ARCHIVED - Infrastructure Spotlight: The Great Lakes and
St. Lawrence Watersheds

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (Size: 1.16 MB)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Image of the St. Lawrence drainage basin

The St. Lawrence Drainage Basin
(map courtesy of Environment Canada)

The Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River Basin is one of the largest freshwater systems in the world. Covering more than 1.6 million km2 — roughly the size of the province of Quebec — this watershed drains more than one-quarter of the Earth's freshwater reserves1 and is home to around 15 million Canadians. With the Canada-U.S. border running through the middle, millions of Canadians and Americans rely on the system for drinking water, transportation, trade and employment as well as tourism and recreation. It also supports some of the richest farmland in North America, provides an important source of power for homes and businesses, and is home to a large variety of plant, fish and animal species.

The Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River system links Central Canada and the American Midwest with the Atlantic Ocean and global markets, and is among the world's most important commercial waterways.2 More than 180 million metric tons of cargo travels the St. Lawrence every year.3 This vital transportation corridor is key for marine shipping and the efficient movement of international trade to and from North America.

In Ontario, the economic benefits of the Great Lakes are significant. The Great Lakes Basin is an economic hub helping to generate the majority of Ontario's power and exports, and water for domestic use and manufacturing. The lakes attract tourists and support multi-billion-dollar fisheries and agri-food industries. In fact, sources estimate that the contribution of the fisheries and tourism generated by the Great Lakes is close to $9 billion to the Canadian economy.4

Given the value of this water system to our economy, society and public well-being, the environmental integrity of the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River Basin is important for all Canadians. The Government of Canada recognizes the importance of these watersheds and is continuing to support significant public infrastructure projects in the region. These projects are improving water quality and helping to protect and conserve this vital natural resource.

History of a Waterway

Access to fresh water has been at the heart of Canadian commerce and population growth since Confederation. In 1909, Canada and the United States established the International Joint Commission to address water issues along the border, including the Great Lakes. The Great Lakes became even more vital in 1959, when the St. Lawrence Seaway was completed, giving inland provinces and states access to the Atlantic Ocean. Today, the International Joint Commission focuses much of its work on the Great Lakes.

The regions near the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River have always been home to a significant portion of Canada's population. Growth over the years has brought with it increased economic activity. According to an economic study released in October 2011,5 the Great Lakes-St. Lawrence Seaway directly supports over 225,000 jobs and generates billions of dollars in income and revenues annually in both the United States and Canada.

However, the waterway's success has also had negative consequences. The increasing impacts of industrialization, urban development, agricultural activities, increased fishing, and tourism contributed to the environmental decline of the Great Lakes in the mid-1900s and beyond. Recognizing these challenges, Canada and the United States signed the Canada-U.S. Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement in 1972 and made a commitment to restore and maintain the health of the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem.

Based on this agreement, in the mid-1980s a total of 43 environmental hotspots or Areas of Concern were identified in the shared Great Lakes portion of the watershed, including 17 in Canada. For over 40 years through the Canada-Ontario Agreement Respecting the Great Lakes Basin Ecosystem (COA), Canada and Ontario have been working with partners from urban and rural communities, industries and First Nations to restore and protect the Great Lakes. For each Area of Concern in Canada, the federal and Ontario governments partnered with local communities and stakeholders to develop plans to restore and delist the affected areas. Investing in wastewater infrastructure in Great Lakes communities is a key part of these plans.

In April 2010, Lake Erie's Wheatley Harbour was delisted as an Area of Concern. As a result of actions to control and improve industrial wastewater treatment and reduce contaminants from agricultural sources, the water quality in Wheatley Harbour has improved significantly. In addition to Wheatley Harbour, two other Canadian Areas of Concern have been delisted - Severn Sound and Collingwood Harbour. Oswego River, an American Area of Concern, has also been delisted bringing the total to four.

"In 2003, when the International Joint Commission issued a status report on Areas of Concern, there were only two delisted sites. Today, with the delisting of Wheatley Harbour, there are four – an indication that progress can be made when local, provincial, state and federal governments work with community organizations like the Essex Region Conservation Authority to achieve the goals of the Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement."

– Joseph Comuzzi, Canadian Section Chair,
International Joint Commission

A Promising Future

Montréal

Montréal skyline and St. Lawrence River
(photo courtesy of Parks Canada, P.-É. Cadorette, 2007)

Effluent from wastewater systems is one of the largest sources of pollution in the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence River. The Government of Canada is taking action to protect these important ecological and economic resources, and Infrastructure Canada is doing its part to support the efforts.

