Future-oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)
For the year ended March 31, 2015

Table of Contents

Statement of Management Responsibility Including Internal Control Over Financial Reporting

Departmental management is responsible for this future-oriented statement of operations, including responsibility for the appropriateness of the assumptions on which this statement was prepared. This statement is based on the best information available and the assumptions adopted as at January 22, 2014 and reflect the plans described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

This Future-oriented Statement of Operations has not been audited.

Original signed by:

Louis Lévesque,
Deputy Minister

Date

Su Dazé,
Chief Financial Officer

Date

Signed at Ottawa, ON
March 3, 2014

Future–oriented Statement of Operations (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31

(in thousands of dollars)

  2014
Estimated Results
2015
Planned Results
Expenses    
Public Infrastructure for a More Prosperous Canada   3,321,269
Provinces, territories and municipalities have federal financial support for their infrastructure priorities 2,326,572  
Funding for quality, cost-effective public infrastructure that meets the needs of Canadians in a competitive economy, a cleaner environment and liveable communities is provided 1,475,176  
Internal Services 27,920 3,099
Total expenses 3,829,668 3,324,368
Net cost of operations 3,829,668 3,324,368

The accompanying notes form an integral part of this financial statement.

Notes to the Future-oriented Statements of Operations (Unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31

1. Authority and Objectives

The Office of Infrastructure of Canada (INFC) was created in 2002 as a separate organization under Schedule I.1 of the Financial Administration Act. The applied name for this organization is Infrastructure Canada.

INFC is funded through annual and statutory appropriations received from the Parliament of Canada and is not taxable under the provisions of the Income Tax Act. INFC reports to the Minister of Infrastructure, Communities and Intergovernmental Affairs.

INFC was established to lead the Government of Canada's effort to address infrastructure challenges through strategic investments in provincial, territorial and municipal assets, engagement in key partnerships, and the development and implementation of sound policies. Order in Council 2004-325 authorizes the Minister to enter into transfer payment agreements and contracts related to infrastructure initiatives in Canada.

In 2014-15 INFC will deliver its mandate under one strategic outcome and internal services in support of its activities as described below.

Public Infrastructure for a More Prosperous Canada: INFC's key business lines and initiatives are grouped into five programs which fall under this strategic outcome.

  • Funding for Provincial-Territorial Priorities – providing predictable funding to each province and territory to enhance Canada's public infrastructure system. (Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Base Fund)
  • Permanent and Flexible Public Infrastructure Funding – providing predictable and flexible funding for municipalities for their infrastructure priorities (Gas Tax Fund)
  • Investments in National Infrastructure Priorities – provides funding to infrastructure projects that advance the national priorities (New Building Canada Fund-National Infrastructure Component, Green Infrastructure Fund, Border Infrastructure Fund, Inuvik to Tuktoyaktuk Highway Fund)
  • Large-Scale Infrastructure Investments – providing funding for infrastructure project of national, regional and/or local significance (New Canada Building Fund-Provincial Territorial Infrastructure Component – Funding for National and Regional Projects, Building Canada Fund–Major Infrastructure Component, Canada Strategic Infrastructure Fund)
  • Infrastructure Investments in Smaller Communities – providing funding for infrastructure projects in smaller communities (Building Canada Fund-Communities Component, Municipal Rural Infrastructure Fund, New Building Canada Fund – Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component-Small Communities Fund)

Internal Services: Internal Services are groups of activities and resources that are administered to support the needs of programs and other corporate obligations of INFC. Internal Services include only those activities and resources that apply across INFC, not those provided specifically to a program.

2. Methodology and Significant Assumptions

The Future-oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared on the basis of government priorities and departmental plans as described in the Report on Plans and Priorities.

The information in the estimated results for fiscal year 2013–14 is based on actual results as at December 31, 2013 and on forecasts for the remainder of the fiscal year. Forecasts have been made for the planned results for the 2014–15 (future year) fiscal year.

