2014 New Building Canada Fund: Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component, National/Regional Projects
Project Business Case Guide for Proposed Projects Identified by Provinces/Territories
Required Information

Please provide detailed information about the project which includes the following:

Project Description

Dedicated funding for First Nations infrastructure on-reserve in the provinces will continue to be delivered through Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada. However, a Province may advance proposals under the $10 billion 2014 New Building Canada Fund - Provincial-Territorial Infrastructure Component for projects located partially or entirely on reserve that are aligned with the parameters of the program, and with benefits extending beyond the reserve community.


  • The name of your project and the eligible category and subcategory under which the proposed project falls. Please refer to Annex A for a full list of eligible investment categories and related subcategories;
  • A detailed description of the project design, all project components and the work to be carried out (new construction, renewal, rehabilitation or material enhancement), including maps and diagrams showing the location, and phases (if the project is part of a larger master plan or project);
  • An indication if land has been or will be secured for the project; and,
  • A project timeline, including the estimated start date and completion date, from design through to substantial completion and commissioning, and including timelines for contract tendering, where possible.

Minimum Federal Requirements

  • A description of how the project meets the category-specific minimum federal requirements as outlined in Annex A.
  • If your project involves newly constructed or materially rehabilitated infrastructure intended for use by the public, please confirm that the project provides appropriate access for persons with disabilities, including meeting the requirements of the Canadian Standards Association Technical Standard Accessible Design for the Built Environment (CAN/CSA B651-12) in addition to applicable provincial or territorial codes (please describe any variances to this requirement and plans to achieve compliance).
  • If your project involves a newly constructed or materially rehabilitated building, please confirm that the building meets or exceeds the energy efficiency requirements of the Model National Energy Code for Buildings, where applicable (please describe any variances to this requirement and plans to achieve compliance).

Project Outcomes and Benefits

Tips for selecting performance indicators:

  • Ensure that the indicator(s) can measure meaningful progress towards achieving the outcome(s) and benefit(s) of your project at substantial completion, as recipients will be required to report on the results at that time.
  • If possible, leverage from existing performance indicators currently being used for other reporting requirements rather than create new ones.
  • A description to demonstrate, and quantified where possible, that the project meets one or more of the category-specific outcomes and benefits as outlined in Annex A. This description must propose one or two performance indicators for each of the identified category-specific outcomes and benefits that will be used to report on results.

Eligible Recipient(s)

  • Please provide information that clearly identifies the eligible recipient, including evidence substantiating the incorporation of their legal entity, where appropriate, and identify any partners involved in the project (such as a province, territory, municipal or regional government, band council, or public sector body). Please also confirm who will own, operate and maintain the infrastructure asset once completed. Please refer to Annex B for information about eligible recipients.

Project Governance

  • A description of the governance and oversight structure for the project, including roles, responsibilities and accountabilities for project implementation from planning and design through to the construction phases of the project.

Encouraging Asset Management Planning and Life-Cycle Cost Assessments

Infrastructure Canada is interested in collecting information on whether projects submitted for consideration under 2014 NBCF-PTIC (NRP) are subject to a formal asset management planning process.

Please provide answers, to the questions below, as part of your Business Case. This information will not affect project eligibility and is being requested for information purposes only.

  1. Has the proposed project been identified as a priority in a longer-term plan such as a municipal/regional, transportation, or strategic master plan? (Y/N, name of plan, year)
  2. Will the ongoing management of the proposed project be subject to an asset management planning process? (Y/N, name of plan/process)

Financial Requirements

Please provide project financial details including the following:

  • An outline of all project components and their total estimated expenditures.
    • This should include a financial breakdown, by component, of capital and soft costs (i.e. planning and assessment costs), eligible and ineligible expenditures, and the contingency amount that has been planned. Please refer to Annex C for a detailed list of eligible and ineligible expenditures, and Annex E for an example of a financial table.
  • An indication as to the level of confidence, degree of accuracy and appropriate level of contingency of the proposed cost estimates.
    • Project expenditure estimates should be current. Please specify when they were prepared, and by whom.
  • An identification of all proposed funding sources as well as an assurance that funding to undertake and complete the project has been secured.
    • Funding assurance may include, but is not limited to a letter from a Chief Financial Officer/Chief Administrative Officer/Treasurer, a letter from a financial institution, or a Council Resolution of budget allocations.
  • An estimated expenditure profile reflecting total eligible expenditures, by fiscal year and by funding source. An example of an expenditure profile has been provided in Annex E.
  • Assurance of capacity to operate and maintain the service or investment on a sustainable, long-term basis when the recipient is a not-for-profit organization or from the private sector.

