ARCHIVED - Building for Prosperity: Public Infrastructure in Canada - Looking Ahead

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Looking Ahead

Continued Partnership

Achieving our goals as a nation means that all orders of government and other partners, must work together. While the bulk of public infrastructure in Canada is owned and managed by provincial, territorial and municipal governments, the Government of Canada recognizes the central role that this infrastructure plays in our lives and in our economic well-being.

North Perth Administration Centre, North Perth, Ontario

North Perth Administration Centre, North Perth, ON

Infrastructure in the 21st century is vast, complex and intrinsically interconnected. But fundamentally, as a nation, the challenges are very similar to those of the 1800s: governments, citizens and private industry must ensure that commerce, workers and families thrive in what is still a young, sparsely populated country. Today, our ports and canal networks, rail system and highways have been joined by an information network connecting people, financial institutions, media and government. Prosperity is still premised on the strength of our communities and the basic services that support them.

In 2006, municipal, provincial and territorial governments expressed the desire for more predictable, long-term funding to better plan and meet continued infrastructure needs. The $33 billion Building Canada Plan was launched in 2007 and marked a new era for infrastructure partnership funding. A fundamental pillar of the Plan was to provide that stability through long-term predictable funding, a goal achieved with the help of the Gas Tax Fund.

Through the Gas Tax Fund, money flows to communities of all sizes on a regular, predictable basis, which allows municipalities to pool, bank, borrow against and cash manage these financial resources in a way that gives them greater flexibility in managing their infrastructure assets. The Gas Tax Fund reached $2 billion a year nationally in 2009-10 and will be made permanent at that level beginning in 2014.

Nation building is never ending. The Government of Canada is committed to a continued partnership approach to both national and local infrastructure priorities. Only through cooperative efforts will every dollar invested in infrastructure meet today's needs while addressing the growth and development needs to come.

In Support of a Long-Term Plan

Moving forward, the federal government invites partners from across the country to engage in a constructive dialogue on a new long-term public infrastructure plan that will build on past achievements while strengthening partnerships between all orders of government. The process will roll out in three phases.

Ottawa Convention Centre, Ottawa, Ontario

Ottawa Convention Centre, Ottawa, ON

Phase I is about taking stock of Canada's infrastructure investments and identifying the many factors that have contributed to the success of thousands of projects across the country. With a focus on the accomplishments achieved through strong partnerships, the Government of Canada is also working to share details on some of the more important investments that have been made, such as improvements to water quality in the Great Lakes, the success of the Gas Tax Fund and the significant investment in public transit.

Phase II of the planning process will build on the first round of analysis, moving beyond what has been accomplished over the last 10 years in terms of infrastructure investments, to build the technical and policy knowledge that will serve as the empirical basis for the development of a long-term infrastructure plan and inform the broader discussions that will be the focus of the third phase of this process. During this phase, we will work with our partners and stakeholders, experts and leading practitioners to undertake research and analysis around five themes: the economy, the environment, stronger communities, infrastructure financing, and asset planning and sustainability.

Phase III of the process will focus on a constructive dialogue with our provincial, territorial and municipal partners, and other key stakeholders. Building on the work completed in the first two phases, this last phase of engagement will explore the broad principles and future directions for public infrastructure in Canada. This phase will also provide a forum to identify and discuss key lessons from past plans and programs that can aid in the development of the next long-term public infrastructure plan.

Over the coming months all levels of government will turn their attention to the future of public infrastructure in Canada. They will be joined by experts as well as key stakeholders and the public at large. Working together will ensure that Canada has a solid public infrastructure foundation for continued growth and prosperity for years to come.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Bâtir pour la prospérité : les infrastructures publiques au Canada - Regarder vers l'avenir

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Regarder vers l'avenir

Maintien des partenariats

Bâtiment d'administration de North Perth, North Perth, Ontario

Bâtiment d'administration de North Perth,
North Perth
, Ontario

Pour atteindre nos objectifs en tant que nation, tous les ordres de gouvernement et tous les autres partenaires doivent travailler ensemble. Bien que la majeure partie des infrastructures publiques au Canada appartiennent aux administrations provinciales, territoriales et municipales et sont gérées par elles, le gouvernement du Canada reconnaît le rôle central que joue cette infrastructure dans nos vies et pour notre bien-être économique.