The main assumptions underlying the forecasts are as follows:

  • In Economic Action Plan 2013, the Government of Canada announced the New Building Canada Fund, a 10-year funding commitment starting in 2014-15 to build roads, bridges, subways, commuter rail and other public infrastructure in cooperation with provinces, territories, municipalities, and the private sector. The funds for this program are not reflected in the 2014-15 Main Estimates and the 2014-15 Planned Spending. Similarly this funding is not included in this statement.
  • No new planned spending is anticipated for 2014-15 under the Municipal Rural Infrastructure Fund, as this program is currently wrapping up.
  • As provinces and territories move toward the completion of all initiatives under the Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Base Fund program, the transfer payments for this program are significantly reduced from prior years.
  • The 2014-2015 Main Estimates and 2014-2015 Planned Spending and future years' amounts do not reflect funding for Infrastructure Canada's operating budget, except for small opening balances. Likewise this funding is not included in this statement.
  • Expenses and revenues, including the determination of amounts internal and external to the government, are based on historical experience adjusted to reflect current authorities.
  • INFC is planning no new investment expenditures during 2014-15 as it completes current projects and migrates its systems to Shared Services Canada.

These assumptions are adopted as at January 22, 2014.

3. Variations and Changes to the Forecast Financial Information

While every attempt has been made to forecast final results for the remainder of 2013–14 and for 2014–15, actual results achieved for both years are likely to vary from the forecast information presented, and this variation could be material.

In preparing this Future-oriented Statement of Operations, Infrastructure Canada has made estimates and assumptions concerning the future. These estimates and assumptions may differ from the subsequent actual results. Estimates and assumptions are continually evaluated and are based on historical experience and other factors, including expectations of future events that are believed to be reasonable under the circumstances.

A factor that could lead to material differences between the Future-oriented Statement of Operations and the year-end Statement of Operations as part of the year-end financial statements is:

  • Further changes to the operating budget through additional new funding or technical adjustments later in the year.

Once the Report on Plans and Priorities is presented, Infrastructure Canada will not be updating the forecasts for any changes in financial resources made in ensuing Supplementary Estimates. Variances will be explained in the Departmental Performance Report.

4. Summary of Significant Accounting Policies

The Future-oriented Statement of Operations has been prepared using the Government's accounting policies that came into effect for the 2011–12 fiscal year which are based on Canadian public sector accounting standards. The presentation and results using the stated accounting policies do not result in any significant differences from Canadian public sector accounting standards.

Significant accounting policies are as follows:

a) Expenses

Expenses are recorded on an accrual basis. Expenses for INFC's operations are recorded when goods are received or services are rendered including services provided without charge for accommodation, employee contributions to health and dental insurance plans, legal services and worker's compensation, which are recorded as expenses at their estimated cost. Vacation pay and compensatory leave as well as severance benefits are accrued and expenses are recorded as the benefits are earned by employees under their respective terms of employment.

Transfer payments are recorded as expenses when the recipient has met the eligibility criteria or fulfilled the terms of a contractual transfer agreement or, in the case of transactions which do not form part of an existing program, when the Government announces a decision to make a non-recurring transfer, provided the enabling legislation or authorization for payment receives parliamentary approval prior to the completion of the financial statement. Transfer payments that become repayable as a result of conditions specified in the contribution agreement that have come into being are recorded as a reduction to transfer payment expense and as a receivable.

Expenses also include provisions to reflect changes in the value of assets, including provisions for bad debt on accounts receivable, provision for valuation on loans, investments and advances and inventory obsolescence or liabilities, including contingent liabilities and environmental liabilities to the extent the future event is likely to occur and a reasonable estimate can be made.

Expenses also include amortization of tangible capital assets which are capitalized at their acquisition cost. Tangible capital assets are amortized on a straight-line basis over the estimated useful life of the asset.

5. Parliamentary Authorities

The Department is financed by the Government of Canada through parliamentary authorities. Financial reporting of authorities provided to INFC do not parallel financial reporting according to generally accepted accounting principles since authorities are primarily based on cash flow requirements. Items recognized in the Future-oriented Statement of Operations in one year may be funded through parliamentary authorities in prior, current, or future years. Accordingly, INFC has different net cost of operations for the year on a government funding basis than on an accrual accounting basis. The differences are reconciled in the following tables:

a) Reconciliation of net cost of operations to current year authorities used

(in thousands of dollars)

  Estimated
2013-14
Planned
2014-15
Net cost of operations 3,829,668 3,324,368
Adjustment for items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities:    
Amortization of tangible capital assets (1,472) (1,523)
Services provided without charge by other government departments (5,120) (3,239)
Decrease in vacation pay and compensatory leave 87 0
Decrease/(Increase) in employee future benefits 313 (62)
Refunds of previous years' expenditures 2,054 2,054
Total items affecting net cost of operations but not affecting authorities 3,825,530 3,321,598
Adjustment for items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting appropriations:    
Acquisition of tangible assets 400 0
Total items not affecting net cost of operations but affecting authorities 400 0
Requested authorities 3,825,930 3,321,598

b) Authorities requested

(in thousands of dollars)

