Project Profiles in the Northwest Territories

Learn more about some of the projects in Northwest Territories by selecting a community name:

Smoothing the way for community traffic

Resurfacing and widening roads in Aklavik

Project location: Hamlet of Aklavik

Aklavik is a remote and beautiful Northwest Territories community tucked away on the north side of the Mackenzie Delta.

Due to its exceptional location on the Peel River, Aklavik was once considered a key transportation and trapping centre. The city also gained attention as home to the legendary "Mad Trapper," the silent trapper who, in 1931, led the Royal Canadian Mounted Police on the longest man hunt in Canadian history.

Today, there are troubles of a different sort.

The Dempster Highway is the only road connected to the Delta, but it begins on the other side of the Peel River. For this reason, Aklavik is only accessible for road vehicles during the winter months when an ice road is created on the frozen river. For many months each year, community traffic is confined within the village, where local roads were in very poor shape.

With support from the federal government's Infrastructure Stimulus Fund, Aklavik's roadways have now been resurfaced and widened. New culverts were also added to improve road drainage and safety.

This project aims to stimulate new development in both the residential and industrial areas of Aklavik and enhance this northern community.

Federal contribution: $233,000

Another project complete in Inuvik

Project location: Inuvik

Another project has been completed through the Economic Action Plan, adding to the list of projects that are finished across the country.

Land of the Midnight Sun and Gateway to the Beaufort-Delta, Inuvik is located 2 degrees above the Arctic Circle on the scenic Mackenzie River and Delta. It is the government, transportation and tourism centre of the Western Arctic, and the main headquarters for the oil and gas industry operating in the Beaufort Sea/Mackenzie Delta.

For Inuvik, the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund provided $349,000 to support the town's $2.8-million program to resurface its roads. Few of the community's roads are currently paved and the gravel surfaces require extensive maintenance, especially after rainy weather and spring thaws. Residents have also often complained about noise and dust associated with gravel roads.

With work now complete on this project, the federal government has helped Inuvik get closer to its goal of paving the majority of its streets. In addition to addressing residents' concerns, bringing the road network up to modern standards is benefiting Inuvik's citizens, businesses and tourists alike.

Federal contribution: $349,000

Maintaining the warm welcome at Nitainlaii Territorial Park

The log Reception Building at Nitainlaii Territorial Park in Inuvik

Project location: Inuvik

The log reception building at Nitainlaii Territorial Park will continue to welcome visitors for years to come. A $76,500 federal contribution through the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund funded its renovation.

Located in Inuvik, NT, Nitainlaii Territorial Park runs along the Dempster Highway en route to the Arctic Ocean. The park's campground overlooks the Peel River, nine kilometres from Fort McPherson.

The reception building is a traditional log structure. It houses the Visitor Information Centre, which provides a fascinating glimpse into the lives of the Gwich'in Dene, past and present, through guided tours from a local Gwich'in elder.

Repairs and renovations to the building included roof repairs, painting and general maintenance to improve security and its overall appearance. The improvements reflect the Government of Canada's commitment to work with the Northwest Territories to provide local communities improved local infrastructure, local jobs and opportunities to increase tourism.

Federal contribution: $76,500

Investing in northern communities

Project location: Kakisa

Kakisa, also known as the Ka'a'gee Tu First Nation, is a growing community of about 55 residents. The town is struggling to attract newcomers and retain youth due to a shortage of housing in the area.

In the fall of 2010, the community took steps to provide more housing development opportunities within the community boundaries. With a financial contribution from the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund secured, the community cleared brush and bought gravel to create roads and building pads. Surface drainage grading and ditching followed. The new subdivision is ready for new home construction.

With this investment, the federal government is supporting healthy, liveable communities in Canada's North.

Federal contribution: $125,000

Federal Gas Tax Fund providing better roads in the North

Pile of chips for sealing, with trees in the background

Project location: Lutsel k'e

The remote, fly-in community of Lutsel k'e is a Chipewyan settlement on the eastern arm of Great Slave Lake and one of the northernmost freshwater fishing destinations in the world.

When it comes to local transportation, snowmobiles are an ideal choice for much of the year, but during the short summer months, more transportation options open up for the community's 350 residents.

In recent years, the dusty gravel roads of this community have benefited from an ongoing chip-sealing program. Chip sealing is a cost-effective way to smooth out roads and reduce dust. It not only improves driver safety, but also air quality.

The federal Gas Tax Fund has helped Lutsel k'e and several other northern communities improve their local road infrastructure through similar projects in recent years.

As well as cutting down on dust and potholes, the treatment improves roadway drainage and reduces wear-and-tear on vehicles. It is an ideal alternative to paving, which is too expensive for many remote communities.

