ARCHIVED - Infrastructure Spotlight: Canada's Highway System: Backbone of a Strong Economy

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (Size: 891 KB)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Canada is a vast country with many of its cities, people and economic centres separated by great distances. To support our country's modern trade-dependent economy, as well as its development, economic growth and well-being, transportation — especially roads and highways — plays a critical role.

Every day, millions of Canadians travel on highways. Our highway system, which is connected to major urban centres and international gateways, enables Canadian businesses to efficiently reach domestic and foreign markets.

Supporting trade competitiveness and a strong Canadian economy

A modern, safe and interconnected system of highways promotes trade competitiveness and is essential for the efficient movement of commercial goods within Canada and across international borders. Given the importance of our trade relationship with the United States and the fact that most Canada-U.S. trade is conducted by commercial truckers, our highway network is the backbone of a strong Canadian economy.

Indeed, roads continue to be the dominant mode of transport for the movement of goods between Canada and the United States. In 2011, $149 billion worth of exports and $162 billion worth of imports were transported by road between the two countries.1 This represents 56 percent of total Canada-U.S. trade and 35 percent of Canada's total trade worldwide.

The evolution of Canada's highways

Trans-Canada Highway in Saskatchewan

Building the Trans-Canada Highway in Saskatchewan, ca. 1957
(photo courtesy of the Encyclopaedia of Saskatchewan Archives Board R-B6300)

An important part of the country's extensive road system, the historic Trans-Canada Highway, was built in the 1950s to strengthen national unity and help connect Canadians from the Atlantic to the Pacific. The 1949 Trans-Canada Highway Act set the stage for joint federal-provincial funding of what would become Canada's longest highway. Workers tackled some of the world's most treacherous terrain, including mountain passes, canyons, and frozen prairies to build the 8,030-kilometre route.

In 1962, Prime Minister John Diefenbaker and provincial representatives officially opened the Trans-Canada at Rogers Pass in British Columbia. While construction would not be fully competed until 1971, Canada's "billion dollar highway" was open for traffic from the Atlantic to the Pacific. Over the years it has seen many upgrades, such as improvements to the Kicking Horse Canyon Highway project. Since 1971, some provinces have designated additional and parallel road links as part of the Trans-Canada Highway even though they were not built under the original 1949 Act. The Trans-Canada Highway, as designated by the provinces, now stands at around 12,800 kilometres.

Improving the Trans-Canada Highway, Golden, British Columbia

The Kicking Horse Canyon Highway Improvement project involved straightening the Trans-Canada Highway, widening it to four lanes, replacing bridges, and implementing other design innovations to reduce hazards. With the help of over $64 million from the Major Infrastructure Component of the Building Canada Fund, the improvements reduced sharp curves and steep grades while increasing capacity and improving traffic flow. The upgrades improved the safety and efficiency of this critical trade corridor, which is travelled by more than 10,000 vehicles every day in the summer.

Side-view of Trans-Canada Highway bridge across Kicking Horse CanyonTop-view of vehicles on top of Trans-Canada Highway bridge over Kicking Horse Canyon

The Park Bridge across the Kicking Horse River is a spectacular feat of engineering nestled into the even more spectacular Rocky Mountains.
(photos courtesy of the Government of British Columbia)

Since the debut of the Trans-Canada Highway, continued investments in Canada's roads and highways have greatly expanded the country's road system. Canada has over one million kilometres of roads,2 including an interconnected system of national highways, which represent the core of the national transportation network used by cars, trucks and buses.

Map of Canada's National Highway System

Canada's National Highway System
(photo courtesy of Transport Canada)

In 1988, the Council of Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety formally endorsed a National Highway System (NHS). The NHS includes over 38,000 kilometres of highways that support inter-provincial and international trade and travel by connecting the country's capital cities, major population or commercial centres, major ports of exit or entry to the United States, as well as other transportation facilities, such as ports and ferry terminals. In 2008, the system supported over 127 billion vehicle-kilometres of travel, including nearly 20 billion vehicle-kilometres of truck travel.3 While the NHS represents only three percent of the road network in Canada, it accounted for over 39 percent of vehicle-kilometres travelled in 2008.4

The Trans-Labrador Highway, Newfoundland and Labrador

The movement of people and goods enhances Canadian society and as such, transportation infrastructure is a priority area of investment for the governments of Canada and Newfoundland and Labrador.