  Estimated
2013-14
Planned
2014-15
Authorities requested:    
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures 44,901 2,051
Vote 5 – Contributions 4,102,031 1,345,968
Statutory amounts    
Employee Benefit Plan 4,986 310
Gas Tax Fund 0 1,973,269
Less:    
Authorities available for future years    
Lapsed: Operating (4,729) 0
Lapsed: Contributions (321,259) 0
Requested authorities 3,825,930 3,321,598
Date modified:

État des résultats prospectifs (non vérifié)
Exercice terminé le 31 mars 2015

Table des matières

Déclaration de responsabilité de la direction englobant le contrôle interne en matière de rapports financiers

La direction du Bureau de l'infrastructure du Canada est responsable des résultats prospectifs, y compris de la qualité des hypothèses servant à l'établissement de cet état. L'état des résultats prospectifs est fondé sur les meilleures informations disponibles ainsi que sur les hypothèses retenues en date du 22 janvier 2014 et tient compte des plans décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

L'état des résultats prospectifs n'a pas été vérifié.

Original signé par :

Louis Lévesque,
Sous-ministre

Date

Su Dazé,
Dirigeante principale des finances

Date

Signé à Ottawa (Ontario)
Le 3 mars 2014

État des résultats prospectifs (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

(en milliers de dollars)

  2014 Résultats estimatifs 2015 Résultats prévus
Charges    
Des infrastructures publiques pour un Canada plus prospère   3 321 269
Les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités reçoivent un soutien financier du gouvernement fédéral pour leurs priorités liées à l'infrastructure 2 326 572  
Du financement est versé pour une infrastructure publique efficiente et de qualité qui répond aux besoins des Canadiens dans une économie concurrentielle, un environnement sain et des collectivités habitables 1 475 176  
Services internes 27 920 3 099
Total des charges 3 829 668 3 324 368
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 829 668 3 324 368

Les notes complémentaires font partie intégrante des états financiers.

Notes complémentaires aux états des résultats prospectifs (non vérifié)
Pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars

1. Pouvoir et objectifs

Le Bureau de l'infrastructure du Canada (INFC) a été créé en 2002 en tant qu'organisation distincte aux termes de l'annexe I.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques. L'organisation est appelée couramment Infrastructure Canada.

INFC est financé essentiellement au moyen de crédits annuels accordés par le Parlement du Canada et n'est pas imposable en vertu de la Loi de l'impôt sur le revenu. INFC relève du ministre de l'Infrastructure, des Collectivités et des Affaires intergouvernementales.

INFC a été établi pour diriger les activités du gouvernement du Canada qui visent à régler les problèmes d'infrastructure grâce à des investissements stratégiques dans des actifs provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux, des engagements dans des partenariats clés, et le développement et la mise en œuvre de politiques saines. Le décret 2004-325 autorise le ministre à conclure des ententes de paiements de transfert et des contrats concernant des initiatives d'infrastructure au Canada.

En 2014-2015, INFC réalisera son mandat en fonction d'un résultat stratégique, et les services internes sous-tendant ses activités sont décrits ci-dessous.

Des infrastructures publiques pour un Canada plus prospère : Les principaux secteurs d'activités et les initiatives d'INFC sont regroupés en cinq programmes qui s'inscrivent dans ce résultat stratégique.

  • Financement des priorités provinciales-territoriales – offrir un financement prévisible à chaque province et territoire dans le but d'améliorer les infrastructures publiques du Canada. (Financement de base pour les provinces et les territoires)
  • Financement permanent et souple pour les infrastructures publiques – offrir un financement prévisible et souple aux municipalités pour leurs priorités en matière d'infrastructures (Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence)
  • Investissements dans les priorités nationales en matière d'infrastructure – affecte des fonds aux projets d'infrastructure qui font progresser les priorités nationales (Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada – volet Infrastructures nationales, Fonds pour l'infrastructure verte, Fonds pour l'infrastructure frontalière, Fonds pour la route entre Inuvik et Tuktoyaktuk)
  • Investissements dans les infrastructures de grande envergure – affecter des fonds aux projets d'infrastructure d'envergure nationale, régionale ou locale (Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada – volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales – Financement pour les projets nationaux et régionaux, Fonds Chantiers Canada – volet Grandes infrastructures, Fonds canadien sur l'infrastructure stratégique)
  • Investissements dans les infrastructures des petites collectivités – affecter des fonds aux projets d'infrastructure des petites collectivités (Fonds Chantiers Canada – volet Collectivités, Fonds pour l'infrastructure municipale rurale, Volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales-Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada (sous-volet Fonds des petites collectivités))

Services internes : Les Services internes sont des groupes d'activités et de ressources qui sont administrés pour appuyer les besoins des programmes et d'autres obligations ministérielles d'INFC. Les Services internes comprennent seulement les activités et les ressources qui s'appliquent à l'ensemble d'INFC, et non pas celles qui sont spécialement fournies pour un programme.

