ARCHIVED - Building for Prosperity: Public Infrastructure in Prince Edward Island

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

PDF Version (Size: B)

Help on accessing alternative formats, such as PDF, PPT and ZIP files, can be obtained in the alternate format help section.

Minister's Message from Minister Lebel

Photo of the Honorable Denis Lebel

The Honorable Denis Lebel, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Region of Quebec

Safe, modern and efficient public infrastructure is key to Canada's economic growth and long-term prosperity. Knowing how important infrastructure is to our country as a whole, and to the quality of life of every Canadian, I am proud to be leading the development of a long-term plan for public infrastructure that extends beyond the expiry of the Building Canada Plan. A new long-term infrastructure plan will position our nation to meet the challenges and opportunities of the coming decades.

Through Canada's Economic Action Plan and our infrastructure programs, our government has maintained an open dialogue with partners and stakeholders about the best way to support national and local priorities through infrastructure investments. Moving forward we will continue to work closely on infrastructure projects that make a difference for communities large and small. From wind farms that power a region to safe and efficient highways, together, we have made Canada a better place in which to live, work and do business.

As the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, I am very proud of the achievements that have been made possible through partnerships with the Province of Prince Edward Island and its municipalities. Looking ahead, these strong ties will form the foundation of our next long-term infrastructure plan and ensure Canadian communities continue to grow and prosper.

Working together, we will accomplish more and ensure Canada remains well-positioned for the future.

Minister's Message from Minister Vessey

Photo of the Honorable Robert Vessey

The Honorable Robert Vessey
Minister of Transportation and Infrastructure Renewal

The infrastructure needs of the Province of Prince Edward Island are far reaching and diverse. There is a tremendous need to improve arterial and collector highways, to rebuild drinking water and wastewater services, to provide more green energy and to make improvements in many other areas. That's why our continued relationship with the Government of Canada and local municipalities is so important. Without that strong relationship, the infrastructure challenges we face as a province would be far more difficult to overcome.

Over the last five years all three levels of government have worked diligently to identify key areas in need of improvement from an infrastructure perspective. Together we've made tremendous strides to improve the lives of Islanders by making strategic investments in local infrastructure projects. These types of projects not only provide an economic stimulus to the local economy, but they also improve the health and well-being of residents.

As Minister responsible for infrastructure on Prince Edward Island, I look forward to continued partnerships that aim to address critical areas in need of improvement from one end of the Island to the other. I am very pleased with what we've accomplished thus far and I am optimistic those partnerships will continue well into the future.

Success Through Partnership

Working Together to Accomplish More

Since 2007, federal, provincial and municipal governments have made significant investments in public infrastructure in the Province of Prince Edward island. More recently, Canada's Economic Action Plan accelerated existing programs and delivered new funding to create jobs and support economic growth.

With a focus on transportation and green infrastructure, commitments under the Building Canada Fund, the Green Infrastructure Fund and the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund now total over $138 million* and have resulted in more than 75 projects across Prince Edward Island, helping create the right conditions for economic growth and long-term prosperity.

Joint Funding

  • transportation:
    25 projects worth more than $50 million
  • green infrastructure:
    23 projects worth more than $32 million
  • sports and recreation:
    9 projects worth more than $20 million
  • drinking water:
    11 projects worth more than $9 million
  • culture and tourism:
    7 projects worth more than $22 million

Infrastructure Funding by Category

Infrastructure Funding by Category

*based on total eligible costs

Partnership in Action

Working together to build infrastructure achieves local and regional priorities while supporting national objectives. The Infrastructure Stimulus Fund, the cornerstone of Canada's Economic Action Plan, has demonstrated what strong partnerships can accomplish. During the global economic downturn all orders of government responded quickly and effectively to identify shovel-ready projects, drive employment and boost the economy, through 20 infrastructure projects in Prince Edward Island worth more than $33 million. These projects provided lasting benefits to communities across Prince Edward Island.

Canada's Gas Tax Fund at Work in Prince Edward Island

Local Projects Long-term Results

Photo of bus

Between 2005 and 2014 the Province of Prince Edward Island will receive a total of $97.5 million from the Gas Tax Fund. Since 2005, the Province has invested heavily in three key areas:

  • local roads and bridges;
  • wastewater and drinking water; and,
  • community energy projects.

