ARCHIVED - Building for Prosperity: Public Infrastructure in Canada - Building a Nation

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Building a Nation

Kicking Horse Pass, Golden, BC
(photo courtesy of the Province of British Columbia)

Infrastructure is everywhere and touches everyone. From the water we drink to the roads we drive on, Canada's public infrastructure forms the fabric of our nation. Our quality of life, prospering communities and resilient economy depend on our systems of public infrastructure, and our continued ability to compete successfully on the global stage depends on the quality of these systems.

Since Confederation, the federal government has supported Canada's public infrastructure through investments in railways, the telegraph system, the St. Lawrence Seaway, ports, airports, highways, broadband and other investments, such as those required for national defence or to support national cultural institutions. From isolated colonies in the New World, to a modern vibrant country, our history is etched in public works across a vast landscape.

1800s: Building for Confederation

Construction of Transcontinental Railway, 1909, Northern Ontario

Construction of Transcontinental Railway, 1909, Northern Ontario
(photo courtesy of Stewart M. Ogilvy, Library and Archives Canada,
PA-103450)

Public infrastructure investments in the 1800s focused on canals and railroads. Massive labour-intensive public works stretched from one frontier to another, uniting a scattered population and giving birth to a nation. The Lachine Canal, completed in 1825, which bypasses treacherous rapids on the St. Lawrence River, created a vital transportation link necessary for the economic success and development of Montréal. The Rideau Canal, originally built for its strategic importance, stretches over 200 km from Ottawa to Kingston. The completion of this inland waterway resulted in the transformation of a small lumber town into Ottawa, the nation's capital. The Rideau Canal, which opened in 1832, is now a recognized world UNESCO heritage site.

Perhaps the most symbolic of Canada's 19th century capital works are its railways. A promise of Confederation, railway commitments were written into the British North America Act and also secured the union with British Columbia. In a time of rail "mania" throughout the British Empire and America, Canada's sparse 1881 population of 4.3 million built a lasting bond of national unity that weathered natural, political and financial disasters. In the late 1800s, crossing the barren Precambrian Shield and the daunting Rocky Mountains was both dangerous and technically astounding. The first passenger train reached Port Moody, British Columbia, in July 1886, almost eight months after the last spike was hammered in 1885. Over a century and a half later, Canadians still travel on the national rail system.

Into the Next Century: Industrialization and Urbanization

Marine crane loading boilers and engine assemblies at shipyard, 1943, Montréal, QC

Marine crane loading boilers and engine assemblies at shipyard,
1943, Montréal, QC (photo courtesy of the National Film Board
of Canada and Library and Archives Canada)

By the time Saskatchewan and Alberta joined confederation in 1905, more and more Canadians were leaving the family farm and moving into the cities. Although the national urban population would not pass the halfway mark until the 1920s, public works throughout Canada were responding to the new industrial reality and booming cities. Changes, such as electrification, reliable water, waste management and public transit, made cities a viable place for both families and factories. Additionally, manufacturing and industrial growth were well supported by the transportation investments of the 19th century.

Montréal published its first telephone directory in the 1880s and by the mid-1890s cities across the country, including Vancouver and Winnipeg, had electric street car systems. Public infrastructure supported the movement of raw materials across the dominion, and significant investments supported the new urban working class. The Union of Canadian Municipalities, a forerunner of the Federation of Canadian Municipalities, was well aware of the new role of cities when it held its first meeting in 1901. Steel building frames and suburbs were the hallmarks of a new economy driven by urban centres connected by water, rail, telegraph and the telephone.

Public Infrastructure: The Golden Age

Construction workers on the St. Lawrence Seaway, 1952

Construction workers on the St. Lawrence Seaway,
1952, (photo courtesy of the National Film Board
of Canada and Library and Archives Canada,
PA-206919)

Trans-Canada Highway Improvements, Banff, AB

Trans-Canada Highway Improvements, Banff, AB

After World War II, countries around the world began to rebuild. The 1950s and 1960s are generally considered to be the Golden Age of modern infrastructure. Building the 306-km section from Montréal to Lake Ontario of the St. Lawrence Seaway, a joint Canada-U.S. undertaking, became one of the great public works projects of this era. Recognized as one of the most challenging engineering feats in history, the Seaway overshadowed even the Suez Canal built in 1869 and the Panama Canal built in 1914. Prime Minister John Diefenbaker, President Dwight D. Eisenhower and Queen Elizabeth II officially opened the St. Lawrence Seaway in 1959.

Enthusiasm for public infrastructure as nation building also extended to our cultural heritage. Libraries, arenas and art galleries were built across the country in celebration of Canada's centennial, including Ottawa's National Arts Centre.