The Trans-Labrador Highway cuts through the northern Labrador wilderness, connecting the west to the east of this vast land in a way never seen by previous generations.

Phase I began in 2007 and involves the widening and hard surfacing of the highway between Happy Valley-Goose Bay and Labrador City-Wabush. Phase I is expected to cost approximately $300 million, including $100 million cost-shared by the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador and the Government of Canada under the Provincial-Territorial Base Fund.

Unpaved portion of Trans-Labrador HighwayPaved portion of Trans-Labrador Highway

(photos courtesy of the Government of Newfoundland and Labrador)

Container loading on a trailer

Container loading on a trailer
(photo courtesy of the Government of British Columbia)

Our highway system is a central component of Canada's multi-modal transportation infrastructure. Most freight transported by train, ship or aircraft rely on trucks at one or both ends of the trip. In 2007, the Government of Canada launched the National Policy Framework for Strategic Gateways and Trade Corridors to facilitate trade and commerce, provide a seamless and integrated transportation network, and respond to pressures related to globalization and competitiveness.

The strategies developed and implemented under this Framework contribute to Canada's competitiveness by further developing and leveraging transportation systems, including roads and highways, which are critical to international trade. Three strategic gateways and trade corridors have been identified: the Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridor, the Ontario-Quebec Continental Gateway and Trade Corridor, and the Atlantic Gateway and Trade Corridor.

Government of Canada support for better highways

The Government of Canada recognizes the importance of an efficient, integrated highway system to Canada's economy and long-term prosperity. Although provinces and territories are responsible for most highway construction, federal investments have helped ensure that our highways support Canada's economic prosperity.

The Government of Canada supports highway improvement in different ways. Through Infrastructure Canada programs such as the Building Canada Fund, federal investments support projects that improve the capacity and safety of core National Highway System routes, rehabilitate highway and bridge assets and provide Intelligent Transportation Systems. Under the Major Infrastructure Component of the Building Canada Fund, the core National Highway System is one of five national priorities, along with public transit, drinking water, wastewater and green energy infrastructure.

Since the launch of the Building Canada Plan in 2007, Infrastructure Canada has committed over $1.6 billion towards 241 National Highway System infrastructure projects.5 This includes significant investments in some of Canada's largest economic regions. These federal investments leveraged about $2.3 billion from the other levels of government towards the improvement of the National Highway System.

Stimulus funding supports highway improvements in New Brunswick

In New Brunswick, Infrastructure Stimulus Fund investments have supported projects that have helped improve the everyday lives of citizens. Among these, 46 highway improvement projects received a total federal contribution of over $35 million. Now completed, these construction projects have resulted in a smoother drive and improved safety and reliability for New Brunswick motorists and their families.

Repaved highway in Perth-Andover, New Brunswick

Highway construction and rehabilitation of Routes 101, 102, and 109
(Fredericton and Perth-Andover)

Interchange in Moncton, New Brunswick

New interchange is helping local business grow
(Moncton)

Bridge in Hartland, New Brunswick

Important bridge gets much-needed upgrades
(Hartland)

To strengthen Canada's position in international commerce, the Government of Canada is also making significant investments under Transport Canada programs such as the Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridor Initiative and the Gateways and Border Crossings Fund. Guided by the National Policy Framework for Strategic Gateways and Trade Corridors, the goal of these investments is to advance the Canadian transportation system to better connect our nation with world markets. The Government of Canada has committed over $432 million towards National Highway System projects under these funds, leveraging an additional $573 million from partners.6

Strategic highway infrastructure project supports trade with Asia-Pacific markets, Lower Mainland, British Columbia

Pitt River Bridge

(photo courtesy of the Government of British Columbia)

Major bridge and highway improvements are helping move international goods more quickly and efficiently through the Lower Mainland (British Columbia) and into markets across Canada and the United States.

The Pitt River Bridge and Mary Hill Interchange Project includes a new seven-lane bridge and an interchange to replace the current Lougheed Highway and Mary Hill Bypass intersection. Now open, the new bridge helps to better connect trade related and transportation facilities on both sides of the Pitt River. The project's design also includes pedestrian amenities and bicycle lanes.

The Government of Canada is supporting this project through $90 million provided under the Asia-Pacific Gateway and Corridor Initiative.