Building economic bridges to the North

Bridge on the Mackenzie Valley Winter Road

Project location: Mackenzie Valley

The Government of Canada is funding improvements to the Mackenzie Valley Winter Road through the Provincial-Territorial Base Fund.

This important piece of northern infrastructure currently operates only during the winter months when creek beds and soft tundra are frozen solid. The project involves strengthening the road structure and building 10 or more permanent, all-season bridges.

Creating an all-weather link through the Mackenzie Valley has been a longstanding priority. Extending the amount of time the highway can be used will greatly improve the flow of goods and services, helping to reduce the cost of living for residents. It will make businesses more competitive and increase opportunities to diversify the economy in remote northern communities.

The Mackenzie Valley Winter Road is also a vital link to the Northwest Territories' oil, gas and mineral resources, as well as water flows with hydroelectric power potential.

Improving the highway will facilitate quick responses to emergencies in the region, and support the safety and security of the Western Arctic.

Federal contribution: The Northwest Territories' total federal allocation for initiatives under the Provincial-Territorial Base Fund agreement is $185.8 million.

Sewage leaks stopped in Norman Wells

Project location: Norman Wells

A utilidor is an above-ground corridor built to carry utility lines, such as water, electricity and sewer lines. Utilidors are a necessity in many northern communities, where burying infrastructure is avoided due to permafrost.

Norman Wells, a Northwest Territories town of 800 people, needed to replace the sewage pipes in its utilidors. At least 50 residences and two major businesses were at high risk of property damage due to chronic flooding and sewer back-up problems.

This is where the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund made a difference. Thanks to federal funding, the city was able to examine the sewer deterioration and identify the pipes that needed to be replaced. Work also consisted of scouring, pressure cleaning and repairing other pipes.

The investment is expected to extend the system's life span by at least another 20 years.

Federal contribution: $400,000

Laying the trails to points beyond

An upgraded trail in the North Slave Region of the Northwest Territories

Project location: North Slave Region

In the heart of the Northwest Territories is Yellowknife. Home to some 20,000 people, the capital city is known for its beauty and rich outdoor recreational opportunities. With the right amount of energy and bug spray, tourists and locals can enjoy the moderate to highly challenging hiking trails.

With financial support from the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund, three trails were repaired and upgraded with improved signage. The first two paths lead to points of interest such as the 17 metre waterfall at the end of Cameron Falls Trail, and the rapids along Cameron River Ramparts Trail. The third is the Prospector's Trail, found in the heart of Yellowknife, which provides a two-hour exploration of the lives and adventures of early miners.

Federal contribution: $65,000

Solar power initiative supported by federal Gas Tax Fund

Paulatuk solar panels

Project location: Paulatuk

The local youth centre in the Hamlet of Paulatuk is one of a number of facilities in the Northwest Territories now capturing solar rays to feed electricity back to the power grid.

Many isolated northern communities are heavily dependent on fossil fuels for their energy needs. Although they are reliable systems using diesel, natural gas and heating oil are all losing their appeal for a variety of reasons. Environmental impacts account for some of this decline, but rising commodity prices are also supporting a push toward renewable and sustainable energy sources.

In recent years, solar power has been gaining prominence across the Northwest Territories as an alternative source of electricity. Despite having short winter days, northern communities are well suited to solar energy systems. Solar panels work well in sub-zero temperatures and the reflection of the sun's rays off the surrounding snow often causes the panels to surpass their expected energy output.

In addition to supplementing traditional energy sources, solar-powered systems can provide revenue to further offset other high fuel costs. The environmental and economic benefits are a source of pride for many northern residents.

In helping a key local youth resource function more efficiently, the federal Gas Tax Fund has also enabled savings that could be invested back into expanding the centre's programs and services in the future.

Enhancing airport services in the North

The Yellowknife Airport

Project location: Yellowknife

Many northern towns are only accessible by air, particularly in the summer months when ice roads have thawed. The Yellowknife Airport serves as an access point for dozens of otherwise isolated communities. It can handle commercial aircrafts of any size and acts as a forward military operating base and emergency landing site.

Through the Provincial-Territorial Base Fund, the federal government helped finance a new Combined Services Building for this important regional transportation hub. The new facility houses a fire hall and maintenance garage, and provides emergency crews with direct access to the runways.

Design features include drive-through bays and a 180-degree view of the main runway for improved safety. High-efficiency mechanical and electrical systems are also now in place to reduce energy consumption.

This project provided airport staff with a modern, purpose-designed workplace and improved safety for the travelling public. The new building also supports Canada's goal of advancing economic and social development, as well as strengthening its sovereignty in the North.