In the post-war boom, the automobile became a symbol of prosperity, individuality and modernity. While the railways were still the foundation of the transportation system, work began to unite Canada by highway. In 1949, the federal government passed the Trans-Canada Highway Act which set the stage for joint federal-provincial funding of what would become the world's longest national highway. In 1962, with cars lining the road for three kilometres in each direction, the prime minister and representatives from all ten provinces officially opened the Trans-Canada Highway at Rogers Pass near Revelstoke, British Columbia. While construction would not be fully competed until 1971, Canada's "billion dollar highway" was open for traffic from the Atlantic to the Pacific.

Era of Renewal

Red River Floodway Expansion, Winnipeg, MB

Red River Floodway Expansion, Winnipeg, MB
(photo courtesy of the Manitoba Floodway Authority)

Following a general decline in Western spending on public infrastructure in the 1970s and 1980s, renewed interest in public works investments has emerged in the last ten years. In Canada, governments have worked together to fund all manner of infrastructure projects from community-oriented green infrastructure investments to major projects of regional importance. In Manitoba, the Red River floodway, originally constructed in the 1950s, is being expanded to protect residents against a flood larger than the 1997 "flood of the century." From harbour cleanups to pipe replacement, all orders of government are investing in the renewal of water and wastewater systems.

The benefits of past nation-building investments in public infrastructure are very apparent today. Recent investments have contributed to the ongoing renewal and improvement of what Statistics Canada describes as Canada's core public infrastructure (CPI).1  The average age of infrastructure is often used as an indication of the state of infrastructure and as seen in the chart below, the average age of Canada's core public infrastructure peaked in 2001 at 17.0 years. Between 2001 and 2010, this average age fell to 14.7 years, including a drop of a full year between 2008 and 2010.2 The unprecedented infrastructure investments made across the country by all orders of government as part of Canada's Economic Action Plan are likely to contribute to a further decline in the average age of Canada's public infrastructure in the years to come.

Average Age of Canada's Core Public Infrastructure

Source: Statistics Canada, Investment and Capital Stock Division.
*Note: CPI includes bridges, roads, water, wastewater, transit, plus cultural and recreational facilities.

 

West Coast Express Commuter Rail Improvements, Vancouver, British Columbia

West Coast Express Commuter Rail Improvements,
Vancouver, BC

The success of current investments does not mean the work of Canada's three orders of government is complete. Aging infrastructure is a fact of modern societies. The Association of Consulting Engineers of Canada indicates that 50 percent of public infrastructure will have reached the end of its serviceable lifespan by 2027. Governments all over the world are looking at how to invest responsibly to maintain competitiveness and standards of living.

Over the last 50 years, the scope of possible infrastructure investment has increased dramatically. The building blocks of public infrastructure, such as drinking water systems, remain vital to our prosperity and well-being, but exciting new areas for growth and investment now present themselves. In the wake of the world's worst global recession in over 50 years, the biggest challenge for all levels of government will be to invest prudently in public infrastructure in order to safeguard our fragile economic recovery while supporting continued growth.

1 Statistics Canada defines "core public infrastructure" as comprising the following asset categories: bridges, roads, water, wastewater, public transit, and cultural and recreational facilities.

2 Estimated based on 2010 spending commitment from Statistics Canada CAPEX data.

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Bâtir pour la prospérité : les infrastructures publiques au Canada - Bâtir une nation

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Bâtir une nation

Le canyon Kicking Horse, Golden, Colombie-Britannique
(photo de la province de Colombie-Britannique)

Les infrastructures sont partout et touchent la vie de tous. De l'eau que nous buvons aux routes sur lesquelles nous circulons, les infrastructures publiques du Canada forment le canevas de notre nation. Notre qualité de vie, la prospérité de nos collectivités et la résilience de notre économie dépendent de nos réseaux d'infrastructure publique, et notre capacité à demeurer concurrentiel à l'échelle mondiale dépend de la qualité de ces réseaux.

Depuis la Confédération, le gouvernement fédéral soutient les infrastructures publiques du Canada en investissant dans les chemins de fer, le télégraphe, la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, les ports, les aéroports, les autoroutes, les services à large bande et d'autres infrastructures, comme celles requises pour la défense nationale ou pour soutenir les institutions culturelles nationales. Des colonies isolées du Nouveau Monde au pays moderne et dynamique d'aujourd'hui, notre histoire est gravée dans les infrastructures publiques présentes partout sur notre vaste territoire.

Les années 1800 : bâtir pour la Confédération

Construction du chemin de fer transcontinental, 1909, nord de l'Ontario

Construction du chemin de fer transcontinental, 1909, nord de l'Ontario,
(photo de Stewart M. Ogilvy, Bibliothèque et Archives Canada,
PA-103450).

