration conceptuelle du pont suspendu

Illustration conceptuelle du pont suspendu

Le nouveau pont à six voies, qui traverse la rivière Detroit entre Windsor (Ontario) et Detroit (Michigan), fait partie d'un nouveau système de transport entre autoroutes qui comprend aussi des esplanades d'inspection douanière et des bretelles d'accès aux autoroutes de l'Ontario et du Michigan. Ce projet constituera une nouvelle voie d'accès essentielle à ce passage frontalier, qui est l'un des plus achalandés entre le Canada et les États-Unis.

Rendu du pont et des esplanades d'inspection douanière

Une fois achevé, le nouveau pont fournira une capacité supplémentaire permettant d'accroître le commerce et d'encourager les investissements entre le Canada et les États-Unis, ainsi que de contribuer à créer des milliers d'emplois et des possibilités des deux côtés de la frontière. De plus, le nouveau pont offrira une voie d'accès au système de transport actuel, et il permettra l'amélioration du traitement et de la capacité à la frontière.

Suivez l'APWD dans les médias sociaux :

Date de modification :