ARCHIVED - Building for Prosperity: Public Infrastructure in Canada - The Government of Canada's Investments

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

The Government of Canada's Investments

Nanaimo Assembly Wharf, Floating Cruise Ship Terminal, Nanaimo, British Columbia

Nanaimo Assembly Wharf, Floating Cruise Ship Terminal, Nanaimo, BC

In 2006, the federal government undertook far-reaching consultations on the future of infrastructure investments. Provincial, territorial and municipal partners and stakeholders made it clear that the country wanted and needed long-term predictable funding that supported both large-scale and local priorities. The Government of Canada listened and developed a world class approach to infrastructure investments to provide long-term stable funding – the Building Canada Plan.

Following the launch of the $33 billion Building Canada Plan, the Government of Canada continued its commitment to infrastructure in Canada. As part of the Plan, it increased funding under the Gas Tax Fund, which reached $2 billion a year nationally in 2009-10 and will be made permanent at that level beginning in 2014.

In 2009, in response to the global economic downturn, billions of dollars in short-term funding were committed to infrastructure under the Economic Action Plan, including the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund and the Building Canada Fund-Communities Component Top-Up. This short-term funding was a welcome addition to the government's existing infrastructure funding. Also in 2009, the government launched the Green Infrastructure Fund, rounding out Infrastructure Canada's comprehensive suite of infrastructure investments.

These are the investments that will support a prosperous Canada
well into the 21st century
.

Taking Stock of Federal Investments

Port of Belledune Terminal Expansion, Belledune, New Brunswick

Port of Belledune Terminal Expansion, Belledune, NB

Funding infrastructure in Canada is both challenging and rewarding. Managing taxpayers' dollars in a prudent manner drives infrastructure investments that support the priorities of the nation: strengthening the economy while supporting local goals.

Since January 27, 2009 (Budget 2009), Infrastructure Canada has committed more than $10.6 billion toward approximately 6,400 infrastructure projects. When combined with contributions from the provinces, territories, municipalities and other funding partners, this means approximately $30 billion has been committed for infrastructure projects in communities across the country.

Infrastructure Canada's commitments since the launch of the Building Canada Plan in 20074 include:

  • Over $11.5 billion in targeted investments
  • Almost $2 billion in Provincial-Territorial Base Funding
  • Over $3.7 billion in Gas Tax Funding5

Targeted Investments focus on both community and large-scale infrastructure. Funds are targeted toward priorities, such as clean drinking water and public transit, and include commitments under the Building Canada Fund, the Infrastructure Stimulus Fund and the Green Infrastructure Fund.

Provincial-Territorial Base Funding provides provinces and territories with stable long-term funding geared toward their priorities. This funding is streamlined and flexible with simplified administrative requirements.

The Gas Tax Fund goes to municipalities to support environmentally sustainable municipal infrastructure projects.

In 2008, the Government of Canada announced that the Gas Tax Fund would become a permanent measure, providing $2 billion per year in predictable and long-term infrastructure funding to Canada's cities and towns.

In addition to funding provided by Infrastructure Canada, the federal government has a number of other significant infrastructure funds:

  • Transport Canada manages over $3 billion in funding for gateways and border crossings initiatives.
  • Regional development agencies have committed $500 million for recreational facilities as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan.
  • Public-Private Partnerships Canada will provide $1.2 billion for public-private partnerships.

4 As of September 20, 2011 (see also note 5 on the Gas Tax figure).

5 Represents the cumulative amount spent from 2005-06 to 2009-10.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Bâtir pour la prospérité : les infrastructures publiques au Canada - Les investissements du gouvernement du Canada

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Les investissements du gouvernement du Canada

Quai d'assemblage de Nanaimo, Terminal flottant des navires de croisière, Nanaimo, Colombie-Britannique

Quai d'assemblage de Nanaimo, Terminal flottant des
navires de croisière, Nanaimo, Colombie-Britannique

En 2006, le gouvernement fédéral a entrepris des consultations à grande échelle sur l'avenir des investissements dans les infrastructures. Les partenaires et les intervenants provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux ont clairement indiqué qu'il fallait offrir un financement prévisible à long terme qui appuie à la fois les priorités locales et les priorités à grande échelle. Le gouvernement du Canada les a écoutés et a élaboré une approche reconnue mondialement en matière d'investissement dans les infrastructures afin de fournir un financement stable et à long terme : le Plan Chantiers Canada.