Durant les années 1800, les investissements dans les infrastructures publiques étaient axés sur les canaux et les chemins de fer. D'importants travaux publics, exigeants en main-d'œuvre et réalisés d'un océan à l'autre, ont permis d'unir une population dispersée et de donner naissance à une nation. Le canal de Lachine, achevé en 1825, qui permet de contourner les dangereux rapides du Saint-Laurent, a crée un lien de transport essentiel à la réussite et au développement économique de Montréal. Le canal Rideau, construit à l'origine pour son importance stratégique, s'étend sur plus de 200 kilomètres, d'Ottawa à Kingston. L'achèvement de cette voie navigable intérieure a permis de faire d'Ottawa, une petite ville de bûcherons, la capitale de notre nation. Le canal Rideau, inauguré en 1832, est maintenant un site du patrimoine mondial reconnu par l'UNESCO.

Au 19e siècle, les travaux d'immobilisation les plus symboliques au Canada sont associés à la construction des chemins de fer. Une promesse de la Confédération, les engagements relatifs aux chemins de fer ont été inscrits dans l'Acte de l'Amérique du Nord britannique et ont permis de conclure l'union avec la Colombie-Britannique. Durant cette période qui a vu apparaître des chemins de fer partout dans l'Empire britannique et en Amérique, la population éparse du Canada qui, en 1881, était de 4,3 millions d'habitants, a créé un lien durable d'unité nationale qui a survécu aux désastres naturels, politiques et financiers. À la fin des années 1800, la traversée du territoire stérile du bouclier précambrien et des périlleuses montagnes Rocheuses était à la fois dangereuse et techniquement inimaginable. Le premier train de passagers a atteint Port Moody en Colombie-Britannique en juillet 1886, près de huit mois après la pose du dernier crampon en 1885. Plus d'un siècle et demi plus tard, les Canadiens voyagent toujours sur le réseau de chemin de fer national.

Au siècle suivant : industrialisation et urbanisation

 Une grue portuaire charge des pièces de chaudières et de moteur sur un chantier naval, 1943, Montréal, Québec

Une grue portuaire charge des pièces de chaudières et de moteur
sur un chantier naval, 1943, Montréal, Québec (photo de l'Office
national du film du Canada et de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada)

Au moment où la Saskatchewan et l'Alberta se sont jointes à la Confédération en 1905, de plus en plus de Canadiens quittaient la ferme familiale et s'installaient dans les villes. Même si la population rurale nationale est demeurée plus importante que la population urbaine jusque dans les années 1920, les travaux publics au Canada répondaient à une nouvelle réalité industrielle et à la nouvelle prospérité des villes. Des innovations comme l'électrification, un service fiable de distribution de l'eau, les systèmes de gestion des déchets et les réseaux de transport en commun ont permis aux familles et aux usines de coexister dans les villes. De plus, les investissements dans les transports au 19e siècle ont soutenu les industries manufacturières et la croissance industrielle.

Montréal a publié son premier annuaire téléphonique dans les années 1880 et vers le milieu des années 1890, des villes de tout le pays, y compris Vancouver et Winnipeg, avaient des réseaux de tramways électriques. Outre le fait que les infrastructures publiques ont facilité le mouvement des matières brutes à l'intérieur du Dominion, d'importants investissements ont également soutenu la nouvelle classe ouvrière urbaine. L'Union des municipalités canadiennes, un précurseur de la Fédération canadienne des municipalités, était bien consciente du nouveau rôle des villes lors de la tenu sa première réunion en 1901. Les charpentes de construction en acier et les banlieues étaient les symboles d'une nouvelle économie alimentée par des centres urbains reliés entre eux par les cours d'eau, le chemin de fer, le télégraphe et le téléphone.

Infrastructure publique : l'âge d'or

Des ouvriers de la construction sur la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, 1952

Des ouvriers de la construction sur la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent, 1952 (photo de l'Office national du film du Canada et de Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, PA-206919)

Améliorations de la route transcanadienne, Banff, Alberta

Améliorations de la route transcanadienne, Banff, Alberta

Après la Seconde Guerre mondiale, les pays de partout dans le monde ont entamé leur reconstruction. Les années 1950 et 1960 sont en général considérées comme l'âge d'or de l'infrastructure moderne. La construction du tronçon de 306 kilomètres de la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent entre Montréal et le lac Ontario, un projet commun Canada-États-Unis, compte parmi les plus grands travaux publics de cette période. Reconnue comme un des exploits d'ingénierie les plus complexes de l'histoire, la Voie maritime surpassait même la construction du canal de Suez en 1869 et la construction du canal de Panama en 1914. Le premier ministre John Diefenbaker, le président Dwight D. Eisenhower et la reine Elizabeth II ont officiellement ouvert la Voie maritime du Saint-Laurent en 1959.

L'enthousiasme pour l'infrastructure publique en tant que source d'édification de la nation s'étend également à notre patrimoine culturel. Partout au pays, des bibliothèques, des arénas et des galeries d'art, et plus particulièrement le Centre national des arts du Canada, ont été construits pour marquer le centenaire du Canada.

