National Recreational Trails Program

What is it?

The Government of Canada is partnering with the National Trails Coalition (NTC) and providing $10 million to expand and improve multi-purpose trails for walking, running, cross-country skiing, biking, all-terrain vehicle use and snowmobiling throughout Canada.

This funding was announced in Budget 2014 and is in addition to the $53 billion New Building Canada Plan. It is also in addition to the $25 million in matching funds that are available for charitable contributions received by the Trans Canada Trail Foundation to connect all sections of the Trans Canada Trail system by 2017.

Why is it important?

Canada has a vast network of recreational trails that allow Canadians to experience the outdoors and appreciate this country's natural beauty. This funding will help build and renew multi-purpose trails for walking, running, cross-country skiing, biking, all-terrain vehicle use and snowmobiling.

How does it work?

Local trail organizations across Canada are invited to submit project proposals directly to the NTC between July 1, 2014 and August 15, 2014. The NTC is responsible for selecting and approving projects. Between 150 and 200 projects are expected to be supported across Canada.

Visit the National Trails Coalition website for more information.

Service Standards

See Infrastructure Canada's service standards for the National Recreational Trail Program.

Date modified:

Programme des sentiers récréatifs nationaux

De quoi s’agit-il?

Le gouvernement du Canada s’associe à la Coalition nationale sur les sentiers (CNS) et offre 10 millions de dollars pour le développement et l’amélioration de sentiers polyvalents pour la marche, la course, le ski de fond, le cyclisme, les véhicules tout terrain et la motoneige partout au Canada.

Ce financement a été annoncé dans le Budget 2014 et s’ajoute au Nouveau Plan Chantiers Canada de 53 milliards de dollars. Il s’ajoute également aux 25 millions de dollars en fonds de contrepartie qui sont disponibles pour les dons de bienfaisance que recevra la Fondation du Sentier transcanadien afin de relier tous les tronçons du réseau du Sentier transcanadien d’ici 2017.

Pourquoi est-il important?

Le Canada possède un vaste réseau de sentiers récréatifs qui permet aux Canadiens de profiter du plein air et d’apprécier la beauté naturelle du pays. Ce financement aidera à aménager et à renouveler des sentiers polyvalents pour la marche, la course, le ski de fond, le cyclisme, les véhicules tout terrain et la motoneige.

Comment fonctionne-t-il?

On invite les organisations locales de sentiers de partout au Canada à soumettre des propositions de projet directement à la CNS entre le 1er juillet 2014 et le 15 août 2014. La CNS est chargée de la sélection et de l’approbation des projets. On s’attend à pouvoir soutenir de 150 à 200 projets partout au Canada.

Visitez le site web de la Coalition nationale sur les sentiers pour obtenir plus de renseignements.

Normes de service

Voir les normes de service d'Infrastructure Canada relatives au Programme des sentiers récréatifs nationaux.

Date de modification :