Under the Green Infrastructure Fund, launched in 2009, Canada and Ontario have each committed $174.5 million to help upgrade four important wastewater treatment plants in support of delisting three Areas of Concern: St. Lawrence River, Hamilton Harbour and Nipigon Bay. This is in addition to over $100 million in federal support already committed through other Infrastructure Canada programs, including the Building Canada Fund and the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund, to address wastewater infrastructure in these areas.

The governments of Canada and Quebec have also been working together for over 20 years to safeguard the health of the St. Lawrence River. For example, by separating the storm water and household sewage handling system in Portneuf, the frequency and volumes of combined sewage overflows into the St. Lawrence has been dramatically reduced. Plans are also underway to address combined sewer overflow issues in Montréal through the construction of four new water reservoirs.

Upgrading Montréal's wastewater infrastructure

The Jean R. Marcotte Treatment Plant

In Montréal, joint federal and provincial investments of $63.7 million at the Jean R. Marcotte treatment plant will improve the disinfection process for wastewater before it is released into the St. Lawrence River. An additional $49.3 million investment from each of the federal and provincial governments will reduce the volume and frequency of overflows from the City of Montréal's combined sewer system during heavy rains.

Since the launch of the Building Canada Plan in 2007, the Government of Canada has committed over $1 billion to more than 700 wastewater projects in the Great Lakes and St. Lawrence water system.6 These projects are being undertaken in partnership with provincial and municipal governments.

In addition, over $350 million has been allocated to wastewater projects all across Ontario and Quebec under the Gas Tax Fund. Working together, Canada, Ontario, Quebec and municipal partners will continue to strengthen wastewater systems in the region to restore and protect the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence.

"Wastewater management commenced in the 1860's primarily for public health reasons. Over the years, the purposes of wastewater management evolved to take into account environmental health. Today, thanks to the collective efforts of all levels of government, huge improvements continue to be made that will benefit Canadians across the country."

– T. D. Ellison, Interim Executive Director,
Canadian Water and Wastewater Association

Examples of Infrastructure Canada-funded projects in Great Lakes Areas of Concern:

Nipigon Bay

Sewage treatment facility

Red Rock wastewater treatment facility

In the Townships of Red Rock and Nipigon, joint federal-provincial investments of $9 million and $6.9 million respectively will improve the quality of treated wastewater released into Nipigon Bay. They have upgraded their sewage treatment facility by adding a second process that removes or reduces contaminants that were missed in the initial treatment phase. These investments will help to delist Nipigon Bay as an Area of Concern.

St. Lawrence

Wastewater treatment facility

City of Cornwall's wastewater treatment facility

Investments of $18.5 million from both the governments of Canada and Ontario will increase the capacity of the City of Cornwall's wastewater treatment facility, upgrade the facility by adding a second level of processing to further reduce or remove contaminants and reduce the volume of untreated wastewater being discharged into the St. Lawrence River during heavy rainfalls.

Hamilton Harbour

Hamilton Harbour

Municipality of Halton, Hamilton Harbour

Woodward Avenue Wastewater Treatment Plant

Woodward Avenue Wastewater Treatment Plant

The discharge of wastewater containing phosphorus adversely affects fish habitat. As such, investments of $51.5 million from both the Government of Canada and the Ontario government will help the Regional Municipality of Halton improve its wastewater treatment process, to reduce the amount of phosphorus discharged into Hamilton Harbour. The City of Hamilton will also benefit from investments of $100 million from both the federal and provincial governments towards upgrading the municipal wastewater treatment processes at the Woodward Avenue Wastewater Treatment Plant, further assisting remediation of this Area of Concern.

Looking Forward

In Budget 2011, the Government of Canada committed to working with partners to develop a new long-term plan for public infrastructure that extends beyond the expiry of the Building Canada Plan in 2014. On November 30, 2011, the Honourable Denis Lebel, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, launched a formal engagement process to develop this plan. On June 1, 2012, Minister Lebel announced a series of roundtables with provinces, territories, municipal organizations and key stakeholders to guide the development of the new long-term plan. This plan will focus on investments in infrastructure that support job creation and economic growth, while building strong, prosperous communities across the country. The continued need for improvement of wastewater infrastructure across Canada will be considered in this context.

Additional information on the Government of Canada's Engagement Process for the development of a Long-Term Infrastructure Plan can be found on the Infrastructure Canada website.

[1]St. Lawrence Action Plan, "Overview of the State of the St. Lawrence River", 2008

[2]Environment Canada

[3]The St. Lawrence Seaway Management Corporation, 2012

[4]Fisheries and Oceans Canada; Great Lakes Fisheries Commission

[5]U.S. Department of Transportation, 2011

[6]These figures exclude the federal Gas Tax Fund.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - L'accent sur l'infrastructure : Les bassins des
Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Téléchargez la version PDF (1.10 Mo)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats suppléants, tels que PDF visitez la section d'aide sur les formats suppléants.