Each year, Canada's Gas Tax Fund is delivered to municipalities across the country to support local infrastructure initiatives and encourage economic growth. Increased to $2 billion per year nationally in 2009 and made permanent in 2011, the Gas Tax Fund supports municipal infrastructure projects that create jobs and help to protect the environment - contributing to cleaner air, cleaner water and reductions in greenhouse gas emissions.

Gas Tax Expenditures by Category
2005-06 to 2010-11

Text description of figure 2

Gas Tax Fund projects have improved the standard of living of Island residents and have had a tremendous impact on both the health of communities and the Province's carbon footprint. A total of 200 projects have been approved under the program and many of these are already complete.

Did you know…

  • Projects approved under the Gas Tax Fund have helped save more than 58,000 tonnes of CO2 and 13,000 litres of heating oil on the Island.
  • These projects have connected more than 450 Islanders to municipal water services and have seen more than 23 kilometres of new sewer line installed or replaced.
  • More than 40 kilometres of roadway have been rebuilt under the program to improve the safety and efficiency of local roads.

Island Wind Energy: Securing our Future

Residents of Summerside are now benefitting from greater use of clean renewable energy

A wind turbine at the Summerside

In August 2011, the Summerside wind farm was officially opened. The new wind farm produces enough energy to provide one-quarter of the city's electricity needs. Located in the neighbourhood of St. Eleanor's, the four-turbine, 12-megawatt wind farm reduces the city's carbon footprint while simultaneously lowering greenhouse gas emissions, and reducing the city's dependence on fossil fuels for electricity. The wind farm was made possible through a joint investment of $30 million by the Government of Canada, the Province of Prince Edward Island and the City of Summerside.

Quick Facts

  • The Summerside wind farm is replacing fossil fuel generated energy with renewable resource energy.
  • The amount of electricity purchased from out-of-Province will decrease significantly now that the turbines are operational.
  • Presently, the City of Summerside consumes 121 Gigawatt Hours (GWH) per year, and the farm is expected to displace 30.6 GWH of electricity annually. That means the wind farm will supply the City with over 25 percent of its energy needs.

Investing in renewable energy production continues to be a priority for the Province of Prince Edward Island and it is actively seeking new investment opportunities.

Funding for Local Priorities: Building Canada Fund – Communities Component

The Communities Component of the Building Canada Fund recognizes the unique infrastructure needs of smaller communities (populations fewer than 100,000), focusing on projects that meet economic, environmental and quality-of-life objectives. Under the Communities Component and Top-up, more than 50 community projects worth more than $70 million are being funded across the province. These projects are improving wastewater treatment capacity, drinking water infrastructure, local roads and bridges, sports and recreation facilities, and cultural spaces.

Summerside West End Walkway

Summerside West End Walkway, Prince Edward Island

Island residents can now enjoy over 1.5 kilometres of new walking trails, educational kiosks and outdoor fitness equipment thanks to a $3.6-million investment to complete the City of Summerside's 6.5-kilometre multi-use trail. The project supports healthy lifestyle choices of local residents by providing a beautiful outdoor venue for physical activity.

Charlottetown Traffic Flow Improvements

Charlottetown is benefitting from improved traffic flow with the expansion of an important section of University Avenue from two lanes to four, and the construction of a new roundabout at the Belvedere Avenue entrance to the University of Prince Edward Island and the Farmer's Market. The $6.3-million project is improving safety and helping reduce greenhouse gases by reducing idling time.

Tyne Valley Lagoon Upgrade

By increasing the capacity of its wastewater treatment facility, the community of Tyne Valley can move ahead with economic development activities. The $1.2-million project completed upgrades that will allow further residential and business development in this rural community, including connecting several existing homes to the system.

Safe and Efficient Highways

A top priority for Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island highway

Safe and efficient highways are vital to the economy of Prince Edward Island. The agriculture and fishery sectors rely on quality highways to export their products to market. Tourists need safe and efficient roads so they can make it to their destination safely. Business operators benefit from quality roads to safely and efficiently import and/or export a huge variety of products to the marketplace. And since the Island is predominantly rural, tens of thousands of Islanders who cannot access public transit depend on safe and efficient roads to get them where they need to be. That is why the province places a premium on a safe and efficient road network. It is essential for the Island's economy.

Cardigan Bridge Replacement

Cardigan Bridge, Prince Edward Island

The Village of Cardigan in Kings County is now benefitting from a new bridge. The $2.1 million project replaced the old bridge, located in the centre of the village. The new bridge is 18 metres longer than the original structure to improve tidal passage. The bridge also includes a new sidewalk.