À la suite du lancement du Plan Chantiers Canada, d'une valeur de 33 milliards de dollars, le gouvernement du Canada a poursuivi son engagement en matière d'infrastructures au Canada. Dans le cadre du Plan, il a augmenté le financement provenant du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence qui a atteint 2 milliards de dollars annuellement en 2009-2010 et qui, à compter de 2014, sera transformé en fonds permanent doté du même montant d'argent.

En 2009, en réaction au ralentissement économique mondial, des milliards de dollars en financement à court terme ont été engagés pour les infrastructures dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique, y compris le Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure et le Fonds Chantiers Canada – volet Collectivités (Complément). Ce financement à court terme était un ajout bien accueilli au financement existant du gouvernement en matière d'infrastructure. Également en 2009, le gouvernement a lancé le Fonds pour l'infrastructure verte, qui est venu compléter l'apport exhaustif d'Infrastructure Canada en matière d'investissements dans l'infrastructure.

Ces investissements permettront d'assurer la prospérité
du Canada au 21e siècle
.

Le point sur les investissements fédéraux

Agrandissement du port et du terminal portuaire de Belledune, Nouveau-Brunswick

Agrandissement du port et du terminal portuaire de Belledune, Nouveau-Brunswick

Le financement des infrastructures au Canada est à la fois complexe et gratifiant. La gestion prudente des fonds des contribuables oriente les investissements dans les infrastructures dans le but d'appuyer les priorités de la nation : de renforcer l'économie, tout en soutenant les objectifs locaux.

Depuis le 27 janvier 2009 (budget de 2009), Infrastructure Canada a engagé plus de 10,6 milliards de dollars dans environ 6 400 projets d'infrastructure. Si l'on combine ce montant aux contributions des provinces, des territoires, des municipalités et des autres partenaires de financement, on obtient un total d'environ 30 milliards de dollars engagés dans des projets d'infrastructure dans les collectivités partout au pays.

Examinons les engagements d'Infrastructure Canada depuis le lancement du Plan Chantiers Canada en 20074 :

  • plus de 11,5 milliards de dollars en investissements ciblés;
  • près de 2 milliards de dollars en financement de base pour les provinces et les territoires;
  • plus de 3,7 milliards de dollars provenant de la taxe sur l'essencenote 5.

Les investissements ciblés portent sur les infrastructures communautaires et les infrastructures à grande échelle. Les fonds sont dirigés vers des priorités comme l'eau potable et le transport en commun et comprennent les fonds distribués dans le cadre du Fonds Chantiers Canada, du Fonds de stimulation de l'infrastructure et du Fonds pour l'infrastructure verte.

Le Financement de base pour les provinces et les territoires offre aux provinces et aux territoires un financement stable à long terme axé sur leurs priorités. Ce financement est rationalisé et souple et les exigences administratives sont simplifiées.

Le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence est distribué aux municipalités pour appuyer leurs projets d'infrastructure municipale durables sur le plan de l'environnement.

En 2008, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé que le Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence deviendrait permanent et permettrait de distribuer aux villes et municipalités du Canada 2 milliards de dollars par année en financement prévisible et à long terme pour les infrastructures.

En plus du financement fourni par Infrastructure Canada, le gouvernement fédéral a plusieurs autres fonds destinés à l'infrastructure :

  • Transports Canada gère plus de 3 milliards de dollars de financement pour les initiatives des portes d'entrée et des passages frontaliers;
  • Les agences de développement régional ont engagé 500 millions de dollars pour des installations récréatives dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada;
  • Partenariats public-privé Canada fournira 1,2 milliard de dollars pour des partenariats public-privé.

[4] En date du 20 septembre 2011 (voir également la note 5 sur la taxe sur l'essence).

[5] Représente le montant cumulatif dépensé de 2005-2006 à 2009-2010.

Date de modification :