Delivering Results

Significant joint, public investments made in recent years have helped to improve road safety, increase efficiencies, and rejuvenate Canada's highway network. For example, studies have shown that the average age of roads in Canada is significantly lower than a decade ago, from 17 years in 2000 to 13 years in 2010.7 Since 2006, investments by all orders of government in the National Highway System have improved no less than 2,600 kilometres of the network (or 12 percent of its total length), upgrading their pavement condition rating to "good".8 In addition, 700 of the 8,700 bridges that are part of the National Highway System are new or have undergone major rehabilitation since 2007.9

Canadian highways and roads are also safer today than they were decades ago. Despite more drivers than ever before, the number of fatalities and collisions on Canadian roads is declining steadily, due to better driving behaviour, increased awareness and better and safer infrastructure.10 Recent numbers confirm long-term trends and gains observed since the beginning of the 1990s. From 2007 to 2009, Canadian authorities recorded a decrease of 20 percent (from 2,761 to 2,209) in road collision fatalities, their lowest level in almost six decades.11

Looking Forward

The Government of Canada will continue to partner with the other levels of government and key stakeholders to ensure that Canada's highways continue to serve Canadians and contribute to our economic growth, prosperity and competitiveness.

In Budget 2011 and Canada's Economic Action Plan 2012, the Government of Canada committed to working with provinces, territories, the Federation of Canadian Municipalities and other stakeholders to develop a long-term plan for public infrastructure that extends beyond the expiry of the Building Canada Plan in 2014. In November 2011, the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities launched an engagement process for the development of the new plan. The continued need for improvement of Canada's highway system is being considered in this context.

Additional information on the Government of Canada's Engagement Process for the development of a Long-Term Infrastructure Plan can be found on the Infrastructure Canada website.

Notes

[1]Information provided by Transport Canada (May 2012).

[2]As measured in "two-lane equivalent" roads.

[3]Information provided by Transport Canada (May 2012).

[4]Ibid.

[5]This includes projects funded under the Building Canada Fund and the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund.

[6]In addition, $167 million in federal funding has been invested through Parks Canada for the twinning of the Trans-Canada Highway in Banff National Park (Alberta).

[7]Statistics Canada, Investment and Capital Stock Division.

[8]Council of Ministers Responsible for Transportation and Highway Safety, "Canada's National Highway System – Annual Report 2010", p. 5, September 2011.

[9]Ibid.

[10]Canadian Council for Motor Transport Administrators, News Release, November 2011.

[11]Transport Canada, 2011, "Canadian Motor Vehicle Traffic Collision Statistics: 2009".

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - L'accent sur l'infrastructure :
Le réseau routier du Canada : l'ossature d'une économie solide

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Téléchargez la version PDF (902 Ko)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats suppléants, tels que PDF visitez la section d'aide sur les formats suppléants.

Le Canada est vaste; un grand nombre de villes, de personnes et de centres économiques sont séparés par de grandes distances. Pour appuyer l'économie moderne tributaire du commerce de notre pays, ainsi que son développement, sa croissance économique et son bien-être, le transport – en particulier les routes et les autoroutes – joue un rôle crucial.

Tous les jours, des millions de Canadiens voyagent sur les routes. Notre réseau routier, qui est relié aux centres urbains importants et aux passerelles internationales, permet aux entreprises canadiennes d'accéder efficacement aux marchés nationaux et étrangers.

Appuyer la compétitivité commerciale et une économie canadienne vigoureuse

Un réseau moderne, sécuritaire et interconnecté de routes promeut la compétitivité commerciale et est essentiel à l'acheminent efficace des marchandises commerciales au Canada et au-delà des frontières internationales. Étant donné l'importance de nos relations commerciales avec les États-Unis et le fait que la majorité du commerce entre le Canada et les États-Unis est effectué par les transporteurs routiers, notre réseau de routes est à la base d'une économie canadienne solide.

En réalité, les routes continuent d'être le mode de transport principal pour l'acheminement des marchandises entre le Canada et les États-Unis. En 2011, 149 milliards de dollars d'exportations et 162 milliards de dollars d'importations ont été transportées sur les routes entre les deux pays.1 Cela représente 56 p. 100 des échanges commerciaux entre le Canada et les États-Unis ou 35 p. 100 du commerce international du Canada.