Cost-sharing, Stacking and Limits to Federal Contribution

For projects located in provinces, the maximum federal contribution from all federal sources will be up to one-third (33.33%) of the total eligible costs of a project, with the following exceptions:

  1. For the Highways and Roads and the Disaster Mitigation categories where the asset is provincially-owned, and for those in the Public Transit category, the maximum federal contribution from all federal sources will be up to fifty per cent (50%) of the total eligible costs; and
  2. For all projects the recipient is from the for-profit private sector, the maximum federal contribution from all federal sources will be up to twenty five per cent (25%) of the total eligible costs.

For projects located in the territories, the maximum federal contribution from all federal sources will be three-quarters (75%) of the total eligible costs of a project, with the following exception:

  1. For all projects where the recipient is from the for-profit private sector, the maximum federal contribution from all federal sources will be up to twenty five per cent (25%) of the total eligible costs.

Contributions to for-profit, private sector bodies through the PTIC will be considered only when these projects will be for public use or benefit. Recipients will be required to demonstrate the broader public benefits of the project.

For projects advanced by a First Nations recipient, with regard to financial support that the First Nation receives from Indigenous and Northern Affairs Canada (INAC), only funding received from the First Nations Infrastructure Fund would be counted towards the federal stacking limits for PTIC. All other sources of funds the First Nation receives from INAC would not count towards the stacking limits.


Legal Requirements

The recipient is required to confirm the following legal requirements:

  • That the project will adhere to all applicable legislation and that all necessary permits and authorizations required for the project will be obtained (please describe any delays or variances to this requirement and plans to achieve compliance);
  • The status and plan to complete an environmental assessment or review and Aboriginal consultation, where required. Please refer to Annex D for additional information and for the Environmental, Aboriginal Consultation and Project Location Questionnaire.
  • Assurance that the contract award process for eligible expenditures to be funded under the project is in accordance with the recipient's policies and procedures and will be transparent, competitive, fair, consistent with value for money principles, or in a manner otherwise acceptable to Canada, and if applicable, in accordance and consistent with the Agreement on Internal Trade and international trade agreements (please describe any variances to this requirement and plans to achieve compliance).

Project Risks and Mitigation Measures

  • Please describe any key challenges or risks that you have identified associated with implementing the project, and describe any mitigating measures that you have considered or are implementing, including but not limited to:
    • Expenditure increases (e.g. the price of steel rises sharply);
    • Project delays;
    • Risk of scope change (due to, for example, results of environmental assessment);
    • Public sensitivity; and
    • Risks related to natural hazards and/or climate change that could have an impact on the project during construction or once completed.
Date modified:

Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014 : Volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales, Projets nationaux/régionaux
Guide de préparation des plan d'affaires pour les projets proposés identifiés par les provinces/territoires
Information requise

Veuillez fournir de l'information détaillée sur le projet, y compris l'information suivante :

Description du projet

Affaires autochtones et Développement du Nord Canada continuera de mettre en œuvre un financement dédié pour les infrastructures des Premières nations dans les réserves, dans les provinces. Cependant, une province peut présenter une proposition au titre du volet Infrastructures provinciales-territoriales du Nouveau Fonds Chantiers Canada 2014 de 10 milliards de dollars pour des projets situés en partie ou entièrement dans une réserve et qui correspondent aux paramètres du programme et dont les avantages s'étendent à l'extérieur de la collectivité de la réserve.


  • Le nom de votre projet ainsi que la catégorie et la sous-catégorie admissibles dans lesquelles entre le projet proposé. Veuillez vous référer à l'annexe A pour consulter la liste complète des catégories d'investissements admissibles et des sous-catégories connexes.
  • Une description détaillée de la conception du projet, de toutes les composantes du projet et des travaux devant être exécutés (nouvelle construction, rénovation, remise en état ou amélioration importante), y compris les cartes et les schémas indiquant l'emplacement et les phases du projet (si celui-ci fait partie d'un plan ou d'un projet directeur plus vaste).
  • Indiquer si les terrains nécessaires pour le projet ont été obtenus ou le seront;
  • Un calendrier de projet, incluant la date prévue du commencement et de l'achèvement, de la conception à jusqu'à l'achèvement substantiel et la mise en service, y compris les échéanciers fixés pour les appels d'offres, si c'est possible.