Federal contribution: The Northwest Territories' total federal allocation for initiatives under the Provincial-Territorial Base Fund agreement is $185.8 million.

L'infrastructure dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Programmes

Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada

Affectation : 258 millions de dollars

Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence

Un total de 78 millions de dollars provenant du Fonds fédéral de la taxe sur l'essence sera alloué aux municipalités des Territoires du Nord-Ouest de 2014 à 2019.

Financement de base provincial-territorial

Allocation totale depuis 2007 : 185,8 millions de dollars
Financement fédéral engagé : 185,8 millions de dollars

Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure

Nombre de projets depuis 2009 : 20
Contribution fédérale : 5,1 millions de dollars
Total des coûts admissibles des projets : 13,4 millions de dollars

Nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada

bouton nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada

Lisez à propos du nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence en vedette

Bouton du Plan d'action économique

Découvrez un projet du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence de Paulatuk.

Profils des projets aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest

Cliquer sur le nom d'une des collectivités suivantes pour en apprendre davantage sur certains des projets réalisés dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest.

Faciliter la circulation dans la collectivité

Les routes d'Aklavik ont été repavées et élargies

Emplacement du projet : Hameau d'Aklavik

Aklavik est une belle collectivité éloignée des Territoires du Nord-Ouest située du côté nord du delta du Mackenzie.

En raison de son emplacement exceptionnel sur la rivière Peel, Aklavik était autrefois considérée comme un centre essentiel pour le transport et du piégeage. La ville est également connue comme la ville d'origine du « Trappeur fou », le trappeur silencieux qui, en 1931, a été la cible de la plus longue chasse à l'homme par la Gendarmerie royale du Canada de l'histoire du Canada.

Aujourd'hui, les problèmes sont d'une autre nature.

L'autoroute Dempster est la seule route reliant la ville au delta, mais elle commence de l'autre côté de la rivière Peel. Pour cette raison, Aklavik est uniquement accessible avec un véhicule routier durant les mois d'hiver, lorsqu'une route de glace s'ouvre sur la rivière gelée. Pendant plusieurs mois chaque année, la circulation est confinée au village, où les routes étaient en très mauvais état.

Grâce au Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure du gouvernement fédéral, les routes d'Aklavik ont été repavées et élargies. De nouveaux ponceaux ont également été ajoutés pour améliorer le drainage et la sécurité des routes.

Ce projet vise à stimuler les nouveaux développements dans les secteurs résidentiels et industriels d'Aklavik et d'améliorer cette collectivité nordique.

Contribution fédérale : 233 000 $

Un autre projet achevé à Inuvik

Emplacement du projet : Inuvik

Un autre projet réalisé dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique vient s'ajouter à la longue liste des projets menés à bonne fin au pays.

Terre du soleil de minuit et porte d'entrée de Beaufort-Delta, Inuvik est située à 2 degrés au-dessus de cercle arctique, le long du magnifique fleuve Mackenzie et de son delta. La ville est le centre de l'administration gouvernementale, du transport et du tourisme dans la région ouest de l'Arctique et elle abrite les sièges sociaux des entreprises pétrolières et gazières opérant dans la mer de Beaufort et dans le delta du Mackenzie.

La ville d'Inuvik a reçu 349 000 $ du Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure pour son programme de resurfaçage des routes, d'une valeur de 2,8 millions. Peu de routes de la collectivité sont pavées et la surface en gravier nécessite beaucoup d'entretien, particulièrement par temps pluvieux et durant les périodes de fonte printanière. Les résidants se plaignent également de la poussière et du bruit occasionnés par le passage des véhicules sur les routes en gravier.

Le projet est maintenant terminé et l'aide du gouvernement fédéral a permis à la municipalité d'Inuvik de se rapprocher de son objectif, qui consiste à paver la majorité de ses rues. En plus de contribuer à l'atténuation des irritants subis par la population, la modernisation du réseau routier est utile pour les citoyens d'Inuvik, pour ses entreprises et pour les touristes.

Contribution fédérale : 349 000 $

Conserver un chaleureux accueil pour le parc territorial Nitainlaii

Le bâtiment en bois rond qui permet d'accueillir les visiteurs au parc territorial Nitainlaii à Inuvik

Emplacement du projet : Inuvik

Le bâtiment en bois rond qui permet d'accueillir les visiteurs au parc territorial Nitainlaii conservera sa vocation pour des années à venir. Une contribution de 76 500 $ du gouvernement fédéral par l'entremise du Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure a financé sa rénovation.