2. Méthodes et hypothèses importantes

L'état des résultats prospectifs est établi en fonction des priorités du gouvernement et des plans ministériels qui sont décrits dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités.

Les renseignements présentés dans les résultats estimatifs de l'exercice 2013-2014 sont fondés sur les résultats réels en date du 31 décembre 2013 et sur les prévisions pour le reste de l'exercice. Des prévisions des résultats prévus ont été faites pour l'exercice 2014-2015 (exercice financier suivant).

Voici les principales hypothèses sous-tendant les prévisions :

  • Dans le Plan d'action économique de 2013, le gouvernement du Canada annonçait l'établissement du nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada, un engagement financier de dix ans débutant en 2014-2015 afin de construire des routes, des ponts, des métros, des trains de banlieue et d'autres infrastructures publiques, en collaboration avec les provinces, les territoires, les municipalités et le secteur privé. Le financement pour les programmes ne sont pas inclus dans le Budget principal des dépenses de 2014-15 ni dans les dépenses prévues pour 2014-2015. Similairement ce financement n'est pas inclus dans cet état des résultats prospectifs.
  • Aucune nouvelle dépense n'est prévue en 2014-2015, car le Fonds sur l'infrastructure municipale rurale est sur le point de prendre fin.
  • À mesure que les provinces et les territoires terminent toutes les initiatives dans le cadre du programme, les paiements de transfert pour le Financement de base pour les infrastructures des provinces et des territoires sont réduits de beaucoup par rapport aux années antérieures.
  • Le Budget principal des dépenses de 2014-2015, les dépenses prévues pour 2014-2015 et les montants des exercices futurs n'incluent pas le financement pour le budget de fonctionnement d'Infrastructure Canada, à l'exception de petits soldes d'ouverture. Similairement ce financement n'est pas inclus dans cet état des résultats prospectifs.
  • Les dépenses et les revenus, y compris la détermination des montants provenant de sources internes et externes du gouvernement, sont fondés sur l'expérience et rajustés pour refléter les autorisations actuelles.
  • INFC ne prévoit aucune dépense d'investissement en 2014-2015, car il termine les projets en cours et transfère ses systèmes à Services partagés Canada.

Ces hypothèses sont adoptées en date du 22, janvier 2014.

3. Variation et évolution des prévisions financières

Même si tous les efforts ont été déployés pour prévoir les résultats définitifs pour le reste de l'exercice 2013-2014 et pour 2014-2015, les résultats réels des deux exercices risquent de varier par rapport aux prévisions financières présentées, et l'écart pourrait être important.

Lors de la préparation de l'état des résultats prospectifs, INFC a établi des estimations et des hypothèses à l'égard d'événements futurs. Ces estimations et hypothèses pourraient différer des résultats financiers réels subséquents. Les estimations et les hypothèses sont évaluées de façon continue et sont fondées sur l'expérience acquise et d'autres facteurs, notamment les prévisions relativement aux événements futurs qui sont considérées comme raisonnables compte tenu des circonstances.

Le facteur suivant pourrait notamment donner lieu à des écarts importants entre l'état des résultats prospectif et l'état des résultats historique :

  • D'autres changements au budget de fonctionnement par l'entremise de rajustements techniques plus tard au cours de l'année.

Une fois que le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités sera présenté, INFC ne fera pas de mise à jour des prévisions, quelles que soient les modifications apportées aux ressources financières dans les budgets supplémentaires des dépenses. Les écarts seront expliqués dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement.

4. Sommaire des principales conventions comptables

L'état des résultats prospectif a été préparé en conformité avec les conventions comptables du gouvernement entrées en vigueur pour l'exercice financier 2011-2012, lesquelles s'appuient sur les Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public. La présentation et les résultats qui découlent de l'utilisation des conventions comptables énoncées ne donnent lieu à aucune différence notable par rapport aux Normes comptables canadiennes pour le secteur public.