Image du bassin versant Grands Lacs—Saint-Laurent

Le bassin versant du Saint-Laurent
(illustration d'Environnement Canada)

Le système hydrographique des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent constitue l'un des plus grands réseaux d'eau douce du monde. D'une superficie de plus de 1,6 million de km2 — ce qui correspond à la taille du Québec —, ces bassins drainent plus du quart des réserves mondiales d'eau douce,1 et environ 15 millions de Canadiens y vivent. Ces bassins, traversés en leur milieu par la frontiére canado-américaine, alimentent en eau potable des millions de Canadiens et d'Américains, lesquels en dépendent également sur le plan des transports, du commerce, de l'emploi, du tourisme et des loisirs. Ils comportent également certaines des terres agricoles les plus riches d'Amérique du Nord, représentent une source importante d'électricité pour les habitations et les entreprises et abritent une flore et une faune trés diversifiées.

Le système hydrographique des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent, qui relie les Grands Lacs à l'océan Atlantique et aux marchés mondiaux, constitue l'une des plus longues voies de navigation commerciale au monde.2 Chaque année, plus de 180 millions de tonnes métriques de fret circulent sur le Saint-Laurent.3 Ce couloir de transport est essentiel à la navigation maritime et à l'efficacité des échanges internationaux vers et en provenance de l'Amérique du Nord.

Les avantages économiques des Grands Lacs sont importants pour l'Ontario. Le bassin des Grands Lacs est un pôle économique qui contribue à génèrer la majeure partie de l'électricité et des exportations de l'Ontario et à fournir l'eau nécessaire pour la consommation des ménages et des industries. Les Grands Lacs attirent les touristes et soutiennent les industries de la pêche et de l'agroalimentaire, dont le chiffre d'affaires s'élève à plusieurs milliards de dollars. En effet, diverses sources estiment que la contribution à l'économie canadienne de la pêche et du tourisme provenant des Grands Lacs avoisine les 9 milliards de dollars.4

Compte tenu de l'impact majeur de ce système hydrographique sur notre économie, notre société et la santé publique, la qualité de l'environnement dans les Grands Lacs et le Saint-Laurent sont d'une importance capitale pour tous les Canadiens. Le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît l'importance de ces bassins et appuie d'importants projets d'infrastructure publique dans la région. Ces projets visent l'amélioration de la qualité de l'eau et contribuent à la protection et à la conservation de cette ressource naturelle vitale.

Histoire d'une voie maritime

L'accès à l'eau douce est au cœur du commerce et de la croissance de la population depuis la Confédération. En 1909, le Canada et les États-Unis ont créé la Commission mixte internationale, qui a pour but d'examiner les problèmes liés aux eaux limitrophes, dont font évidemment partie les Grands Lacs. La question des Grands Lacs est devenue encore plus cruciale en 1959, lorsque la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent a été ouverte à la circulation, ce qui a permis aux provinces et aux États intérieurs d'avoir accès à l'océan Atlantique. De nos jours, la majeure partie du travail de la Commission mixte internationale concerne les Grands Lacs.

De tout temps, une part importante de la population canadienne s'est concentrée dans les régions avoisinant les Grands Lacs et le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Au fil des ans, la croissance de la population s'est accompagnée d'une hausse de l'activité économique. Selon une étude économique publiée au mois d'octobre 2011,5 la Voie maritime des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent soutient directement plus de 225 000 emplois et génère annuellement des milliards de dollars de revenus et recettes au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Malheureusement, le succès de la Voie maritime a également eu des conséquences néfastes. L'industrialisation, le développement urbain, l'agriculture, l'intensification de la pêche et du tourisme ont eu un impact toujours plus important sur les Grands Lacs et ont contribué, à partir du milieu des années 1900, à la dégradation écologique des Grands Lacs. Reconnaissant ces problèmes, le Canada et les États-Unis ont signé en 1972 l'Accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs, par lequel les deux pays se sont engagés à restaurer et à maintenir la santé de l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs.

