ARCHIVED - Building for Prosperity: Public Infrastructure in Canada - Building a Better Canada Together

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Building a Better Canada Together

Our Collaborative Approach

Net Stock of Public Capital Share 2009

Net Stock of Public Capital Share 2009

Source: Statistics Canada, Survey of Capital and Repair Expenditures. Core Public Infrastructure (Water, wastewater, recreation, culture, transit, roads, bridges)

All orders of government in Canada recognize the importance of sound public infrastructure and the contribution it makes to a stronger economy, an improved quality of life and a cleaner environment. In recent years, Canadians have seen the benefits of the historic infrastructure investments that the federal government, provinces, territories and municipalities have been making.

In Canada, municipalities play a leading role in managing and operating this infrastructure. In fact, municipalities own nearly two thirds of Canada’s core public infrastructure. In effect, provincial, territorial and municipal governments build, operate, maintain, rehabilitate and replace most public infrastructure in Canada.

When the Building Canada Plan was launched in 2007, it marked a new era for infrastructure partnership funding – and a new relationship among all orders of government. The Plan was the result of engagement and discussions with provinces and territories, as well as the municipal sector. The intent was to identify an approach to provide federal funding for provincial, territorial and municipal public infrastructure in a way that was more predictable and long term in nature. Given the relative responsibilities of each order of government, the approach developed to support public infrastructure was based heavily on the principle of partnership.

While all governments helped restore infrastructure investments the last few years,
we also saw fundamental reforms to the infrastructure funding system itself.
Longer-term planning, more efficient programs and a growing emphasis on repairs and
rehabilitation – these are essential building blocks for solving our infrastructure problems once and for all.


– Pat Fiacco, Mayor of Regina, Saskatchewan, January 2011

The Building Canada Plan also laid the foundation for the strong partnership that was needed to mobilize quickly and respond to the global economic slowdown that hit in late 2008. On January 27, 2009, in the 2009 Budget, the Government of Canada announced that it would implement new short-term stimulus programs as part of its Economic Action Plan; success would require the strong collaboration of its partners.

The results of the Economic Action Plan are a clear testament to the high degree of cooperation shown by all orders of government across Canada, as efforts were successfully made to identify construction-ready projects, cut red tape and streamline project approvals.

These results are not just limited to the Economic Action Plan. As provinces, territories and municipalities moved forward with record amounts of public infrastructure investments, the Government of Canada provided the necessary financial support. In fact, as is seen in the chart below, federal contributions and other transfer payments for public infrastructure nearly tripled over the past five years, making these increased investments possible. The majority of these funds have been provided through Infrastructure Canada, including nearly 75 percent in 2010-11.

Federal Infrastructure Funding Support for Provincial, Territorial and
Municipal InfrastructureLink to the footnote 1* (Current $B)

Federal Infrastructure Funding Support for Provincial, Territorial and Municipal Infrastructure* (Current $B)

Source: Finance Canada & Infrastructure Canada, June 2011

* All public infrastructure, including Core Public Infrastructure

Over the past 10 years, provincial, territorial and municipal governments, with the funding support from the Government of Canada, have been working to address public infrastructure needs across the country. After remaining relatively stable throughout the 1980s and 1990s, investments in provincial, territorial and municipal assets increased rapidly over the last decade. The chart below shows the increase in investment in municipally-owned, core public infrastructure (the green line) as well as a similar increase in investments in provincial and territorial assets (the red line).

Investments into Core Public InfrastructureLink to the footnote 2* (Constant $B)

Investments into Core Public Infrastructure* (Current $B)

Source: Statistics Canada, August 2011

* Includes bridges, roads, water, wastewater, transit, plus cultural and recreational facilities

Municipalities are turning stimulus money from Ottawa into new jobs by matching federal investments dollar for dollar and managing thousands of front-line projects across the country. It shows that some challenges are too big for any one government to solve on its own.

– Gérald Tremblay, Mayor of Montréal, Quebec, May 27, 2010
Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Bâtir pour la prospérité : les infrastructures publiques au Canada - Bâtir ensemble un Canada meilleur

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bâtir ensemble un Canada meilleur

Notre approche collaborative

Stock net de parts du capital public 2009

Stock net de parts du capital public

Source : Statistique Canada, Enquête sur les dépenses en immobilisations et réparations. Infrastructures publiques de base (eau potable, eaux usées, loisirs, culture, transport en commun, routes, ponts).

Tous les ordres de gouvernement du Canada reconnaissent l'importance d'une infrastructure publique solide et sa contribution à une économie plus forte, à une meilleure qualité de vie et à un environnement plus sain. Au cours des dernières années, les Canadiens ont constaté les avantages des investissements historiques dans l'infrastructure faits par le gouvernement fédéral, les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités.