Exigences fédérales minimales

  • Une description de la manière dont le projet satisfait aux exigences fédérales minimales propres à la catégorie concernée, telles qu'elles sont énoncées à l'annexe A.
  • Si votre projet comprend une nouvelle construction ou la remise en état substantielle d'une infrastructure destinée au public, veuillez confirmer que le projet offre un accès approprié aux personnes handicapées, entre autres qu'il satisfait à la norme technique relative à la conception accessible pour l'environnement bâti (CAN/CSA B651-12) de l'Association canadienne de normalisation ainsi qu’aux codes provinciaux et territoriaux applicables (veuillez décrire tout écart par rapport à ces exigences et les mesures prévues pour s'y conformer).
  • Si votre projet comprend la construction d'un nouveau bâtiment ou la remise en état substantielle d'un bâtiment, veuillez confirmer, s'il y a lieu, que ce bâtiment satisfait ou dépasse les exigences en matière d'efficacité énergétique du Code modèle national de l'énergie pour les bâtiments (veuillez décrire tout écart par rapport à ces exigences et les mesures prévues pour s'y conformer).

Résultats et avantages du projet

Conseils pour la sélection des indicateurs de rendement

  • S'assurer que les indicateurs permettent de mesurer des progrès significatifs accomplis pour obtenir les résultats et les avantages de votre projet une fois qu'il a été achevé en grande partie, puisque les bénéficiaires seront tenus de faire rapport sur les résultats à ce moment-là.
  • Si possible, utilisez les indicateurs de rendement actuellement utilisés plutôt que d'en créer de nouveaux.
  • Une description pour démontrer, et quantifier lorsque c'est possible, que le projet procure un ou plusieurs des résultats et des avantages, tels qu'ils sont énoncés à l'annexe A. Cette description doit proposer un ou deux indicateurs de rendement pour chacun des résultats et des avantages propres à la catégorie qui ont été identifiés et qui seront utilisés pour faire rapport sur les résultats.

Bénéficiaire(s) admissible(s)

  • Veuillez fournir de l'information qui indique clairement le bénéficiaire admissible, y compris la preuve à l'appui de leur constitution en entité juridique, s'il y a lieu, et nommez tous les partenaires participant au projet (tels une province, un territoire, une administration municipale ou régionale, un conseil de bande, un organisme du secteur public ou du secteur privé). Veuillez également confirmer qui sera propriétaire de l'infrastructure une fois qu'elle sera terminée et qui sera chargé de son fonctionnement et de son entretien. Vous trouverez à l'annexe B toute l'information concernant les bénéficiaires admissibles.

Gouvernance du projet

  • Une description de la structure de gouvernance et de surveillance du projet, y compris les rôles, les responsabilités et la reddition de comptes pour la mise en œuvre du projet, de l'étape de la planification et de la conception à la fin de l'étape de la construction.

Encourager la planification de la gestion des actifs et les évaluations du coût du cycle de vie

Infrastructure Canada souhaite recueillir de l'information pour savoir si les projets soumis en vue d'un financement dans le cadre du NFCC-VIPT 2014 (PNR) font l'objet d'un processus officiel de planification de la gestion des actifs.

Veuillez fournir des réponses aux questions suivantes dans votre plan d'affaires. Cette information n'affectera pas l'admissibilité du projet et est demandée seulement à titre indicatif.

  1. Est-ce que le projet proposé a été identifié à titre de priorité dans un plan à plus long terme, par exemple dans un plan municipal/régional, un plan de transport ou un plan directeur stratégique? (O/N, nom du plan, l'année)
  2. Est-ce que la gestion continue du projet proposé sera assujettie à un processus de planification de la gestion des actifs? (O/N, nom du plan/processus)

Exigences financières

Veuillez fournir des renseignements financiers détaillés sur le projet, y compris :

  • Un aperçu de toutes les composantes du projet et de l'estimation du coût total de chacune de ces composantes.
    • Cela doit comprendre une ventilation financière, par composante, des coûts en immobilisations et des coûts accessoires (c.-à-d. des coûts de planification et d'évaluation), des dépenses admissibles et non admissibles, et du montant prévu pour les impondérables. Vous trouverez une liste détaillée des dépenses admissibles et non admissibles à l'annexe C, et un exemple de tableau financier à l'annexe E.
  • Une indication quant au niveau de confiance, au degré d'exactitude et au niveau d'impondérabilité des estimations de coûts proposées.
    • Les estimations des dépenses liées au projet doivent être à jour. Veuillez préciser quand elles ont été préparées et par qui.
  • Une identification de toutes les sources de financement proposées ainsi que l'assurance que le financement nécessaire pour commencer et terminer le projet a été obtenu.
    • La garantie de financement peut consister entre autres en une lettre émanant d'un directeur des finances/agent administratif en chef/trésorier, en une lettre d'une institution financière ou d'une résolution de conseil portant sur les crédits budgétaires.
  • Un profil des dépenses estimatif qui reflète le total des dépenses admissibles, par année financière et par source de financement. Vous trouverez un exemple de profil des dépenses à l'annexe E.
  • L'assurance de la capacité d'exploiter et de maintenir le service ou l'investissement à long terme de façon durable, et lorsque le bénéficiaire est un organisme à but non lucratif ou qu'il appartient au secteur privé.