Les infrastructures du 21e siècle sont vastes, complexes et intrinsèquement interreliées. Mais en tant que nation, nous faisons face à des défis très similaires à ceux des années 1800. Les gouvernements, les citoyens et l'industrie privée doivent s'assurer que les entreprises, les travailleurs et les familles peuvent prospérer dans un pays encore jeune et dont la population est dispersée. Aujourd'hui, à nos ports et à nos réseaux de canaux, à notre réseau de chemin de fer et à nos autoroutes, s'ajoute un réseau d'information qui relie les gens, les institutions financières, les médias et le gouvernement. La prospérité repose toujours sur la force de nos collectivités et des services de base qui les soutiennent.

En 2006, les administrations provinciales, territoriales et municipales ont exprimé le désir de pouvoir compter sur un financement plus prévisible et à long terme afin de mieux planifier leurs travaux d'infrastructure et répondre à leurs besoins continus en infrastructure. Doté d'une enveloppe de 33 milliards de dollars, le Plan Chantiers Canada a été lancé en 2007 et a marqué une nouvelle ère en matière de financement en partenariat des infrastructures. Un pilier fondamental du Plan consistait à assurer la stabilité grâce à un financement prévisible à long terme, un objectif atteint grâce au Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence.

Par l'entremise du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence des fonds sont distribués aux collectivités de toutes les tailles, de façon régulière et prévisible, ce qui permet aux municipalités de mettre ces ressources financières en commun, de les accumuler, de les gérer et d'emprunter au titre de celles-ci. Le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence a atteint 2 milliards de dollars par année à l'échelle nationale en 2009-2010, et à compter de 2014, il sera transformé en fonds permanent doté du même montant d'argent.

L'édification de la nation est un processus sans fin. Le gouvernement du Canada s'est engagé à adopter une approche de partenariats pour traiter les priorités nationales et locales. Grâce à nos efforts communs, chaque dollar investi dans l'infrastructure répondra aux besoins actuels des collectivités, tout en tenant compte des besoins de croissance et de développement futurs.

À l'appui d'un plan à long terme

Pour poursuivre sur sa lancée, le gouvernement fédéral invite ses partenaires de tout le pays à entamer un dialogue constructif sur le nouveau plan à long terme en matière d'infrastructures publiques qui s'appuiera sur les réussites passées tout en renforçant les partenariats entre tous les ordres de gouvernement. Ce processus se déroulera en trois phases.

Centre des congrès d'Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario

Centre des congrès d'Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario

La phase I consiste à inventorier les investissements dans les infrastructures du Canada et à cerner les nombreux facteurs ayant contribué à la réussite de milliers de projets au pays. En mettant l'accent sur les succès obtenus grâce à des partenariats forts, le gouvernement du Canada veut également partager des détails sur certains des plus importants investissements effectués, comme les investissements pour l'amélioration de la qualité de l'eau dans les Grands Lacs, la réussite du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence et les investissements importants dans le transport en commun.

La phase II du processus de planification s'appuiera sur le premier cycle d'analyse et ira au-delà de ce qui a été accompli au cours des 10 dernières années en matière d'investissements dans l'infrastructure, afin de constituer la base de connaissances techniques et politiques qui servira de fondement empirique pour l'élaboration d'un plan d'infrastructure à long terme et qui permettra d'orienter les discussions plus larges qui auront lieu dans le cadre de la troisième phase du processus. Durant cette phase, nous travaillerons avec nos partenaires et nos intervenants, des experts et des praticiens renommés en vue d'effectuer des recherches et des analyses sur cinq thèmes : l'économie, l'environnement, des collectivités plus fortes, le financement des infrastructures, ainsi que la planification et la durabilité des actifs.

La phase III du processus sera axée sur un dialogue constructif avec nos partenaires provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux et d'autres intervenants clés. En s'appuyant sur les travaux accomplis au cours des deux premières phases, cette dernière phase d'engagement consistera à examiner les grands principes et l'orientation future des infrastructures publiques au Canada. Cette phase servira de tribune pour cerner les principaux enseignements tirés des plans et des programmes passés, susceptibles d'aider à l'élaboration du prochain plan à long terme dans le domaine des infrastructures publiques.

Au cours des prochains mois, tous les ordres de gouvernement tourneront leur attention vers l'avenir des infrastructures publiques au Canada. Ils seront accompagnés dans cet examen par des experts ainsi que par des intervenants clés et par le grand public. En travaillant ensemble, nous nous assurerons que le Canada a un fondement solide en matière d'infrastructure publique qui permet d'assurer la croissance et la prospérité du pays pour les années à venir.

Date de modification :