Situé à Inuvik, Territoires du Nord-Ouest, le parc territorial Nitainlaii suit l'autoroute Dempster vers l'océan Arctique. Du terrain de camping du parc, on peut admirer la rivière Peel, à neuf kilomètres de Fort McPherson.

Le centre d'accueil est constitué d'une structure traditionnelle en bois rond. On y retrouve un centre d'information pour les visiteurs où est donné un aperçu fascinant de la vie passée et actuelle de la nation Gwich'in (nation dénée), à la faveur d'une visite des lieux guidée par un des anciens qui habitent la région.

La rénovation du bâtiment comprenait des réparations à la toiture, des travaux de peintures et d'entretien général afin d'en maintenir la sécurité et l'apparence globale. Ces travaux reflètent l'engagement du gouvernement du Canada à collaborer avec les Territoires du Nord-Ouest afin de d'améliorer les infrastructures, les emplois et les opportunités touristiques dans ces localités.

Contribution fédérale : 76 500 $

Investissement dans les collectivités du Nord

Emplacement du projet : Kakisa

Kakisa, également connue sous le nom de Première nation de Ka'a'gee Tu, est une collectivité en expansion de près de 55 habitants. Le village peine à attirer de nouveaux résidants et à retenir les jeunes en raison d'une pénurie de logements dans la région.

À l'automne de 2010, la collectivité a pris des mesures pour créer davantage de possibilités de construction domiciliaire dans ses limites géographiques. Ayant obtenu une contribution financière du Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure, la collectivité a effectué un débroussaillage et acheté du gravier pour construire des routes et fabriquer des dalles de béton. On a ensuite procédé au nivellement pour le drainage superficiel, et creusé des fossés. Le nouveau lotissement est prêt pour la construction de nouvelles maisons.

Grâce à cet investissement, le gouvernement fédéral soutient la mise en place de collectivités saines et habitables dans le nord du Canada.

Contribution fédérale : 125 000 $

Bâtir des ponts économiques vers le Nord

Pont sur la route hivernale de la vallée du Mackenzie

Emplacement du projet : Mackenzie Valley

Le gouvernement du Canada verse des fonds pour améliorer la route hivernale de la vallée du Mackenzie par l'entremise du Financement de base pour les infrastructures des provinces et des territoires.

Cet élément important de l'infrastructure du Nord ne fonctionne que pendant les mois d'hiver lorsque les lits des ruisseaux et la toundra sont bien gelés. Le projet consiste à renforcer la structure de la route et à bâtir au moins dix ponts permanents.

La création d'un lien praticable en tout temps dans la vallée du Mackenzie est une priorité de longue date. Le fait de prolonger la période de temps pendant laquelle la route peut être utilisée améliorera grandement le mouvement des biens et services, ce qui contribuera à réduire le coût de la vie pour les résidants. Cela rendra les entreprises plus concurrentielles et accroîtra les possibilités de diversifier l'économie dans les communautés éloignées du Nord.

La route hivernale de la vallée du Mackenzie constitue aussi un lien crucial vers le pétrole, le gaz et les ressources minérales des Territoires du Nord-Ouest, ainsi que vers les ressources en eau présentant un potentiel hydroélectrique.

Grâce à l'amélioration de la route, il sera plus facile de répondre rapidement aux situations d'urgence dans la région, et d'appuyer la sécurité de l'Arctique de l'Ouest.

Contribution fédérale : L'affectation fédérale totale des Territoires du Nord-Ouest aux termes de l'entente sur le financement de base pour les infrastructures des provinces et des territoires représente 185,8 millions de dollars.

Les fuites des égouts sont choses du passé à Norman Wells

Emplacement du projet : Norman Wells

Un réseau de distribution aérien sous coffrage est un corridor hors terre pour les conduites de services, notamment l'eau, l'électricité et les égouts. Ces réseaux sont nécessaires dans les collectivités du nord où on évite d'enfouir les infrastructures dans le pergélisol.

La ville de Norman Wells dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest compte 800 habitants et devait remplacer les tuyaux d'égouts dans son réseau de distribution. Pas moins de 50 résidences et deux grandes entreprises étaient menacées de dommages importants à cause des inondations fréquentes et des problèmes de refoulement d'égout.

Le Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure a joué un rôle important ici. Les fonds fédéraux ont permis à la Ville d'examiner la détérioration des conduites d'égout et ont pu déterminer les tuyaux à remplacer. Les travaux incluaient aussi l'affouillement, le nettoyage sous pression et la réparation d'autres tuyaux.

L'investissement permettra de prolonger la durée de vie du réseau d'au moins 20 ans.