The project was made possible through the Gas Tax Fund, which is vital to maintaining municipal roads and bridges across the province.

Improved Safety on the Charlottetown Perimeter Highway

Charlottetown Perimeter Highway, Prince Edward Island

This $6.5-million cost-shared project saw the Charlottetown Perimeter Highway at Riverside Drive rebuilt to improve traffic safety and efficiency. The busy Riverside Drive was widened to four lanes, and new dual lane roundabouts were built where Riverside Drive intersects with Walker and Exhibition Drives.

The roundabouts improve safety by slowing traffic to reduce the severity of collisions, and by eliminating left turns across traffic. The new roundabouts also improve efficiency by reducing idling time.

Looking to the future, the Province of Prince Edward Island is committed to investing in the infrastructure that matters most to Islanders

Roads and Highways

When it comes to infrastructure investment, the main focus of the Province of Prince Edward Island is the safety and efficiency of the National Highway System and the local road and bridge network. The Province's road and bridge network is essential for trade, in both import and export contexts, given the absence of rail service. Since 2007 the Province has invested close to $240 million to improve the quality of its roads and bridges. Various cost-shared programs helped contribute to that investment.

Water

Another key area for investment is sewer and water infrastructure. One hundred per cent of the Island's drinking water comes from the ground. That means special measures must be taken, and key investments made, to help ensure residents continue to have quality drinking water for years to come. On top of that, effluent treatment and control are also important to ensure the health of various saltwater fisheries in coastal areas of the province. Such fisheries can be greatly harmed without proper wastewater management, so it's critical that sewage is treated properly.

Links to the Mainland

The Confederation Bridge, Prince Edward Island

Prince Edward Island also depends on its links to the mainland. The Confederation Bridge provides the most heavilytraveled link, but that does not reduce the importance of air travel and especially the role of Northumberland Ferries and the connection to Nova Scotia. These vital links must be maintained for the health of the economy.

Other Priorities

Looking to the future and the challenges that lay ahead, the Province is also focusing on other priorities, including disaster mitigation, green energy, public transit, health and education.

Moving Forward Together

Continuing Partnerships

Achieving our goals as a nation means that all orders of government and other partners must work together. We all know that public infrastructure plays a key role in our lives and in our economic well-being. Canada's long-term prosperity relies on the strength of our communities and the basic services that support them.

Through Canada's Economic Action Plan, and infrastructure initiatives such as the Building Canada Fund, the Gas Tax Fund, and the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund, great things have been built in Yukon. People across the territory have safer roads, cleaner water and improved sport, recreation and cultural infrastructure. The tangible benefits of our infrastructure investments increase every day as more and more projects are completed.

The Government of Canada is committed to continuing a partnership approach to national, regional and local infrastructure priorities. Strong partnerships mean that every dollar invested in public infrastructure will meet today's needs and sustain future economic growth and development.

A New Long-Term Plan

On November 30, 2011, the Government of Canada launched a process to engage partners from across the country on the development of a new long-term public infrastructure plan. Building a new long-term infrastructure plan means working with provinces, territories, municipalities, key stakeholders, as well as with technical experts, to build knowledge around five broad themes:

  • infrastructure and the economy;
  • infrastructure and the environment;
  • infrastructure and stronger communities;
  • financing infrastructure; and
  • asset planning and sustainability.

In the lead up to the new long-term infrastructure plan, we will undertake a constructive dialogue that focuses on the broad principles, priorities and future directions for public infrastructure in Canada. Working together will ensure that Canada has a strong public infrastructure foundation for sustained growth and economic prosperity - now and for years to come.

Government of Prince Edward Island logo
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Bâtir pour la prospérité :
les infrastructures publiques à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Téléchargez la version PDF (1.14 Mo)

Si vous avez besoin d'aide pour accéder aux formats suppléants, tels que PDF visitez la section d'aide sur les formats suppléants.