Partage des coûts, cumul et limites de la contribution fédérale

Pour les projets situés dans les provinces, la contribution fédérale maximale, toutes sources fédérales confondues, sera jusqu' à un tiers (33,33 %) du total des coûts admissibles du projet, sauf dans les cas suivants :

  • Pour les projets des catégories Autoroutes et routes et Atténuation des catastrophes qui appartiennent à la province, et pour ceux dans la catégorie du Transport en commun, la contribution fédérale maximale, toutes sources fédérales confondues, sera jusqu’à cinquante pour cent (50 %) du total des coûts admissibles;
  • Pour tous les projets pour lesquels le bénéficiaire appartient au secteur privé à but lucratif, la contribution fédérale maximale, toutes sources fédérales confondues, sera jusqu’à vingt-cinq pour cent (25 %) du total des coûts admissibles.

Pour les projets situés dans les territoires, la contribution fédérale maximale, toutes sources fédérales confondues, sera jusqu’à trois quarts (75 %) du total des coûts admissibles du projet, sauf dans le cas suivant :

  • Pour tous les projets dont le bénéficiaire appartient au secteur privé à but lucratif, la contribution fédérale maximale, toutes sources fédérales confondues, sera jusqu’à vingt-cinq pour cent (25 %) du total des coûts admissibles.

Dans le cadre du VIPT, on envisagera d'accorder des contributions à des organismes du secteur privé à but lucratif uniquement pour des projets destinés à l'usage ou au profit du public. Les bénéficiaires devront démontrer les avantages généraux du projet pour le public.

Pour les projets proposés par un bénéficiaire des Premières nations, en ce qui a trait au soutien financier que les Premières nations reçoivent d'Affaires autochtones et du Nord Canada (AANC), seul le financement reçu par les Premières nations au titre du Fonds d'infrastructure des Premières nations serait pris en compte dans le calcul de la limite du cumul de fonds fédéraux dans le cadre du VIPT. Les autres fonds que les Premières nations auraient reçus d'AANC au titre d'autres sources n'entreraient pas dans le calcul de la limite du cumul.


Exigences juridiques

Le bénéficiaire doit confirmer qu'il se conforme aux exigences juridiques suivantes :

  • Le projet sera conforme à toute législation qui s'applique et tous les permis et autorisations nécessaires pour le projet seront obtenus (veuillez indiquer tout retard ou écart par rapport à cette exigence ainsi que les mesures prévues pour s'y conformer;
  • État du projet et plan d'effectuer une évaluation ou un examen environnemental et de mener une consultation auprès des Autochtones, s'il y a lieu. Vous trouverez des renseignements supplémentaires à l'annexe D ainsi que le questionnaire relatif à l'évaluation environnementale, à la consultation des Autochtones et à l'emplacement du projet; et
  • L'assurance que le processus d'attribution des contrats pour les dépenses admissibles devant être financées dans le cadre du projet est conforme aux politiques et aux procédures du bénéficiaire, qu'il sera transparent, concurrentiel, juste et conforme aux principes d'optimisation des ressources, ou qu'il sera suivi de toute autre manière jugée acceptable par le Canada, et, s'il y a lieu, qu'il sera conforme à l'Accord sur le commerce intérieur et aux accords commerciaux internationaux. (veuillez décrire tout écart par rapport à cette exigence ainsi que les mesures prévues pour s'y conformer).

Risques liés au projet et mesures d'atténuation

  • Veuillez décrire tout défi ou risque important que vous avez identifié concernant la mise en œuvre du projet, ainsi que toute mesure d'atténuation que vous avez envisagée ou mise en œuvre, entre autres :
    • Augmentations des dépenses (p. ex. forte augmentation du prix de l'acier);
    • Retard du projet;
    • Risque de modification de la portée du projet (par exemple en raison des résultats de l'évaluation environnementale);
    • Sensibilité du public; et
    • Risques liés aux aléas naturels et/ou au changement climatique, qui pourraient avoir une incidence sur le projet durant la construction ou après l'achèvement du projet.
Date de modification :