Contribution fédérale : 400 000 $

Une initiative liée à l'énergie solaire soutenue par le Fonds de la taxe fédérale sur l'essence

les systèmes à énergie solaire à Paulatuk
Bouton du Plan d'action économique

Emplacement du projet : Paulatuk

Le centre local pour les jeunes du hameau de Paulatuk est l'une des nombreuses installations des Territoires du Nord-Ouest qui sont désormais en mesure de capter les rayons du soleil et d'acheminer de l'électricité dans le réseau énergétique.

De nombreuses collectivités isolées dans le Nord dépendent fortement des combustibles fossiles pour répondre à leurs besoins en matière d'énergie. Même s'il s'agit de solutions fiables, les systèmes qui utilisent le diesel, le gaz naturel et l'huile de chauffage perdent de leur attrait pour diverses raisons. Les effets environnementaux sont en partie à l'origine de ce déclin, mais la hausse des prix des marchandises stimule également la popularité des énergies renouvelables et durables.

Au cours des dernières années, l'énergie solaire a occupé une place de plus en plus importante dans les Territoires du Nord-Ouest à titre de nouvelle source d'électricité. Malgré la courte durée des journées en hiver, les collectivités du Nord sont bien adaptées pour les systèmes à énergie solaire. En effet, les panneaux solaires fonctionnent bien lorsque la température est inférieure au point de congélation, et la réflexion des rayons du soleil sur la neige fait souvent en sorte que les panneaux surpassent leur production d'énergie prévue.

En plus de compléter les sources d'énergie traditionnelles, les systèmes à énergie solaire peuvent fournir des revenus qui viennent compenser les autres coûts élevés associé avec le carburant. Ces avantages environnementaux et économiques sont une source de fierté pour de nombreux résidants du Nord.

En contribuant au fonctionnement plus efficace de cette ressource essentielle pour les jeunes à l'échelle locale, le Fonds de la taxe fédérale sur l'essence a permis de réaliser des économies qui ont pu être réinvesties dans l'expansion des programmes et des services du centre pour l'avenir.

Prolongement des sentiers

Un sentier réparé dans le région de North Slave

Emplacement du projet : Région de North Slave

Yellowknife est situé au cœur des Territoires du Nord-Ouest. La capitale, qui compte 20 000 habitants, est renommée pour sa beauté et ses nombreuses occasions récréatives extérieures. Avec de l'énergie et la vaporisation idéale de chasse-moustiques, les touristes et les résidants peuvent profiter des sentiers de randonée modérés et très difficiles.

L'appui financier du Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure a permis de réparer trois sentiers et de les améliorer grâce à une meilleure signalisation. Les deux premières pistes conduisent à des endroits stratégiques, comme la chute d'eau de 17 mètres au bout du sentier Cameron Falls et les rapides le long du sentier Cameron River Ramparts. Le troisième sentier, le Prospector, se trouve au centre de Yellowknife et offre une exploration d'une durée de deux heures de la vie et des aventures des anciens mineurs.

Contribution fédérale : 65 000 $

Amélioration des services aéroportuaires dans le Nord

L'aéroport de Yellowknife

Emplacement du projet : Yellowknife

De nombreuses villes du Nord ne sont accessibles que par avion, notamment pendant les mois d'été lorsque les routes de glace ont fondu. L'aéroport de Yellowknife sert de point d'accès pour des douzaines de communautés autrement isolées. Il peut accueillir des avions commerciaux de tout gabarit et agit en tant que base d'opérations militaires et de terrain d'atterrissage d'urgence.

Par l'entremise du financement de base pour les infrastructures des provinces et des territoires, le gouvernement fédéral a contribué à financer un nouveau bâtiment de services regroupés pour cet important centre de transport régional. Le nouvel établissement abrite un poste de pompiers et un garage d'entretien, et compte des équipes d'urgence qui ont un accès direct aux pistes d'atterrissage.

Les caractéristiques de conception prévoient des aires accessibles aux véhicules et une vue de 180 degrés de la piste d'atterrissage principale pour une sécurité accrue. Des systèmes mécaniques et électriques à haute efficacité sont maintenant en place pour réduire la consommation d'énergie.

Ce projet permet d'offrir aux employés de l'aéroport un lieu de travail moderne aménagé à des fins particulières et une sécurité accrue pour les voyageurs. Le nouveau bâtiment contribue aussi à l'atteinte de l'objectif du Canada de faire progresser le développement économique et social, et d'affirmer la souveraineté dans le Nord.

Contribution fédérale : L'affectation fédérale totale des Territoires du Nord-Ouest aux termes de l'entente sur le financement de base pour les infrastructures des provinces et des territoires représente 185,8 millions de dollars.