Message du ministre Lebel

Photo de l'honorable Denis Lebel

L'honorable Denis Lebel,
C.P., député

Ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités et ministre de l'Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec

Une infrastructure publique sécuritaire, moderne et efficiente est essentielle à la croissance économique du Canada et à sa prospérité à long terme. Conscient de l'importance de l'infrastructure pour notre pays dans son ensemble, et pour la qualité de vie de chaque Canadien, je suis fier de piloter le développement d'un plan d'infrastructure publique à long terme qui se poursuivra au-delà du Plan Chantiers Canada. Un nouveau plan d'infrastructure à long terme permettra de positionner notre nation afin de relever les défis et de saisir les occasions qui se présenteront au cours des prochaines décennies.

Par l'entremise du Plan d'action économique du Canada et de nos programmes d'infrastructure, notre gouvernement a entretenu un dialogue ouvert avec ses partenaires et les autres intervenants sur la meilleure façon de concrétiser les priorités nationales et locales au moyen d'investissements dans l'infrastructure. Nous allons continuer à travailler étroitement avec toutes les parties en vue de réaliser des projets d'infrastructure qui améliorent la vie dans les petites et grandes collectivités. Qu'il s'agisse d'initiatives qui relient des collectivités sur tout le territoire ou de projets qui aident les plus petites collectivités à développer une expertise locale pour planifier et construire les infrastructures dont les résidants ont besoin, ensemble, nous faisons du Canada un meilleur endroit où vivre, travailler et faire des affaires.

À titre de ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités, je suis très heureux de ce que nous avons réalisé grâce à des partenariats avec le Yukon et ses collectivités. Ces liens étroits représentent le fondement de notre prochain plan d'infrastructure à long terme et garantissent aux collectivités canadiennes une croissance et une prospérité soutenues.

Ensemble, nous réaliserons encore davantage et nous nous assurerons que le Canada demeure en bonne position pour l'avenir.

Message du ministre from Minister Vessey

Photo de l'honorable Robert Vessey

L'honorable Robert Vessey
Ministre des Transports et du Renouvellement de l'infrastructure

Les besoins en infrastructure de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard sont vastes et divers. Les besoins sont importants en ce qui concerne l'amélioration des autoroutes de dégagement et des routes collectrices, le réaménagement des services d'eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées, l'offre de davantage d'énergie verte ainsi que des améliorations à de nombreux autres domaines. Voilà pourquoi notre relation continue avec le gouvernement du Canada et les municipalités locales est si importante. Sans ce lien solide, les défis en infrastructure auxquels nous faisons face en tant que province seraient beaucoup plus difficiles à surmonter.

Au cours des cinq dernières années, les trois ordres de gouvernement ont collaboré avec diligence pour établir les domaines importants ayant besoin d'améliorations en matière d'infrastructure. Ensemble et grâce à des investissements stratégiques dans des projets d'infrastructure locaux, nous avons fait d'immenses progrès pour améliorer la vie des Prince-Édouardiens. Ce genre de projets profite non seulement à l'économie locale, mais également à la santé et au bien-être des résidants.

À titre de ministre responsable de l'infrastructure à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, je prévois maintenir des partenariats visant à régler les besoins de revitalisation pressants, et ce, d'un bout à l'autre de l'Île. Je suis très satisfait de ce que nous avons accompli jusqu'à présent et je suis certain que ces partenariats se poursuivront à l'avenir.

Le succès grâce aux partenariats

Travailler ensemble pour réaliser davantage

Depuis 2007, les gouvernements fédéral et provincial ainsi que les administrations municipales ont fait d'importants investissements dans l'infrastructure publique à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Plus récemment, le Plan d'action économique du Canada a permis d'accélérer les programmes existants et d'investir de nouvelles ressources en vue de créer des emplois et de soutenir la croissance économique.

Les fonds investis en vertu du Fonds Chantiers Canada, du Fonds pour l'infrastructure verte et du Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure, qui ciblent surtout les projets de transport et d'infrastructure verte, s'élèvent maintenant à plus de 138 millions de dollars*. En outre, grâce à ces fonds, plus de 75 projets ont été réalisés sur l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard, aidant ainsi à l'établissement d'un climat favorable à la croissance économique et à la prospérité à long terme.