L'évolution des routes canadiennes

Trans-Canada Highway in Saskatchewan

Construction de la Transcanadienne en Saskatchewan, vers 1957
(photo de l'Encyclopédie de la Saskatchewan Archives Board R-B6300)

Une partie importante du réseau routier du pays, la route historique Transcanadienne, a été construite en 1950 pour renforcer l'unité nationale et aider à relier les Canadiens de l'Atlantique au Pacifique. La Loi sur la route transcanadienne de 1949 a ouvert la voie à un financement mixte fédéral-provincial de ce qui deviendrait l'autoroute la plus longue du Canada. Les travailleurs se sont attaqués à certains des terrains les plus hostiles au monde, notamment des cols montagneux, des canyons et des prairies gelées pour construire la route de 8 030 kilomètres.

En 1962, le premier ministre John Diefenbaker et des représentants provinciaux ont procédé à l'ouverture officielle de l'autoroute transcanadienne à Rogers Pass, en Colombie-Britannique. Même si la construction n'a été achevée qu'en 1971, « l'autoroute d'un milliard de dollars » du Canada était ouverte à la circulation, de l'Atlantique au Pacifique. Au fil des ans, de nombreuses améliorations y ont été apportées telles que le projet de la route du canyon Kicking Horse. Depuis 1971, certaines provinces ont des liens routiers supplémentaires et parallèles en lien avec la Transcanadienne même s'ils n'ont pas été construits dans le cadre de la loi originale de 1949. La Transcanadienne, comme l'appellent les provinces, s'étend maintenant sur 12 800 kilomètres.

Améliorer la Transcanadienne, Golden (Colombie-Britannique)

Le projet d'amélioration de la route du canyon Kicking Horse comprend le redressement et l'élargissement à quatre voies de la Transcanadienne, le remplacement de ponts et la mise en place d'autres innovations conceptuelles ayant pour but de diminuer les risques. Grâce au soutien financier de 64 millions de dollars du volet Grandes infrastructures du Fonds Chantiers Canada, les réfections ont réduit les virages prononcés et les pentes raides, tout en augmentant la capacité et en améliorant la circulation. Ces modifications ont accru la sécurité et l'efficacité de cet important corridor de commerce, lequel est traversé par plus de 10 000 véhicules chaque jour pendant l'été.

Vue de côté du pont de la route Transcanadienne qui traverse le canyon Kicking HorseVue de dessus de véhicules sur un pont de la route Transcanadienne qui traverse le canyon Kicking Horse

Le pont Park, qui traverse la rivière Kicking Horse, est un remarquable exploit d'ingénierie blotti dans les spectaculaires montagnes Rocheuses.
(photos du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique)

Depuis le début de la construction de la Transcanadienne, des investissements soutenus dans les routes et les autoroutes canadiennes ont grandement contribué au développement du réseau routier du pays. Le Canada a plus d'un million de kilomètres de routes,2 y compris un réseau interconnecté de routes nationales qui représentent le cœur du réseau de transport national utilisé par les automobiles, les camions et les autobus.

Carte du Réseau routier national du Canada

Réseau routier national du Canada
(photo de Transports Canada)

En 1988, le Conseil des ministres responsables des transports et de la sécurité routière a officiellement appuyé un Réseau routier national (RRN). Le RRN comprend 38 000 kilomètres de routes qui permettent les déplacements et les échanges commerciaux interprovinciaux et internationaux, en reliant les principales villes du pays, les grands centres démographiques ou commerciaux, les points d'accès aux États-Unis, ainsi que d'autres réseaux de transport tels que les ports et les gares maritimes. En 2008, le réseau a soutenu plus de 127 milliards de véhicules-kilomètres, y compris près de 20 milliards de véhicules-kilomètres effectués par camion.3 Bien que le RRN ne représente que 3 p. 100 du réseau routier au Canada, il représentait plus de 39 p. 100 des véhicules-kilomètres effectués en 2008.4

La route translabradorienne (Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Le déplacement des gens et l'acheminement des marchandises améliorent la société canadienne et à ce titre, l'infrastructure du transport est un secteur prioritaire d'investissement pour les gouvernements du Canada et de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador.

La route translabradorienne traverse les étendues sauvages du Labrador nordique, reliant l'ouest et l'est de cette vaste région, ce que les générations précédentes n'ont jamais vu.

La première phase a débuté en 2007 et comprend l'élargissement et le revêtement dur de la route entre Happy Valley-Goose Bay et Labrador City-Wabush. Cette phase devrait coûter environ 300 millions de dollars, notamment 100 millions de dollars de frais partagés entre le gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador et le gouvernement du Canada dans le cadre du Financement de base pour les provinces et les territoires.