Les principales conventions comptables sont les suivantes :

a) Charges

Les charges sont comptabilisées selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les charges d'INFC sont constatées lorsque les biens sont reçus ou que les services sont rendus, y compris les services fournis gratuitement pour les locaux, les cotisations de l'employeur aux régimes de soins de santé et de soins dentaires, les services juridiques et les indemnités d'accident du travail, qui sont comptabilisés à titre de charges de fonctionnement à leur coût estimatif. Les indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires ainsi que les indemnités de cessation d'emploi sont passées en charges au fur et à mesure que les employés en acquièrent le droit en vertu de leurs conditions d'emploi.

Les paiements de transfert sont passés en charges dès que le bénéficiaire a satisfait aux critères d'admissibilité ou qu'il a rempli les conditions de l'accord de transfert ou, dans le cas d'opérations qui ne font pas partie d'un programme existant, dès que le gouvernement annonce une décision d'effectuer un transfert ponctuel, pour autant que la loi habilitante ou l'autorisation de paiement soit approuvée par le Parlement avant l'achèvement de l'état financier. Les paiements de transfert qui deviennent remboursables lors de l'entrée en vigueur de conditions spécifiées dans l'entente de contribution sont comptabilisés en réduction des charges de transfert et comme montant à recevoir.

Les charges incluent des provisions qui tiennent compte de changements dans la valeur d'actifs. Cela comprend des provisions pour créances douteuses, des provisions pour moins-value de prêts, de placements et d'avances ainsi que la désuétude des stocks ou les passifs, dont les passifs éventuels et les passifs environnementaux, dans la mesure où l'événement futur est susceptible de se produire et où une estimation raisonnable des répercussions peut être établie.

Les charges incluent également l'amortissement des immobilisations corporelles, qui sont capitalisées à leur coût d'acquisition. Les immobilisations corporelles sont amorties selon la méthode de l'amortissement linéaire sur la durée de vie utile estimative de l'actif.

5. Autorisations parlementaires

Le ministère est financé par le gouvernement du Canada au moyen d'autorisations parlementaires. La formule de comptabilisation des autorisations consenties au ministère ne correspond pas à celle des rapports financiers établis selon les principes comptables généralement reconnus, étant donné que les autorisations sont fondées, dans une large mesure, sur les besoins de trésorerie. Les postes comptabilisés dans l'état des résultats prospectifs d'un exercice donné peuvent être financés au moyen de crédits parlementaires approuvés au cours d'un exercice précédent, de l'exercice en cours ou d'exercices futurs. Par conséquent, les résultats de fonctionnement nets du ministère diffèrent suivant qu'ils sont calculés selon les principes du financement public ou selon la méthode de comptabilité d'exercice. Les différences sont rapprochées dans les tableaux suivants :

a) Rapprochement du coût de fonctionnement net et des autorisations demandées

(en milliers de dollars)

  Estimatif
2013-14
Prévu
2014-15
Coût de fonctionnement net 3 829 668 3 324 368
Rajustements pour les postes ayant une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations :    
Amortissement des immobilisations corporelles Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères gouvernementaux (1 472) (1 523)
Services fournis gratuitement par d'autres ministères gouvernementaux (5 120) (3 239)
Diminution des indemnités de vacances et de congés compensatoires 87 0
Diminution/(Augmentation) des avantages sociaux futurs 313 (62)
Remboursement de dépenses des exercices précédents 2 054 2 054
Total des postes qui ont une incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais aucune incidence sur les autorisations 3 825 530 3 321 598
Rajustement pour les postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations :    
Acquisition d'immobilisations corporelles 400 0
Total des postes qui n'ont pas d'incidence sur le coût de fonctionnement net, mais qui ont une incidence sur les autorisations 400 0
Autorisations demandées 3 825 930 3 321 598

b) Autorisations demandées

(en milliers de dollars)

  Estimatif
2013-14
Prévu
2014-15
Autorisations demandées :    
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 44 901 2 051
Crédit 5 – Contributions 4 102 031 1 345 968
Montants législatifs    
Régimes de prestations aux employés 4 986 310
Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence 0 1 973 269
Moins :    
Autorisations disponibles pour emploi au cours des exercices ultérieurs    
Périmés : Fonctionnement (4 729) 0
Périmés : Contributions (321 259) 0
Autorisations demandées 3 825 930 3 321 598
Date de modification :