Financement conjoint

  • transport :
    25 projets représentant plus de 50 millions de dollars
  • infrastructure verte :
    23 projets représentant plus de 32 millions de dollars
  • sports et loisirs :
    9 projets représentant plus de 20 millions de dollars
  • eau potable :
    11 projets représentant plus de 9 millions de dollars
  • culture et tourisme :
    7 projets représentant plus de 22 millions de dollars

Financement des infrastructures par catégorie

Financement des infrastructures par catégorie

*fondé sur l'ensemble des coûts admissibles

Partenariats en action

Travailler ensemble pour construire des infrastructures permet de répondre à des priorités locales et régionales et d'atteindre des objectifs nationaux. Le Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure, qui est la pierre angulaire du Plan d'action économique du Canada, a fait la preuve de ce qu'il est possible de réaliser au moyen de partenariats solides. Pendant la crise économique mondiale, tous les ordres de gouvernement ont réagi rapidement et efficacement pour cerner les projets prêts à démarrer, stimuler la création d'emplois et relancer l'économie. En tout, 20 projets représentant plus de 33 millions de dollars ont vu le jour à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Ces projets ont eu des retombées durables dans les collectivités de toute la province.

Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence à l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Projets locaux, résultats à long terme

Photo d'un autobus

De 2005 à 2014, l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard aura reçu un montant total de 97,5 millions de dollars du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence. Depuis 2005, la province a investi principalement dans trois domaines :

  • les routes et les ponts locaux;
  • les eaux usées et l'eau potable;
  • les projets communautaires en matière d'énergie.

Chaque année, le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence du Canada permet de soutenir les projets d'infrastructure locaux dans des collectivités partout au pays, et favorise ainsi la croissance économique. En 2009, le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence a vu son budget augmenter à 2 milliards de dollars par année et, en 2011, il est devenu permanent. Le Fonds soutient les projets d'infrastructure municipaux permettant de créer des emplois et de mieux protéger l'environnement, par l'assainissement de l'air et de l'eau ainsi que la réduction des gaz à effet de serre.

Dépenses du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence par catégorie
2005-2006 à 2010-2011

Description textuelle de la figure 2

Les projets réalisés grâce au Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence ont amélioré le niveau de vie des résidants de l'Île et ont eu un impact important tant sur la santé des collectivités que l'empreinte carbone de la province. Au total, 200 projets ont été approuvés en vertu du programme et bon nombre d'entre eux sont déjà terminés.

Saviez-vous…

  • Les projets approuvés en vertu du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence ont aidé à éliminer plus de 58 000 tonnes de CO2 et à épargner 13 000 litres de mazout sur l'Île.
  • Ces projets ont relié plus de 450 Prince-Édouardiens aux services municipaux d'approvisionne-ment en eau et ont ajouté ou remplacé plus de 23 kilomètres de conduites d'égout.
  • Plus de 40 kilomètres de route ont été construits grâce à ce programme, et ce, afin d'accroître la sécurité et l'efficacité des routes locales.

Le pouvoir éolien de l'Île, assurer notre avenir

Les résidants de Summerside profitent maintenant d'une plus grande utilisation d'énergie propre renouvelable

Une éolienne dans le parc éolien de Summerside

L'ouverture officielle du parc éolien Summerside a eu lien en août 2011. Le nouveau parc produit suffisamment d'énergie pour alimenter un quart des besoins en électricité de la ville. Situé dans le quartier de St. Eleanor, le parc éolien compte quatre éoliennes de 12 mégawatts. Ce parc réduit l'empreinte carbone de la ville tout en diminuant les émissions de gaz à effet de serre ainsi que la dépendance de la ville en matière de production d'électricité reposant sur les combustibles fossiles. Le projet de parc éolien a été rendu possible grâce à un investissement conjoint de 30 millions de dollars entre le gouvernement du Canada, la province de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et la ville de Summerside.

Faits intéressants

  • Le parc éolien Summerside remplace l'énergie générée à l'aide de combustibles fossiles par de l'énergie produite grâce à une ressource renouvelable.
  • La quantité d'électricité achetée à l'extérieur de la province diminue
  • Actuellement, la ville de Summerside consomme 121 gigawattheures (GWh) par année. On prévoit que le parc déplacera 30,6 GWh d'électricité par année. C'est-à-dire que le parc éolien comblera plus de 25 p. 100 des besoins en énergie de la ville.

Investir dans la production d'énergie renouvelable continue d'être une priorité pour la province de l'Île du-Prince-Édouard qui recherche activement de nouvelles occasions d'investissement.