Au Canada, les municipalités jouent un rôle important dans la gestion et l'exploitation de ces infrastructures. En fait, les municipalités sont propriétaires d'environ les deux tiers des infrastructures publiques du Canada. Par conséquent, les autorités provinciales, territoriales et municipales construisent, exploitent, entretiennent, restaurent et remplacent la plupart des infrastructures publiques au Canada.

Le lancement du Plan Chantiers Canada en 2007 a marqué le début d'une nouvelle ère en matière de partenariats de financement des infrastructures, ainsi qu'une nouvelle relation entre tous les ordres de gouvernement. Le Plan était l'aboutissement de discussions et d'engagements avec les provinces et les territoires ainsi qu'avec le secteur municipal. Le but était de trouver une approche permettant de fournir des fonds fédéraux pour les infrastructures publiques provinciales, territoriales et municipales, d'une façon plus prévisible et à plus long terme. En raison des responsabilités relatives de chaque ordre de gouvernement, l'approche élaborée pour soutenir les infrastructures publiques était fondée en grande partie sur le principe du partenariat.

Alors que tous les ordres de gouvernement ont contribué à rétablir les investissements dans les infrastructures au cours des dernières années, des réformes fondamentales ont également été apportées au système de financement des infrastructures lui-même. Une planification à long terme, des programmes plus efficients et un accent plus grand mis sur la réparation et la restauration – ce sont là des éléments essentiels pour résoudre une fois pour toutes nos problèmes d'infrastructure. [Traduction]

– Pat Fiacco, maire de Regina, en Saskatchewan, janvier 2011.

Le Plan Chantiers Canada a également jeté les fondements du partenariat solide qui était requis pour rapidement mobiliser les intervenants et réagir au ralentissement économique mondial survenu à la fin de 2008. Le 27 janvier 2009, dans son budget de 2009, le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé qu'il mettait en œuvre de nouveaux programmes de stimulation de l'économie à court terme dans le cadre de Plan d'action économique. Une bonne collaboration de ses partenaires était essentielle pour en assurer la réussite.

Les résultats du Plan d'action économique témoignent du niveau élevé de collaboration entre tous les ordres de gouvernement du Canada, dans les efforts visant à trouver des projets de construction prêts à être réalisés, à réduire la bureaucratie et à accélérer l'approbation des projets.

Ces résultats ne se limitent pas au Plan d'action économique. Si les provinces, les territoires et les municipalités ont investi des montants records dans les infrastructures publiques, le gouvernement du Canada a offert un soutien financier important. En fait, comme on le voit dans le tableau ci-dessous, la contribution du gouvernement fédéral et les autres paiements de transfert pour les infrastructures publiques ont pratiquement triplé au cours des cinq dernières années, ce qui a permis cette augmentation des investissements. La majorité des fonds attribués au cours des dernières années, y compris près de 75 p. 100 en 2010-2011, ont été distribués par Infrastructure Canada.

Soutien fédéral au financement des infrastructures provinciales, territoriales et municipales (G$, dollars constants)*

Soutien fédéral au financement des infrastructures provinciales, territoriales et municipales

Source : Finance Canada et Infrastructure Canada, juin 2011.

* Toutes les infrastructures publiques, y compris les infrastructures publiques de base.

Au cours des 10 dernières années, les administrations provinciales, territoriales et municipales, avec le soutien financier du gouvernement du Canada, se sont affairées à répondre aux besoins en infrastructure publique partout au pays. Après être demeurés relativement stables durant les années 1980 et 1990, les investissements dans les actifs provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux ont augmenté rapidement au cours de la dernière décennie. Le graphique ci-dessous représente l'augmentation des investissements dans les infrastructures publiques de base appartenant aux municipalités (la ligne verte), ainsi que les augmentations des investissements dans les actifs provinciaux et territoriaux (la ligne rouge).

Investissements dans les infrastructures publiques de base (G$, dollars constants)**

Investissements dans les infrastructures publiques de base

Source : Statistique Canada, août 2011.

** Comprend les ponts, les routes les systèmes de distribution de l'eau, de traitement des eaux usées, le transport en commun et les installations culturelles et récréatives.

Les municipalités transforment les fonds de relance fédéraux en emplois, en investissant dollar pour dollar et en gérant des milliers de projets sur le terrain, partout au pays […]. Cela montre bien que certains enjeux sont tellement gros qu'aucun gouvernement ne peut en venir à bout seul.

– Gérald Tremblay, maire de Montréal, au Québec, le 27 mai 2010.
Date de modification :