En s'appuyant sur cet accord, au milieu des années 1980, 43 zones sensibles ou secteurs préoccupants du point de vue environnemental dans les parties communes du bassin hydrologique des Grands Lacs ont été désignées, dont 17 au Canada. Pendant plus de 40 ans, grâce à l'Accord Canada-Ontario concernant l'écosystème du bassin des Grands Lacs (ACO), le Canada et l'Ontario ont collaboré avec des partenaires provenant des collectivités urbaines et rurales, des industries et des Premiéres Nations en vue de restaurer et de protéger les Grands Lacs. Pour chacun des secteurs préoccupants situés au Canada, les gouvernements fédéral et ontarien ont établi des partenariats avec des collectivités locales et divers intervenants pour élaborer des plans d'assainissement visant à restaurer les zones touchées et les retirer de la liste des secteurs préoccupants. Investir dans les infrastructures destinées au traitement des eaux usées dans les collectivités de la région des Grands Lacs constitue un élément clé de bon nombre de ces plans.

En avril 2010, le port de Wheatley, situé en bordure du lac Érié, a été retiré de la liste des secteurs préoccupants. À la suite de l'application des mesures prises pour contrôler et améliorer le traitement des rejets industriels et pour réduire les contaminants provenant des activités agricoles, la qualité de l'eau s'y est nettement améliorée. Mis à part le port de Wheatley, deux autres secteurs préoccupants situés au Canada ont également été retirés de la liste, soit le bras Severn et le port de Collingwood. La rivière Oswego, située aux États-Unis et initialement désignée secteur préoccupant, a également été retirée de la liste, ce qui porte à quatre le nombre de secteurs retirés de la liste.

« En 2003, lorsque la Commission mixte internationale a publié un rapport de situation concernant les secteurs préoccupants, seuls deux secteurs avaient été retirés de la liste. Maintenant que le port de Wheatley est aussi retiré de la liste, nous en sommes à quatre, ce qui prouve qu'il est possible de réaliser des progrès lorsque les administrations locales, provinciales, étatiques et fédérales collaborent avec des organismes communautaires, tel l'Office de la protection de la nature de la région d'Essex, en vue d'atteindre les objectifs fixés dans l'Accord relatif à la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs. »

– Joseph Comuzzi, président de la
Section canadienne de la Commission mixte internationale

Un avenir prometteur

Montréal

Panorama de Montréal et du fleuve Saint-Laurent
(Photo de P.-É. Cadorette, fournie
par Parcs Canada, 2007)

Le rejet d'effluents provenant des systèmes de traitement des eaux usées constitue l'une des plus grandes sources de pollution des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent. Le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures afin de veiller à la protection de ces ressources écologiques et économiques importantes, et Infrastructure Canada soutient ces efforts.

Dans le cadre du Fonds pour l'infrastructure verte, lancé en 2009, le Canada et l'Ontario ont chacun engagé 174,5 millions de dollars pour contribuer à la modernisation de quatre importantes installations de traitement des eaux usées afin de soutenir le retrait de trois zones de la liste des secteurs préoccupants : le fleuve Saint-Laurent, le port de Hamilton et la baie Nipigon. Ces investissements s'ajoutent à la somme de plus de 100 millions de dollars de soutien fédéral déjà engagée dans le cadre d'autres programmes d'Infrastructure Canada, y compris le Fonds Chantiers Canada et le Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure, pour des infrastructures de traitement des eaux usées dans ces secteurs.

Les gouvernements du Canada et du Québec collaborent également depuis plus de 20 ans afin de protéger la santé du fleuve Saint-Laurent. Par exemple, à Portneuf, en séparant le réseau d'eau pluviale du système de traitement des eaux usées, le volume et la fréquence des débordements du réseau d'égouts unitaires déversés dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent ont été considérablement réduits. Des plans sont également en cours pour régler les problèmes de débordement des égouts unitaires à Montréal par la construction de quatre nouveaux bassins de rétention.

Modernisation des infrastructures de traitement des eaux usées de Montréal

l'usine d'épuration Jean R. Marcotte

À Montréal, des investissements conjoints de 63,7 millions de dollars des gouvernements fédéral et provincial aideront à améliorer le processus de désinfection des eaux usées à l'usine d'épuration Jean R. Marcotte. Le projet permettra de mieux désinfecter les eaux usées avant de les rejeter dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent. Les gouvernements fédéral et provincial effectueront chacun un investissement supplémentaire de 49,3 millions de dollars pour réduire le volume et la fréquence des débordements du réseau d'égouts unitaires de la ville de Montréal durant les périodes de fortes pluies.

Depuis le lancement du plan Chantiers Canada, en 2007, le gouvernement du Canada a engagé plus d'un milliard de dollars pour plus de 700 projets liés au traitement des eaux usées dans le système hydrographique des Grands Lacs et du Saint-Laurent.6 Ces projets sont réalisés en partenariat avec les administrations provinciales et municipales.