 
Section non revêtu de la route translabradorienneSection asphaltée de la route translabradorienne

(photos du gouvernement de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador)

Conteneur chargé sur une remorque

Conteneur chargé sur une remorque
(photo du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique)

Notre réseau routier est un élément central de l'infrastructure multimodale du Canada. La plupart des chargements transportés par train, par bateau ou par avion nécessitent un transport par camion au début ou à la fin de l'acheminement. En 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé le Cadre de politique national sur les portes et les corridors commerciaux stratégiques pour faciliter les échanges et le commerce, offrir un réseau de transport intégré et sans interruption et réagir aux pressions exercées par la mondialisation et la compétitivité.

Les stratégies élaborées et mises en œuvre en vertu de ce Cadre contribuent à la compétitivité du Canada en développant et en optimisant les réseaux de transport, notamment les routes et les autoroutes, qui sont essentiels au commerce international. Trois portes et corridors commerciaux stratégiques ont été désignés : la porte et le corridor de l'Asie-Pacifique, la porte continentale et le corridor de commerce Ontario-Québec et la porte et le corridor de commerce de l'Atlantique.

Soutien du gouvernement du Canada pour de meilleures routes

Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l'importance d'un réseau routier intégré efficace pour l'économie et la prospérité à long terme du Canada. Bien que les provinces et les territoires soient responsables de la majeure partie de la construction des routes, des investissements fédéraux ont aidé à assurer que nos routes soutiennent la prospérité économique canadienne.

Le gouvernement du Canada appuie l'amélioration des routes de différentes façons. Grâce à des programmes d'Infrastructure Canada tels que le Fonds Chantiers Canada, les investissements fédéraux appuient les projets qui améliorent la capacité et la sécurité des routes principales du Réseau routier national, restaurent les routes et les ponts et fournissent des systèmes de transport intelligents. Dans le cadre du volet Grandes infrastructures du Fonds Chantiers Canada, le Réseau routier national principal est l'une des cinq priorités nationales, avec l'eau potable, les eaux usées, le transport en commun et l'infrastructure axée sur l'énergie verte.

Depuis le lancement du Plan Chantiers Canada en 2007, Infrastructure Canada a engagé plus de 1,6 milliard de dollars pour 241 projets visant l'infrastructure du Réseau routier national,5 ce qui inclut des investissements importants dans les plus grandes régions économiques canadiennes. Ces investissements fédéraux ont permis d'obtenir 2,3 milliards de dollars auprès des autres ordres de gouvernement pour améliorer le Réseau routier national.

Le Fonds de stimulation soutient les améliorations des routes au Nouveau-Brunswick

Au Nouveau-Brunswick, les investissements du Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure ont appuyé des projets qui ont contribué à améliorer la vie quotidienne des citoyens. Ainsi, 46 projets d'amélioration du réseau routier ont fait l'objet d'une contribution fédérale de plus de 35 millions de dollars. Maintenant terminés, ces projets de construction permettent aux automobilistes du Nouveau-Brunswick et à leurs familles de bénéficier de routes plus lisses, plus fiables et plus sécuritaires.

Route du Nouveau-Brunswick à Perth-Andover

Construction et remise en état des routes 101, 102 et 109
(Fredericton et Perth-Andover)

Échangeur à Moncton, au Nouveau-Brunswick

Un nouvel échangeur favorise la croissance des entreprises locales
(Moncton)

Pont à Hartland, au Nouveau-Brunswick

Des améliorations grandement nécessaires ont été apportées à un pont important
(Hartland)

Afin de renforcer la position du Canada dans le commerce international, le gouvernement du Canada effectue des investissements importants dans le cadre des programmes de Transports Canada tels que l'Initiative de la Porte et du Corridor de l'Asie-Pacifique et le Fonds pour les portes d'entrée et les passages frontaliers. Guidé par le Cadre de politique national sur les portes et les corridors commerciaux stratégiques, le but de ces investissements est de faire progresser le système de transport canadien afin de mieux relier notre nation aux marchés mondiaux. Le gouvernement du Canada a engagé plus de 432 millions de dollars dans des projets visant le Réseau routier national dans le cadre de ces fonds, ce qui a permis d'obtenir 573 millions de dollars des partenaires.6

Un projet stratégique d'infrastructure routière appuie le commerce avec les marchés de l'Asie-Pacifique, Vallée du bas Fraser (Colombie-Britannique)

pont de la rivière Pitt

(photo du gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique)

Les améliorations majeures apportées aux ponts et aux routes appuient l'acheminement des marchandises internationales plus rapidement et plus efficacement dans la vallée du bas Fraser (Colombie-Britannique) et dans les marchés de tout le Canada et des États-Unis.