Durant le boum d'après-guerre, l'automobile est devenue un symbole de prospérité, d'individualité et de modernité. Alors que le chemin de fer était toujours au cœur du réseau de transport, on a commencé à construire des autoroutes afin d'unir le Canada. En 1949, le gouvernement fédéral a adopté la Loi sur la route transcanadienne, qui a permis d'ouvrir la voie au financement mixte fédéral-provincial de ce qui allait devenir la plus longue autoroute nationale au monde. En 1962, devant une file de voitures de plus de trois kilomètres de long dans les deux directions, le premier ministre et des représentants des dix provinces ont procédé à l'ouverture officielle de l'autoroute transcanadienne à Rogers Pass, près de Revelstoke en Colombie-Britannique. Même si la construction n'a été achevée qu'en 1971, « l'autoroute de un milliard de dollars » du Canada était ouverte à la circulation, de l'Atlantique au Pacifique.

Ère de renouvellement

Expansion du canal de dérivation de la rivière Rouge, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Expansion du canal de dérivation de la rivière Rouge, Winnipeg,
Manitoba (photo de la Commission du canal de dérivation du Manitoba)

Après un déclin généralisé des dépenses d'infrastructures publiques en Occident durant les années 1970 et 1980, un intérêt renouvelé pour les investissements dans les infrastructures publiques a émergé au cours des dix dernières années. Au Canada, les gouvernements ont travaillé ensemble pour financer toutes sortes de projets d'infrastructure, qu'il s'agisse d'investissements dans des infrastructures écologiques communautaires ou de grands projets d'envergure régionale. Au Manitoba, le canal de dérivation de la rivière Rouge, construit dans les années 1950, a été élargi pour protéger les populations contre une inondation encore plus importante que « l'inondation du siècle » de 1997. Du nettoyage des ports au remplacement des canalisations, tous les ordres de gouvernement investissent dans le renouvellement des systèmes de distribution de l'eau et de traitement des eaux usées.

Les avantages découlant de ces investissements antérieurs qui soutiennent les infrastructures publiques et édifient la nation sont très apparents de nos jours. Les récents investissements ont contribué au renouvellement continu et à l'amélioration de ce que Statistique Canada appelle les infrastructures publiques de base (IPB) du Canada1. L'âge moyen de l'infrastructure est souvent utilisé comme indicateur de l'état de l'infrastructure et, comme on le voit dans le tableau ci-dessous, l'âge moyen des infrastructures publiques de base du Canada a atteint un pic en 2001, soit 17 ans. De 2001 à 2010, cette moyenne est tombée à 14,7 ans, ce qui comprend une baisse équivalant à une année entière de 2008 à 20102. Les investissements sans précédent dans les infrastructures faits par tous les ordres de gouvernement partout au pays dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada contribueront vraisemblablement à une autre réduction de l'âge moyen des infrastructures publiques de base du Canada au cours des prochaines années.

Âge moyen de l'IPB du Canada (de 1961 à 2010) = 15,4Pic

Source : Statistique Canada, Division de l'investissement et du stock de capital.
Remarque : Les IPB comprennent les ponts, les routes, les installations de distribution de l'eau, de traitement des eaux, de transport en commun et les installations culturelles et récréatives.

Améliorations au train de banlieue West Coast Express, Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

Améliorations au train de banlieue West Coast Express, Vancouver, Colombie-Britannique

La réussite des investissements actuels ne signifie pas que le travail des trois ordres de gouvernement du Canada est terminé. Les infrastructures vieillissantes sont une réalité des sociétés modernes. L'Association des ingénieurs-conseils du Canada indique que 50 p. 100 des infrastructures publiques auront atteint la fin de leur vie utile d'ici 2027. Les gouvernements de partout dans le monde examinent comment investir de façon responsable pour maintenir leur compétitivité et leurs niveaux de vie.

Au cours des 50 dernières années, la portée des investissements possibles dans les infrastructures a augmenté dramatiquement. Les fondements des infrastructures publiques, comme les systèmes d'approvisionnement en eau potable, demeurent essentiels à notre prospérité et à notre bien-être, mais de nouveaux secteurs de croissance et d'investissement emballants font également leur apparition. Dans la foulée de la pire récession mondiale depuis 50 ans, le plus grand défi de tous les ordres de gouvernement consistera à investir prudemment dans les infrastructures publiques afin de protéger notre fragile reprise économique tout en soutenant notre croissance continue.

[1] Statistique Canada définit les « infrastructures publiques de base » comme comprenant les catégories d'immobilisations suivantes : ponts, routes, installations de distribution de l'eau, de traitement des eaux, de transport en commun et les installations culturelles et récréatives.

[2] Estimations fondées sur les engagements de dépenses de 2010 des données CAPEX de Statistique Canada.

Date de modification :