En outre, plus de 350 millions de dollars ont été alloués à des projets de traitement des eaux usées en Ontario et au Québec dans le cadre du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence. En travaillant de concert, le Canada, l'Ontario, le Québec et les partenaires municipaux continueront d'améliorer les systèmes de traitement des eaux usées de la région afin de restaurer et de protéger les Grands Lacs et le Saint-Laurent.

« La gestion des eaux usées a débuté dans les années 1860, principalement pour des raisons de santé publique. Au fil des ans, l'objectif de la gestion des eaux usées s'est élargi pour prendre en considération la santé de l'environnement. De nos jours, grâce à un effort collectif de tous les ordres de gouvernement, d'immenses progrès continuent d'être réalisés, qui profiteront aux Canadiens de tout le pays. »

– T. D. Ellison, directeur général par intérim de
l'Association canadienne des eaux potables et usées

Exemples de projets financés par Infrastructure Canada dans des secteurs préoccupants situés dans la région des Grands Lacs :

Baie Nipigon

L'usine de traitement des eaux usées

Usine de traitement des eaux usées de
Red Rock

Dans les cantons de Red Rock et de Nipigon, des investissements conjoints fédéral-provincial de 9 millions de dollars et de 6,9 millions de dollars respectivement permettront d'améliorer la qualité des eaux usées traitées avant leur rejet dans la baie Nipigon. L'usine de traitement des eaux usées de ces collectivités a été améliorée par l'ajout d'un processus de traitement secondaire des eaux usées permettant de retirer ou de réduire les contaminants que la phase initiale de traitement n'intercepte pas. Ces investissements aideront à retirer la baie Nipigon de la liste des secteurs préoccupants.

Fleuve Saint-Laurent

L'usine de traitement des eaux usées

Usine de traitement des eaux usées de
la ville de Cornwall

Des investissements de 18,5 millions de dollars du gouvernement canadien et du gouvernement de l'Ontario permettront d'augmenter la capacité de l'usine de traitement des eaux usées de la ville de Cornwall, d'améliorer l'usine de manière à pouvoir effectuer un traitement secondaire afin de retirer ou de réduire les contaminants, et de réduire le volume des eaux usées non traitées qui sont rejetées dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent en cas de fortes pluies.

Port de Hamilton

Port de Hamilton

Municipalité de Halton, Port de Hamilton

L'usine de traitement des eaux usées de l'avenue Woodward

Usine de traitement des eaux usées de
l'avenue Woodward

Le rejet d'eaux usées contenant du phosphore nuit à l'habitat des poissons. C'est pourquoi les gouvernements canadien et ontarien ont chacun accordé un investissement de 51,5 millions de dollars pour aider la municipalité régionale de Halton à améliorer son processus de traitement des eaux usées, dans le but de réduire la quantité de phosphore rejeté dans le port de Hamilton. Les gouvernements canadien et ontarien vont également chacun accorder à la Ville de Hamilton un montant de 100 millions de dollars pour améliorer l'usine de traitement des eaux usées de l'avenue Woodward, ce qui permettra de régler encore davantage les problèmes de ce secteur préoccupant.

Mettre le cap sur l'avenir

Dans le budget de 2011, le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à travailler avec les partenaires à l'élaboration d'un nouveau plan d'infrastructure publique à long terme qui se poursuivra au-delà du Plan Chantiers Canada, dont l'échéance est en 2014. Le 30 novembre 2011, l'honorable Denis Lebel, ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités a procédé au lancement d'un processus officiel de mobilisation en vue de mettre au point ce plan. Le 1er juin 2012, le ministre Lebel a annoncé une série de discussions en table ronde avec les partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux et avec les principaux intervenants afin d'orienter l'élaboration du nouveau plan à long terme. Ce plan sera axé sur des investissements dans l'infrastructure qui créeront des emplois et favoriseront la croissance économique tout en bâtissant des collectivités fortes et prospéres partout au pays. Les besoins continus en matiére d'amélioration des infrastructures de traitement des eaux usées partout au Canada seront examinés dans ce contexte.

Pour davantage d'information sur le processus de collaboration en vue de l'élaboration d'un plan d'infrastructure à long terme du gouvernement du Canada, veuillez consulter le site Web d'Infrastructure Canada.

[1]Plan Saint-Laurent, Portrait global de l'état du Saint-Laurent, 2008

[2]Environnement Canada

[3]Corporation de gestion de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, 2012

[4]Pêches et Océans Canada, Commission des pêcheries des Grands Lacs.

[5]U.S. Department of Transportation, 2011 (disponible en anglais seulement)

[6]Les montants accordés au titre du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence ne sont pas compris dans ces chiffres.

Date de modification :