ARCHIVED - Building for Prosperity: Public Infrastructure in Canada - Minister's Message

Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Minister's Message

The Honourable Denis Lebel, P.C., M.P.Public infrastructure has always been, and will continue to be, a key driver of Canada's success as a nation. Whether investing in highways, water treatment, public transit or cultural facilities, these investments help our industries reach global markets, protect our environment and support our cities and communities. Knowing how important infrastructure is to each and every Canadian, I am honoured that the Prime Minister asked me to develop a long-term plan for public infrastructure that extends beyond the expiry of the Building Canada Plan.

Canada's network of public infrastructure is complex and vast, made up of highways and roads, water distribution and treatment facilities, energy generation and distribution, and more — that reach into every community. Sustaining and improving this network requires the involvement of all orders of government. Looking beyond Building Canada, the Government of Canada will engage with our partners and stakeholders in a dialogue on the next public infrastructure plan.

This government has maintained an open discourse with its partners and stakeholders on the best way to support our national objectives through infrastructure investments. Together, we have developed programs that have made Canada a better place in which to work and live. Since 2006, Canada as a whole has invested record amounts in public infrastructure. The success of Canada's Economic Action Plan clearly demonstrates what can be accomplished when all orders of government work together for the benefit of the country.

As the Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, I am very proud of the achievements that have been made possible through partnerships with our provincial, territorial and municipal counterparts. As we complete our stimulus projects and move to the next phase of Canada's Economic Action Plan, it is time to call upon our partners to join the discussion on the best way forward, with the intent of developing a new long-term infrastructure plan for Canada. A prudent approach to public infrastructure will ensure that Canada retains its competitive advantage and resilient economy.

The Honourable Denis Lebel, P.C., M.P.
Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities
and Minister of the Economic Development Agency of Canada for the Regions of Quebec

Date modified:

ARCHIVÉE - Bâtir pour la prospérité : les infrastructures publiques au Canada - Message du ministre

Contenu archivé

L’information dont il est indiqué qu’elle est archivée est fournie à des fins de référence, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’est pas assujettie aux normes Web du gouvernement du Canada et elle n’a pas été modifiée ou mise à jour depuis son archivage. Pour obtenir cette information dans un autre format, veuillez communiquer avec nous.

Message du ministre

L'honorable Denis Lebel, C.P., députéLes infrastructures publiques ont toujours été et continueront d'être des moteurs de la réussite du Canada en tant que nation. Les investissements, dans les autoroutes, les installations d'épuration des eaux, le transport en commun ou les installations culturelles aident nos industries à atteindre les marchés mondiaux, à protéger notre environnement et à appuyer nos villes et nos collectivités. Sachant à quel point les infrastructures sont importantes pour tous les Canadiens, je suis profondément honoré que le premier ministre m'ait demandé d'élaborer un plan à long terme pour les infrastructures publiques, plan qui se prolongera au-delà de l'échéance du Plan Chantiers Canada.

Le réseau des infrastructures publiques du Canada est vaste et complexe; ses routes et autoroutes, ses installations de traitement et de distribution des eaux, ses installations de production et de distribution d'énergie et plus encore desservent toutes les collectivités du Canada. Tous les ordres de gouvernement doivent contribuer à la maintenance et à l'amélioration de ce réseau. En prévision de l'après-Chantiers Canada, le gouvernement du Canada prévoit entamer un dialogue avec ses partenaires et les intervenants à propos du prochain plan sur les infrastructures publiques.

Notre gouvernement a toujours tenu un discours franc avec ses partenaires et ses intervenants sur les meilleurs moyens d'atteindre nos objectifs nationaux par des investissements dans l'infrastructure. Ensemble, nous avons élaboré des programmes qui ont fait du Canada un endroit de choix où il fait bon vivre et travailler. Depuis 2006, le Canada, dans son ensemble, a investi des montants records dans les infrastructures publiques. La réussite du Plan d'action économique du Canada témoigne de ce qui peut être accompli lorsque tous les ordres de gouvernement travaillent ensemble pour le bien du pays.

À titre de ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités, je suis extrêmement fier de ce que nos partenariats avec nos homologues provinciaux, territoriaux et municipaux ont permis d'accomplir. Maintenant que nos projets visant à stimuler l'économie tirent à leur fin et que nous entamons la prochaine phase du Plan d'action économique du Canada, il est temps d'inviter nos partenaires à se joindre à la discussion sur la meilleure façon d'aller de l'avant, afin d'élaborer un nouveau plan à long terme sur les infrastructures du Canada. Une approche prudente en ce qui concerne les infrastructures publiques permettra de nous assurer que le Canada conserve son avantage concurrentiel et son économie résiliente.

L'honorable Denis Lebel, C.P., député
Ministre des Transports, de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités
et ministre de l'Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec

Date de modification :