Le projet du pont de la rivière Pitt et de l'échangeur Mary Hill comprend la construction d'un nouveau pont à sept voies pour remplacer l'échangeur actuel à l'intersection de la route Lougheed et de la voie de contournement de Mary Hill. Maintenant ouvert, le nouveau pont aide à mieux relier les installations liées au commerce et les réseaux de transport sur les deux côtés de la rivière Pitt. La conception du projet comprend aussi des passages piétonniers et des voies cyclables.

Le gouvernement du Canada appuie également ce projet grâce aux 90 millions de dollars investis dans l'Initiative de la Porte et du Corridor de l'Asie-Pacifique.

Obtention de résultats

Les investissements publics mixtes importants réalisés au cours des dernières années ont aidé à améliorer la sécurité des routes, à accroître les économies et à rajeunir le réseau routier du Canada.

Par exemple, des études ont démonté que l'âge moyen des routes canadiennes a considérablement diminué au cours de la dernière décennie, passant de 17 ans en 2000 à 13 ans en 2010.7 Depuis 2006, les investissements réalisés par tous les ordres de gouvernement ont amélioré plus de 2 600 kilomètres du Réseau routier national (ou 12 p. 100 de la longueur totale), faisant ainsi passer l'indice de l'état de la chaussée à « bon ».8 De plus, 700 des 8 700 ponts qui font partie du Réseau routier national sont nouveaux ou ont subi des travaux de réfection majeurs depuis 2007.9

Les routes et les autoroutes canadiennes sont également plus sécuritaires qu'elles ne l'étaient il y a dix ans. Même si le nombre de conducteurs est plus élevé que jamais, le nombre de victimes et de collisions sur les routes canadiennes diminue constamment en raison d'un meilleur comportement au volant, de la sensibilisation accrue et d'une infrastructure meilleure et plus sécuritaire.10 Les données les plus récentes confirment les tendances et les gains à long terme observés depuis le début des années 1990. De 2007 à 2009, les autorités canadiennes ont enregistré une diminution de 20 p. 100 (de 2 761 à 2 209) du nombre de victimes de la route, soit le niveau le moins élevé depuis près de six décennies.11

Mettre le cap sur l'avenir

Le gouvernement du Canada continuera d'établir des partenariats avec les autres ordres de gouvernement et les intervenants clés afin d'assurer que les routes canadiennes continuent d'aider les Canadiens et qu'elles contribuent à notre croissance économique, à notre prospérité et à notre compétitivité.

Le gouvernement du Canada a énoncé dans le budget 2011 et dans le Plan d'action économique 2012 sa détermination de travailler avec les provinces, les territoires, la Fédération canadiennes des municipalités et autres intervenants à l'élaboration d'un plan d'infrastructure publique à long terme qui se poursuivra au-delà du plan Chantiers Canada en 2014. En novembre 2011, le ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités a procédé au lancement d'un processus de mobilisation en vue de mettre au point le nouveau plan. Dans ce contexte, on tient compte de la nécessité continue d'améliorer le réseau routier canadien.

Pour davantage d'information sur le processus de collaboration en vue de l'élaboration d'un plan d'infrastructure à long terme du gouvernement du Canada, veuillez consulter le site Web d'Infrastructure Canada.

Notes

[1]Renseignements fournis par Transports Canada (mai 2012).

[2]Sur des routes « à deux voies » équivalentes.

[3]Renseignements fournis par Transports Canada (mai 2012).

[4]Ibid.

[5]Cet engagement comprend les projets financés dans le cadre du Fonds Chantier Canada et du Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure.

[6]De plus, 167 millions de dollars en financement fédéral ont été investis par Parcs Canada pour l'élargissement à quatre voies de la transcanadienne dans le Parc national de Banff, en Alberta.

[7]Statistique Canada, Division de l'investissement et du stock de capital.

[8]Conseil des ministres responsables des transports et de la sécurité routière, « Réseau routier national du Canada – Rapport annuel 2010 », p. 5, septembre 2011.

[9]Ibid.

[10]Conseil canadien des administrateurs en transport motorisé, communiqué, novembre 2011.

[11]Transports Canada, 2011, « Statistiques sur les collisions de la route au Canada : 2009 ».

Date de modification :