Financement des priorités locales : le Fonds Chantiers Canada – volet Collectivités

Le volet Collectivités du Fonds Chantiers Canada comble les besoins particuliers des plus petites collectivités (moins de 100 000 personnes), et vise des projets répondant aux objectifs économiques et environnementaux, ainsi qu'à l'amélioration de la qualité de vie. Grâce au volet Collectivités et à son complément, plus de 70 millions de dollars ont été investis dans plus de 50 projets communautaires réalisés dans la province. Ces projets améliorent la capacité du traitement des eaux usées, l'infrastructure de traitement de l'eau potable, les routes et les ponts locaux, les installations de sports et de loisirs ainsi que les espaces culturels.

Extrémité ouest du sentier de Summerside

Extrémité ouest du sentier de Summerside, l'Île du-Prince-Édouard

Les résidants de l'Île peuvent maintenant profiter de plus de 1,5 kilomètre de sentiers pédestres, de kiosques éducatifs et d'équipement de conditionnement physique extérieur grâce à un investissement de 3,6 millions de dollars venant compléter le sentier polyvalent de 6,5 kilomètres de la ville de Summerside. Le projet appuie les choix de mode de vie sain des résidants locaux en offrant un magnifique espace extérieur où pratiquer des activités physiques.

Améliorations au débit de la circulation à Charlottetown

Le débit de la circulation à Charlottetown sera amélioré grâce à un élargissement d'un tronçon important de l'avenue University qui passera de deux à quatre voies ainsi qu'à la construction d'un nouveau carrefour giratoire à l'entrée de l'avenue Belvedere de l'Université de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard et du marché des producteurs. Le projet de 6,3 millions de dollars améliore la sécurité et favorise la réduction des gaz à effets de serre en limitant la marche au ralenti des véhicules.

Rénovation de l'étang d'épuration de Tyne Valley

Grâce à l'augmentation de la capacité de son installation de traitement des eaux usées, la collectivité de Tyne Valley peut procéder à des activités de développement économique. Le projet de 1,2 million de dollars a aidé à l'achèvement des travaux d'amélioration qui permettront davantage de développement résidentiel et commercial dans cette collectivité rurale, y compris le lien de plusieurs foyers au réseau.

Autoroutes sécuritaires et efficaces

Une grande priorité pour l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Autoroute de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard

Des autoroutes sécuritaires et efficaces sont essentielles à l'économie de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Les secteurs de l'agriculture et des pêches dépendent de la qualité des autoroutes pour exporter leurs produits sur le marché. Les touristes ont besoin d'un réseau routier sécuritaire et efficace afin de se rendre à destination sans courir de risques. Les gens qui exploitent des commerces bénéficient de routes de qualité afin d'importer ou d'exporter une grande variété de produits sur le marché de façon sécuritaire et efficace. Puisque l'Île est principalement rurale, des dizaines de milliers d'insulaires n'ayant pas accès au transport public dépendent de routes sécuritaires et efficaces pour se rendre où ils doivent aller. Voilà pourquoi la province accorde la priorité à un réseau routier sécuritaire et efficace. Il s'agit d'un aspect essentiel de l'économie de l'Île.

Replacement du pont Cardigan

Pont Cardigan, l'Île du-Prince-Édouard

Le village de Cardigan, dans le comté de Kings, bénéficie maintenant d'un nouveau pont. Le projet de 2,1 millions de dollars a remplacé l'ancien pont situé dans le centre du village. Le nouveau pont a une structure de 18 mètres plus longue que l'originale permettant un meilleur passage des marées. Le pont est également doté d'un nouveau trottoir.

Le projet a été rendu possible grâce au Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence, lequel est essentiel au maintien des routes et des ponts municipaux de la province.

Sécurité améliorée de la rocade de Charlottetown

La route périphérique de Charlottetown à l'Île du-Prince-Édouard

Ce projet de 6,5 millions de dollars à frais partagés a permis de reconstruire la rocade de Charlottetown, à la hauteur du chemin Riverside, afin d'améliorer la sécurité et l'efficacité de la circulation. Le chemin Riverside très achalandé a été élargi à quatre voies. De plus, de nouveaux carrefours giratoires à deux voies ont été construits aux endroits où le chemin Riverside croise les chemins Walker et Exhibition.

Les carrefours giratoires améliorent la sécurité par le ralentissement de la circulation et la diminution de la gravité des collisions ainsi que l'élimination des virages à gauche en pleine circulation. Les nouveaux carrefours giratoires améliorent également l'efficacité en réduisant la marche au ralenti des véhicules.

La province de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard met le cap sur l'avenir et s'engage à investir dans les infrastructures importantes pour les Prince-Édouardiens

Routes et autoroutes

En ce qui concerne les investissements en infrastructure, les principaux objectifs de la province de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard sont la sécurité et l'efficacité du réseau routier national ainsi que du réseau local de routes et de ponts. En raison de l'absence de service ferroviaire, le réseau local de routes et de ponts de la province est essentiel au commerce, tant pour les importations que les exportations. Depuis 2007, la province a investi près de 240 millions de dollars pour améliorer la qualité de ses routes et de ses ponts. Divers programmes à frais partagés ont contribué à ces investissements.

Eau

L'infrastructure d'eau et d'égouts constitue un autre principal domaine d'investissement. Toute l'eau potable de l'Île provient du sol. Des mesures spéciales doivent donc être entreprises et des investissements clés doivent être faits afin de s'assurer que les résidants aient toujours accès à une eau potable de qualité. En outre, le traitement et le contrôle des effluents sont également importants pour assurer la santé de diverses pêcheries en eau salée situées sur les zones côtières de la province. Ce type de pêcheries peut souffrir énormément d'un manque de gestion adéquat des eaux usées. Il est donc essentiel que ces eaux soient traitées convenablement.

Liens avec le continent

Le Pont de la Confédération, l'Île du-Prince-Édouard

L'Île-du-Prince-Édouard dépend également de son lien avec le continent. Le Pont de la Confédération constitue le lien le plus achalandé, mais ne réduit toutefois pas l'importance des voyages aériens, le rôle des traversiers Northumberland Ferries et le lien avec la Nouvelle-Écosse. Ces modes de transport indispensables doivent être maintenus pour assurer la santé de l'économie.

Autres priorités

La province se tourne vers l'avenir et examine les défis qui se pointent à l'horizon. De ce fait, elle se concentre donc également sur d'autres priorités, dont l'atténuation des catastrophes, l'énergie verte, le transport en commun, la santé et l'éducation.

Mettre le cap sur l'avenir

Partenraiats durables

Pour atteindre ses objectifs, notre pays compte sur la collaboration entre tous les échelons de gouvernement et d'autres partenaires. Nous savons tous que les infrastructures jouent un rôle de premier plan dans nos vies et notre bien-être économique. À long terme, la prospérité du Canada repose sur la vigueur de nos collectivités et sur les services de base dont elles ont besoin.

Grâce au Plan d'action économique du Canada et à des initiatives d'infrastructure comme le Fonds Chantiers Canada, le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence et le Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure, de grandes réalisations ont vu le jour au Yukon. Des gens partout sur le territoire disposent de routes plus sécuritaires, d'eau potable, et d'installations sportives, récréatives et culturelles améliorées. Nos investissements dans les infrastructures donnent chaque jour des résultats de plus en plus tangibles, car de plus en plus de projets sont réalisés.

Le gouvernement du Canada est résolu à maintenir son approche axée sur les partenariats en vue de répondre aux priorités nationales, régionales et locales en matière d'infrastructure. Des partenariats forts permettent d'investir chaque dollar dans des projets d'infrastructure publique répondant aux besoins actuels, mais aussi à la croissance et au développement économiques à long terme.

Nouveau plan à long terme

Le 30 novembre 2011, le gouvernement du Canada a lancé un processus permettant de mobiliser des partenaires partout au pays autour de l'élaboration d'un plan à long terme d'infrastructure publique. Établir un nouveau plan d'infrastructure à long terme signifie qu'il faut travailler avec les provinces, les territoires, les municipalités, les intervenants clés ainsi qu'avec des experts techniques afin d'acquérir davantage de connaissances sur cinq grands thèmes :

  • infrastructures et économie;
  • infrastructures et environnement;
  • infrastructures et collectivités plus fortes;
  • financement des infrastructures;
  • planification et développement durable.

En prévision du nouveau plan d'infrastructure à long terme, nous allons nouer un dialogue constructif mettant l'accent sur les grands principes, les priorités et les orientations de l'infrastructure publique au Canada. En travaillant ensemble, nous pourrons veiller à ce que le Canada se dote d'infrastructures solides sur lesquelles asseoir la croissance et la prospérité économiques, maintenant et à l'avenir.

logo du Gouvernement de l'Île du-Prince-Édouard
Date de modification :